BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2295 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1852)

4 Star

(299)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Z is my FAVORITE !

This is DEFINATELY a must read... Z is my favorite brother the way that he loves Bella is amazing... I haved read this series several times and have also read this one in particular even more.. I do have favs of the series but as a whole the series is an AWESOME read......
This is DEFINATELY a must read... Z is my favorite brother the way that he loves Bella is amazing... I haved read this series several times and have also read this one in particular even more.. I do have favs of the series but as a whole the series is an AWESOME read... I highly recommend it... And also pick up the e-book that is a companion to this book it's a WONDERFUL read....

I would give this series 10 stars if I could ! Way to go Mrs. Ward I know I'm not alone when I say this I would love to see more from the brotherhood.... :)

posted by CullenGirl77 on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

re: warning

J.R. Ward is an amazing writer. I just finished reading all of her books one by one. Her stories are great, they flow from book to book, the characters have depth, are well thought out and believable. Having said that, I really enjoyed reading her stories with the one ...
J.R. Ward is an amazing writer. I just finished reading all of her books one by one. Her stories are great, they flow from book to book, the characters have depth, are well thought out and believable. Having said that, I really enjoyed reading her stories with the one exception of her dialogue. J.R. uses so many acronyms and inappropriate slang it just got worse and worse as she progressed through the series. It was so disappointing. If you are the type of reader that ignores things you don't understand - great. I am not that reader. I had to actually go online to an acronym sight to look up some them. HSIC? PTSD? BMOC? I lost count of how many she uses, it was ridiculous. In addition, she makes up her own slang. "sitch" for situation, "stitties" for stilettos, "B" for Bentley, "abso" for absolutely, "epi" for episode, "tourni" for touriquet, "'za" for pizza, "res" for residence, "packy" for package. It was downright irritating and lazy. One of the worse offenses was when King Wrath and one of the warriors said "I'm outtie"....really? That does not bring to mind a warrior or a leader of a race, rather Brittney Murphy in "Clueless". If you can get past it, her stories are great. I personally will not read another book of hers or recommend them to anyone. And I think her editor should be fired!(If anyone at Penguin reads these!)

posted by Missy306 on September 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2316 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 116
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    re: warning

    J.R. Ward is an amazing writer. I just finished reading all of her books one by one. Her stories are great, they flow from book to book, the characters have depth, are well thought out and believable. Having said that, I really enjoyed reading her stories with the one exception of her dialogue. J.R. uses so many acronyms and inappropriate slang it just got worse and worse as she progressed through the series. It was so disappointing. If you are the type of reader that ignores things you don't understand - great. I am not that reader. I had to actually go online to an acronym sight to look up some them. HSIC? PTSD? BMOC? I lost count of how many she uses, it was ridiculous. In addition, she makes up her own slang. "sitch" for situation, "stitties" for stilettos, "B" for Bentley, "abso" for absolutely, "epi" for episode, "tourni" for touriquet, "'za" for pizza, "res" for residence, "packy" for package. It was downright irritating and lazy. One of the worse offenses was when King Wrath and one of the warriors said "I'm outtie"....really? That does not bring to mind a warrior or a leader of a race, rather Brittney Murphy in "Clueless". If you can get past it, her stories are great. I personally will not read another book of hers or recommend them to anyone. And I think her editor should be fired!(If anyone at Penguin reads these!)

    17 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Z is my FAVORITE !

    This is DEFINATELY a must read... Z is my favorite brother the way that he loves Bella is amazing... I haved read this series several times and have also read this one in particular even more.. I do have favs of the series but as a whole the series is an AWESOME read... I highly recommend it... And also pick up the e-book that is a companion to this book it's a WONDERFUL read....

    I would give this series 10 stars if I could ! Way to go Mrs. Ward I know I'm not alone when I say this I would love to see more from the brotherhood.... :)

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Edward and Bella have nothing on this couple!

    The romance story of Zsadist and Bella will bring tears to your eyes. This is truly a vampire story that is so intense you'll only want more. However! Read the the two books before so that you fully understand Zsadist and get the full impact. This is one of my favorite series to date!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I couldnt put it down

    This is my favorite book of the entire series it was emotional but not sappy and the main characters didnt lose what made them, standout while trying to build a romance story.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    JR Ward's imagination is ... Amazing!! I highly recommend this book!!! *****

    This book is about one of Ms. Ward's Black-Dagger Brotherhood Warriors, Zhadist... The warrior who is considered "Psycho", trying to kill as many Lessers as he can, to protect the humans and the Vampires from the Omega and his followers. The warrior who denies his love for his twin, his fellow warriors and for the lady he thinks deserves a "Male of Worth"... I highly recommend this book...but, have a box of tissues handy (just in case). ***** (5 Stars)!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite book of this series!

    Although not my favorite character, "Lover Awakened" was definitely my favorite book out of the BDB series. Bella's "needing period" alone made this book worth my while to read and re-read over and over! LOL Zsadist's trials and struggles throughout his life help explain his outlook on people and himself, and the way he finally realizes that Bella is the one for him is pretty cool. Definitely a must-read and must-have for your BDB library!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Zsadist's story.

    Out of all the books in the series so far this was my favorite. Zsadist is one of the characters that you love even though you should hate him. He draws you closer each time he tries to push you away. He is a very complex character with deep rooted issues. Under all the torment he is a very good guy with honor and a tenderness to him that you would think he was not capable of. The Novella of him and Bella's life together is a great add on to this book. I have read the book twice and each time get a better understanding and deeper feeling for Zsadist. This is well worth the read along with the whole series. I give it 5-stars.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    soo good!

    I cannot get enought of the black dagger brotherhood! It is one of those books that you wake up in the morning and think, when can I fit reading this into my day? I love the twist of J.R.Ward's vampires, it really gives you the impression that they are they are own race, steaped with traditions and culture, not just the physical differences from humans for a change. You get to see one of the most leathal brothers reveal his softer side, and to see why he is so cut off from his surroundings, one of her best novels yet. I can't wait to see what she comes up with next!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lover Awakened

    I think that honestly this is a novel that is very close to my heart. It was very beautiful to read about the beginnings of a relationship between Bella and Zsadist. You could see that Zsadist cares for her from the beginning of the book already, how he went looking for her and all that. Zsadist doesn't believe he deserves someone to love and be his shellan but Bella thinks otherwise, she heals him and helps him discover himself. What I love about J.R Ward's writing is that the whole story is not just about the main characters, so many events and people play huge part of the plot and I loved reading about John, Wellsie and Tohr. It was heart-breaking at the end though but at the same time the end was beautiful, It truly was to see how much Zsadist changed into a new man was amazing and it was all because of Bella's faith and love in him. I loved the camaraderie between the brothers and seeing them is like seeing a family together, seriously, no one is left out. The romance was rocky but it turned out well in the end. Again I must say that the end was unbelievably touching and heartfelt. It really felt right and I can't wait to get my hands on book 4!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Zsadist is my favorite!

    Out of all the members of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Zsadist is my favorite character. The love story between him and Bella is truly touching. If you're already a BDB series fan, this book will not disappoint you.

    For those new to the BDB series, a few things to note. I started reading the first BDB book, Dark Lover, after finishing the Twilight series and - WHOA! - what culture shock. The BDB series is not a "tween" love story. It's loaded with expletives (so, not so great for book clubs), intense intimacy and action. This series is sort of Sydney Sheldon with vampires. And, though it wasn't Twilight-ish at all, I could not stop reading this series, and devoured all seven books in about three weeks. My biggest complaint with the series is that each book - especially the later ones in the series - is a cliffhanger to future books, so you never feel as though you've 'completed' what you're reading. Each story feels unfinished because it is. The last two books were so loaded with details for future books, that I didn't feel they did justice to the "brother" the book is primarily about. Still, I'm hooked and waiting for the next book to come out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Black Dagger Brother Hood

    What more is there to say..........these books are hot!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sucker for This Story (No Pun Intended)

    Usually, I only comment on the first book of a series but, since I read the first and the second Black Dagger Brotherhood books in the same day and this one was so fantastic, I'm putting my two cents in here. I LOVED THIS STORY.

    I'm a sucker for the misunderstood tough guy. I know the story's been done to death in good and bad ways, but this one is my favorite so far. Ward develops Zhadist's character in a way that made me want to push Bella out of the way and comfort him myself. Just wait until you see how Mr. O ends up. You won't believe it, but it's almost an afterthought considering all that's going on.

    One thing Ward does that authors in this genre often neglect is to develop storylines for other books within previous books. Yeah, Zhadist has found his piece of mind, but I have to read the next to find out what happens with Tohr, Butch, Vischous, Phury, John. . .oh heck, back to the library!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    From the beginning, Zsadist has been a mysterious and cold chara

    From the beginning, Zsadist has been a mysterious and cold character. His dark past is alluded to, but not explained until now. Bella’s stubbornness and love is something to be admired. You instinctively know that loving someone like Zsadist will never be easy, but you root for her to try and for him to let her. This story is darker and more intense than the first two because Ward finally addresses the fact that the Brothers are fighting a war, which means that people die. Characters you love will die, and it will change the dynamic of the Brotherhood forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Awesome

    My fav besides the one that's coming out in march can't wait for Quinn and blays story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best of the series

    I think that out of all of the books this one is my favorite. The Hereo in this one is very realistic with realistic problems. Out of all of the relationships this one has the most to over come. Bella is the perfect match for Z because she is a very strong woman who is tender enough to help Z through a very scarred past. This book has many themes and will keep you wanting more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

              

              

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was just wonderful and I loved every single second. I could

    This was just wonderful and I loved every single second. I couldn't read it fast enough wanting to absorb all the details. 

    Zsadist story was so heart breaking and sad but full of hope and redemption. He and Bella were on quite a journey together and I loved it all and loved her. She was strong and I like how she stood up to Z. Zsadist was this messed up man with so many issues. I think reading about him made me hit every emotion possible. I liked him. Was mad at him. Felt for him. Rejoiced for him. Cried for him. Loved him. And the two of them together were awesome, it was a build up of intense and odd and awkward and hot!

    This series is full of so many layers and sub stories and I think it's fantastic. It's this elaborate world that pulls you in. I love all the third person POV’s so we get to know what a lot of the characters are thinking, even the deranged bad guy. Z and his brother Phury, it was heartbreaking and heartfelt. I'm really like the John story line and what happened with Tohr just about killed me. Even though I got closure with Zsadist’s story, I still have so many questions for the overall continuing storyline. 

    Ups and downs and drama and love. It's all just this fantastically solid story. I cannot wait for more. I am totally in love with this series. There is just such depth. Brilliant! I was just so captured from the start. Loved it all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    Best yet

    I love the kind of hope in this book with such a deficult and sensitive subject matter. The gains and losses some how balancing out the love and loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Could not put it down

    Loved zsatist's change from the beginning to the end. Loved how his story ended. Well deserving of his character. The series has been great-and when i think i need to take a break from the books, i end up reading more. They are hard to put down because each book ends with unsolved mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Favorite in the series :)

    Favorite in the series :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2316 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 116