Customer Reviews for

Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1845)

4 Star

(298)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Z is my FAVORITE !

This is DEFINATELY a must read... Z is my favorite brother the way that he loves Bella is amazing... I haved read this series several times and have also read this one in particular even more.. I do have favs of the series but as a whole the series is an AWESOME read......
This is DEFINATELY a must read... Z is my favorite brother the way that he loves Bella is amazing... I haved read this series several times and have also read this one in particular even more.. I do have favs of the series but as a whole the series is an AWESOME read... I highly recommend it... And also pick up the e-book that is a companion to this book it's a WONDERFUL read....

I would give this series 10 stars if I could ! Way to go Mrs. Ward I know I'm not alone when I say this I would love to see more from the brotherhood.... :)

posted by CullenGirl77 on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

re: warning

J.R. Ward is an amazing writer. I just finished reading all of her books one by one. Her stories are great, they flow from book to book, the characters have depth, are well thought out and believable. Having said that, I really enjoyed reading her stories with the one ...
J.R. Ward is an amazing writer. I just finished reading all of her books one by one. Her stories are great, they flow from book to book, the characters have depth, are well thought out and believable. Having said that, I really enjoyed reading her stories with the one exception of her dialogue. J.R. uses so many acronyms and inappropriate slang it just got worse and worse as she progressed through the series. It was so disappointing. If you are the type of reader that ignores things you don't understand - great. I am not that reader. I had to actually go online to an acronym sight to look up some them. HSIC? PTSD? BMOC? I lost count of how many she uses, it was ridiculous. In addition, she makes up her own slang. "sitch" for situation, "stitties" for stilettos, "B" for Bentley, "abso" for absolutely, "epi" for episode, "tourni" for touriquet, "'za" for pizza, "res" for residence, "packy" for package. It was downright irritating and lazy. One of the worse offenses was when King Wrath and one of the warriors said "I'm outtie"....really? That does not bring to mind a warrior or a leader of a race, rather Brittney Murphy in "Clueless". If you can get past it, her stories are great. I personally will not read another book of hers or recommend them to anyone. And I think her editor should be fired!(If anyone at Penguin reads these!)

posted by Missy306 on September 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Edward and Bella have nothing on this couple!

    The romance story of Zsadist and Bella will bring tears to your eyes. This is truly a vampire story that is so intense you'll only want more. However! Read the the two books before so that you fully understand Zsadist and get the full impact. This is one of my favorite series to date!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lover Awakened

    I think that honestly this is a novel that is very close to my heart. It was very beautiful to read about the beginnings of a relationship between Bella and Zsadist. You could see that Zsadist cares for her from the beginning of the book already, how he went looking for her and all that. Zsadist doesn't believe he deserves someone to love and be his shellan but Bella thinks otherwise, she heals him and helps him discover himself. What I love about J.R Ward's writing is that the whole story is not just about the main characters, so many events and people play huge part of the plot and I loved reading about John, Wellsie and Tohr. It was heart-breaking at the end though but at the same time the end was beautiful, It truly was to see how much Zsadist changed into a new man was amazing and it was all because of Bella's faith and love in him. I loved the camaraderie between the brothers and seeing them is like seeing a family together, seriously, no one is left out. The romance was rocky but it turned out well in the end. Again I must say that the end was unbelievably touching and heartfelt. It really felt right and I can't wait to get my hands on book 4!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Zsadist is my favorite!

    Out of all the members of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Zsadist is my favorite character. The love story between him and Bella is truly touching. If you're already a BDB series fan, this book will not disappoint you.

    For those new to the BDB series, a few things to note. I started reading the first BDB book, Dark Lover, after finishing the Twilight series and - WHOA! - what culture shock. The BDB series is not a "tween" love story. It's loaded with expletives (so, not so great for book clubs), intense intimacy and action. This series is sort of Sydney Sheldon with vampires. And, though it wasn't Twilight-ish at all, I could not stop reading this series, and devoured all seven books in about three weeks. My biggest complaint with the series is that each book - especially the later ones in the series - is a cliffhanger to future books, so you never feel as though you've 'completed' what you're reading. Each story feels unfinished because it is. The last two books were so loaded with details for future books, that I didn't feel they did justice to the "brother" the book is primarily about. Still, I'm hooked and waiting for the next book to come out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Avalyn &hearts

    She was panting hard, her face surprised. ((Ahh, gotta go, wake up at six... so staying up too late isn't a good idea.))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Good read

    THE GOOD
    Transformation of Zsadist was beautiful. Bella's love 4 z, fight against the insane lessor, controlling brother, going threw needing period, confronting z & all his crazy behavior really made a great read
    Other characters were mention alot n the book
    THE BAD
    (SPOILER: one of the brothers shellan dies...this didnt make.sense 2 me)
    THE UGLY
    The author just kept giving David breaks n liv n

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Awesome mix

    A decent plot, emotions pouncing off the page. This was a awesome read. I really enjoyed it. Im going to read another book in this series. This is a 3.5 - 4.0 read. Worth the $$. Over 400 pages of the story, not some preview of another. Each character was developed and enough info for several additional stand alone novels. Im happy with this read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    A must read!

    I am loving this series! Cant wait to start book #4 tomorrow!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    I was looking for a random book and something not predictable bu

    I was looking for a random book and something not predictable but at the same time i knew something wasgonna pop up. This series has it and more. Luv These books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Good

    I liked the story but i kept waiting for an apology to Bella from Z. Like c'mon he was kinda brutal in his rejection of her and she was seriously hurting. Yes it was great that he changed his ways but he really needed to say I'm Sorry!! Maybe a littlemorethan that.That was my only frustation but overall great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Sad

    I am really happy for Z and bella. Great story. But taking thohr best friend D was bad enough. To take weslie the best female of the series was not ok. I really hope this gets turned around. I pay lits of money for all these books. I sure hope the series ends good! Rahge amd are the best. I best thohr and Z would of been fun brothers as well if they did not get ruined.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    Loved the book, what of gotten five, but I was getting sick of a

    Loved the book, what of gotten five, but I was getting sick of all the self pitty from Zadist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Better than book #2

    I just finished this third book on the series, and I REALLY liked it (5 stars for me is loved it). I loved the first book, and the second was good, but this was really good! To be honest I didn't think I would like it because I am not Zsadist's biggest fan. However, the way she wrote this book was so smart. You got to see Zsadist become this dynamic character, and by the end I was tearing up! Wonderfully written, full of action sprinkled with humor. There were some really sad parts I was not expecting. And of course there are the steamy hot love scenes - but to me the major ones in this book were SO awesome. It really captured the emotion of it. There was just more to it than them getting it on. When you read it you will know what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Bella has been kidnapped and her family believes her to be dead

    Bella has been kidnapped and her family believes her to be dead but Zsadist is still looking for her. When a civilian vampire reports that Bella is alive, Zsadist wants to rush to her rescue even though it's daylight out. Zsadist is impatient to get moving but the whole Brotherhood takes part in her rescue. John Matthew starts his training as a warrior and feels like a failure at it. John Matthew feels an attraction to Sarelle, who is helping Wellsie with the Winter Solstice Festival. Phury is attracted to Bella but so is Zsadist, who won't admit it to himself. Zsadist keeps pushing Bella to his twin, Phury but Bella only has eyes for Zsadist. Can Bella help heal Zsadist? Will Zsadist allow Bella into his life? What will Phury do about his attraction to Bella? Can John endure warrior training? These questions and many more are answered in Lover Awakened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Love this series

    Just starting on this book and can not wait to read it. It has been years that I have read a series written so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent world within a world story

    Waited a long time to get this book but it was worth the wait. Ward does such a good job outlining this story and all the different elements involved. She truly creates a world within out world. As I previously said there is some repetition as far as each warrior finding their mate ie. the process they go through etc. However, the plot of the story is what has my interests the most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Good read

    Highly recommend. Zsadust is excellent as a tortured soul who needs saving. Enjoy the various plots Again, highly recommend the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Still love these books!

    These books just keep getting better and better, cant wait to start the 4th book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    THE BAD GUY YOU'VE ALWAYS WANTED!!!

    OMG! SIZZLE SIZZLE SIZZLE! While my mom is reading The Holy Bible, i'm reading a roller coaster of twists n turns that i didnt even see coming... well i did see one thing happening, but you kinda get foreshadowed about it. I dont want to give anything away about the book, except that it is a MUST READ if you are into Immortal Romances with Action, Adventure and Suspense. J.R. Ward really brings you into a whole different world and its hard to look away. the only thing i can not wrap my head around is.... if these books are set in Cauldwell, NY... why are some of the characters wearing Red Sox Hats???? I'm a New Yorker and i dont know anyone who would buy, much less wear, in public or private, a Red Sox hat deliberately - Met or Yankee fan - WE JUST HATE THE RED SOX HERE IN NY STATE! JUST SAYIN'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Awesome!

    I found myself having a few tears, and I'm not like that with reading. You actually get invested in these characters. Great series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    I was psyched to get to this book because I knew the Zsadist story would be great! I loved his and Bella's story, and for the first time with this series I felt like the characters had valid reasons for liking/loving the person at first sight (or very early on) as opposed the other books where just they sort of decide they love her for no apparent reason. I felt like Bella was one of the strongest female characters so far, and I loved that she knew was she wanted and was confident about asking for it, yet was not afraid to show vulnerability. Finally! I know that the formula for this type of book requires that the couple fights or has a falling out before finally getting together at the end, but I feel like series tends to drag that on a bit and has one extra fight than is realistic or necessary. I also loved getting more of the John story, he's definitely a new favorite and i CAN'T wait till they find out who he is!!! There were a couple twists at then end with several different characters that I totally did not see coming and I'm excited to start the next one to see how some stuff plays out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15