Customer Reviews for

Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2285 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1842)

4 Star

(299)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Z is my FAVORITE !

This is DEFINATELY a must read... Z is my favorite brother the way that he loves Bella is amazing... I haved read this series several times and have also read this one in particular even more.. I do have favs of the series but as a whole the series is an AWESOME read......
This is DEFINATELY a must read... Z is my favorite brother the way that he loves Bella is amazing... I haved read this series several times and have also read this one in particular even more.. I do have favs of the series but as a whole the series is an AWESOME read... I highly recommend it... And also pick up the e-book that is a companion to this book it's a WONDERFUL read....

I would give this series 10 stars if I could ! Way to go Mrs. Ward I know I'm not alone when I say this I would love to see more from the brotherhood.... :)

posted by CullenGirl77 on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

re: warning

J.R. Ward is an amazing writer. I just finished reading all of her books one by one. Her stories are great, they flow from book to book, the characters have depth, are well thought out and believable. Having said that, I really enjoyed reading her stories with the one ...
J.R. Ward is an amazing writer. I just finished reading all of her books one by one. Her stories are great, they flow from book to book, the characters have depth, are well thought out and believable. Having said that, I really enjoyed reading her stories with the one exception of her dialogue. J.R. uses so many acronyms and inappropriate slang it just got worse and worse as she progressed through the series. It was so disappointing. If you are the type of reader that ignores things you don't understand - great. I am not that reader. I had to actually go online to an acronym sight to look up some them. HSIC? PTSD? BMOC? I lost count of how many she uses, it was ridiculous. In addition, she makes up her own slang. "sitch" for situation, "stitties" for stilettos, "B" for Bentley, "abso" for absolutely, "epi" for episode, "tourni" for touriquet, "'za" for pizza, "res" for residence, "packy" for package. It was downright irritating and lazy. One of the worse offenses was when King Wrath and one of the warriors said "I'm outtie"....really? That does not bring to mind a warrior or a leader of a race, rather Brittney Murphy in "Clueless". If you can get past it, her stories are great. I personally will not read another book of hers or recommend them to anyone. And I think her editor should be fired!(If anyone at Penguin reads these!)

posted by Missy306 on September 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1842 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 93
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Z is my FAVORITE !

    This is DEFINATELY a must read... Z is my favorite brother the way that he loves Bella is amazing... I haved read this series several times and have also read this one in particular even more.. I do have favs of the series but as a whole the series is an AWESOME read... I highly recommend it... And also pick up the e-book that is a companion to this book it's a WONDERFUL read....

    I would give this series 10 stars if I could ! Way to go Mrs. Ward I know I'm not alone when I say this I would love to see more from the brotherhood.... :)

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I couldnt put it down

    This is my favorite book of the entire series it was emotional but not sappy and the main characters didnt lose what made them, standout while trying to build a romance story.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    JR Ward's imagination is ... Amazing!! I highly recommend this book!!! *****

    This book is about one of Ms. Ward's Black-Dagger Brotherhood Warriors, Zhadist... The warrior who is considered "Psycho", trying to kill as many Lessers as he can, to protect the humans and the Vampires from the Omega and his followers. The warrior who denies his love for his twin, his fellow warriors and for the lady he thinks deserves a "Male of Worth"... I highly recommend this book...but, have a box of tissues handy (just in case). ***** (5 Stars)!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite book of this series!

    Although not my favorite character, "Lover Awakened" was definitely my favorite book out of the BDB series. Bella's "needing period" alone made this book worth my while to read and re-read over and over! LOL Zsadist's trials and struggles throughout his life help explain his outlook on people and himself, and the way he finally realizes that Bella is the one for him is pretty cool. Definitely a must-read and must-have for your BDB library!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Zsadist's story.

    Out of all the books in the series so far this was my favorite. Zsadist is one of the characters that you love even though you should hate him. He draws you closer each time he tries to push you away. He is a very complex character with deep rooted issues. Under all the torment he is a very good guy with honor and a tenderness to him that you would think he was not capable of. The Novella of him and Bella's life together is a great add on to this book. I have read the book twice and each time get a better understanding and deeper feeling for Zsadist. This is well worth the read along with the whole series. I give it 5-stars.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    soo good!

    I cannot get enought of the black dagger brotherhood! It is one of those books that you wake up in the morning and think, when can I fit reading this into my day? I love the twist of J.R.Ward's vampires, it really gives you the impression that they are they are own race, steaped with traditions and culture, not just the physical differences from humans for a change. You get to see one of the most leathal brothers reveal his softer side, and to see why he is so cut off from his surroundings, one of her best novels yet. I can't wait to see what she comes up with next!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Black Dagger Brother Hood

    What more is there to say..........these books are hot!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sucker for This Story (No Pun Intended)

    Usually, I only comment on the first book of a series but, since I read the first and the second Black Dagger Brotherhood books in the same day and this one was so fantastic, I'm putting my two cents in here. I LOVED THIS STORY.

    I'm a sucker for the misunderstood tough guy. I know the story's been done to death in good and bad ways, but this one is my favorite so far. Ward develops Zhadist's character in a way that made me want to push Bella out of the way and comfort him myself. Just wait until you see how Mr. O ends up. You won't believe it, but it's almost an afterthought considering all that's going on.

    One thing Ward does that authors in this genre often neglect is to develop storylines for other books within previous books. Yeah, Zhadist has found his piece of mind, but I have to read the next to find out what happens with Tohr, Butch, Vischous, Phury, John. . .oh heck, back to the library!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    From the beginning, Zsadist has been a mysterious and cold chara

    From the beginning, Zsadist has been a mysterious and cold character. His dark past is alluded to, but not explained until now. Bella’s stubbornness and love is something to be admired. You instinctively know that loving someone like Zsadist will never be easy, but you root for her to try and for him to let her. This story is darker and more intense than the first two because Ward finally addresses the fact that the Brothers are fighting a war, which means that people die. Characters you love will die, and it will change the dynamic of the Brotherhood forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Awesome

    My fav besides the one that's coming out in march can't wait for Quinn and blays story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best of the series

    I think that out of all of the books this one is my favorite. The Hereo in this one is very realistic with realistic problems. Out of all of the relationships this one has the most to over come. Bella is the perfect match for Z because she is a very strong woman who is tender enough to help Z through a very scarred past. This book has many themes and will keep you wanting more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    The best

    Number one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Lilly

    Here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Jade

    Walks back in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Kaitlyn

    Hey she says

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Zoe

    Sure. Hope it got you to the real world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Mark to madi

    How bout me? Big cock res 2. Put your bio there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    To damiem

    Wan sex.x my name is amber fuq mee

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Momo to kevin

    Wanna fuq me?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Secret

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1842 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 93