Customer Reviews for

Lover Be Mine (Legendary Lovers Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The scandalous Wilde cousins seek true love by imitating history

    The scandalous Wilde cousins seek true love by imitating history's legendary lovers... and with the success of Ash & Maura’s Cinderella story Kate & Skye turn their matchmaking to Jack Wilde and Sophie Fortin as a modern day Romeo & Juliette without the dying of course.  Can Jack win the heart and hand of fair Sophie despite their family feud?  
    Okay so modern is relative in this Regency romance by Nicole Jordan but you get the idea.  Clever dialog and sensual intrigue move this story from an everyday historical into a must read.  Lover Be Mine is the second in the Legendary Lovers series but can be read stand-alone.  I am anxiously awaiting the further adventures of the Wilde cousins.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    4.25 stars:LOVER BE MINE is the second instalment in Nicole Jord

    4.25 stars:LOVER BE MINE is the second instalment in Nicole Jordan’s Legendary Lovers historical romance series. This is Lord Jack Wilde and Sophie Fortin’s story-a tale not unsimilar to Romeo and Juliet where a decades old feud has left two families bitter and Sophie’s family without a title or a royal name. Nicole Jordan weaves a fractured Shakespearean tale where our couple will fall in love much to the disdain of Sophie’s family when an arranged marriage has already been in the works that will insure Sophie’s family a title and connection to a royal seat. Each book can be read as a stand alone without too much difficulty.
    The focus of the series is on the five Wilde cousins who, through young Kate and Skyler Wilde, have made it their job to ensure each of the cousins finds love. With reference to fairy tales and Shakespeare’s plays, the youngest Wilde’s set into motion a plan that will see their cousin Jack fall in love with Miss Sophie Fortin-but not before a battle of wills forces Jack and Sophie to reconsider what it is, that they want. With the Fortin family pride on the line, Sophie refuses to acknowledge her love for Jack in the hopes that her father will be accepted back into royal society.
    The attraction between Jack and Sophie is immediate. They are drawn to one another but Sophie has been betrothed to another man. Jack’s only hope to win Sophie’s hand is to accept his family heritage as the rightful heir to a principality but in doing so he must accept that the man he has hated since a young child is the father who abandoned his mother and his self almost twenty five years earlier.
    Sophie is a strong willed woman-when she wants to be- but has a very difficult time saying no to her father. Her mother’s ‘depression’ and her father’s loss of prestige is used constantly as a form of blackmail to ensure Sophie’s compliance and in this she is a character whose personality flickered between weak willed and combative. Her feelings waffled constantly, and at times, was an irritant to both Jack and the reader, as well.
    The passionate storyline follows Jack and Sophie as they dance around one another and the private and public morals of the day. The sexual tension is palpable; Jack’s need for Sophie is demanding and true. Theirs is a sensual affair that will pit two families against one another should the truth be revealed about their already burgeoning romance. Emotions run deep when a man refuses to acknowledge his birthright but must do so to win the hand of the only woman he has ever loved.
    Nicole Jordan pulls the reader into a seductive storyline where one couple will unite two families torn apart by a blood feud that tells a different tale then history remembers. LOVER BE MINE is an engaging tale where Romeo fell in love with his Juliet but no one was harmed in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Wonderful!

    Truly enjoyed this book. How one girl believes she can find each of the 'Wilde cousins' their true love. To do this she will use a historical legendary lovers' story. A new spin on an old tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Djdd

    Hhwhff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Good

    I like most of nicoles stories. I liked this one to and will read the next in the series. But this one fell just a little short for me.. however it was still a good love story with a good ending and great passion. Not for under 18. Phyl p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Idk

    I gtg tired

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Angela

    Here

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Hey u to wierdos

    Party at anger res4 for a club/bar - tim

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Slave

    Next res im on bottom

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    A dazzling kiss from ..... who was that masked man?????

    Nicole Jordan knows how to keep her readers coming back for more. Love the characters, their problems and resolutions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jack goes to check out Sophie at a masquerade to get his matchma

    Jack goes to check out Sophie at a masquerade to get his matchmaking cousins off his back. He doesn't expect the attraction that is there. He ends up going to some pretty extreme measures to convince her to marry him. He has plenty of obstacles. Their families have been feuding for generations. He has a not-so-great reputation of his own. Her parents expect her to marry the duke that is courting her.  This was a fun read. Jack doesn't really want to get married in the first place, but ends up trying convince Sophie to go against her parents and marry him instead of the duke. For fun, steamy historical romance, this is worth the read. And I would check out the rest of the series as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I just finished Lover be mine, I absolutely loved it.  Jack and

    I just finished Lover be mine, I absolutely loved it.  Jack and Sophie were those characters that you just love from the start.  So funny, and so determined. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Flameclaw

    You almost died. I have to leave. Stay here dont fight please

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Lover Be Mine b

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    Lover Be Mine by Nicole Jordan
    Book Two of the Legendary Lovers series
    Publisher: Ballantine Books
    Publication Date: May 28, 2013
    Rating: 3 stars
    Source: eARC from Edelweiss

    ***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    From New York Times bestselling author Nicole Jordan comes this Romeo and Juliet-like story-the scorching second book in her wickedly sexy Legendary Lovers regency romance series, following Princess Charming.

    When Lord Jack Wilde's cousin tries to match him with Lady Sophie Fortin, he isn't too thrilled by the prospect since Sophie's family has long feuded with the Wildes. Nevertheless he attends a masquerade ball in disguise and when he meets Sophie, he's drawn to her. The attraction is mutual-until she learns who he is. Angry that Jack has tricked her into lowering her guard under false pretenses, Sophie declares she doesn't ever want to see him again. But then Jack shows up in unexpected places, driving her crazy with his seductive advances. She doesn't want her parents finding out that she even knows him, let alone succumbed to his passionate kisses. If her father discovers Jack courting her, blood could be shed. Yet, Sophie still wants him and realizes that in order for the star-crossed lovers to be together, they must try to somehow settle the bitter feud between their families once and for all.


    What I Liked:

    The very beginning (first 25%)  and the ending are really the best parts of this book. The beginning is very strong, and clearly shows the chemistry between our protagonists. The ending is a happy ending, and readers can see that coming. 

    Jack and Sophie, the protagonists, are likable at times. I really liked Mrs. Pennant, Sophie's aunt. She is a significant part of the book, and helps Sophie unite with Jack more than once. She is a fabulously strong woman for such a time as this.


    What I Did Not Like:

    I'm going to be honest - as I am writing this review, it hasn't been that long since I read this book, and I can barely remember the book. That shows me that this book did not impress me enough to remember key details and plot points! Also, while I was reading this book, I was often bored. It is sad to say, but this book did not always engage my attention. And, it IS four hundred pages long (imagine that on an e-reader!). Length usually does not deter me (actually, it is the opposite - I love long books!), but the length of this book was not an impressive feature, as many parts of the book could have been done without. 

    I did not really like the family feud idea. I know it was supposed to mirror Romeo and Juliet, but the feud itself was silly, and pointless. Feuds generally are silly and pointless, but I really did not believe this feud could be real.

    The two protagonists, Jack and Sophie, were either endearing, or they irritated me. In the first part of the book (25%-ish), I thoroughly enjoyed reading about them and their interactions. After that, it was all just a bunch of angst and woe on Jack's part, because his life is so hard, and Sophie is pushing him away because she wants to do what's right be her family. Then, it switches, and suddenly it's Sophie who is angst-ridden and woeful, because Jack turns his back on her.

    But of course, all's well that ends well. This book had a good ending, if not a little (a LOT) predictable. I am satisfied with the ending.


    Would I Recommend It: 

    Meh. Probably not. This definitely isn't the best example of a great historical romance novel. While I really enjoyed the first part of the novel (the first 25%, about), the rest of the novel seemed flat and not memorable. 


    Rating:

    3 stars. I'm not a huge fan of this book, but it's not too bad.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    I really enjoyed this romance and hope to read more about this f

    I really enjoyed this romance and hope to read more about this funny deeply caring family. I hadn't read the previous book in this series, as I wasn't aware that this was a series until I had already started reading this one, but once I finished I went and bought the first one.

    I liked that the female relatives decided that each member of the family will find their perfect mate by emulating a pair of legendary lovers. In this case it was Romeo and Juliet and Jack and Sophie definitely fit the bill as star-crossed lovers. Their families had been in a feud for a couple generations. The chase Jack takes to secure Sophie to his side was a thrill to read. Not only were we in London, but we visited Paris (briefly) and a country Navartania (not sure about that spelling). The pair were perfect for each other.

    Can't wait to read the next book and see who gets put through the romance drama. Doesn't have to be read as part of the series, but I'm sure it would be even more enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Nicole Jordan provides a thrilling spin on Romeo and Juliet.  So

    Nicole Jordan provides a thrilling spin on Romeo and Juliet.  Sophie is set to wed a Duke at her family bequest.  However, a meeting with Lord Jack turns out to be life changing. He refuses to see her marry the Duke of Dunmore and begins courting her in secret. You see her family and his have been feuding for 3 generations and he has no hopes of winning her fathers approval.  As Jack takes matters into his own hands he must open his heart and face old fears in order to secure his place in Sophie's heart. A great story with lots of supporting characters that I look forward to reading their stories as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Medicine den

    Medicine Den

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    A deliciously sexy twist on Romeo & Juliet. Jack is a real c

    A deliciously sexy twist on Romeo & Juliet. Jack is a real charmer and Sophie is his perfect match, which they both end up realizing after many fun and/or emotional twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2