Customer Reviews for

Lover Enshrined (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1751 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1035)

4 Star

(404)

3 Star

(217)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

BROTHER HOOD FAN

I just finished reading this book and I liked all the stories that were taking place at the same time. The characters are great, and I got the romance between Phury and Cormia. What is bothering me though is that J. R. Ward has turned two guys I thought were going to be...
I just finished reading this book and I liked all the stories that were taking place at the same time. The characters are great, and I got the romance between Phury and Cormia. What is bothering me though is that J. R. Ward has turned two guys I thought were going to be two more great stories into a gay storyline between the two warriors. There aren't too many more male characters left to write about and I was looking forward to Quinn and Blay's story but now I'm just not. No offense but I am not interested in reading about guys into other guys no matter how nicely written. I want to read about hot hetero warriors because I am a woman who loves to read about sexy girl/boy couples not sexy boy/boy couples and if you are going to introduce more male characters with gay lifestyles you should be fair and give equal time to girl/girl couples. Now that would be different and maybe more interesting. (You mean to tell me that out of the 9 warriors 3 have been kind of into guys, or gay, but out of 40 chosen females with no mates who according to J.R. are ready to mate there isn't one girl /girl couple or maybe even more than one.)

posted by 148253 on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

well, that explains it...

I've read many of the reviews from readers of this book and I'll have to say that I too, was left shaking my head after finishing this book. To my dismay, I found myself frequently wanting to quit before I finished the book because the hero was so annoying. I started re...
I've read many of the reviews from readers of this book and I'll have to say that I too, was left shaking my head after finishing this book. To my dismay, I found myself frequently wanting to quit before I finished the book because the hero was so annoying. I started reading the series, oh, perhaps, 2 weeks ago. So, I really followed the brothers from book one to book six within a relatively short time period. Call me obsessive...usually, if there's a series I take a shine to, I'll just keep reading it. (Admittedly, I slowed down with V's story...boy, that one was pretty bad, as well) Luckily, I'm a really fast reader. Anyway, I really took to Phury from the beginning of the series and boy, as a hero, he could not have been more disappointing. Well, maybe he could have been, but then he'd have regressed into this psychotic, whiny addict with no personality. Oh, wait, that was how he played out. So, yeah, I go back to my supposition that he couldn't have been a worse hero.

I've always been the kind of reader who liked an action packed book with a mandatory twist of romance added in. I have been on a "vampire" kick and enjoyed the first few books because of the interesting plot line. The others in this series were obviously filled with more romance than this one but the comparative lack of that in this book didn't actually bother me at all. Just give me a hero/heroine to believe in. Please. And then I'm happy. Is that too much to ask for?

To me, the unfolding plot lines were what made me continue on with this book...except I became more and more frustrated at how incompetent the brotherhood was starting to look as the book continued. Hey, the lessers were kicking butt and putting the brotherhood to shame. If this continues, the civilian vampires should start hoping that the lessers somehow develop a change of heart and decide to protect them, not destroy them; after all, the incompetence seen in this book by the saviors does not bode well for the race as a whole. Hopefully Ward starts to reinfuse some confidence in the brotherhood with her next book. Then again, Rehvenge isn't exactly a brother is he?

posted by DogLoverNYC on December 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 404 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    BROTHER HOOD FAN

    I just finished reading this book and I liked all the stories that were taking place at the same time. The characters are great, and I got the romance between Phury and Cormia. What is bothering me though is that J. R. Ward has turned two guys I thought were going to be two more great stories into a gay storyline between the two warriors. There aren't too many more male characters left to write about and I was looking forward to Quinn and Blay's story but now I'm just not. No offense but I am not interested in reading about guys into other guys no matter how nicely written. I want to read about hot hetero warriors because I am a woman who loves to read about sexy girl/boy couples not sexy boy/boy couples and if you are going to introduce more male characters with gay lifestyles you should be fair and give equal time to girl/girl couples. Now that would be different and maybe more interesting. (You mean to tell me that out of the 9 warriors 3 have been kind of into guys, or gay, but out of 40 chosen females with no mates who according to J.R. are ready to mate there isn't one girl /girl couple or maybe even more than one.)

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Who's story was this?

    I was a little confused with this one. Who's story was it? Phury, John Matthew, Quhinn and Blay? I had to assume it was suppose to be Phury's story but hard to tell at times. It lacked in the romance department which is one thing I really liked about the first books in this series. Now there seems to be too many other things going on. And the author changes scenes so quickly. One minute you're reading about Phury and all of a sudden it's John Matthew. Sometimes I didn't even realize it had changed. Overall I am glad I read this book. It is virtually impossible for this author to write a "bad" book. I'm looking forward to Revhenge's story. He sounds very interesting to me. Heck, I'd gladly crawl under the sheets with any of these vampires (except Lash...what a P---k).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    #6 in series

    This was my least favorite in the series. I did like that the plot was different than the previous books, but the content was lacking for me. Worth reading to maintain the storyline of the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2009

    I'm in love

    OUTSTANDING , no house work done while reading these 6 books. can't wait for the 7th

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT PASSION!

    The love story between Phury and Cormia is wonderful. Phury shows such honor for the brotherhood and also for his brother and his mate that you can't help but love him, he is one of my favortes of the Black Dagger brotherhood and Comia is a great surprise as one of the chosen she has great strength.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read them all so far

    .. this one in my opinion was my 2nd favorite.
    It was truly touching, and I'm sure anyone whose ever had to look deep inside them and become the person they were meant to be, can relate.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    really liked it

    i thought this book was a little different then the rest of the books. I really liked this one. It was like a roller coaster and I was happy of the outcome. Of course everything has a "happily everafter," but getting there was the fun part.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    great joy

    i enjoyed this book as with all of the other brotherhood stories. yes there was a lot going on, but thats not always a bad thing. i've read many series where you read about characters and then dont hear about them again. with this book, i loved reading about the other characters, hints of future books as well as the developing romance of phury. i highly recommend this book to others and to continue to read the series. i'm looking forward to the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Actual rating 3.5

    I actually rate this book a 3.5....Strictly b/c of romance...it takes a backseat to everything going on in this book...The other storylines were good, but there were so many...will continue to read the series, yet I hope the future books will focus more on the romance...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    I've read all the books in the series and loved this one

    I really enjoyed the book as Phury has always been my favorite character, however, I feel like the story took too long at the beginning, including so many other storylines, then was rushed at the end. I'm looking forward to the next book because I hope it resolves the conflicts left unsettled storylines.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    Must Read To Keep Up With The Series. The "Side" Stories Were The Best Part!

    "Lover Enshrined" is the 6th book in the BDB series and focuses on Phury. Phury was a cool character at times but I mostly found him to be a whiny,, self-destructive, hypocrite. Pretty standard for most addicts. The whol "primale" thing was lame. And I can't stand the whole "chosen" stuff either. Cormia was boring and predictable but at least Phury is no longer pining over Bella. There are some really positive factors in this book, though. The Brotherhood's ongoing war with the Lessers takes on a whole new life in "Lover Enshrined". The Brothers are back with a vengeance in this one. The badasses return in full force as they struggle to keep the vamp race alive. Especially as the Lesser attacks come closer and closer to home and start picking off the glymera families. I also loved that John, Blay, and Quinn are pretty prominantly featured in this book. They are undoubtedly the future of the Brotherhood and it is pretty awesome to see how they handle all of the challenges that are thrown their way when the Brothers find themselves overwhelmingly outnumbered by the Lessers. SPOILERS... There were two BFD moments Of "Lover Enshrined". The first was the shocking return of a frail Thorment. Tohrment's reunion with John had me tearing up as John has missed Tohr so much. John has his father back! The other tearjerker moment was the anxiously awaited birth of Zsadist and Bella's daughter, Nalla. Mostly because her birth helped to heal the fractured bond of Phury and the rest of the Brotherhood. The little Black Dagger Princess has arrived! So, overall Phury's story alone was not necessarily the backbone of "Lover Enshrined". But rather, it was the whole of the story of everything else that kept me turning the pages. Excited for "Lover avenged"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Must read for the series!

    Not my favorite, but moves nicely and I liked it a lot. Love the Black Dagger Brotherhood series!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Glad I Purchased It!

    Like alot of readers, I was scrolling through the reader reviews before making my purchase just to see what I was to expect. After reading the reviews, I was very hesitant to purchase this book, as most comments were pretty negative. I found this book to be even more engrossing than the previous 5 books.
    I will say that J.R. Ward is no literary genious. There are several things about her writing that irritate me such as her overuse of punctuation. Most of the dialogue is lack-luster. That said, I keep coming back for more. The woman knows how to spin an engrossing tale. When I read the first book of the series, I wanted not to like it. No such luck for me! I have just purchased book 7 for my Nook.

    I will say that there are tons of errors in this book which makes me hope they didn't pay a proofreader very much! It is annoying, but doesn't take away from the story. I do recommend this book if you're loving the series. It fills in some holes and develops characters you know we'll see down the road. Over all, it's an enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Phury & Cormia...

    This book was good, but it was also EXHAUSTING! There was a LOT of information to absorb, a lot of side stories, and a LOT of characters. The only major thing that wrapped up was, of course, Phury & Cormia and how they interact as the Primale and one of the Chosen. I thought I would like Phury, and really looked forward to his story, but he wasn't really what I expected him to be. The "exhausting" part comes a lot from these two potential mates ducking and dodging, for way too long and Phury & "The Wizard", all the drugs, and for most of the book I felt that Phury was depicted as "weak". I really think that *maybe* a lot of this story could have been told without Phury being an "addict". Cormia, isn't my favorite Shellan either, but she does work with Phury, which, in the long run helped me to come around to her character. It was interesting watching her grow in this book from one of "The Chosen", which is a whole other looong story in and of itself, to being on, "The Far Side". I won't go into too much detail about them, as it would give too much of the story away. There were a lot of new side stories that will carry over into the next book(s). I'm really looking forward to some of these stories concluding so we can concentrate on the really *important* things.. the Brothers and their Shellans! :) Okay, okay, I know, there must be other things going on in order for these books to be interesting, but after finishing "Lover Enshrined", I need something a little less "busy". I love John Matthew, but it was really hard to imagine him as "all grown up" after his transition. He is still a child in a lot of ways. Even as a pretrans it was hard to wrap your head around the fact that he was 25 years old! I hope he is portrayed as much more mature in the next chapter of this series, along with Qhuinn and Blay. I also can't wait for the fact that he is a "wahlker" (Darius) to come out... or at least I *hope* that what all of this has been leading up to. I will really be disappointed if that part of the plot never comes to fruition. The one new character I'm most looking forward to more of is Lassiter, The Fallen Angel. I loved this new addition and his humor, and I'll bet he's sexy as hell too! This is one new plot line that I can't wait to see where it leads. We see much more of Rehvenge in this book, which, I'm sure, is leading up to Lover Avenged which is about him. He is a unique character for sure, so much dark and mysterious about him. I'm curious to nail down all the blackmail/Princess stuff. Lash... now there was something I didn't see coming. I despised this character from the first mention of him, and my opinion just got progressively worse from then on. Although I love The Black Dagger Brotherhood series and all in all, I did enjoy this book and I look forward to seeing where all the new plots will lead. It's a *MUST* read in order to know what's going on in the next books. I can't stress enough how important it is to read these books in order or you will be totally lost, I'm sure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    Phury was never my favorite and this time I was more focused on

    Phury was never my favorite and this time I was more focused on the side stories than on his. Cormia is a little to nice for Phury, I think he needed someone like Xhex to control him better, especially now that he became an addict. I loved Quinn and John learning more about their new life “together”. Those scenes with Lash were a little intense but worth it. We can clearly see the war is changing and those lessers are becoming more dangerous now that a leader has arisen.




    So to me this book deserves a good rating for the developments in the series more than for the leading couple. We can see Rehvenge being important in this story and even Torh returning. So the book is huge and there’s a lot going on but we are never lost and that is something very important to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    I was looking for a random book and something not predictable bu

    I was looking for a random book and something not predictable but at the same time i knew something was gonna pop up. This series has it and more. Luv These books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    This is one series that has a complete hold on me right now.  Ea

    This is one series that has a complete hold on me right now.  Each book in this series follow a different brother in the Black Dagger Brotherhood but there is a reason why I picked the above quote.  This particular installment follows Phury's story and love interest.  But I think the many side stories took over this book and it didn't feel like Phury's book.  The relationships and troubles in Quinn, John Mathews, and Blay's lives take a huge turn.  Tohrment's story makes some progression.  More insight is gained into Rehvenge's secret delimma.  We meet a fallen angel.  Oh and all hell breaks loose in the Vampire community.  Is that enough for you?  Sounds like there is a lot going on but it worked because there was really no need to spend mroe time with Phury and the side stories were much more interesting.  I enjoyed this one because it made me excited about the books to come.  I loved the progression of Quinn, John Mathews, and Blay.  It re-energized my interest in this series.  Overall, a great installment if Phury doesn't interest you too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Series is slow

    Slow but I keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    A nice read overall...but

    Could someone explain how a fallen angel comes to save a vampire, let alone why he would care? Vampires supposedly have their own diety, their own lexicon. This whole part of the storyline just doesn't fit, and is the main reason I could only give 4 stars. Let the angels stay in their books and leave the vampires in theirs...I mean, if the situation was reversed do we really think the angels would take guidance from the Brotherhood or The Scribe Virgin? Not likely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Good but not great.

    This was by far the book that covers everyones lives...just about. I cant wait until the future books! Phury's story was lacking something. Not sure what but i was glad in the end. I nearly screamed when they described anonymous persons life alone... Overall an ok book. Not one of my favs but it def builds up to the next books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 404 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21