Customer Reviews for

Lover Eternal (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2399 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1818)

4 Star

(400)

3 Star

(115)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

NOTHING LESS THAN FANTASTIC!

I really liked "Dark Lover" and I was looking forward to Zsadist's story in book 3, so I figured I rush on through this one to get to his story. I was completely swept into this book! I didn't care for Rhage/Hollywood too much in the first book so I certainly wasn't exp...
I really liked "Dark Lover" and I was looking forward to Zsadist's story in book 3, so I figured I rush on through this one to get to his story. I was completely swept into this book! I didn't care for Rhage/Hollywood too much in the first book so I certainly wasn't expecting to find him one of the best, most fun male characters I have read about in a long time! The first date scene where Rhage has dinner with Mary was so cute and endearing...for both of them. I loved Mary and I could see how Rhage feel for her so quickly. Though not conventionally beautiful, and scarred from her battles with cancer, Mary was a friendly, compassionate and accepting person. She learns he is vampire and wants to help. She learns about the 'beast' and wants to help. She sees the beast...and I wont' spoil that by saying how that goes...but this is obviously a caring and compassionate human being. I read some of the reviews here where readers didn't feel she was deserving of Rhage because she was whiny. She had battled cancer before, and now it was back worse than ever. She had battles of chemo treatments to look forward to..losing her hair... I have had some experience with people close to me having cancer. This woman had every right to be whiny and it wasn't even like it was over the top. I didn't think she was really even whiny as I read the book. She wanted to protect Rhage from watching her become sicker until she died. Like she had watched her mother. For the first time in a long time, I could really understand the attraction between two people that leads them to fall in love in the span of a book. Kudos to J.R. Ward for making me believe in this romance. Also, the other portions of the book were likewise amazing. The story of Z's fascination with Bella...the warrior to be being taken in by Wellsie and Tor..the lessers getting crazier by the minute. This book was chock full of good stuff. Put me on the side of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Even though I may have to hide the titles when I am out in public, I am hooked!

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ruined

When he cheated on her and she knowingly had sex with him that same night, it just ruined the book. Not a bit romantic, more like tragic.

posted by Anonymous on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1818 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 91
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    NOTHING LESS THAN FANTASTIC!

    I really liked "Dark Lover" and I was looking forward to Zsadist's story in book 3, so I figured I rush on through this one to get to his story. I was completely swept into this book! I didn't care for Rhage/Hollywood too much in the first book so I certainly wasn't expecting to find him one of the best, most fun male characters I have read about in a long time! The first date scene where Rhage has dinner with Mary was so cute and endearing...for both of them. I loved Mary and I could see how Rhage feel for her so quickly. Though not conventionally beautiful, and scarred from her battles with cancer, Mary was a friendly, compassionate and accepting person. She learns he is vampire and wants to help. She learns about the 'beast' and wants to help. She sees the beast...and I wont' spoil that by saying how that goes...but this is obviously a caring and compassionate human being. I read some of the reviews here where readers didn't feel she was deserving of Rhage because she was whiny. She had battled cancer before, and now it was back worse than ever. She had battles of chemo treatments to look forward to..losing her hair... I have had some experience with people close to me having cancer. This woman had every right to be whiny and it wasn't even like it was over the top. I didn't think she was really even whiny as I read the book. She wanted to protect Rhage from watching her become sicker until she died. Like she had watched her mother. For the first time in a long time, I could really understand the attraction between two people that leads them to fall in love in the span of a book. Kudos to J.R. Ward for making me believe in this romance. Also, the other portions of the book were likewise amazing. The story of Z's fascination with Bella...the warrior to be being taken in by Wellsie and Tor..the lessers getting crazier by the minute. This book was chock full of good stuff. Put me on the side of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Even though I may have to hide the titles when I am out in public, I am hooked!

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    Cool

    I thought the duality of Rhage was wonderful. Sooo beautiful on the outside but what was hidden beneath the surface was so ugly. Hollywood's longing for a special person was touching. He was not thrilled with the lifestyle he was forced to endure to keep civilians and the people he loved safe. Mary was pretty cool too. SHe had health issues but her spirit was strong. The depth of love Rhage demonstrated to Mary was just plain awesome.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you are into the paranormal genre as I am then this is a series you have absolutely got to read. It's modern in every way down to the language and music and still filled to the brim with escapism. God the guys are hotttttt!

    This book is the second in the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series. Rhage is a gorgeous, ego-maniacal vampire warrior within The Brotherhood. He's almost too beautiful too look at and has appetites that are almost insatiable.

    Mary is a human counselor who has battled leukemia that was in remission. She is about to have her life utterly turned up-side down and inside-out. She meets Rhage and finds out she is out of remission.

    Because you are not certain which rules this author will follow (i.e. feeding from humans, no sunlight, reflections in mirrors) you don't know exactly what to hope for as an outcome with Mary and Rhage.

    Every emotion that can be felt will be felt at one point or the other while reading this book. If you are a true romantic you will probably openly weep.

    There is lots of Mary and Rhage in Lover Eternal but you aren't left wanting for the other guys, either. Wrath, V, Phury, Butch, Tohr and Z are all on hand to keep us entertained.

    These Brothers are Grey Goose drinking, Escalade driving, designer clothes wearing warriors that listen to rap music and know how to keep us captivated.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It !!!!!!

    Another book in the series that is just OUTSTANDING ! The way that Rhage cares about Mary is amazing... The storyline completely drew me in I couldn't put it down.

    The brotherhood is one of the best series I have read in a long time..
    The warriors are amazing in everything they do in the books. They are strong warriors yet prove that they love their ladies...

    It has an equal balance of love,sex,drama they all have me so involved in them I read them in no time .. They are REAL page turners and all of them are a permanent staple in my library.

    I would love to see some more from the brotherhood... :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Awesome read

    This was an awesome book! It does have hot sex scenes, but it isn't overkill on the sex. The actual plot is exciting and suspenseful. The romance aspect gets your heart. I was tearing up during some parts. It is a very creative and well written story. I liked the first book in this series enough to go on to this second book, but the first book did not grip me like this one did. This second book is definitely the best one so far. I have started on the third book, and there are more to go, so my favorite may change. So far i really am enjoying this series, and i highly reccommend it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Love the Brotherhood!

    The books have everything, action, romance, suspense, and some steamy sex. What's not to like if you're looking for a little escape from reality?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    My favorite of the Black Dagger Brotherhood

    I LOVED this book. This one is my absolute favorite of the series. After this one the rest are good but cannot compare to this one!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    WOW!!!

    All I can say about this book is, WOW.... what a story. This book had me laughing,crying, and wanting more. I am in total love with the Black Dagger Brotherhood. After reading Wrath's story, I didn't think that book #2 was going to measure up, but I was wrong. Rhage's story was just has entertaining has Wrath's. I can't wait to take a bit out of the next one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Book #2 of the Black Dagger Brotherhood

    Lover Eternal is Rhage's story. When Rhage was younger, he was careless and used his killer good looks to get what he wanted. One day Rhage went too far and infuriated the Scribe Virgin. He was cursed for 200 years.<BR/><BR/>Mary Luce is a woman living on borrowed time. She has lukemia and it's come back with a vengence. When she and Rhage first meet Rhage is instantly attracted to her. Mary thinks her friend Bella has set the two up together because she is dying. Needless to say when they go for their first date, it's pretty interesting. <BR/><BR/>I had a hard time figuring out how the author was going to make a human-vampire relationship work, but she did. I'll admit I had a hard time finishing the book because I wasn't 100% sure what was going to happen. This is a great book and so far a great series. It's made me a believer in vampires!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!!

    the second book in the series is even better then the first, this is one of my favorites from the series. Who ever said vampires are not sexy and sweet they never met raghe. He is by far one of the most sensual and loving of them all. This book is great from the moment he meets mary and makes her say nothing over and over again to sooth him, till he is deeply in love with her. I will warn this is a tear jerker for you light hearted folks like myself, just when your crying your eyes out, ward twists the tales and has you holding your breath till the very end, and even then you have to read the ending again just to make sure it ended the way she wrote it and not how you wanted it to lol!! which she wrote it exactly how you would want it to end. Props go out to ward in the best vampire series ever.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    At first I didn't think I'd enjoy this book as much as the first book. Boy was I wrong. By the end of the book I was floored. This book had suspense, action, humor, hot romance and even made me cry. I loved it. I finished the book in one day. I just couldn't put it down. I have fallen in love with the Band of Brothers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Great Sequel

    I have read some of the other 'less than stellar' reviews of this installment of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, and I am baffled by them. I thought this book was by far the most heart-wrenching and emotional one yet. Granted, it is darker and less stereotypically ¿romantic,¿ but that is what made it unique and compelling¿.and my favorite. Vishous is the darkest soul with the most complex history - and he is the sexiest brother of the group, in my opinion. As for the side stories that Ward develops during the novel, I think they are necessary to extend the series, and never once did I think that they took away from Vishous and his story. I think this book is a must read for those who want to get the full picture of the bonds that make the Brotherhood so powerful.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Silversun

    Back-sorry had to do something-gtgtb so bbt maybe

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Fearfang

    Is Tigerclaw here?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Fatalgrin

    Fatalgrin watched the clan with a mild intrest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Great as always

    Keep em coming!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Love this series

    Love this series!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    <3

    I love this series! And I recommend this series to everyone! I love rereadimg these books, they never get old!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Awesome read!

    It seemed a little slow in the beginning to get into, but once things started heating up between Rhage and Mary I just couldn't put it down! I especially loved the side of Z that finally came out in this book. I can't wait to read Lover Awakened :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marissa Book owned by reviewer Review originally pos

    Reviewed by Marissa
    Book owned by reviewer
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    For this review I’m going to focus on the vampire aspect of these books. After a certain YA vampire series hit the big screen I got pretty burnt out on vampires. They all seemed effeminate, even when they were growling and trying to be menacing. Plus the fact that all vampires seem to be and do the same things – can’t go out in the sun, feast on human blood, can’t eat human food (though most seem to be able to partake of a good red wine), and create new vampires with a bite on the neck.

    The Black Dagger Brotherhood is a bit different. Okay, they can’t go out in the sun but they love human food, don’t feed off humans and if you are not born a vampire you just aren’t a vampire. There is no blood-sharing ceremony that will make you one. The Brothers also average six-foot-eight, are exceedingly well-built, wear leather like it’s a second skin and are covered in tattoos and scars. The tattoos, in fact, are an important part of the Brotherhood and of the mating of the males to their females.

    Rhage’s tattoo, for instance, is a dragon. The dragon was a curse placed on him for 200 years and in moments of stress, the dragon can take over his body. It’s a great mechanism for destroying the lessers (a society who wishes to destroy all vampires) as Rhage actually turns into a fierce, eight-foot tall dragon with purple and green iridescent scales, but the dragon can also take over at times of high arousal. Yep. See the problem?

    Mary is the human Rhage happens to fall in love with. She knows nothing about vampire society but quickly adapts due to a terminal illness and her growing appreciation of and love for Rhage. As a human, Mary seems a little too easily swayed into the vampire life. However, if I put myself in her place and were actually faced with someone teleporting around the room, turning off lights and closing doors at will and seeing the fighting up close and personal, I might believe a little quicker myself.

    I also want to mention John Matthew as he makes his first appearance here as a weak, almost emaciated young man. Thankfully, Mary introduces him to Bella (a friend and vampire) who recognizes him for what he is – an un-turned vampire. I love John for so many reasons. Having been through a difficult childhood (abandoned on orphanage steps) and a grueling teenage and young adulthood (living in a filthy apartment in the ghetto-iest part of town), he clings to Mary as the beauty in his otherwise squalid life. More will come on John in the future…


    Favorite Quote:

    On Butch’s first sight of Rhage in dragon form:
    “Can it get into the car?” Butch asked.
    “If it really wants to. Fortunately, it can’t be very hungry.”
    “Yeah, well… what if it’s got room for Jell-o,” Butch muttered.

    Rhage, on his first date with Mary:
    He wanted her nails in his back and her tongue in his mouth and her hips rocking under his until he came so hard he saw stars. Then he wanted to sleep with her in his arms afterward. And wake up and eat and make love again. And talk in the dark about things both stupid and serious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1818 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 91