Customer Reviews for

Lover Mine (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2338 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1714)

4 Star

(385)

3 Star

(132)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Lover Mine Third Best so far

I finished reading the book last night. I've read all her books and I love her writing. I'm going to say I struggled a bit with this book, especially when I hit Chapter Nine. For the first time I felt lost. It just didn't flow as smoothly as she normally does, however I...
I finished reading the book last night. I've read all her books and I love her writing. I'm going to say I struggled a bit with this book, especially when I hit Chapter Nine. For the first time I felt lost. It just didn't flow as smoothly as she normally does, however I can see why she introduced this character and wrapped it up nicely at the end. It reminds me of how JR Ward claimed to struggle with Vicious book, yet I felt she struggled with this one. I think she wanted to set up for the next book, which towards the end I appreciated all the revelations. JR Ward should've focused more on Darius/John and down play Qhuinn and Blay, although I do look forward to their story. Every time JR Ward wrote about SC (those of you who have read it know who I'm talking about) I found myself asking why? That entire segment throughout the book made me want skip the pages so I can get back to John's story. I'm going to say that you do have to read it because it's key to the end. Overall I LOVED the book and look forward to the next one. Note to the Author, please try not to focus on so many characters. This book could've been you're best one to date had you not added new characters into the mix. By far my favorite's are Zadist, Viscious and now John minus SC storyline.

posted by Velvet_068 on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Serious melodrama and dialogue that is so over the top it's funny.

Okay, there's agony and drama and then there's ridiculous. Lover Mine is ridiculous. It's melodrama now.

This was so disjointed, so crazy with all the 'stop before the big revelation of major stuff' endings to scenes. In the past I could overlook the faults because ...
Okay, there's agony and drama and then there's ridiculous. Lover Mine is ridiculous. It's melodrama now.

This was so disjointed, so crazy with all the 'stop before the big revelation of major stuff' endings to scenes. In the past I could overlook the faults because I was having so much fun, but now it's not fun - it's very hard work. What genre is this supposed to be? Whose story is this supposed to be? It's a mess.

The mystery of the world they live in has been revealed to the point - and convoluted to the point - that it is no longer fun. There are all these strange dimensions, strange creatures, crazy rules, weird turnabouts that it's kind of silly. There's just too much going on.

Then there's the over the top language JR Ward used. 'C**ks***ing tissue'?! 'Goddamned sheet'?! 'True'?! It used to sound sort of tough. Now there's so much of it it's obvious she's trying too hard! And if I read the term 'emotional grid' one more time I was going to scream!

Don't get me wrong - I was a JR Ward fangirl like many others. I am a member of her crazy-scary messageboard, and I have at least one copy of every book. I'm aware many people think she's redeemed herself here, but I cannot agree with that.

I never wanted to read issue-laden, mute John Matthew's story. Many series in many genres have a Mary Sue or Gary Stu who take over all the books. John Matthew is the Black Dagger Brotherhood's offending character. I don't care about an adolescent's evolution - hence reading the ADULT vampire series rather than sparkly fairy Twilight books. And superman Xhex never did anything for me. That said, I was willing to overlook it if this book was good. Instead I found so much pain and terror and grief and distress - just because the author could write it - that I couldn't find a way to connect with the characters.

I see the beginning of the series as a separate entity to the other part. What happens now is comedic, in a sick, sad way. It's a pity it turned out like this.

posted by Zosia82 on May 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2356 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 118
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    Serious melodrama and dialogue that is so over the top it's funny.

    Okay, there's agony and drama and then there's ridiculous. Lover Mine is ridiculous. It's melodrama now.

    This was so disjointed, so crazy with all the 'stop before the big revelation of major stuff' endings to scenes. In the past I could overlook the faults because I was having so much fun, but now it's not fun - it's very hard work. What genre is this supposed to be? Whose story is this supposed to be? It's a mess.

    The mystery of the world they live in has been revealed to the point - and convoluted to the point - that it is no longer fun. There are all these strange dimensions, strange creatures, crazy rules, weird turnabouts that it's kind of silly. There's just too much going on.

    Then there's the over the top language JR Ward used. 'C**ks***ing tissue'?! 'Goddamned sheet'?! 'True'?! It used to sound sort of tough. Now there's so much of it it's obvious she's trying too hard! And if I read the term 'emotional grid' one more time I was going to scream!

    Don't get me wrong - I was a JR Ward fangirl like many others. I am a member of her crazy-scary messageboard, and I have at least one copy of every book. I'm aware many people think she's redeemed herself here, but I cannot agree with that.

    I never wanted to read issue-laden, mute John Matthew's story. Many series in many genres have a Mary Sue or Gary Stu who take over all the books. John Matthew is the Black Dagger Brotherhood's offending character. I don't care about an adolescent's evolution - hence reading the ADULT vampire series rather than sparkly fairy Twilight books. And superman Xhex never did anything for me. That said, I was willing to overlook it if this book was good. Instead I found so much pain and terror and grief and distress - just because the author could write it - that I couldn't find a way to connect with the characters.

    I see the beginning of the series as a separate entity to the other part. What happens now is comedic, in a sick, sad way. It's a pity it turned out like this.

    35 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lover Mine Third Best so far

    I finished reading the book last night. I've read all her books and I love her writing. I'm going to say I struggled a bit with this book, especially when I hit Chapter Nine. For the first time I felt lost. It just didn't flow as smoothly as she normally does, however I can see why she introduced this character and wrapped it up nicely at the end. It reminds me of how JR Ward claimed to struggle with Vicious book, yet I felt she struggled with this one. I think she wanted to set up for the next book, which towards the end I appreciated all the revelations. JR Ward should've focused more on Darius/John and down play Qhuinn and Blay, although I do look forward to their story. Every time JR Ward wrote about SC (those of you who have read it know who I'm talking about) I found myself asking why? That entire segment throughout the book made me want skip the pages so I can get back to John's story. I'm going to say that you do have to read it because it's key to the end. Overall I LOVED the book and look forward to the next one. Note to the Author, please try not to focus on so many characters. This book could've been you're best one to date had you not added new characters into the mix. By far my favorite's are Zadist, Viscious and now John minus SC storyline.

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    powerful romantic urban fantasy

    Reincarnated John Matthew had no idea what he was as he resided amongst purebred humans until the Black Dagger Brotherhood drafted him as a full blooded vampiric warrior protecting their species against the genocide slayers of the Lessening Society. However, he has handled every life grenade tossed at him until now. His personal adversary Lash abducted symphath vampire Xhex; sending John over the edge as she is his soul mate. He vows to kill Lash, rescue Xhex and plead with her to be with him for eternity.

    Currently an imprisoned embitter sex toy of the volatile Lash, Xhex distrusts males and more so love as she knows first hand it leads to horrific hurt. She has personal problems with her feelings for John because of her distrust of those feelings. However, Xhex knows deep in her heart he is coming for her and will lash out at anyone who tries to prevent him.

    The overarching war in Caldwell, New York continues though somewhat in the background as the focus is almost entirely on the triangle. Readers learn much about the backgrounds of Johan and especially that of Xhex. A strong entry that has been anticipated for awhile, J.R. Ward provides a powerful romantic urban fantasy that lives up to the Black Dagger brotherhood saga as the distrusting loving relationship between John and Xhex comes to a complicated and convoluted head with odious Lash as the catalyst coupling converter.

    Harriet Klausner

    20 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Maybe Tomorrow? (www.maybe-tomorrow.net)

    I discovered the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by accident and haven't looked back since! There have been books in the series where I haven't enjoyed them as much as the last or the one after. Everyone has their favourite brothers, even though I love them all, I do have my favorites.

    And John Matthew is one of them, even though he's not technically a brother.

    Lover Mine picks up where Lover Avenged left us. Xhex is still being held captive by the Omega's darling prodigal, Lash, and John Matthew is determined to bring her home. The only trouble is, since discovering his true heritage; Lash has been working on a few new taught tricks from daddy dearest.

    Though John Matthew has never confessed his love for the half sympath Xhex, in his mind and in his heart she is his and even if she doesn't reciprocate those feelings. She will forever be his heart and soul.

    When Lover Mine arrived in my post box I was stunned to see it sat at over five hundred pages. My first thoughts were, despite my overwhelming excitement, was how is this story supposed to stretch over that many pages/chapters? No sooner was I in a couple of pages; I couldn't stop turning them and cursed the page numbers as they increased.

    Like in previous Novels, there was plenty going on that just John Matthew and Xhex's story. I don't want to go into too many details, as I don't want to give anything away. But there's enough going on between the main storyline that will keep you on the edge of your seat and turning pages all the way through.

    Those looking for a story heavily involving the other Brothers, as they have been in past novels will be disappointed. Though they're there, they're background players in this novel (don't worry Rhage and Vichious get their licks in at one another). I missed the normal interaction between the brothers mostly their usual banter. But we had plenty of time to observe the workings of the newest additions to the Brotherhood compound, Quinn and Blay.

    Final Thoughts.

    If you're a fan of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series I really don't think you'll be disappointed. The Brotherhood is changing and expanding and looking back at the events of Dark Lover, they've come a long way. It's not until you look back at the past seven books that you realize the reality of the wealth of history and events that have taken place.

    Unlike the other Brothers, and Rehvenge, John Matthew is the only character we've seen through from start to finish. With the other Brother's, they've already been through their transitions prior to the start of the books and have only seen glimpses of their pasts. But with John Matthew we've been with him through every step of the way since his first appearance in Lover Eternal.

    It was nice to see John Matthew start to finally realize what was he was going through, in loosing Xhex, was none too dissimilar to what Torhment went through when he lost Wellsie. What John Matthew saw as selfish, and rejection from the one father figure he ever had, he came to realize was grief and anguish at loosing his shellan.

    The great thing about Ward is that she has a fantastic gift of building subplot without distracting or taking anything away from the main story. By the end of the book I was wrapped up by in all the subplot she's building under noses and groaned in disbelief when I finally realized they would not be resolved until the next book!

    I honestly, thoroughly enjoyed this book and think it makes an excellent

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Torn

    I am a true fan of this series. I found it years ago when it just started. True to form this book was unpredictable, complicated and passionate. I could not put it down and was in love with the way that John Matthew stayed intuitive to Xhex and her needs. I was really upset with the way that things are going between Qhuinn and Blay. Their tit for tat seems to be a set up for them to get together and I really wanted to see Qhuinn with Payne. She seems hard yet still feminine enough for him. THe rest of the story was great. Great fights, great intimacy, great witty lines, and great tender moments. This book is great if you are a fan of the series or if you just need a good read on love and how it is "patient and kind, but does not brag or boast"

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    As good as Lover Awakened.

    **Spoiler Alert** Many Spoilers**
    I never thought J R Ward could out do Z's book and often referred to it as her masterpiece. That being said, this book was amazing and rivals Lover Awakened as my absolute favorite. There were about 5 plots going on at once but all things were relevant. She pulled elements from Darius' past that ran parallel to John and Xhex's current story. We get to see Darius and a very young Tohr working together, attempting to rescue a kidnapped rape victim. We all know that John is Darius reincarnated. That is so key to Johns current relationship with Tohr. John has never forgiven Tohr for abandoning him after Welsie's death. In his struggle to find Xhex he begins to truely understand how a bonded male is affected by the loss of a mate. We also finally get a glimpse of what it means for a bonded male to lose it. Let's just say the brutality is a "OMG" moment.

    John has always been one of my favorites after having watched him transition and grow. When Xhex rejects him in Lover Avenged, John becomes a drunk and a wh**e due to unrequited love. He redeems his character in the book. He returns to the loving, caring, put everyone's needs above my own John. Xhex had always been too masculine for my taste but as she recovers from the brutal rapes Lash has subjected her to, we see a much softer side. The love between John and Xhex is strengthened by John's ability to empathize having been a rape victim also. There is a little more Lash than I would have liked but that's because he is so evil.

    Blay is in love with Quinn but we find that there is so much more. Quinn suffers from feeling abnormal after being raised like a leper without love. The Glymera has him so messed up in the head that he is willing to let true love pass him by and attempt to live a lie. He also feels that Blay is a man of worth, that he is unworthy of Blays love. The love between these two is tangible and very passionate. Their relationship is further complicated by Saxton's, Quinn's cousin, pursuit of Blay. Blay and Quinn's story is gonna smoke if it's half as hot as their brief encounter in Lover Mine.

    We are introduced to a few new characters. I am very excited about the possibility of Tohr getting a HEA with "No One". It is very obvious that he did care for her deeply in the past. That previous connection may be what is needed to help him find love again.

    The next book Lover Unleashed is due out in Spring of 2011 and will feature Payne and Manny. V has just discovered that he has a twin sister only to have her fall for the one man he was about to kill in a jealous rage in Lover Unbound. That story should be a wild ride and I can't wait for more of the Brothers.

    JR Ward does skip around between about 5 different stories in this book. 1. Darius and Tohr (in the past) 2. John and Xhex 3. Blay and Quinn 4. Payne on the other side, and 5. The Paranormal tv show, which is kinda distracting until you see that they all come together in the end. A large portion of the plot doesn't come togther until the last 25 pages but it's worth the wait.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    This one fell flat for me

    I love the Black Dagger Brotherhood and have fallen in love with all of them in one way or another, but this story sat in my heart like a stale piece of bread.

    I found myself more intrigued with Blay's small little story line than John and Xhex. I didn't feel the love between them at all, even though I've read about them throughout all the other books. I was absolutely bored by the romantic aspect of the storyline--there was none. We start off knowing they love each other, and I think that's why there was no thrill or romanticism in this book at all. I had to force myself to finish reading this book and that's not normal with this series.

    It was also dissapointing to see how little interaction there was between Xhex and Rhev, considering how close they're supposed to be. It's as if he didn't even exist in the story. Even at the end, when I expected him to be mentioned at a particular gathering (don't want to spoil anything), he wasn't. Trev and iAm were, but not Rhev. I expected more interraction between him and Xhex, yet they only had one--short--heart-to-heart and other than that, they never really spoke to each other. It was very strange to me.

    The other aspect of this story that bothered me was how soon after being raped over-and-over again by Lash that Xhex was ready to have sex with John. I couldn't read the sex parts between John and Xhex because it hurt so much to do so. I didn't find them romantic at all. I felt sore in places she was most likely sore in and it just wierded me out.

    It's sad to say, but this story was no where near how great the others in this series are. I feel like we were lead up for this great moment of "John's Story", and then terribely let down. Even the confrontation with Lash toward the end was a dissapointment. In the last book, the only brother able to go toe-to-toe with Lash was Rhage--the dragon. It didn't take that much in this book, it was actually a bit anti-climatic.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    The worst book ever. This is rated xxx to me

    The sexual cotence was sick. The in your face homosexuality turned my stomach. I have been a huge fan until this book. If I wanted to be exposed to that much deprivity I would watch pornography. Earlier book just hinted with I was ok with. This book went way too far and that kind of contents should have a warning of sort. This is her first book I didn't finish in a day. It took me two months. It was a struggle to finish it. I would have never bought this book even if I had all the others. I will never blindly purchase her books because she was a top 5 fav author. I always felt her books were kinda sick, but her ability to write, tell a story with amazing talent I was so drawn to her book. It didn't hurt she was from my hometown. My point is Mrs. Ward you have crossed a line. I am not the only person that feels this way. I won't be surprised if the next book is sicker than this one you will lose a lot of fans. Many of us are
    waiting for the next book to determine wether we will buy your books ever again.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    If you must read it, wait for the library copy

    I decided to give her one more book. No more.

    I found it dis-jointed, disgusting, demeaning and...downright dreadful. It's scary to see how many people "love" this book. I can only hope they break out of the trance at some point. In the meantime, I'm going to go take a shower.

    PS: I loved most of her Jessica Bird books. So I know she's capable of solid storytelling. And I thought the first few BDB books were worth buying. Too bad she decided to let her considerable talents be pimped out. I'd stage an intervention, but I think she's wallowing in it at this point.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Set up for disappointment...

    I have to say, I was really looking forward to this book. I actually enjoyed reading about John Matthew, his struggles, and triumph in all of the other books in the series. His book was probably the one that I was most looking forward to reading. And I was completely let down by the author. I felt that the book lacked everything from a decent plot to an acceptable dialog. It was by far the worst book in the series. But what upsets me most is that it SHOULD and COULD have been one of the BEST in the series. J.R. Ward created all of this build up and suspense by introducing John Matthew to us as just a little boy. We watched him grow up. And then she completely destroys my entire view of the character because of this poorly written book. It was as if she slapped everything together last minute and said "here you go!" If she wasn't planning on delivering, she shouldn't have set us up with high expectations...

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Love the series but not this book.

    I love this entire series and was so excited when this book finally came out, but when i started to read Lover Mine I found it really hard just to get to the end of it. The book didnt seem to go anywhere till halfway through. Xhex was a favorite character of mine throughout the books, but not in this one. Shes so girly and weak that I couldnt stand it. One of the sub-stories didnt need to be in there at all, it just didnt make any sense and I just ended up skimming over most of those parts. I would still recommend reading this book but only because it is in the series. I definetly will not be reading this one again.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I'm so confused.

    I have read every brothers book. This one stunk. It was like the author took all the deleted scenes from other books and made it into one story. Or, this is a set up to introduce six new books. I found it extremely distracting to hop back and forth between John matthew and then Darius and then some goofy news reporter that had nothing to do with the original story.

    I was so disappointed because I really loved this series and was looking forward to this one. The story line about Dash???? No explanation why the Omega disowned his own son and all that rotting and flesh falling off yet he's going about his business and people don't notice he has no flesh...come on!!

    Hey, she's made a lot of money I guess she can take a vacation but I am going to be hesitant to read another. Too hodge podge and very little "romance".

    Take your chances with this one. I wish I could get my money back.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    Just OK.

    I loved the other books in this series, but this one just didn't do it for me. The plot with its sub plots and side characters just made the story line heavy and at times very confusing. I wish she had weaved her sub plots together better.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    OMG!!! I Cannot wait for this book

    I have been waiting for this book for a long time. Ever since I started reading this series. Can't wait to see what happens with John Matthew's friends either.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    Great Read!!!

    I wasn't sure I'd be interested in reading about John and Xhex, but JR Ward has given these characters a depth, background, and connection that kept me so glued to the pages, I barely functioned for the few days it took me to read it. I really liked this book! If you liked books 1, 3, and 7 (my favorites), you'll like this.


    (DON"T READ ON IF YOU HAVEN'T READ THE BOOK) Having said that, I could have done without some parts, eg the Rathboone stuff. It didn't add at all to the story. Instead I would have taken up pages with the characters we know and love instead. John is a character who has been connected to the lives of the women from the first three books. I find it incredibly odd that in HIS book, there's no exploration of his relationship to his "sister" (around whom he used to seize), no connection with Mary who used to be his only friend, and no tie to Bella who essentially saved his life. Yet he goes to his sister for shopping assistance all of a sudden? As much as I love the BDB books, I'm always saddened when the next book completely drops old beloved characters who have parts to play. It would be more believable if these characters who now live under the same roof, and have major connections, actually were shown to acknowledge each other. I'm sure Beth, Mary and Bella wouldn't have ignored this tortured soul living with them who they each care for. It wouldn't have taken alot to explore those connections a little. The traumas of John's life, while horrible for a human's time period, don't compare to those of other characters who are hundreds of years old. I don't think it would have taken away from his "tortured life" image to have also had some interaction with those females with whom he lives and has deep ties. It would have made more sense and been more believable.

    I did love the book though!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Series

    There are few books in this genre that reach out and grab you the way this series does. The characters endear themselves to you in a way that most writers aren't capable of. Each one is so well developed that you feel a personal connection with them as if they truly existed outside the books pages. I think my favorite aspect of each character is that they all share a tarnished hero quality. None of them are perfect, they've had hard lives and hard lessons. Though works of fiction the story lines take you through a realistic view of life, there is no perfect happily ever after, bad things happen to good people, and the innocent can still die. This really makes you mourn the losses with the characters. Each book is so well written each book transitions to the next perfectly, yet each book can stand alone as it's own story. I haven't met anyone yet that could abstain from reading the whole series! I, personally am on my second or third copy of some of the books because I have reread them so frequently. I can barely contain myself when the release date for the next installment comes out! It will truly be a sad day when the series is complete, guess I'll just have to start her fallen angels series next.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Expected so much more!

    Ok, I love JR Ward's The Black Dagger Brotherhood series. So much so, that I have all her books. Therefore, I had patiently awaited this current addition to her series. Especially since John Matthew is such a special character. Unfortunately, I felt sorta let down. There was alot of background info re: Darius and Tohrment, and how their past intertwined with Xhex. The book also introduced Muhrder, though Ward had spoken about him briefly in the past books. Perhaps she plans on having him return and rejoining the brotherhood later in the future? Who knows? Normally, Ward's books are full of action with twist and turns that you wouldn't expect. Also, add steamy, erotic scenes which would make your toes curl. Sadly, though there where scenes that were action-filled and somewhat hot, it fails to compare to her previous efforts. I did appreciate that she was able to tie the whole thing together in the end and explain why she added background info on added characters in the story, but it was just--ok. My heart didn't twist, a tear didn't fall, and my wait for this book was a bit disappointing. I loved the drama and heartbreak John Matthew and Xhex shared in Lover Avenged. So naturally, I expected more from this book. I'm hoping that Ward's next installment has more drama, action, and steamy romance.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lover Mine is yet another J.R. Ward masterpiece!

    First I have to say that I was SO excited to read John's story as I have loved him from the very first mention of him in this series, and always wanted him to find his happily ever after. Although, since the first hint that it would be Xhex he would end up with, I've been on the fence. She just never seemed right for him and there was just something about her that I never liked. But this book did fix that. I still kinda feel like he should have ended up with someone sweet, maybe a Chosen, like Layla, but as I am not the author, I decided to let that go and just go with the flow of the story. Now that I've finished, I love Xhex and John together. They are exactly what the other needs in a partner. The book as a whole was amazing. In my opinion, J.R. NEVER disapoints! I do agree with some of the other reviewer's though, as far as the lack of the other brothers is concerned. There was not enough interaction with the whole gang like there usually is, and I missed that too. I'm glad we got more of Quinn and Blay though!! And I REALLY hope they are the focus of the next book, and that Blay dumps that looser Saxton and Quinn gets over his "gotta do the right thing" crap, and they end up together. Because if they don't, I think I might die and never read this series again. I'm not sure how I would feel about reading man on man sex scenes, but I also hope J.R. doesn't hold back either. Anyone uncomfortable with it can skip over them. Quinn and Blay are meant to be though and it better turn out that way!!! I'm also glad Payne was brought into the story more and obviously has a book in the future. Who will she end up with, I wonder?? Yes, the wasted chapters about the whole haunted house thing could have been skipped. All Ward needed to do was leave the part in the end where Xhex saw him on TV, and that was all the explination that we would have needed about that. She should have used those extra pages to go into more depth in the end. There sould have been more time spent on Xhex and her moms reunion and FAR more time spent on her and John's mating ritual, more detail. It seemed like the last chapter or 2 were rushed and ended too quickly. Other than that, I loved the book tons, as I always do any book from the Black Dagger Brotherhood series!! And I CANNOT wait for the next one!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book... but I missed the Brothers

    I just finished this. This was very different from other BDB books. There were very little of the "brothers." I understand why they were not the center of the book, but I missed them all the same. Regardless, John and Xhex were great together. The scenes between Qhuinn and Blay were heartbreaking. I hope they both find happiness TOGETHER in a future book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Could not put it down!

    The latest installment in the Black Dagger Brotherhood is by far my favorite in the series. Lover Mine picks up where Xhex is captured and John Matthew is in search of her. When JM and Xhex share and hash out the unsavory parts of the their histories, they realize they have more in common than in their differences.
    A lot of things are in store for you while reading this book. Anger, pain, hurt, joy, and laughter. From the understanding of Tohr's connection with JM's father to the connection of Payne and V, there is something for everyone in this book.
    I recommend this book highly, and I loved everything about it. Now it is the waiting game for the next one.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2356 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 118