Customer Reviews for

Lover Mine (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2331 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1709)

4 Star

(383)

3 Star

(132)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Lover Mine Third Best so far

I finished reading the book last night. I've read all her books and I love her writing. I'm going to say I struggled a bit with this book, especially when I hit Chapter Nine. For the first time I felt lost. It just didn't flow as smoothly as she normally does, however I...
I finished reading the book last night. I've read all her books and I love her writing. I'm going to say I struggled a bit with this book, especially when I hit Chapter Nine. For the first time I felt lost. It just didn't flow as smoothly as she normally does, however I can see why she introduced this character and wrapped it up nicely at the end. It reminds me of how JR Ward claimed to struggle with Vicious book, yet I felt she struggled with this one. I think she wanted to set up for the next book, which towards the end I appreciated all the revelations. JR Ward should've focused more on Darius/John and down play Qhuinn and Blay, although I do look forward to their story. Every time JR Ward wrote about SC (those of you who have read it know who I'm talking about) I found myself asking why? That entire segment throughout the book made me want skip the pages so I can get back to John's story. I'm going to say that you do have to read it because it's key to the end. Overall I LOVED the book and look forward to the next one. Note to the Author, please try not to focus on so many characters. This book could've been you're best one to date had you not added new characters into the mix. By far my favorite's are Zadist, Viscious and now John minus SC storyline.

posted by Velvet_068 on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Serious melodrama and dialogue that is so over the top it's funny.

Okay, there's agony and drama and then there's ridiculous. Lover Mine is ridiculous. It's melodrama now.

This was so disjointed, so crazy with all the 'stop before the big revelation of major stuff' endings to scenes. In the past I could overlook the faults because ...
Okay, there's agony and drama and then there's ridiculous. Lover Mine is ridiculous. It's melodrama now.

This was so disjointed, so crazy with all the 'stop before the big revelation of major stuff' endings to scenes. In the past I could overlook the faults because I was having so much fun, but now it's not fun - it's very hard work. What genre is this supposed to be? Whose story is this supposed to be? It's a mess.

The mystery of the world they live in has been revealed to the point - and convoluted to the point - that it is no longer fun. There are all these strange dimensions, strange creatures, crazy rules, weird turnabouts that it's kind of silly. There's just too much going on.

Then there's the over the top language JR Ward used. 'C**ks***ing tissue'?! 'Goddamned sheet'?! 'True'?! It used to sound sort of tough. Now there's so much of it it's obvious she's trying too hard! And if I read the term 'emotional grid' one more time I was going to scream!

Don't get me wrong - I was a JR Ward fangirl like many others. I am a member of her crazy-scary messageboard, and I have at least one copy of every book. I'm aware many people think she's redeemed herself here, but I cannot agree with that.

I never wanted to read issue-laden, mute John Matthew's story. Many series in many genres have a Mary Sue or Gary Stu who take over all the books. John Matthew is the Black Dagger Brotherhood's offending character. I don't care about an adolescent's evolution - hence reading the ADULT vampire series rather than sparkly fairy Twilight books. And superman Xhex never did anything for me. That said, I was willing to overlook it if this book was good. Instead I found so much pain and terror and grief and distress - just because the author could write it - that I couldn't find a way to connect with the characters.

I see the beginning of the series as a separate entity to the other part. What happens now is comedic, in a sick, sad way. It's a pity it turned out like this.

posted by Zosia82 on May 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    Serious melodrama and dialogue that is so over the top it's funny.

    Okay, there's agony and drama and then there's ridiculous. Lover Mine is ridiculous. It's melodrama now.

    This was so disjointed, so crazy with all the 'stop before the big revelation of major stuff' endings to scenes. In the past I could overlook the faults because I was having so much fun, but now it's not fun - it's very hard work. What genre is this supposed to be? Whose story is this supposed to be? It's a mess.

    The mystery of the world they live in has been revealed to the point - and convoluted to the point - that it is no longer fun. There are all these strange dimensions, strange creatures, crazy rules, weird turnabouts that it's kind of silly. There's just too much going on.

    Then there's the over the top language JR Ward used. 'C**ks***ing tissue'?! 'Goddamned sheet'?! 'True'?! It used to sound sort of tough. Now there's so much of it it's obvious she's trying too hard! And if I read the term 'emotional grid' one more time I was going to scream!

    Don't get me wrong - I was a JR Ward fangirl like many others. I am a member of her crazy-scary messageboard, and I have at least one copy of every book. I'm aware many people think she's redeemed herself here, but I cannot agree with that.

    I never wanted to read issue-laden, mute John Matthew's story. Many series in many genres have a Mary Sue or Gary Stu who take over all the books. John Matthew is the Black Dagger Brotherhood's offending character. I don't care about an adolescent's evolution - hence reading the ADULT vampire series rather than sparkly fairy Twilight books. And superman Xhex never did anything for me. That said, I was willing to overlook it if this book was good. Instead I found so much pain and terror and grief and distress - just because the author could write it - that I couldn't find a way to connect with the characters.

    I see the beginning of the series as a separate entity to the other part. What happens now is comedic, in a sick, sad way. It's a pity it turned out like this.

    34 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    If you must read it, wait for the library copy

    I decided to give her one more book. No more.

    I found it dis-jointed, disgusting, demeaning and...downright dreadful. It's scary to see how many people "love" this book. I can only hope they break out of the trance at some point. In the meantime, I'm going to go take a shower.

    PS: I loved most of her Jessica Bird books. So I know she's capable of solid storytelling. And I thought the first few BDB books were worth buying. Too bad she decided to let her considerable talents be pimped out. I'd stage an intervention, but I think she's wallowing in it at this point.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Set up for disappointment...

    I have to say, I was really looking forward to this book. I actually enjoyed reading about John Matthew, his struggles, and triumph in all of the other books in the series. His book was probably the one that I was most looking forward to reading. And I was completely let down by the author. I felt that the book lacked everything from a decent plot to an acceptable dialog. It was by far the worst book in the series. But what upsets me most is that it SHOULD and COULD have been one of the BEST in the series. J.R. Ward created all of this build up and suspense by introducing John Matthew to us as just a little boy. We watched him grow up. And then she completely destroys my entire view of the character because of this poorly written book. It was as if she slapped everything together last minute and said "here you go!" If she wasn't planning on delivering, she shouldn't have set us up with high expectations...

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I'm so confused.

    I have read every brothers book. This one stunk. It was like the author took all the deleted scenes from other books and made it into one story. Or, this is a set up to introduce six new books. I found it extremely distracting to hop back and forth between John matthew and then Darius and then some goofy news reporter that had nothing to do with the original story.

    I was so disappointed because I really loved this series and was looking forward to this one. The story line about Dash???? No explanation why the Omega disowned his own son and all that rotting and flesh falling off yet he's going about his business and people don't notice he has no flesh...come on!!

    Hey, she's made a lot of money I guess she can take a vacation but I am going to be hesitant to read another. Too hodge podge and very little "romance".

    Take your chances with this one. I wish I could get my money back.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    2000+ reviews? This one won't get much attention, but I need to

    2000+ reviews? This one won't get much attention, but I need to vent. This is my 8th Ward novel. From the first one, the frat boy language has scratched at me like a minor irritation, but I could drive around it and keep going with the story. In this 8th one, I can barely understand what the author is talking about. She uses phrases like, he went all Bon Jovi, or he Donald Trumped them, or he did the Crockett and Tubbs, and other such allusions-sometimes there are three on a single page. If you never watched the show or listened to the music, you lost the meaning. In way too many places in this book, I had no idea what was intended because I didn't understand the phrase she used. She also abbreviates words in the narrative, like sitch for situation or SOP (it took me a while, but I got Standard Operating Procedure)...finally. Just write out the word, for pity's sake. Oh, and my personal favorite is the use of the non-word conversating. This is a word that was made up by people too stupid to know the word is conversing. With all of the slang in the book, again, I had trouble understanding it. I'll say here, that I have a BA and an MA in English and Literature, so comprehension really shouldn't be an issue with me. It's like she is so busy trying to be cool, she doesn't worry about writing to be read. I love the world she creates, as I have bought 8 books. I love the BDB characters, even though in this book they are so poorly developed I get no sense of what they look like (Lash undergoes changes, but her descriptive powers sorely lack, so I was forced to create my own picture in my head and roll with it and what color is Xhex's hair? I don't know. Shouldn't I?) and developed no real affection for any of them in this book because Ward is too concerned with the pop cult (some from 30 years ago) references to even add decent descriptions. I am 100 pages from finishing the book and am struggling to get through it. I'm done after this one. Three stars for the story, as much as I am getting out of it, one star for the dreadful writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    DISSAPPOINTING !!!!!!

    The whole idea of the Black Dagger Brotherhood is great. I got into their lives. Knew they would kick butt when necessary. Even with all their failings there was no doubt they would destroy all that opposed them. At first the twists and turns in this book were put in the back burner of my mind, knowing they would be used for future references. However it became too much. The constant going back in time to tell about Darius and Tohrment, took too long. How could John go from redecorating with the lessers insides to allowing Xhex to go on a search mission with little protest? Especially one that Lash set up! There is just so much happening, so many characters I found annoying and didn't care about. I didn't want to care about them either!!! The disappointment I felt can't be put on paper. Too much build up and no payoff. The most depressing part was the fact that my fantasies about what would occur far exceeded the realities of this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    I'm into this book less than 100 pages, and I'm really disappoin

    I'm into this book less than 100 pages, and I'm really disappointed in it. There is entirely too much cursing with no real reason, and it's distracting. I don't mind cursing, but not every sentence, it's not necessary.

    I only found the black dagger brotherhood series about 2 months ago, and I've read them one after another. I got to this one, and it's not up to par with the rest of them. I'll be happy when I'm done with it, so I can move on, and I'm not sure if I'll read any more after this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No

    This book is a train wreck! It's all over the place. I finally gave up reading it. So think before spending your $8.00!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    DISAPPOINTING

    This is the first time I've ever read a book and wanted my money back. I love the rest of the series, but the one word that comes to mind about this book is slipshod. It was written shabbily and lacked everything that makes a good book good. Dear Author, please write vampire-romance and not junk. I would have rated this book no stars if that was an option.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    The end of the series

    As a fan from the first book, it is with little regret I must bid this author good by or good riddance. After trying for days, I ended up skimming this one, no longer the least bit interested in the outcome of either couple, straight or gay.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    I was very disappointed in this book in general.

    I am not a diehard romance reader normally, I was referred to this series by a friend. I enjoyed the previous books and liked her characters. It's interesting to see their stories develope. It was refreshing to have a different turn on the vampire habits and society in Wards previous books.

    Now, to this book. The story line was incredibility weak and the plot was
    cliche. The book almost in the whole was all about sex and not much to do about the vampires and their struggles with the Lessors. As one other reviewer said, Ward did not give any kind of follow through with the characters. It needed more about the 'whys and wherefores' concerning the deities, the vampire characters, and their fight against the evil forces. I did not have any problem with her characters that some would consider less orthodox and did feel for their plight, but as with the rest of the book that situation was also a loose weave. Also, Ward is carrying the "cool rapper talk' so far that it makes the book just weird, her first books did not have the guys talking so hip hop. This book was so disappointing that I do not care to even read the next that may come out in this series unless Ward can get it together and get back to the quality of writing that she had in the beginning. I'm very sorry to say this is one of the worst books I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Harriet

    And she prevents me from buying yet another book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Anon

    Not the book i was expecting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    REREAD!!!!

    I have a hard time finding new books to read, that compare to these. I've reread over and over, and never tier of them. John Matthew is one of my favorites. I never understand negative comments on ANY of JR Wards BDB books!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3