Customer Reviews for

Lover Mine (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2336 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1713)

4 Star

(384)

3 Star

(132)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Lover Mine Third Best so far

I finished reading the book last night. I've read all her books and I love her writing. I'm going to say I struggled a bit with this book, especially when I hit Chapter Nine. For the first time I felt lost. It just didn't flow as smoothly as she normally does, however I...
I finished reading the book last night. I've read all her books and I love her writing. I'm going to say I struggled a bit with this book, especially when I hit Chapter Nine. For the first time I felt lost. It just didn't flow as smoothly as she normally does, however I can see why she introduced this character and wrapped it up nicely at the end. It reminds me of how JR Ward claimed to struggle with Vicious book, yet I felt she struggled with this one. I think she wanted to set up for the next book, which towards the end I appreciated all the revelations. JR Ward should've focused more on Darius/John and down play Qhuinn and Blay, although I do look forward to their story. Every time JR Ward wrote about SC (those of you who have read it know who I'm talking about) I found myself asking why? That entire segment throughout the book made me want skip the pages so I can get back to John's story. I'm going to say that you do have to read it because it's key to the end. Overall I LOVED the book and look forward to the next one. Note to the Author, please try not to focus on so many characters. This book could've been you're best one to date had you not added new characters into the mix. By far my favorite's are Zadist, Viscious and now John minus SC storyline.

posted by Velvet_068 on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Serious melodrama and dialogue that is so over the top it's funny.

Okay, there's agony and drama and then there's ridiculous. Lover Mine is ridiculous. It's melodrama now.

This was so disjointed, so crazy with all the 'stop before the big revelation of major stuff' endings to scenes. In the past I could overlook the faults because ...
Okay, there's agony and drama and then there's ridiculous. Lover Mine is ridiculous. It's melodrama now.

This was so disjointed, so crazy with all the 'stop before the big revelation of major stuff' endings to scenes. In the past I could overlook the faults because I was having so much fun, but now it's not fun - it's very hard work. What genre is this supposed to be? Whose story is this supposed to be? It's a mess.

The mystery of the world they live in has been revealed to the point - and convoluted to the point - that it is no longer fun. There are all these strange dimensions, strange creatures, crazy rules, weird turnabouts that it's kind of silly. There's just too much going on.

Then there's the over the top language JR Ward used. 'C**ks***ing tissue'?! 'Goddamned sheet'?! 'True'?! It used to sound sort of tough. Now there's so much of it it's obvious she's trying too hard! And if I read the term 'emotional grid' one more time I was going to scream!

Don't get me wrong - I was a JR Ward fangirl like many others. I am a member of her crazy-scary messageboard, and I have at least one copy of every book. I'm aware many people think she's redeemed herself here, but I cannot agree with that.

I never wanted to read issue-laden, mute John Matthew's story. Many series in many genres have a Mary Sue or Gary Stu who take over all the books. John Matthew is the Black Dagger Brotherhood's offending character. I don't care about an adolescent's evolution - hence reading the ADULT vampire series rather than sparkly fairy Twilight books. And superman Xhex never did anything for me. That said, I was willing to overlook it if this book was good. Instead I found so much pain and terror and grief and distress - just because the author could write it - that I couldn't find a way to connect with the characters.

I see the beginning of the series as a separate entity to the other part. What happens now is comedic, in a sick, sad way. It's a pity it turned out like this.

posted by Zosia82 on May 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    The worst book ever. This is rated xxx to me

    The sexual cotence was sick. The in your face homosexuality turned my stomach. I have been a huge fan until this book. If I wanted to be exposed to that much deprivity I would watch pornography. Earlier book just hinted with I was ok with. This book went way too far and that kind of contents should have a warning of sort. This is her first book I didn't finish in a day. It took me two months. It was a struggle to finish it. I would have never bought this book even if I had all the others. I will never blindly purchase her books because she was a top 5 fav author. I always felt her books were kinda sick, but her ability to write, tell a story with amazing talent I was so drawn to her book. It didn't hurt she was from my hometown. My point is Mrs. Ward you have crossed a line. I am not the only person that feels this way. I won't be surprised if the next book is sicker than this one you will lose a lot of fans. Many of us are
    waiting for the next book to determine wether we will buy your books ever again.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Love the series but not this book.

    I love this entire series and was so excited when this book finally came out, but when i started to read Lover Mine I found it really hard just to get to the end of it. The book didnt seem to go anywhere till halfway through. Xhex was a favorite character of mine throughout the books, but not in this one. Shes so girly and weak that I couldnt stand it. One of the sub-stories didnt need to be in there at all, it just didnt make any sense and I just ended up skimming over most of those parts. I would still recommend reading this book but only because it is in the series. I definetly will not be reading this one again.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    A bunch of scraps thrown together

    Ever since Phury’s book, I’ve had a love/hate relationship with the Black Dagger Brotherhood books. Phury’s book had so many subplots not dealing with the main characters, it irritated me cause I really liked Phury. I was interested in him but felt gypped in the end. It was actually my least favorite book. Then came Rhevenge’s book. Plenty of subplots, but since Rhevenge wasn’t that big of a deal to me anyway, I was more than happy to read the subplots. But then this isn’t about Phury or Rhevenge; it’s about John Matthew and Xhex. Other than the Darius flashbacks, the novel started great! We had the John/Xhex plot and the Quinn/Blay plot happening. Normally, I read Ms. Wards books and have to fight the urge to skip ahead. But with John/Xhex and Quinn/Blay, each story was interesting enough I was engrossed and looked forward to the next snippet. Though I do admit, I did want to skip Darius’ storyline. So the beginning had me hooked. Then Ms. Ward added another storyline, and things sort of went downhill from there. Plot after plot after plot emerged. None of them seemed to go deep or long enough to really perk my interest. It took me awhile to realize what I dislike about so many different plots, but I did. As soon as I got interested in a plot, Ms. Ward switched scenes. I flipped through the pages and trudged through each chapter looking forward to getting back to a decent story line. By the time I reached the story line, I'd lost my original interest in it. In the end, it turned into a tiresome game and I was glad when the whole thing was over. Each time I reach to a dull part, I had to make a decision to either continue or to take a break. Typically, I took the break, because I knew I’d need it to get through the next few scenes. Xhex and John were the main attraction for this book, at least according to the summary. John was John. The same kid he'd been in the previous book was the same person he was at the end. Nothing really changed about him, and I didn't see much personal growth. Only difference for him was he got the girl, and that was a given. For being the main star, I found his story rather lacking. Xhex on the other hand, was completely different. What happened to the butch gal I loved in the last stories? Ms. Ward turned her into a weepy, clingy mess. Why do all the gals have to be damsels in distress? It's just I would like to see a tough gal stay tough and win the fight for her man once in a while. Gregg Winn-Who the heck was that guy? Furthermore, why did he have an entire plot dedicated to him in this book? I'm not going to go into details with this one, because I could have easily skipped this and not missed a darn thing. I wish Ms. Ward would consider doing an anthology or something instead of filling the novels with the pesky side stories. Lash quickly became my favorite. I found myself rooting for him and wondering how things would turn out for him. Then he had a few brain farts, and that was that. <sigh> What's the point? Even the super villains are super weak. Darius' flashbacks could have been another anthology. Blay and Quinn--the big talk over the past few months turned out to be a big dud. Payne, Layla, and No'One I'm guessing were there just as introductions for the next upcoming story. Everything about them seemed unresolved and open-end. I got to the end and thought, is this it? The book's over? I got the impression Ms. Ward gathered all her scraps and threw it in this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Not so good

    I didn't like it, I mean i skipped a ton of pages and basically read the beginning and halfway through skipped the story about John and Xhex. I loved Quihn and Blay and im not into gay stories no offense, but theres just had so much more depth with them and just was way better. It kept me so more entertained and i really want her to make them their own book. This i mean it was already sort of played it out in the previous books, and Xhex just didnt do it for me. I hope the next book is way better than this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Blah!

    John Matthew has come a long way since he was found living among humans, his vampire nature unknown to himself and to those around him. After he was taken in by the Brotherhood, no one could guess what his true history was- or his true identity. Indeed, the fallen Brother Darius has returned, but with a different face and a very different destiny. As a vicious personal vendetta takes John into the heart of the war, he will need to call up on both who he is now and who he once was in order to face off against evil incarnate.

    Xhex, a symphath assassin, has long steeled herself against the attraction between her and John Matthew. Having already lost one lover to madness, she will not allow the male of worth to fall prey to the darkness of her twisted life. When fate intervenes, however, the two discover that love, like destiny, is inevitable between soul mates.

    For me - this book had a very similar plot to Zhadist and Bella's tale of the female being kept prisoner, tortured, and having a minion fall in love with her & then the head-strong male determined enough to come to her rescue no matter what to only afterwords both realize they are truly meant for each other. It's sad to actually see the outcome of these books before finishing the first chapter, but I feel Lover Mine was a sad spin-off of Lover Awakened.

    Like most fans, my favorite book of the series was Book #3 (Lover Awakened) and then the series, I believe, began to all go down hill after Book #5 (Lover Unbound). Being a loyal reader, I followed through and somewhat enjoyed John Matthew & Xhex's tale. It was hard seeing JM as a grown man when not too long ago he was still a weakling in training and I haven't been that big of a fan of Xhex before, but her transition in this book changed my opinion of her slightly. It's nice (regardless the crappy read) catching up with the gang and I think that's the main reason I continue with the Black Dagger Brotherhood in the first place. Sadly, as I've been writing this review, my rating of this book has crept lower and lower due to my disinterest.

    Likes: Zhadist & Bella with little Nala.

    Dislikes: Where to begin?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worst book ever!!!!!

    Okay let me start by saying I have been a fan of the series from the begining. I own every book in the series and I have read them all. When I first started reading this series I was a bit put off by the awful language, but after finishing the first book I feel in love with characters. Books 1-3 were great but by book four the series was in a serious decline. The author seemed to have the brotherhood focus more on sex, drinking, and music than saving their race. This trend continued up until book 7 Lover Avenged, I really enjoyed this book because it showed people in the vampire race and how they were being affected by the on going war. I feel in love with Rhev even though he was a drug dealer. Ward has a way of developing the characters that makes you forget their short commings and love them anyway. This brings us to book 8 in the series Lover Mine, this book is mostly about John Matthew and Xhex a sympath and it's awful. I'm finding it difficult to get through this book. There's too much extra sexual drama between Lala&Qhuinn&Blay&Saxton. Then their's the uneeded fighting relationship between Wrath and Payne. Their's also some human tv show producer named greeg that ties into the story some how.Oh i almost forgot with all this going on Ward does flash backs of Darius and Thor when they first joined the brotherhood, and last but not least let's not forget Lash in all of this. This book reads like Ward was in a rush to get it out to the public and didn't take time to develop the story. Usualy I have to read a series through till the end but I'm going to stop this series here because it's not worth the money even if it was discounted 25%.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Could've been better!!!

    I've read all of the books in this series. I fell in love with each and every character. John & Xhex, though they seem like opposites make a good couple. However (as another reviewer pointed out), this book failed on some level to clarify or thoroughly & effectively take us through John & Xhex's journey. J.R. once said that this book would have a lot of 'dark elements' as Zsadist's story did. I failed to experience the humiliation & horror that Xhex went through because soon after that event, John & Xhex find themselves in an uncomfortable situation that's too soon it makes no sense. Her best friend Revhenge is present in as little as 10 pages. I thought I'd see more of him. We learned nothing groundbreaking about Darius' past. There is very little interaction among the brothers, which is the main point of this series. I miss the brothers cracking jokes. I did find myself struggling to read on from the beginning to about the middle of the book. I didn't feel much sympathy for the characters. I couldn't put myself in the story, it was just not as moving as the previous books. With all of this said, I love this series and hope that following books be written with emotion that is well thought out and writing style that keeps you longing for more and not rushing to get through. I will keep reading for the sake of other characters that I like. I can't wait for Qhuinn & Blay. They are so sexy & cute!! I'm rooting for Payne also! Nalla, I love the joy that you've brought to Zsadist and can't wait for your book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Charli

    Oh. Got it. Lets go back to SL

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Thi I found myself purposely skipping chapters

    I gave this two stars bc of Q&B....everything else was jusr terrible...X was better in the shadows...I am only continuing bc Im curious abt P&V...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3