Customer Reviews for

Lover Mine (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2338 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1714)

4 Star

(385)

3 Star

(132)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Lover Mine Third Best so far

I finished reading the book last night. I've read all her books and I love her writing. I'm going to say I struggled a bit with this book, especially when I hit Chapter Nine. For the first time I felt lost. It just didn't flow as smoothly as she normally does, however I...
I finished reading the book last night. I've read all her books and I love her writing. I'm going to say I struggled a bit with this book, especially when I hit Chapter Nine. For the first time I felt lost. It just didn't flow as smoothly as she normally does, however I can see why she introduced this character and wrapped it up nicely at the end. It reminds me of how JR Ward claimed to struggle with Vicious book, yet I felt she struggled with this one. I think she wanted to set up for the next book, which towards the end I appreciated all the revelations. JR Ward should've focused more on Darius/John and down play Qhuinn and Blay, although I do look forward to their story. Every time JR Ward wrote about SC (those of you who have read it know who I'm talking about) I found myself asking why? That entire segment throughout the book made me want skip the pages so I can get back to John's story. I'm going to say that you do have to read it because it's key to the end. Overall I LOVED the book and look forward to the next one. Note to the Author, please try not to focus on so many characters. This book could've been you're best one to date had you not added new characters into the mix. By far my favorite's are Zadist, Viscious and now John minus SC storyline.

posted by Velvet_068 on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Serious melodrama and dialogue that is so over the top it's funny.

Okay, there's agony and drama and then there's ridiculous. Lover Mine is ridiculous. It's melodrama now.

This was so disjointed, so crazy with all the 'stop before the big revelation of major stuff' endings to scenes. In the past I could overlook the faults because ...
Okay, there's agony and drama and then there's ridiculous. Lover Mine is ridiculous. It's melodrama now.

This was so disjointed, so crazy with all the 'stop before the big revelation of major stuff' endings to scenes. In the past I could overlook the faults because I was having so much fun, but now it's not fun - it's very hard work. What genre is this supposed to be? Whose story is this supposed to be? It's a mess.

The mystery of the world they live in has been revealed to the point - and convoluted to the point - that it is no longer fun. There are all these strange dimensions, strange creatures, crazy rules, weird turnabouts that it's kind of silly. There's just too much going on.

Then there's the over the top language JR Ward used. 'C**ks***ing tissue'?! 'Goddamned sheet'?! 'True'?! It used to sound sort of tough. Now there's so much of it it's obvious she's trying too hard! And if I read the term 'emotional grid' one more time I was going to scream!

Don't get me wrong - I was a JR Ward fangirl like many others. I am a member of her crazy-scary messageboard, and I have at least one copy of every book. I'm aware many people think she's redeemed herself here, but I cannot agree with that.

I never wanted to read issue-laden, mute John Matthew's story. Many series in many genres have a Mary Sue or Gary Stu who take over all the books. John Matthew is the Black Dagger Brotherhood's offending character. I don't care about an adolescent's evolution - hence reading the ADULT vampire series rather than sparkly fairy Twilight books. And superman Xhex never did anything for me. That said, I was willing to overlook it if this book was good. Instead I found so much pain and terror and grief and distress - just because the author could write it - that I couldn't find a way to connect with the characters.

I see the beginning of the series as a separate entity to the other part. What happens now is comedic, in a sick, sad way. It's a pity it turned out like this.

posted by Zosia82 on May 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1714 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 86
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    powerful romantic urban fantasy

    Reincarnated John Matthew had no idea what he was as he resided amongst purebred humans until the Black Dagger Brotherhood drafted him as a full blooded vampiric warrior protecting their species against the genocide slayers of the Lessening Society. However, he has handled every life grenade tossed at him until now. His personal adversary Lash abducted symphath vampire Xhex; sending John over the edge as she is his soul mate. He vows to kill Lash, rescue Xhex and plead with her to be with him for eternity.

    Currently an imprisoned embitter sex toy of the volatile Lash, Xhex distrusts males and more so love as she knows first hand it leads to horrific hurt. She has personal problems with her feelings for John because of her distrust of those feelings. However, Xhex knows deep in her heart he is coming for her and will lash out at anyone who tries to prevent him.

    The overarching war in Caldwell, New York continues though somewhat in the background as the focus is almost entirely on the triangle. Readers learn much about the backgrounds of Johan and especially that of Xhex. A strong entry that has been anticipated for awhile, J.R. Ward provides a powerful romantic urban fantasy that lives up to the Black Dagger brotherhood saga as the distrusting loving relationship between John and Xhex comes to a complicated and convoluted head with odious Lash as the catalyst coupling converter.

    Harriet Klausner

    20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Maybe Tomorrow? (www.maybe-tomorrow.net)

    I discovered the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by accident and haven't looked back since! There have been books in the series where I haven't enjoyed them as much as the last or the one after. Everyone has their favourite brothers, even though I love them all, I do have my favorites.

    And John Matthew is one of them, even though he's not technically a brother.

    Lover Mine picks up where Lover Avenged left us. Xhex is still being held captive by the Omega's darling prodigal, Lash, and John Matthew is determined to bring her home. The only trouble is, since discovering his true heritage; Lash has been working on a few new taught tricks from daddy dearest.

    Though John Matthew has never confessed his love for the half sympath Xhex, in his mind and in his heart she is his and even if she doesn't reciprocate those feelings. She will forever be his heart and soul.

    When Lover Mine arrived in my post box I was stunned to see it sat at over five hundred pages. My first thoughts were, despite my overwhelming excitement, was how is this story supposed to stretch over that many pages/chapters? No sooner was I in a couple of pages; I couldn't stop turning them and cursed the page numbers as they increased.

    Like in previous Novels, there was plenty going on that just John Matthew and Xhex's story. I don't want to go into too many details, as I don't want to give anything away. But there's enough going on between the main storyline that will keep you on the edge of your seat and turning pages all the way through.

    Those looking for a story heavily involving the other Brothers, as they have been in past novels will be disappointed. Though they're there, they're background players in this novel (don't worry Rhage and Vichious get their licks in at one another). I missed the normal interaction between the brothers mostly their usual banter. But we had plenty of time to observe the workings of the newest additions to the Brotherhood compound, Quinn and Blay.

    Final Thoughts.

    If you're a fan of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series I really don't think you'll be disappointed. The Brotherhood is changing and expanding and looking back at the events of Dark Lover, they've come a long way. It's not until you look back at the past seven books that you realize the reality of the wealth of history and events that have taken place.

    Unlike the other Brothers, and Rehvenge, John Matthew is the only character we've seen through from start to finish. With the other Brother's, they've already been through their transitions prior to the start of the books and have only seen glimpses of their pasts. But with John Matthew we've been with him through every step of the way since his first appearance in Lover Eternal.

    It was nice to see John Matthew start to finally realize what was he was going through, in loosing Xhex, was none too dissimilar to what Torhment went through when he lost Wellsie. What John Matthew saw as selfish, and rejection from the one father figure he ever had, he came to realize was grief and anguish at loosing his shellan.

    The great thing about Ward is that she has a fantastic gift of building subplot without distracting or taking anything away from the main story. By the end of the book I was wrapped up by in all the subplot she's building under noses and groaned in disbelief when I finally realized they would not be resolved until the next book!

    I honestly, thoroughly enjoyed this book and think it makes an excellent

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    As good as Lover Awakened.

    **Spoiler Alert** Many Spoilers**
    I never thought J R Ward could out do Z's book and often referred to it as her masterpiece. That being said, this book was amazing and rivals Lover Awakened as my absolute favorite. There were about 5 plots going on at once but all things were relevant. She pulled elements from Darius' past that ran parallel to John and Xhex's current story. We get to see Darius and a very young Tohr working together, attempting to rescue a kidnapped rape victim. We all know that John is Darius reincarnated. That is so key to Johns current relationship with Tohr. John has never forgiven Tohr for abandoning him after Welsie's death. In his struggle to find Xhex he begins to truely understand how a bonded male is affected by the loss of a mate. We also finally get a glimpse of what it means for a bonded male to lose it. Let's just say the brutality is a "OMG" moment.

    John has always been one of my favorites after having watched him transition and grow. When Xhex rejects him in Lover Avenged, John becomes a drunk and a wh**e due to unrequited love. He redeems his character in the book. He returns to the loving, caring, put everyone's needs above my own John. Xhex had always been too masculine for my taste but as she recovers from the brutal rapes Lash has subjected her to, we see a much softer side. The love between John and Xhex is strengthened by John's ability to empathize having been a rape victim also. There is a little more Lash than I would have liked but that's because he is so evil.

    Blay is in love with Quinn but we find that there is so much more. Quinn suffers from feeling abnormal after being raised like a leper without love. The Glymera has him so messed up in the head that he is willing to let true love pass him by and attempt to live a lie. He also feels that Blay is a man of worth, that he is unworthy of Blays love. The love between these two is tangible and very passionate. Their relationship is further complicated by Saxton's, Quinn's cousin, pursuit of Blay. Blay and Quinn's story is gonna smoke if it's half as hot as their brief encounter in Lover Mine.

    We are introduced to a few new characters. I am very excited about the possibility of Tohr getting a HEA with "No One". It is very obvious that he did care for her deeply in the past. That previous connection may be what is needed to help him find love again.

    The next book Lover Unleashed is due out in Spring of 2011 and will feature Payne and Manny. V has just discovered that he has a twin sister only to have her fall for the one man he was about to kill in a jealous rage in Lover Unbound. That story should be a wild ride and I can't wait for more of the Brothers.

    JR Ward does skip around between about 5 different stories in this book. 1. Darius and Tohr (in the past) 2. John and Xhex 3. Blay and Quinn 4. Payne on the other side, and 5. The Paranormal tv show, which is kinda distracting until you see that they all come together in the end. A large portion of the plot doesn't come togther until the last 25 pages but it's worth the wait.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    OMG!!! I Cannot wait for this book

    I have been waiting for this book for a long time. Ever since I started reading this series. Can't wait to see what happens with John Matthew's friends either.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Series

    There are few books in this genre that reach out and grab you the way this series does. The characters endear themselves to you in a way that most writers aren't capable of. Each one is so well developed that you feel a personal connection with them as if they truly existed outside the books pages. I think my favorite aspect of each character is that they all share a tarnished hero quality. None of them are perfect, they've had hard lives and hard lessons. Though works of fiction the story lines take you through a realistic view of life, there is no perfect happily ever after, bad things happen to good people, and the innocent can still die. This really makes you mourn the losses with the characters. Each book is so well written each book transitions to the next perfectly, yet each book can stand alone as it's own story. I haven't met anyone yet that could abstain from reading the whole series! I, personally am on my second or third copy of some of the books because I have reread them so frequently. I can barely contain myself when the release date for the next installment comes out! It will truly be a sad day when the series is complete, guess I'll just have to start her fallen angels series next.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lover Mine is yet another J.R. Ward masterpiece!

    First I have to say that I was SO excited to read John's story as I have loved him from the very first mention of him in this series, and always wanted him to find his happily ever after. Although, since the first hint that it would be Xhex he would end up with, I've been on the fence. She just never seemed right for him and there was just something about her that I never liked. But this book did fix that. I still kinda feel like he should have ended up with someone sweet, maybe a Chosen, like Layla, but as I am not the author, I decided to let that go and just go with the flow of the story. Now that I've finished, I love Xhex and John together. They are exactly what the other needs in a partner. The book as a whole was amazing. In my opinion, J.R. NEVER disapoints! I do agree with some of the other reviewer's though, as far as the lack of the other brothers is concerned. There was not enough interaction with the whole gang like there usually is, and I missed that too. I'm glad we got more of Quinn and Blay though!! And I REALLY hope they are the focus of the next book, and that Blay dumps that looser Saxton and Quinn gets over his "gotta do the right thing" crap, and they end up together. Because if they don't, I think I might die and never read this series again. I'm not sure how I would feel about reading man on man sex scenes, but I also hope J.R. doesn't hold back either. Anyone uncomfortable with it can skip over them. Quinn and Blay are meant to be though and it better turn out that way!!! I'm also glad Payne was brought into the story more and obviously has a book in the future. Who will she end up with, I wonder?? Yes, the wasted chapters about the whole haunted house thing could have been skipped. All Ward needed to do was leave the part in the end where Xhex saw him on TV, and that was all the explination that we would have needed about that. She should have used those extra pages to go into more depth in the end. There sould have been more time spent on Xhex and her moms reunion and FAR more time spent on her and John's mating ritual, more detail. It seemed like the last chapter or 2 were rushed and ended too quickly. Other than that, I loved the book tons, as I always do any book from the Black Dagger Brotherhood series!! And I CANNOT wait for the next one!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book... but I missed the Brothers

    I just finished this. This was very different from other BDB books. There were very little of the "brothers." I understand why they were not the center of the book, but I missed them all the same. Regardless, John and Xhex were great together. The scenes between Qhuinn and Blay were heartbreaking. I hope they both find happiness TOGETHER in a future book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Could not put it down!

    The latest installment in the Black Dagger Brotherhood is by far my favorite in the series. Lover Mine picks up where Xhex is captured and John Matthew is in search of her. When JM and Xhex share and hash out the unsavory parts of the their histories, they realize they have more in common than in their differences.
    A lot of things are in store for you while reading this book. Anger, pain, hurt, joy, and laughter. From the understanding of Tohr's connection with JM's father to the connection of Payne and V, there is something for everyone in this book.
    I recommend this book highly, and I loved everything about it. Now it is the waiting game for the next one.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BLACK DAGGER BROTHERHOOD IS AWSOME!

    I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS BOOK FOR SOOO LONG! J.R. WARD IS SUCH AN AMAZING WRITER. JOHN MATTHEW THINKS HE HAS LOST XHEX AND IS GOING CRAZY TRYING TO FIND HER WHETHER SHE IS DEAD OR ALIVE. XHEX IS IMPRISONED WITH THE PSYCHO LASH AND CAN'T GET OUT...UNTIL THE BLOCKING AROUND HER PRISON WEAKENS ENOUGH FOR HER TO ESCAPE....WHEN SHE DOES...ITS A ROLLERCOASTER RIDE. I DON'T WANT TO GIVE AWAY ANY DETAILS IN CASE YOU HAVEN'T READ IT BUT IF YOU HAVE READ THE OTHER BOOKS (WHICH I HOPE YOU HAVE IF YOU ARE GOING TO READ THIS ONE):-)THEN YOU CAN IMAGINE WHAT I MEAN. SOME OF THE MOST AMAZING SECRETS FINALLY COME OUT AND YOU WILL NEVER IMAGINE WHO SHOWS UP IN THE END.

    AS I SAID...J.R. WARD KNOWS WHAT SHE IS DOING AND I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK! HAPPY READING!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Loved this book

    I waited so long for this book to be released. I love the story between John and Xhex. I understand that it was John and Xhex's story and loved that she set up future books from this one. I did miss the interaction between the brothers, so much of their banter and humor was missing. The book was long and at the same time not long enough. I love JR's writing and her characters are so real to me and so many of her other readers. I just wish we didn't have to wait so long for the next story to come out. I have read and re-read all of the BDB series, you laugh, you cry, you become involved in their stories and can't wait to read more. Although so many questions were answered in this book, so many more questions were created. Great book as all of the series are, Zadist's story is still my favorite of the series but love them all. I will repeat, why do we have to wait so long for the stories to continue? Quin and Blay, Payne and Manny, No'One and Thor, the Scribe Virgin fading. I want more and although I liked her new series starting with "Covet", I just wish she wouldn't take time away from the BDB. I am selfish that way. Read the series, fantastic books, fantastic author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A MUST Read!!!!!!

    So this book was totally worth the months of TORTURIOUS waiting, and it was AMAZING. Lover Mine is the story of John Mathew, a story that fans of the Black Dagger Brotherhood have been waiting for since Lover Eternal (book #2).

    J.R. Ward did not disappoint fans with this story that proves to be action packed, complex, mysterious, and erotic as hell. Without hesitation I would recommend this book to other readers, and on several occasions already have.

    Readers unfamiliar with the BDB books will enjoy Lover Mine; however I would recommend starting with Dark Lover (book #1). As a result of the fact that the character John Mathew is introduced so early in the series, you will gain a greater appreciation of the struggles that he has been faced with and ultimately overcomes if you start at the beginning of his life story.

    All of BDB books are GREAT, and if you consider yourself a fan of the paranormal romance genre, they are a MUST!!!!! This series is one of the best I have ever read and I am already looking forward to the next BDB book, which can't get here soon enough!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Girl Did It Again

    This was a fantastic book again. J. R. is amazing in her writing efforts. She has six stories going on in this book and every one of them keeps you interested and turning the pages. I loved reading about John Matthews and Xhex, beautiful love between them. I am also very interested in seeing what happens between Quinn and Blay, but this story wasn't about the two of them so their story hasn't concluded yet. For those of you who were disappointed that we didn't get more about Quinn and Blay, just Wait. You know J.R. will not disappoint. Again, this was a fantastic book, wonderful love story, and some great drama. I LOVED IT.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Simply amazing

    J.R Ward has done it again.I loved Lover Mine!Im a BDB Fan and this was one of my favorite books. I cant wait to see what will happen with Payne and Manny in her upcoming novels!Let alone Qhuinn and Blay.I liked how Daruis was intertwined with John Matthew and how Xhex's pull to him made even more sense.This is a MUST read for all BDB fans!My only disapointment from the book is I would of liked to see the induction of John and the boys into the brotherhood as well as I missed the sence of humor from everyone in the house.Still a great read though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    not ready for the NOOK?????

    one of the main reasons i bought the nook was i thought i wouldnt have to wait for delivery or to make a mad dash to the store to get my copy. come on b&n please get with the program,i had to wait two extra days for the new kresley cole book before i could order it from my nook. we really should be able to pre-order ALL new books if their ready for pre-orders in hardcover. i love my nook but you guys seem to be a little behind kindle.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely a series you will be hooked on from the git go!!!!

    I began reading this series while waiting for the next installment in the Anita Blake series. I gave it a try and i absolutely loved it. each book leaves you excited to get to the next.. I cant wait until Lover Mine is released. I am excited to hear John Matthews story... I hope there are many more to come!!!!

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Totally addictive

    I love, love, love this series. I was about to go crazy wondering when this book was going to be released. I imagine that this is the way crack fiends get when they need a fix.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    OMG CANNOT WAIT!!! SO EXCITED!!=D

    JR Wards brotherhood series are amazing. and i heard that this book even made her editor cry ( according to Jr Ward it is really hard to make herr cry) so it must be awesome!!!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i cant wait!!!

    i am so stoked and i cant wait for JM's story and xhex!!!!!!!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    LOVED this

    I have ALL of them and just loved them all. I can't wait until #9 comes out. All the women at work have these and I read them faster than ALL of them. LOL I read ALL 8 in just a few weeks. I will be buying each new one and adding them to my collection. This is a series that I will read over and over again. As a matter of fact, I've read #1 - 7 twice. Just had to refresh my memory. :-D Hopefully the next one will come before next year. I also hope there are more characters added so that the series NEVER ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    Awesome Series

    This is my absolute favorite series out there. I would recommend it to anyone who loves romance and wants something to do with vampires <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1714 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 86