Customer Reviews for

Lover Reborn (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 986 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(734)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

118 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

Excellent.

I've waited for the story of Tohr to come full circle since Lassiter found him in the woods. He is so important to all the Brothers, and with his spirit being broken, they are all a little incomplete. I know it is hard for fans to move on from Wellsie, but it had to hap...
I've waited for the story of Tohr to come full circle since Lassiter found him in the woods. He is so important to all the Brothers, and with his spirit being broken, they are all a little incomplete. I know it is hard for fans to move on from Wellsie, but it had to happen and I think it makes for an excellent story and JR Ward did a great job. Tohr is often a jackass to No'One, but she always defends herself, how can that not be respected? They are both hurting and punishing themselves. Everything that happened in this story, needed to happen, and the outcome was worth it. No'One has her own journey to take and it is so important to Tohr's, Lassiter's, and to Xhex's future. I think the sub-plot of John and Xhex is so important and true to their characters. Xhex may have choosen to follow her heart with John by mating him in Lover Mine, but she still had to find her place in the Brotherhood that fits her. Xhex and No'One also had to develope their relationship and find how they fit together- they each offered the other unconditional acceptance and love. It is actually the most beautiful part of the book. I have to say, I love Lassiter and Layla and always have. Lover Reborn gives us a different view of them (for different reasons), and they both grow in depth and direction and offer a lot to the story. There is a lot going on in this book, and it is all important to keep the story going in the future. The writing is tight and organized. I for one am not ready for the series to end, so the changes and introduction of new characters are important to the longevity of the story; and I like them and look forward to seeing how it all plays out.

Now here's my rant- we are ten books into a series that features several complicated long term plot lines, many players, and a whole city built by JR Wards imagination. I'm tired of the reviews complaining that none of the books have been the same since book five. Duh!! How could they be? The first five served as world building, singular romances-featuring one hero and his HEA, but the series could not continue from that point focusing on only one male and female and ignore the previous characters, and the world of Caldwell that was ever more complicated. Ward always shows a great amount of passion and love for her characters, some get a little more nurturing than others (what writer doesn't do the same?) What the heck people? If you want only the standard contemporary romance formula, look elsewhere, and stop sucking the enjoyment of this series from the rest of us.

posted by MotherMayhem on March 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

REALLY! $14.99?????????

REALLY! $14.99?????????

posted by Chisaiyama-zeki on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I AM JUST DYING TO FIND OUT WHO WILL BE REBORN. COULD IT BE WELLESLEY? THIS WILL BE A PERFECT BIRTHDAY GIFT FOR ME.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I’d rate this 4.5stars The Brothers are back! However, th

    I’d rate this 4.5stars
    The Brothers are back! However, this slice of Brotherhood lore seems to be as divisive as Phury’s book, Lover Enshrined was a few years ago. Although this is Tohr’s story, you don’t have Tohr front and center all the time. I would have appreciated his storyline being more fleshed but liked the storylines I got.

    With this visit to the Brother’s mansion Tohr’s grief over Wellsie’s death is still his only motivation. We also have healthy intricate storylines covering JM & Xhex’s marital woes in addition to more information about No’One; Lassiter; the Quinn, Blay, Saxton triangle and; Xcor and the Band of Bastards. The Brothers are in fine form as the camaraderie from the earlier books makes a welcome return. The Lessors are almost absent as the threat comes from a different source this time around.

    Quite a bit worked for actually. Tohr’s grief was palpable and Wellsie’s character is still missed even though she was never a main character or focus. As it got to be overwhelming, we switched to a different storyline. However the resolution of that thread was touching. Lassiter’s humorous character proved to be multi-faceted. There was more insight and depth shown in the Quinn Blay & Saxton triangle and more groundwork was laid for the future on this front. Less Lessors (yay)! JM & Xhex’s issues seemed valid and their handling of it felt right for their characters. The name-checking was thankfully kept to a minimum. Band of Bastards were an interesting foe.

    What didn’t work for me wasn’t much but made an impact. No’One (not her constant selflessness nor did she & Tohr come off as a believable couple) and there didn’t seem to be resolution to the JM & Xhex thread. I also expected more ruthlessness from the Band of Bastards.

    I am so not done with the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The latest installment of the Black Dagger series takes off righ

    The latest installment of the Black Dagger series takes off right after the last one and delivers an update on all the main characters while giving Tohr's story center stage. While enjoyable, Tohr has never been an absolute favorite so I really used the book to get updates on the other characters and Ms. Ward was very wise to keep John and Xhex's story moving as well. But, really wanted more Blay and Qhuinn....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2014

    Excellent Series

    Great books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Nice read

    Good book. Helps the series. Good use of a few hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    keeps your attention

    I stumbled across a Black Dagger Brotherhood book purely by accident several years ago and it always remained in memory so I had to get another to see if it would still be a good read some continuing story lines just aren't. Not much of a romance person either but this saga is very interesting and I really do love these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Biggest tear jerker of the series!!!

    I've been mildly addicted to this series since I stumbled upon it a few months ago. **SPOILERS FROM HERE ON** However, I was absolutely crushed when Wellsie was killed, and almost boycotted the rest of the series, because Tohr and his mate were my favorite couple (especially for their acceptance of John into their family). Needless to say, I kept reading since I had been waiting for Tohr to finally get his own book so he could accept the loss and hopefully stop spiraling into self destruction. Knowing that he was probably going to find someone new, I was very apprehensive, however, thinking that Wellsie could never be replaced. Somehow Ward made it work!!!!! The last few pages had me balling my eyes out over Wellsie's final goodbye and somehow I didn't resent Tohr's new mate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    I liked it.

    Well a lot of people were ripping J.R.W. a new one but I think you have to remind yourselves that each brother has had a tragedy of some kind. His name is Tohrment so that in and of itself should let you know something about his character. Also, the character of the leading lady chose to call herself NoOne so that's another clue that both these characters are going to be tortured souls. I also really like Xhex and John's story included, I wished they were together more. I'm not into the gay romance so the story line leading us to Blay and Quinn's story is a turn off for me and I probably won't be reading book 11. Over all it was a good book. I don't know that if I skip book 11 I will continue with this series because I'm sure she will get into the Bastard Brothers story line in more detail and if I pick back up in 12 I'll be lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Great! Liked it very much!

    Liked it very much! One of my favorites of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    I need to buy stock in Kleenex

    I cried for most of this book. It was fascinating watching the grieving process that Tohr goes through. Gut-wrenching is actually more like it.

    There are definitely a few things that I didn't care for.....the ending, for instance, was a little weird. But I've come to expect the unexpected from JR Ward. So for her, it wasn't that far fetched.

    Enjoyed this book immensely. Then again, I just love the Brothers!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Great read

    This book was great i love that Tohr was able to move on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Anonymous

    Weslie was my favorite girl in theses books, i was really bummed about her story. I also really like layla and would love for her to stay with quinn. I feel blay is whinny and should stay with zaxon which i like him. I like Zaxon better then blay. I feel Blay makes quinn lose his personality. Zhex got on my nerves and i liked her in the last book. I really like Throe and i was glad to c zcor felt bad for what he did. I would not mind if they did something with those characters. I love all the Brothers so much they have great shellons. This book is the one that actually made me tear up. Thor is amazing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Better then 9

    I almost stopped reading the series after book 9. Glad i decided to stick with this great series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    this was another good book

    another good book in the series. was lacking something in the chemistry but not sure what it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Black daggers reborn

    A little different from her norm but as always a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Great read

    I've read some of the reviews and while I enjoyed lover reborn; I do understand why people were upset about the amount of characters in the book. Lover Reborn does not just tell of Tohr but of No One. It tells of Xcor, Layla, Throe, Quinn, Blay, etc. The story is not just about Tohr and No One's tortured romance its about keeping readers up to date on all of the BDB and on the new BOB.

    Read the book but do not expect a straight forward love story. Sure it has great intimate scenes, but it really is about giving Tohr some peace and continuing the story of the other BDB members, their mates, and of new enemies. I can't wait to read the next one. Hopefully, its about Quinn and Blay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Wonderful Story- Absolutely recommend it!

    Great continuation of the series! I keep expected that the stories will begin to repeat themselves and that I will loose interest, but here is book 10 and I'm still HOOKED! Wonderful read full of excitement, overcoming struggles, and best of all, love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Yaaay Brotherhood!

    All right Anonymous on April 9th. Yes, we all expected so much more from Tohr and Autumn. I wasnt feeling the love or the connection there at all. I'm hurt JR! That's okay though cause I demand it gets fixed later. I just don't think Z's story can be topped. BUT, I have high hopes for Murhder. I'm thinkin' lonely outcast vampire female stumbles accidently on him while takin a vacay at his B&B. And the boys? The suspense is killing me with Quinn and Blay! Can they get their own novella pleeeeease!!! I think they and us deserve it. Really. I have a suspician I know what you were up to with this book but, oh, the wait is making me froth at the mouth. Does Xcor get the plastic surgeon to fix his cleft pallet? The cliffhangers never stop in your diabolical and devious mind do they JR? You, Jaquelyn Frank and Shelley Laurenston continue to set the bar for every romance author out there in my opinion. Congratulations and keep the Brotherhood alive. I don't think I ever want to find out who Vs coffins are for. Unless they are for saaaaay, FAKING someones deaths? Mmmmh?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    I liked it........but.........SPOILER!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It was great..slow in some parts.....and i cried twice in some areas.but the ending is unclear.....is she with thor's young or not?i mean he had sex with her at the very beging of there needing mating but neither of the focused they were so about the sex. No one noticed her bodys reaction!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Great

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8