Customer Reviews for

Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1841 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1305)

4 Star

(356)

3 Star

(115)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating at times

I was frustrated with the constant ups and downs in Butch's and Marissa's relationship. But I was satisfied the way it turned out for them. Butch so belongs in the Brotherhood!!!

I also recommend reading "The Mating" and "The Keeping" (in that order) by a wonderful...
I was frustrated with the constant ups and downs in Butch's and Marissa's relationship. But I was satisfied the way it turned out for them. Butch so belongs in the Brotherhood!!!

I also recommend reading "The Mating" and "The Keeping" (in that order) by a wonderful author named Nicky Charles. I discovered her by accident and LOVED LOVED LOVED her books. They are similar to JR Ward's Brotherhood series. And guess what? They are both FREE ebooks through the B&N library.

posted by eReaderSS on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Let Down

This is thr worst book in the series so far. The story lagged and I was hopping that Marissa would get killed. The weird boy crush V has for butch didn't make much sense.The character Butch is boring and compared to the other brothers he doesn't measure up.

posted by bamagirl on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1857 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 93
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Frustrating at times

    I was frustrated with the constant ups and downs in Butch's and Marissa's relationship. But I was satisfied the way it turned out for them. Butch so belongs in the Brotherhood!!!

    I also recommend reading "The Mating" and "The Keeping" (in that order) by a wonderful author named Nicky Charles. I discovered her by accident and LOVED LOVED LOVED her books. They are similar to JR Ward's Brotherhood series. And guess what? They are both FREE ebooks through the B&N library.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Let Down

    This is thr worst book in the series so far. The story lagged and I was hopping that Marissa would get killed. The weird boy crush V has for butch didn't make much sense.The character Butch is boring and compared to the other brothers he doesn't measure up.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was okay

    Lover Revealed is Butch and Marissa's story. Butch is taken by the lessers very early on in the book after saving a civilian vampire. He is tortured for information about the brotherhood, but never gives in (Go Butch!). However, something truly evil is done to Butch before he is left for dead in the middle of nowhere. After the brotherhood rescues him, they question his fate and allegiance. Butch is no longer the same "cop." After healing from his stay with the lessers, he starts to notice some changes: his body is letting off an odd spice scent around Marissa, he is much more aggressive, he can suck lessers into himself, and his blood turns black whenever he destroys the lessers his way.
    Marissa and Butch's relationship had so many "aw" moments but there was one thing that seriously annoyed me; when Butch called Marissa "baby," I cringed. I really don't know why that bothered me so much. Other than that, everything was fine. Butch wasn't my favorite character, even in the beginning, and this book didn't really change that for me. Although, there were some aspects that really stood out and made me love Ms. Ward's writing even more.
    The Black Dagger Brotherhood series is a romance book series (just look at the titles). The characters in the series have so much depth, not often seen in adult romance novels. With each book, Ms. Ward astounds me with the way she skillfully balances the passionate love scenes with actual plot. In Butch's story, just like Zsadist's, the central characters grow and change through the story. Butch starts out insecure in his place in life. Later in the book, when Butch is telling Marissa about his past he comments, "I've always been different from other people, not just in my family but when I was working here on the CPD force, too. I never fit in.until I met the Brotherhood.I've been living on the fringes all my life.(325)." As the story progresses, the Butch becomes a part of a family, a part of something he never had. Marissa also finds herself. Even though Butch and Marissa fought a lot in this book, I think it was appropriate. Neither were secure with themselves. After Havers forced independence on Marissa, she started to follow her "Rule Number One: Right or wrong, she made the choices in her life. No one else did (402)." Of course, Marissa doesn't become independent overnight. In fact, she moves in with the brotherhood. Slowly, she begins to become her own person. Her transition from flowing gowns and corsets to pants and turtle necks was very symbolic of her transformation from a push over, aristocrat to a fully independent woman, free of the cage her brother and the glymera had forced her in all her life.
    Lover Revealed was definitely a huge step forward in the war between the vampires and the lessers. What happens to Butch changes everything. The Black Dagger Brotherhood have a whole new deadly weapon in the war. As the Scribe Virgin said, "Now the new era in the war begins (399)."
    While this wasn't the greatest of the Black Dagger Brotherhood books, it definitely is worth the read. Fair Warning: like all the BDB books, there are quite a few graphic sex scenes, violence, profanity, and of course blood and gore. If you haven't picked these books up yet, then I suggest you buy them.yes, buy them. They are too amazing not to purchase because you will want to reread them over and over again.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Couldn't put it down!

    J.R. Ward has created a wonderful series with the stories of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Each book goes in depth with one of the brothers. Each of whom are unique, sexy, and have endured their own special hell that seems to only be eased by that one special woman for them. This particular story is about the human Butch, how lives among the Brotherhood. After the first 3 books I always wondered exactly where butch fit in with the Brotherhood, now I know! Next I am now wondering what will happen with the pre-transitional John. While each book is wonderful they are best enjoyed in the order they are written. After reading the first you'll be hooked and they only get better!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    Very Disappointing

    This was not worth the read. The romance was very stale. I gave this author another shot after being disappointed by an earlier novel because the reviews are so over the top good and I love paranormal but I am convinced this J.R. Ward is either writing these reviews or has lots of friends in the writing industry.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Lover Revealed is Butch's story and I wasn't a fan.  The Lessors

    Lover Revealed is Butch's story and I wasn't a fan.  The Lessors managed to kidnap Butch.  Not only was he tortured by the Omega gave him something special.  It was interesting and freaky at the same time.  I'll be interested to see how this turn of events plays out in future books.  What I didn't care to much for was Butch's romance.  I liked Butch just the way he was and I didn't like how he was "changed."  Since a huge part of the awesomeness of this series comes from my attachment to the brothers and their love lives, this one just didn't do it for me.  I'm not sure I would skip it though.  They all have so many storylines that go into the future that I don't think anyone should skip any one installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Family, after all, was the staff of life. The very staff o

    "Family, after all, was the staff of life. The very staff of life."

    That, in two sentences, sums up the overarching theme of Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 4), my most recent juicy read in JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series.(Yes, I know I am reading them out of order but I am okay with that right now.) Oh how I love her books!

    The Good: Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 4) focuses on Butch, his love for Marissa and their need for Family. As you may know, butch is an Irish white boy. A hu-man. Yep. And he is completely head-over-heals in love with beautiful, innocent Marissa (Havers sister) making her-yep, you guessed it-a vampire. Not just any vampire either, a member of the elite upper crust of the vampire bloodlines, the glymera. To say they have nothing in common would be an understatement... except their love for one another and their need for Family. Now I won't spill the beans on the details but sufficeth to say, they are apart, they are together, they are apart, they are together... You get the gist. As this goes on, HUGE changes occur in both of their personal lives. Are they good or bad? Only the book knows.;) As usual in Ms. Ward's books, the characters are all so real, so believable that you feel right along with them. When they hurt, you hurt. When they love, you love. Happily, some of your other favorite characters make appearances throughout the story: Rhevenge, Wrath, Vischous, Rhage, Beth, and more. This all comes together to tell Butch and Marissa's story as well as shed light on some important Vampire information, more on the Omega and Scribe Virgin as well as a smattering of other tales. Oh, and you get your HEA too in the end.

    The Bad: Ah the Bad. I could say that there was just not enough of Rhev in the story.;) Actually, there was more than I would have liked in that he is his amazing multifaceted self in this story but ends up getting hurt. But that is just my personal opinion.;) The real only negatives I can say are that there were a few time that I was unsure of what was really going on with V and that the Butch/Marissa on again/off again bit got kind of old. That and I didn't really like Marissa's character all of the time. Otherwise it was a well written book.

    The Snuggly: Being mated, whether physically or legally, is an intense and sensual thing in the BDB series. Ergo, there are some smokin' hot scenes between Butch and Marissa. Certainly for no one under 18.

    Final Thoughts: While I didn't enjoy Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 4) quite as much as Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 7), that may just be personal preference. The book was well written, exciting, intense and amazing. If you love Vampires, Paranormal Romance, Action and some Erotica, you don't want to miss this book! Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Def not one of the better ones in this series

    i found this to be a REAL SNOOZER! But i'm optimistic that book #5 will be better because i know how sizzling the author can get, but this one, just didnt do it for me.... i really wouldnt even recommend it to anyone who is reading the series. I'd just tell them what happens and save them the trouble and time of reading this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous!

    I greatly looked forward to Butch's book. Since he first glanced at Marissa in Dark Lover everybody had to know that this one was coming. Granted it didn't have the intensity of Wrath's book, or the total devotion of Rhage's, nor the gut-wrenching heartache of Zsadist's, but it was still very good. Ward delivers yet again, and I can't thank her enough...Though I hate her use of foul language, particularly the GD's. I hate that. They can cuss, but must they say that!! Overall, a wonderful addition! =D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    LAME

    I personally think that this one was not very good! The problems resolved themselves all too eaisly!! Also the fact that Butch was also part vampire.... that was just too convenient. but all the same i am looking forward to the next book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Snooze.

    This is the most boring novel that I have ever read. I cannot finish it. I have tried to pick it back up multiple time in the past couple of months, but after reading a page or two, I put it right back down. Sadly this is not a series Iam willing to invest any more time into. I read Wrath through Zsadist, and enjoyed them, but I am ending it now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Eh

    So disappointed in this book. Way too long, and very predictible. I was excited to read it because i loved butch and marissa, but grew to hate them in this book. I will continue series hopefully this was the only bad egg because all books previous from this one were awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Lost interest

    Series started out great, but now its just negative and dragged out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Love the Brotherhood

    Absolutely loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Just keeps getting better

    Love it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This series gets better with each book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    4TH

    Frustrating but great! Loved this book and cant wait to start the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Wonderful !!!!!

    Another amazing brotherhood book i was not disapointed at all :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Enjoyed a lot

    This was not my favorite but was still a good read. It came together nicely. I couldn't imagine not reading it, as it seems intrigal to the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Not the best one but still great!

    Butch's story was not my favorite one. I think it was because there were so many other characters whose story you got introduced to and were left too open-ended that I couldn't focus on Butch and Marissa. When I did get into the love story between the two, I never liked Marissa as much as I like the other females. So, even though the story behind the love story is awesome, the part about Butch and Marissa is less entertaining than the love stories in the first 3 books. (Spoiler: I would only read this one again for Butch's transition and addition to the Brotherhood ranks, not for the love story between him and Marissa.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1857 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 93