Customer Reviews for

Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1900 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1319)

4 Star

(387)

3 Star

(124)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

wonderful!

If your like me, and reading the reviews before you read the book and are a little worried about the "bad ending"...well let me help clear it up without giving any spoilers...
i was very much looking forward to this book and after reading some reviews, i was a little w...
If your like me, and reading the reviews before you read the book and are a little worried about the "bad ending"...well let me help clear it up without giving any spoilers...
i was very much looking forward to this book and after reading some reviews, i was a little worried i wasn't going to like it...It was wonderful! you truly get into V's head, his background, his parents. you get more of an understanding about the Scribe Virgin and her Chosen. i feel V truly does get his happy ending, (witch some say was wrong) but if was the only way for him and Jane to truly be together forever. you can't always have your cake and eat it too. there are many surprises in this book which get you ready for Phury's book. so don't let other reviews turn you away for V's story. it really is one of the best (next to Z's) and i recommend every BDB book! these brother's have stolen my heart!

posted by vamp-book-lover on September 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Hate it!

After 3 months I have still not finished this book! I am forcing myself to finish it & I'm almost done, but it is literally torture! I hate Jane, there is no character development for her, she's just there. I've read the 1st 4 books in the series & loved Z's story...but...
After 3 months I have still not finished this book! I am forcing myself to finish it & I'm almost done, but it is literally torture! I hate Jane, there is no character development for her, she's just there. I've read the 1st 4 books in the series & loved Z's story...but this one is killing me. I can not bare the author's writing style in this one. She seems to continously & more & more blatently make these hundreds of years old men speak like frat boys. The product placement is unbelievable...I mean do I really need to know that V used a 'Bic Pen' to write a phone # down with. UGH!!

posted by Twilightbitten on May 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 387 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    Read it!

    After reading all the other bad reviews of this book I seriously thought of skipping over this book. Im glad I didn't. So far it is the worst of the series BUT BUT BUT the others were so great (especially book three with Zadist) and this one good. Im glad I read it and personally I loved the relationship bw Butch and V. Also, read it bc you get to find out what happens to John.

    Give it a chance!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It was good not great

    I have to say that these books are indeed romance novels, but the ending was very horribly done. I thought that V story would have been so great but it lacked something. Don't get me wrong it was still a very good read. But I hated the ending if the Vampire race is dying out why are some of these spouses not able to have children. Please still read this book the last ten pages you could skip.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Abused as a child, cursed as an adult, Vishous has never fit in.

    Abused as a child, cursed as an adult, Vishous has never fit in. Smart beyond measure, he's an integral part of The Brotherhood, but the only person he's remotely close to is the human-turned-vampire, Butch O'Neal. And that relationship isn't the most healtiest, V is jealous of Marissa, Butch's shellan because he's in love with the male. 

    Doctor Jane Whitcomb first had her life turned upside down on her 13th birthday when he beloved sister died unexpectedly. Moving on from the loss, she took solitude in the thought of becoming a doctor, hoping to help those not go through the same thing. Now, the head of the Trauma department at St. Francis, Jane's life is turned upside down again when a gunshot victim is put on her operating table.

    Vishous and Jane come together after she is taken against her will to the Brotherhood's compound to make sure Vishous is recuperating well after his gunshot wound and subsequent surgery. Bonding with the woman immediately, he cannot bare to have her leave. Needless to say, Jane didn't immediately warm up to the vampire. But once she did, their relationship went supernova. 

    During all of this, the Scribe Virgin came to Vishous to tell him that he's to be the new Primale of the Chosen. He's to mate and father new warriors for the race. Not wanting this responsibility, Vishous reluctantly agrees because there's no one else to do it. But when he meets Jane, he really cannot stand the thought of mating with someone other than her. 

    Phury has taken to lighting up nonstop to cope with his feelings towards Bella, his twin's shellan. When he comes to the conclusion that Vishous does not have to be the new Primale, he could take that role, it's with the hope of finally getting over Bella. When he meets Cormia, the first of the Chosen he is to mate with, brings her from the Other side to the compound. He doesn't know what to do with her, but she wants to please him no matter what.

    Like all the previous books, there's a scene or two or three where you just want to scream and cry with the characters. There were definitely many moments like that in this book, especially the last 30 pages or so.
    I really enjoyed Lover Unbound so much. It was better than the previous book which made me happy. I love Butch, don't get me wrong, but it has been the weakest book thus far. Learning more about Vishous was great. My heart broke for him in his life as a pretrans and what happens right after his transition. The character progression has been amazing thus far in the whole series, but I think V's has been the best. We always got bits and pieces in the previous books, but to actually learn about the male helped to make sense of everything we've read so far. Jane is a great character. She's strong, intelligent, and willful. She's the perfect match for Vishous in every way. My only real complaint is the insta-love aspect. It's just a huge pet peeve of mine that I cannot get behind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    loved it!

    Dont go by the negative reviews, this was one of my favorites so far. I laughed and cried with Vs story. There is also Johns story as well, you do not want to skip this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    OK so it totally won me over. Although the ending was a little iffy, I appreciate that J.R. is keeping the stories unique and different from one another. And for once there really wasn't too much inner turmoil in the relationship. Great development with the John story-line, and a good intro to Phury's book.

    P.S. I didn't even notice until starting the next book, but it was SO nice not to have all the lessers junk in this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Ignore the "bad ending" crap......

    Ending was uh odd. Not enough to stop the series. Just um strange. For the reviews saying the ending was unrealistic...
    You did notice this was a fiction fanstasy romance right? And that its a VAMPIRE series. Those reviews are unrealistic to me. Read the book. Enjoy the reality escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    This is V story and again not a favorite of mine. Like Butch the

    This is V story and again not a favorite of mine. Like Butch the story was too strange for me. I liked Doctor Jane but her finale was way out of Twilight Zone. I wanted them to have more time together. The brothers treated her really well considering she’s only a human. Also was nice meeting the other side where those ladies, Chosen, protect the Scribe Virgin. I think this goddess is a little off and way to selfish, but what God isn’t?




    Didn’t like the way she treated V and expected him to follow rules when she has never done anything to save him. She knew of everything that his father has done and never helped. Bad mom for me. But the worst part was the way she simply pushed him to become the Primale, without a choice to say no. The other brothers barely appeared in this book, but we also have the changing for John Matthew. Plus meeting Xhex. I don’t know why but she is a fave of mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    I was looking for a random book and something not predictable bu

    I was looking for a random book and something not predictable but at the same time i knew something was gonna pop up. This series has it and more. Luv These books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    This one was actually my least favorite so far. It's not that th

    This one was actually my least favorite so far. It's not that the book was bad, because they are all fabulous, it was that I just dind't care for the story line, or the ending. I love V's character though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Enjoyed this one but watch out for the end

    Like so many other reviews I liked all of the book except the end which seemed patched together and wrapped up in a happy bow. After reading several books after this one I see where the author is heading. This is still a good book in the series and I'm glad I read it. Don' t worry V resolves a few more of his issues in book 9.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Lover Unbound is Vishous's story and it was all kinds of awesome

    Lover Unbound is Vishous's story and it was all kinds of awesome until the end.  I couldn't put this down.  I inhaled this book only to be disappointed how it turned out in the end.  Vishous has huge issues because his father abused him and he didn't know his mother.  Well he finds out the identity of his mother and he isn't happy.  He's also dealing with his strange relationship with Butch.  While dealing with a bunch of lessors, tragedy strikes and Butch ends up in a human hospital where he meets Jane.  Jane is fab-tastic!  She's next to Rhage on my list of favorites.  Jane can hold her own and she is sarcastic.  Unfortunately, Vishous has found himself responsible for ensuring that the Brotherhood grows.  This responsibility kind of messes up any chance of a relationship of any kind.  Things only get crazy from there.  Again, I loved this book until the end.  I'm completely invested in this series but I need a little break after this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I cried like a baby....until the end

    I loved, loved, loved this book. Until the very end. Then it almost seemed like JR Ward didn't like the outcome, so she did what she could to change it.

    Don't get me wrong, it is still an EXCELLENT book! I adore the characters. And I absolutely love Vishous. He is fun and funny and charming and hard core. When he grieved, I bawled and bawled and bawled.

    But expect to go, "huh???" at the end. But read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    If you haven't read my previous review and you haven't read anyt

    If you haven't read my previous review and you haven't read anything in
    the series, here is a low down on the basic concept of it. No matter how
    much and how far I get into reading the Black Dagger Brotherhood series.
    I can't get enough of its musky, spicy and all too good snarky New
    York/Boston accents, dialogue and so much more. This series is about an
    entirely different scope of vampires. Vampires that have their own
    society and live amongst themselves, feed amongst themselves and have
    their own Police system which they call call The Brotherhood. They are a
    big brooding bunch of immensely good-looking men or vampires, who
    protect themselves from their own type of evil known as the Lessers. The
    Lessers are soulless, used to be humans who fight and kill vampires for
    their own enjoyment. They are under the control of The Omega. The Omega
    can be thought of as the Satan of this all new world. The demon that all
    vampire civilians run away from and fear. Lover Unbound is about my
    favorite Brother, Vishous. He's dark, haunting, tormented, and a
    smartass and the Brotherhoods very own Tech Geek. I can't help but be
    one of those girls who are into the geeky types. Anyways, he's not much
    of a geek in appearance. After reading the books till here, I was simply
    excited to read how V or Vishous will find his happy ending. The book
    started out so well, we get to V in a whole different perspective and
    thoughts. Now, that Butch (his roommate) has a mate. V can't help but
    feel jealous of how sappy Butch is with his mate, and everything that
    goes a long with it. He even tells us the story about his father, how he
    got the tattoos on his face and basically, everything in his past that
    is relevant. When V finally finds what he's always wanted, Ward does
    something really cruel to him. I get it, good authors keep their books
    in reality and all but what she did to V is so uncool and very tragic. V
    can't catch a break can he? Seriously, aside from the uncalled for
    ending, the series remains as enthralling as ever with everything close
    to realism (despite my hatred for it, on occasion), writing style that
    is pure talent. I can't wait to pick up the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Not my favorite

    This one was the least favorite one of the series. However, it was still good. And a must read to understand what is going on. I loved V..... I just wished the end was a little different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    I loved it!

    Vishous is my favorite of all the vamps in the Brootherhood. I'm so happy this was his book, and I love forbidden aspect to his and Butchs relationship/friendship and the way their powers work together. I loved that the Scribe Virgin is his mom, come on he's like the vampire Jesus! But as hard as I tried I just couldn't like Jane, and I like all the 'shellans' even Mary, who's about as exciting as wet blanket. The epilouge was really beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Not what I expected, but still good.

    When I read all the negative reviews, I got really nervous, I just kept waiting for the other shoe to drop,so to speak. When it finally did and I read the conclusion, I just kept thinking "That's not so terrible." You can't expect a cookie cutter, perfect ending in everysingle book, people. Otherwise, these books would be a snoozefest. As it is, there's still a pretty satisfying ending for V and Jane, albeit unpredictable. Plus, we got learn a lot more about the Virgin Scribe, V, and the vamp transition. Overall, the book wasn't myfavorite, but I did realy like it. I'd sayV is my 2nd favorite brother. My heart will always belong to Zsadist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Started to get old.

    The first few books I couldn't put down. Then I started to get a little bored. Seemed like same story, just rearranged a little. I'm sure I will finish the series, but needed a little break.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    OMG...I can't put these books down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Very good read however

    Very good read however the ending was a little disapointing over all i thought it was a really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 387 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20