Customer Reviews for

Lover Undercover (A McCade Brothers Novel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    YES, it is!! In this great bait-and-switch story, Samanthe Beck

    YES, it is!! In this great bait-and-switch story, Samanthe Beck adds intrigue and action to the steam. Smooth writing, a tightly-knit plot and characters to root for make this a fast-paced, highly-entertaining story. Plus: you'll learn how to lap-dance!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    C.

    Good read with lots of sexual tension.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    As I stated in our above discussion, I really enjoyed the storyl

    As I stated in our above discussion, I really enjoyed the storyline in this one! I do love my steamy scenes, but I felt Beck gave us a good amount of mystery and intrigue as well to keep us guessing as to who the killer was. You know a romance is great when you can't help but fall head over heels for the hero. And I completely loved Trevor McCade! He is a detective who ends up going undercover as one of Stacy (err Kylie's!) new clients. And oohhh la laaaaa! These two SIZZLE together! I felt I was going to die when I read the scenes in the private room at the club! It takes ALOT to make me blush, but holy crap some of those scenes made me turn red! Part of me couldn't even believe that shy, quiet Kylie would do the things she did (especially in front of the bouncer!)


    I enjoyed Kylie for the most part. I did feel that when it came to owning up to her feelings and getting past her insecurities she had a bit of work to do. She is attracted to Trevor and he clearly to her, yet she holds herself back from him. She says it's because she's not looking for a relationship right now- that she wants to focus on making her dreams of opening up her own yoga studio come true. Really, however, Kylie is running scared. She's looking for excuses to shut Trevor out. She doesn't feel she measures up to what he really wants or understands the type of person she really is. After all, the two met while she was pretending to be her brazen, outgoing twin sister. Give the guy a bit more credit Kylie!


    Trevor knows who and what he wants. He wants Kylie and he wants forever. I love how determined he is to be with her and how he won't let her excuses deter him from what he wants. He sees Kylie for who she is- not who she's pretending to be. Kylie can try to act as much like Stacy as she wants, but ultimately its her personality that shines through for everyone to see. She is kind and caring towards her fellow dancers and co-workers, which was something Stacy was not. She is considerate and takes others into account and is genuinely upset over the murders of these clients. Trevor sees all of that and he sees how vulnerable she can be and wants to be the one to comfort her and take care of her.


    I had trouble liking Kylie's twin sister Stacy at first. I didn't think it was right that while her sister would be out doing HER job for her (she broke her ankle) she would be off with her friends and out to all hours of the night. Stacy is definitely the more brazen of the two, but when it came to cops and authority figures, I don't like how she hid behind her sister instead of stepping forward and doing what she needed to. We do find out why this is later in the novel, and how Stacy's problems stem back to when she was growing up and having the type of mother they did. Stacy ends up having some chemistry with Ian, Trevor's partner, and I liked seeing Stacy shed her hardened exterior with him. I also loved Ian. He is cocky and self-assured and I felt he was a good match for Stacy. I've already read their novella and really enjoyed how that played out! (I also ended up really liking Stacy too!)


    Overall, Lover Undercover was a steamy, entertaining read with a bit of mystery and intrigue thrown in to keep you guessing as to who was really to blame! I can't wait to read the next book in the McCade Brothers series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    So so

    Silly plot was good twins switching roles but written on a juvenile level didnt finish book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Awsome

    This book was funny enjoyed readind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Great read

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No story

    Unlike Beck's previous novel, Private Practice, this book is not good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Great

    Recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Average for the Genre

    Plot was strained and predictable. Did not inspire any connection to the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Loved this book

    Can not wait for the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Will an undercover sting be enough to draw out the killer? When

    Will an undercover sting be enough to draw out the killer? When the truth is exposed will Trevor be able to forgive Kylie since he is half way in love with her already?

    Kylie Roberts is a yoga instructor and now it’s time be become the opposite of the quite twin. She needs to help out her sister Stacey and work as an exotic dancer or they will find themselves evicted from their apartment. They need the money and have no one else to help them out since they left their home town in Tennessee. Kylie has always protected her sister and now that Stacey broke her leg on the job she doesn’t have a choice but to take over Stacey’s identity.

    Detective Trevor McCade was at the gentlemen’s club when he noticed one of the strippers and he couldn’t keep his eyes off of her. So later on that same night when he is called out to investigate a dead body he finds the same blond blue-eyed beauty at the scene. She is the one that called in the dead body and he needs to see what she knows. As he is interrogating her he knows that she is hiding something but he doesn’t believe that she could have killed the man, the person that killed this man had more weight and strength on her.

    Kylie knows that Trevor knows she hiding something but she has promised her sister that she will continue this charade. Kylie knows that when the truth comes out she and her sister are in big trouble. Trevor needs to interrogate Kylie more because it seems there is a connection between now two murders and her. It seems that they knew her and she knew him but according to her she doesn’t recall these men. Only things change when Trevor goes back to the gentlemen’s club and asks for a private dance. Now this time when he questions her about the type of dance the latest victim liked she remembers and he gets his mind blown away but not only that Kylie gets lost in the dance and loses her mind, too.

    Lover Undercover was a very nice read it was fun, very erotic and at times it was frustrating. Kylie needed to stop living her life by what happened with her mother and also her sister’s motto. She needed to be her own person and listen to her heart. Trevor is a gorgeous detective that knows what he wants but at times loses himself in Kylie’s dance. I liked that I was able to learn about Kylie and Trevor but I couldn’t help it I would have liked a little bit more. I loved that there was another romance brewing between Ian, Trevor’s partner, and Stacey, I would love to know if Stacey will lose her motto and follow her heart. Ms. Beck’s writing is smooth and creative and the sex scenes were sizzling hot. The passion that Kylie and Trevor shared was raw and hot as soon as they kissed you knew that Kylie was going to be a puddle at his feet.

    This was my first read by Samantha Beck and I enjoyed it tremendously. I look forward to more of Ms. Beck’s book and truly recommend this story to anyone that loves reading an erotic suspenseful read with a twist of murder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    Kylie is the quiet twin, always keeping to herself to not give p

    Kylie is the quiet twin, always keeping to herself to not give people anything to talk about. She has always been there for her sister and that's how she finds herself in mile high boots dancing at a strip club and in the middle of a murder investigation.

    Trevor is a detective looking in to a cold murder case that takes him to the last place the murder victim is thought to have been - the strip club where Kylie is currently working at. He knows his way through a murder investigation and undercover work, what he wasn't expecting was to drawn to the innocent-looking, sexy dancer that's caught in the middle of his investigation.

    I enjoyed this story so much! Samanthe Beck brought to the page all the elements necessary for me to fully immerse myself in this story. There was the great, complex characters, the intriguing murder mystery and the intense romance. Everything came together to bring to the page a sexy, compelling story that left me wanting more. More of the emotions, more of the mystery and more of the fireworks these two ignited every time they came together.

    I liked Kylie. Although she was a bit closed off emotionally, what was depicted helped me understand where she was coming from and why he hesitated in starting a relationship with Trevor. There were times I wanted to shake some sense into her, but i could understand her doubts too. Trevor, on the other hand, was honest in his attraction to Kylie and sure of the connection they had. It was his determination in keeping her safe and his conviction to see this relationship work that made me a fan of his.

    I appreciated to the way the author brought Trevor and Kylie together. Not only was there passion in spades, there were also emotions thrown in to make it even more fantastic. Their interactions, their sex scenes it all came together to bring about the romance part of the story. I enjoyed how the author integrated this with the undercover work Trevor was doing. It all worked together to make it believable to me that this relationship was something feasible between Trevor and Kylie.

    The secondary characters introduced into the story added to it and made more interesting. I loved Ian and Stacey. I hope there's an upcoming story in the works. I loved his humor and Stacey's reluctance. It made for a great side story.

    All in all, Lover Undercover was a hot, sexy read with a wonderful romance and a great murder mystery. I can't wait to read more!

    I received this title from the publisher in exchanged of my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Bev

    Great read.....I hope there is a book coming soon about Stacy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a cute book--enjoyable, nice suspense, sweet romance--b

    This was a cute book--enjoyable, nice suspense, sweet romance--but on the whole it was a bit uneven. I liked Trevor a lot--a cute, sexy, thoughtful undercover cop who is hesitant to get involved with a person of interest in a homicide case, but is mostly okay with the girl he's interested in being a stripper. (Though of course he does hope she'll move on to something else soon, because he thinks she's bright and capable of so much more. And he offers his support, whatever she chooses. Good guy.) 




    It's the girl he's interested in who has the bigger problem with it. 




    She's only pretending, of course, because she's a twin and her twin, the real stripper, has a broken leg and is unable to work at the moment. Because Kylie's job as a yoga instructor pays far less than Stacy's as a stripper, Kylie's being both Kylie the yoga teacher and Stacy the stripper for six weeks.




    So far, so good. Exhausting for Kylie, but good.




    But Kylie's internal dialogue is constantly reinforcing the good twin/bad twin concept that the girls have grown up with since birth. Kylie has always stayed out of trouble, worked hard at everything she does, and is still a virgin. She's taken it upon herself to atone for everything her mother--and by projection, their family--has done "wrong" in the eyes of their hometown. Stacey is irresponsible, a slacker, and promiscuous. Stacy's always leaving her sister in the lurch. 




    Or so Kylie constantly says in her head. Yet Kylie willingly moved across the country to live with her, and it's Stacy's salary, not Kylie's that gives them a nice apartment to live in. It's Stacy who's working to allow Kylie to follow her dream of opening her own yoga studio someday, and we find out that Stacy's not just working as an exotic dancer, she's also pursuing her own goal of making it into show business someday. Kylie's judgmental attitude toward her tended to annoy me.




    BUT...Kylie's moments of hypocrisy aside, I did enjoy reading this. It was a cute romance. Trevor was a fun hero, and his partner Ian was a riot. Stacy got her own HEA (which I would have liked reading more about.) Kylie had her moments, and the lap dances that Trevor had to "endure" all in the name of homicide investigation were fun to read. I'll definitely be looking for more by this author to read.




    (I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Great story line. Fast read and well written.

    Great story line. Fast read and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Good Book! This is the second book I have read by Samanthe Beck

    Good Book!

    This is the second book I have read by Samanthe Beck and it will definitely not be the last! If you like a hot, steamy romance, this book is for you.

    The story is about identical twins Kylie and Stacy Roberts and their lives as young adults in Los Angeles. Kylie is a yoga instructor and Stacy is a stripper. Both have big dreams for the future; Kylie wants to own her own yoga studio and Stacy wants to be an actress. Unfortunately, Stacy breaks her leg and Kylie reluctantly agrees to fill in for her until her leg heals. So that Stacy will not loose her job, Kylie becomes Stacy the stripper.

    Unluckily, Kylie discovers a dead body outside the strip club after one of her shifts. She meets gorgeous Detective Trevor McCade, who is assigned to lead the homicide investigation. He and Kylie spend a lot of time together and they begin to have feelings for each other. As part of the investigation, Kylie privately dances for him and their relationship just gets hotter and hotter. All the while, Kylie is masquerading as Stacy.

    If you like hot, well written romances with a bit of mystery, read this book.

    I received an ARC from Entangled Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

     know a lot of people look at a 5-star rating and frown, but thi

     know a lot of people look at a 5-star rating and frown, but this book honestly deserves it. Lover Undercover is the second of Ms. Beck's books I've had the pleasure to read. Sexual tension sparks between Trevor and Kylie from the beginning and only gets hotter as you turn the page. Trevor is totally Alpha, but so kind and considerate...and freaking hot! It isn't often a writer can give her reader murder, suspense, humor, heat, and wrap it all up in a way that leaves you anxious for her next book. And you can alaways count on secondary characters who beg for a book of their own, as is with Kylie's twin, Stacey and Trevor's partner, Ian.




    Don't miss out on this exceptional read, and do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of her first Brazen with Entangled Publishing, titled, Private Practice, and get ready to laugh and cheer with her characters and find yourself in the "hurry up and wait" mode for her next book!




    Well done Ms. Beck, and a big Thank you to Entangled Publishing for giving us such a wonderful author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3