Customer Reviews for

Lover Unleashed (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2041 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1348)

4 Star

(385)

3 Star

(191)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Great! As usual a very entertaining read. Can't wait to read mor

Great! As usual a very entertaining read. Can't wait to read more.

posted by Ozzy12 on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

56 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

I'm going to say the unthinkable.

I was very disappointed by this book. I hate that I had to write those words. I'm such a huge fan and have been so for many many years. This book should be retitled to Lover Unbound PART 2. Payne and Manny were definitely the back story in this installment, which is ver...
I was very disappointed by this book. I hate that I had to write those words. I'm such a huge fan and have been so for many many years. This book should be retitled to Lover Unbound PART 2. Payne and Manny were definitely the back story in this installment, which is very misleading because you'd expect it to be the focus. They had such good chemistry and Manny is such an great character, you want to hear more about them. However, this book predominately focused on Vischous freaking out and the repercussions on his mating with Jane. SO many things were left unfinished and even untouched in this book. Muhrder was never brought up again, neither the Omega or the Scribe Virgins current issues. Quinn's storyline has no resolution and the book never truly has a climax. When you finally think the story has reached its peak, it is very quickly deflated and you're left thinking: "That's it? What just happened?"

Overall, I'm left very unenthused and sad after I finished it. And considering I waited an entire year for this installment and will wait ANOTHER year for next, I'm for the first time in my life unhappy with a book from the Warden. :/ It nearly pains me to write this, but it's the truth. I'm really hoping the next makes up for the lack of which this book contained.

posted by MeganLee on April 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing Treatment of a Favorite Character

    One of the criticisms of J.R. Ward is that her female characters pale in comparison to the men. It's easy to understand why considering the Brothers explode off the page and are written larger than life in all their swaggering, slang-talking, Alpha male-ness. To date, the heroines have seemed kind of blah. But then came Payne, and right from the beginning, she was different. Every scene with her crackled with tension, and you (or, at least, I) couldn't wait to read more scenes with her. She quickly became my favorite character, especially after "Lover Mine" and her sparring sessions with Wrath. Finally a female who could more than hold her own with a Brother (I don't really consider Xhex in the same category. Yeah, she's tough, but I'm pretty sure a Brother like Rhage or V could easily handle her), and I was SO excited when her book was next. With one major reservation. Manny. He literally never made an impression on me in V and Jane's book so to find out he was The One for Payne was a huge disappointment (I was thinking Tohrment or Qhuinn or, heck, even Lassiter for Payne). But I was willing to set aside my reader's sense of ownership over a favorite character and let the author do her thing. Except Manny and Payne's part of the book was the weak link with virtually every other storyline being way more fascinating... Qhuinn's pitiful attempt to get over Blay, V's complete and total meltdown and subsequent redemption and the introduction of another band of not-so-merry men. My big gripe about Lover Unleashed is that we FINALLY have a herone who could kick some serious butt, and she's paralyzed for at least half the book! I wanted to see the collective dropped jaws of the Brothers watching what she was capable of. I wanted to see her working out in their sacred space- the gym- with maybe Rihanna blasting and just blowing through a hard-core workout like the Brothers normally do. I wanted to see her fight for her freedom after Xcor abducts her even though I was totally rolling my eyes at yet ANOTHER female abduction. I wanted her to be the complete bad*** she was in the last couple books. At long last here was a female character who wasn't a weakling or paled in comparison to the men (again, not really counting Xhex), and Ward STILL found a way to make her boring. And I was really surprised that the Scribe Virgin was a complete no-show even though her only daughter is literally dying. Given how fiercely she tried to protect Payne, it just doesn't add up. Which is why I (generously) give this book 3 stars.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    not my favorite but still good

    I love the BDB series. Its just starting to get predictable. Every story follows the same basic storyline. Boy meets girl, falls in love, list of reasons not to be together, something bad happens to girl or boy, then Poof! they can be together forever. Lover Unleashed is a good story I like how it wasn't only about Payne. I love V and Jane so it was good to have their story continue. A good addition to the series but not as good as some of the other books.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    Sad to say, but highly disappointed

    I ran out to get this book the day it came out and anticipated being done reading the next day. It took me 3 days to be able to get past the first 3 chapters. This book had so much potential, but just failed in the end. Not enough Payne and Manny and the storylines are becoming predictable and repetitive. I will continue to read, but I am hoping for something better.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Check it out!!!!!!

    Been waiting for J.R Ward to write another book regarding the Black Dagger Brotherhood who are my faviorite vampires. I'm so excited I hope she continues to write more we still got to read on nalla growing up and finding love.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    not impressed

    my least favorite of the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    disappointed

    I love love love love love loveeeeeee the BDB series...I am obsessed w/ this universe! I waited so long for this book & it fell so short. Like many ppl have said this book is LU pt 2. There's so much Jane & V, although I love them together this book should've focused more on Payne & Manny. I totally get V & Payne are siblings so the story line would be intertwined w/ the 2, but I didn't think it'd be so much of V. But J.R. has always said V is her favorite & she & him have a specific maybe tumultuous relationship? Anyway, although I like Manny....I think Payne should've been romantically linked to Murhder some way some how, cause I'm dying to read his book...don't know how long that's going to be though!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Hummmmm

    I devoured all the other books but after reading the comments on this one I'm thinking about skipping it. Don't know if I really will.or not but.seriously thinking about.it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Loved it

    Im so happy, speechless. Reminds me of 1-3, after i read them. On to the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    Not the best book in this series for me, because everything fel

    Not the best book in this series for me, because everything felt a little lost and there was almost no fight. Payne we met previously in this series and this is her story, but it felt like it was V and Doc Jane book two. There was way too much DR between this couple and after they found each other, I really thought things wereperfect, but V is messed up so a relationship is really difficult for him.

    After discovering that Payne was his sister, V kinda lost it, but the book is also about Doc Manello helping Payne walk again and their love story. Nothing too complicated and he didn't even changed, so a failure to me.

    We also got some new and very badass vampires coming to town and creating all kinds of drama with the glymera, making everything more difficult for Wrath in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was looking forward to this book. However I think I was a litt

    I was looking forward to this book. However I think I was a little let down. The book was good, but there was sometimes too much going on with side stories that just really did not fit. Honestly did we need De La Cruz and his new partner's view if it really had nothing to do with our favorite cop Butch? 




    From the past books I was under the impression that when we finally got to meet Payne she would be like Xhex or at least close. Instead I felt like she was weaker than Marissa was in the first book. Honestly I was not impressed and thankfully I came to like Manny overtime. With the obvious hints to Manny's bloodline it was like okay where have I heard this before? Butch's story anyone. It would have been okay to find out they were related, but I wasn't all that into it. 




    V and Jane there just isn't much to say. V was one of my favorites and he honestly started to sound like Phury and Z. He lost his character along the way and Jane being as perfect as we are told over and over again wasn't so perfect. Let's see we know our mate is not really all together as he claims so lets not talk to him and give his twin who he just found out about her death wish. Seriously??? As far as Xcor, Zypher, and Throe I'm still up in the air. I was just sad there was no John Mathew since he's been a big part of the story lines in the past few books and the Qhuinn/Blay situation. I honestly do not like Layla's character and the hinting of Qhuinn and Layla I'm just not into it. Qhuinn realizes he loves Blay and what are you gonna put him with Layla? All I have is a huge sigh of sadness. 




    Do not get me wrong this was a good book, I just felt like most series when they have so many in them, that the characters start to lose what makes us fall in love with them to begin with. I will continue to read the series, but will sadly yearn for reading about the characters in their previous states rather than opening to a random phrase and really not know who is talking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    Another good book by JR Ward - but again the series has become s

    Another good book by JR Ward - but again the series has become so repetitive. Every book is the same set up, the focus is on one soon to be couple with continuing background stories on the couples from previous books, along with some random side story that may or may not make sense at the end or in a future book. There were some good twists in this one, but another random side story that semi ties in with the main characters, or at least you can see where it will in a future book.
    6 or 7 books in a series like this... okay. But 11 or 12 is pushing it for me. I'm only continuing so I can see how it all ends up, but I'm ready for a new plot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Xhex PALES in comparison?

    A reviewer on here said Xhex pales in comparisin to Payne. Really. A half-sympath, cillice-wearing, assassin, who has withstood torture & kicks such a huge amount if ass that she fights alongside the brothers. Really. And never, ever, let her true character end up acting like a giggly hormonal teenage girl. The reviewer also said Xhex prob couldn't handle herself against a brother. I disagree. At least, I don't think she'd end up getting her back broken....
    The problem w/ this book was that Payne went from kick ass to Barbie doll, & Manny just doesn't do it for me. I like him. But really ladies, who would u rather have in your bed: Zsadist, Rhevenge, John, or him? He's a great guy, just kinda boring after a mohawked Vamp/Sympath; a diamond-eyed, tatted-up, black gloved vamp; & a gorgeous blonde vamp w/a dragon-beast on his back. Where the HELL where Lassiter & Muhrder???? I ADORE the series, but this one was my least favorite. Ward should address characters she's already introduced, rather than leaving them out & devoting half a book to the annoying sister of V.
    O yeah...the sister who'd get her ass handed to her on a plate by Xhex if they ever threw down, thank u very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Ok Read, Very Glitchy

    I have been lucky enough to sit down and read the entire series back to back. This is not one of my more favorite books of this series. The injury occurs in the book prior and this book picks up AFTERWARDS and unless you read #8 "Lover Mine" you will be lost. Her endings by this point are also glitchy. This is NOT a stand alone novel as many of her earlier ones were, are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    BDB

    The book was alright. It was actually more like two novells (fillers) put together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is revolved around Payne, the twin sister of Vishous.

    This book is revolved around Payne, the twin sister of Vishous. Vishous has a book of his own that is earlier in the series, but you are in luck if you like him. The plot is roughly half about him and told in his or Mary's point of view during that portion of the book. I had really high hopes for this book since most of the other books in the series have been great. Sadly, it did not meet my expectations.

    In all honesty I was slightly disappointed with this book. Don't get me wrong it was decent, I went into the book expecting it to be about Payne mainly with a little bit about the other characters. This book is roughly half about her twin and half about her (if even). I felt there was more that could have been said about Payne than was mentioned. Don't even get me started about Dr. Manello, who happens to be the love interest. His speech is pretty much a combination of Butch and Vishous, which irritated me while reading. I just could not get into it and fall in love like I normally can. It was still a fairly decent read, but I will not be re-reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Same as last books in the series

    With the strong draw of the first two books, it has been difficult to stop reading the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. The plot isn't obvious, as expected. However, I don't like the cheapening of the language--probably for the younger readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Neather good nor bad

    The series is getting predictable and boring. Same thing over and over. It has also gotten away from the main plot.
    Payne was introduced in previous novels as a hard core fighter, and in this book instead of showing her in her greatness, it tells of her being helpless and weak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    A little lacking for me

    I have enjoyed most of the series thus far but this one was a little lacking for me. I liked that V and Jane's relationship was revisited and I almost cried when he had his breakthrough and their relationship was taken to the next level with something so simple as him showing her affection in front of the Brothers. I'm really hoping Quinn and Blay get together soon because it's killing me that Quinn is so alone. Payne and Manny's relationship was the focal point of this book but it wasn't quite the same intense desire I felt with the other relationships. It actually paled in comparison to how drawn I was to the lesser stories involved in the book around V/Jane and Quinn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good reading...

    I have to say this book was not as good as the others in this seires but it was still a good book. I really thought one of the stories in the booke would lead into Thors book but it didnt really mention him much at all. Oh well i am still looking forward to the next installment of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Disappointed, but still a good read.

    I was really expecting more from Payne and Manny, but this story kind of left me wanting. But I still love the Brotherhood and the story is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10