Customer Reviews for

Lover Unleashed (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2039 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1346)

4 Star

(386)

3 Star

(190)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Great! As usual a very entertaining read. Can't wait to read mor

Great! As usual a very entertaining read. Can't wait to read more.

posted by Ozzy12 on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

I'm going to say the unthinkable.

I was very disappointed by this book. I hate that I had to write those words. I'm such a huge fan and have been so for many many years. This book should be retitled to Lover Unbound PART 2. Payne and Manny were definitely the back story in this installment, which is ver...
I was very disappointed by this book. I hate that I had to write those words. I'm such a huge fan and have been so for many many years. This book should be retitled to Lover Unbound PART 2. Payne and Manny were definitely the back story in this installment, which is very misleading because you'd expect it to be the focus. They had such good chemistry and Manny is such an great character, you want to hear more about them. However, this book predominately focused on Vischous freaking out and the repercussions on his mating with Jane. SO many things were left unfinished and even untouched in this book. Muhrder was never brought up again, neither the Omega or the Scribe Virgins current issues. Quinn's storyline has no resolution and the book never truly has a climax. When you finally think the story has reached its peak, it is very quickly deflated and you're left thinking: "That's it? What just happened?"

Overall, I'm left very unenthused and sad after I finished it. And considering I waited an entire year for this installment and will wait ANOTHER year for next, I'm for the first time in my life unhappy with a book from the Warden. :/ It nearly pains me to write this, but it's the truth. I'm really hoping the next makes up for the lack of which this book contained.

posted by MeganLee on April 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 386 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GraveTells review: A transitory BDB novel, with more painful Vishous than vicious Payne

    The title of this book is a little misleading, assuming it is supposed to describe the featured couple or "warrior". Payne is more "unleashed" in her sparring sessions with Wrath in the previous books than she is throughout this entire novel. "Lover unleashed" is more more applicable to V, as he learns to relinquish his vicious self-control... literally, un-leashed from the "predilections" that trapped him in his previous destructive BDSM spiral. Payne's personality is nearly unrecognizable compared to the tenacious & serious, almost savage, amazon she was introduced as in a previous novel. Some of this is understandable, considering how crushing it would be to be faced with permanent paralysis as a warrior, but far too much time is spent on this period of weakness and inactivity for Payne to really grow as a character. Then, when she does finally become mobile and has a chance to be "normal" again, she acts more like a giddy young girl than a 300-year old fighter.

    Too much of this book feels transitory for it to be strong enough to stand on its own. For a reader new to the series, I would say absolutely do NOT read this novel first! Obviously, starting at the beginning is best, but most of the other books are strong enough that a new reader could pick them up and enjoy the stories even with the multiple story arcs and ever-growing roster of characters. Lover Unleashed reads as if its the middle film in a trilogy (hello, The Two Towers and Empire Strikes Back!) - it's more a way to get there from here, and to wrap up plotlines while introducing yet another. I don't mind the sideline plots, because sometimes they turn into fantastic drama, but at least give us a little more of the one we all REALLY want to see: Blay & Quinn! How many books is she going to stretch that one out before it comes to some kind of conclusion (oh, and please be the outcome I think we all want!)? What about Muhrder from book 8 (Lover Mine)? A substantial amount of book-time went to setting up that whole "ghost" scenario at his mansion, then revealing who he is on TV, then there's not even a reference to it in this one. I think this is the first time a developing plotline like that has been dropped completely from one book to another. What about Lassiter?

    A couple things really bothered me about Payne's abduction toward the end...

    1) Her abduction was fishy and too convenient (read: predictable). Considering how well previous story lines have worked out after some of the leading ladies were abducted, Ms. Ward could have made an abduction like this work, but this just had no heat to it... no drive. It felt flat-out unbelievable.

    2) Payne was able to resolve the entire abduction situation by just standing there and talking. Really? The big bad glowy she-warrior doesn't even get to fight for herself? She just talks her captor out of something he's believed & fought for all of his life, after which he proceeds to protect her from his own men at his own peril? Uh... no. And B-O-R-I-N-G!

    This book is really more about V & Jane than it is about Payne & Manny. Payne & Manny almost feel more like side characters than the featured couple, to the point that this is easily Lover Unbound 2.0. Now I'm not complaining - V is one of my favorite characters in the series, so more face (and body!) time with him is A-okay with me.

    Read the full review at GraveTells on Wordpress.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Different..yet still her best work

    This book was great. I read it straight through as I do with all of her BDB books. She is a great writer and takes you through all of the emotions expertly. The imagery is fantastic and you can really get into the heads of her characters. All that being said...

    Since I am a huge fan of JM and Xhex, I would have loved a quick snapshot into what their mated life is like now. Honestly, this could have easily been 700+ pages like Sherilyn Kenyon's "Acheron", and it still only might not have touched on all of the different storylines. Not much Qhuinn and Blay action, although it does leave you panting for their story. There was no follow up on No'One, so we really have no idea how she is doing or even how her relationship with Xhex is developing. Tohr is out fighting again but no real details on that. No Lassiter at all. A couple of characters make cameos..Rehevenge and Marissa for example. I expected Payne to dish out some more beatdowns but aside from one or two very short fight scenes..nothing. We saw Xhex doing her thing in other books, which is what made her a great warrior, so I was hoping for more action from Payne. Truthfully, we know that these are romance novels at the end of the day but, I, personally, love the action scenes. We know that Payne can hold her own but it still would have been great for all the Brothers to witness it firsthand. The one thing I kept waiting for throughout the whole book never happened..No Scribe Virgin..at all. Maybe this is only really an introduction to Payne/V/Scribe Virgin's relationship. If so, then I am totally onboard for the drama.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read....but.....

    I completely flipped out in the store when I saw Lover Unleashed on the shelf! So, of course, it came home with me! I tried to read it slowly so I wouldn't miss any details but still read it in a day or two. I really enjoyed the many stories involved in the book but was hoping for a stronger Payne. She was so completely badass in the previous books and I was hoping for more of the same here, but didn't quite get it. Don't get me wrong, I was happy she found her mate and glad we get to see more of Manny, but she talked her way out of her abduction? Really? This is definitely a transitional book. We got more movement on some of the main characters, and a surprise or two. But there was no mention of some of the other characters (Mhruder, Lassiter). I know you can't fit everyone into one book but they were just not there at all. Hopefully we'll see them in the next book...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lover Leashed

    While this may not be one of the best in the series it still has enough strong elements to have it be a good story. I liked the romance between Manny and Payne but they could have had more of the book devoted to their relationship. It was okay that Manny's feelings for her went from 0 to warp speed in a minute and Payne's virginity didn't have her be a helpless, swooning heroine. She is a formidable character and I'm looking forward to her role in future story lines. I just wish the two of them had more pages devoted to their relationship in this one.

    The Old Country warriors are an interesting twist to the leadership structure of the vampire world. I know there's more to tell but this storyline ended pretty flatly. They were boring but the havoc they may wreak will be interesting going forward.

    Jane and V's storyline was absolutely brilliant. I wasn't happy with his previous story and this one makes up for the short hand dealt earlier. V's relationship with Butch continues to be complex and it works.

    The Qhuinn/Blay/Saxton storyline really suffered. While we gained insight about Qhuinn's point of view, most of the scenes involving these three seemed like fillers. Ward should be applauded for how she has created a compelling, same-sex romance that is just as hot and poignant as any other. The story just limped along here. I'm hoping they have a stronger presence in the next book.

    The multiple storylines have typically converged seamlessly in the past. It felt as if they just reached a conclusion that is more a "to be continued" than a fluid ending. I liked the stories but I was surprised when I found myself on the last page. I think this is more a 3.5 star rating but I'm tipping it to 4 because the characterizations were so strong and V and Jane got their air time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read, True!

    Another good and enjoyable read in the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series! This book wasn't just focused on one BDB character this time around; the story weaved in and out around new and old characters.

    The story started out focused on Vishous sister Payne and Jane's old boss Manny and I thought it was a great match and the romance between the two was hot and sweet. The only thing I didn't like is that their story was too short and thought they should have had their own book.

    Besides Payne and Manny's story we got insight into other stories such as Vishous and his tormented past, along with Qhuinn dealing with his feelings toward Blaylock and the M/M relationship, and then to top it off, a story leading to the Xcor future uprising against the King of the Black Dagger Brotherhood.

    The story was very interesting and I thought this was one of those books you see authors make in order to add more twist and turns to a bigger plot so it is expected that the book would not be considered a favorite but leave the reader more to look forward to in future books.

    Vishous continued story was disturbing with torturous BDSM acts and I found it a turn off that his best friend Butch had to torture him in order to give him a release of his built up pain. I know some people like this crap but I prefer the light BDSM that is playful and not so harsh with all the brutal pain, torturous screaming and bloody gore from being cut, sliced, and diced - big turn off for me. Don't get me wrong, I admire Butch going the distance to help out his friend and having the close bond between each other was heart warming.

    The Qhuinn and Blaylock's story needs to move on and not be ashamed to be gay and I hope J.R. Ward will give their story justice and allow them to be together because it is a common knowledge that vampires are bi-sexual so why shouldn't there be a love story between two men.

    I don't know what the future holds from the new gang Xcor has brought over to the states but just from guessing I see a future of more warriors joining forces with the BDB.

    Lastly I would like to say I loved the ending with Manny finding out that he is Butch's half brother and therefore half vampire and also kin to the King "Wrath".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Good read!!

    Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    It was okay

    I like Ward's books but I felt like the story got a little half hearted towards the end of the story. Payne is supposed to be a kick ass character and she shows a little bit too much of a weaker side. The scene where she has to get Xcor to let her go and he's out for blood was just a little weak. Paraphrasing "My dad wasn't really your dad, he was a terrible guy that lied to you." "Oh okay, you're a chosen and I believe you, you may go now." Bah! I wanted more blood to be spilled. And then the whole Manny/Payne story wasn't enough for me. I just kept reading because I wanted to keep up with the rest of the story lines and it wasn't bad, it just left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    One of my favorites

    I had forgotten how much I enjoyed this book until I read it for the second time.

    I really like Payne and her story. Watching the relationship with her brother unfold was really interesting, as was her own love story.

    And I loved revisiting V and Jane. It's nice to see real issues in the relationships. They may be vampires and ghosts and all kinds of different creatures, but the emotions are so real!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Enjoyed it! V makes a reappearance although.....

    This book adds Payne and Manny to the mix. Their love story is pretty straight forward but what goes on around them is a bit more exciting, particularly with V, Jane and Butch. The resolution with that side of the story seems to put to rest the sexual tension between V and Butch. I have to wonder if the author is ever going to confront a relationship between two men (like Blay and Quinn) or if it is always going to be carefully glossed over. The living situation with V, Butch, Jane and Marissa had the potential to get VERY interesting but no, we are goung with traditional M/F pairings. New characters are introduced, although the Lessening Society needs a new bad guy. It was fun to read overall and I'm buying the next one for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Fantastic

    Loved the introduction of a new human character to the equasion, Dr. Minello is a great new addition to the family and seeing Payne's story and the introduction of a whole new set of characters was just awesome, look forward to getting to know those guys! Vischous messing with Manny's presets in his car just cracked me up at the end, the good doctor had great taste in music!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Wonderful

    All the books are wonderful in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not one of my favorites in the series but still an enjoyable rea

    Not one of my favorites in the series but still an enjoyable read. Not really into the Blay-Quinn romance so not looking forward to seeing that in the upcoming books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Loved it

    I was excited to read about a female warrior in the black dagger brotherhood and I was not disappointed. I really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Love this Series! All the books are Awesome!!!

    Love this Series! All the books are Awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Great book to the series

    Not one of the better books but a great read nonetheless. Looking forward to the next one..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Another great read!

    Every time I read one of the Black Dagger brotherhood series, I get to sleep late, go to work late, and abandon my daily chores. Lover unleashed, was no different. I can't wait to read the next book in this series, "Lover Reborn #10." I'm sure it will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Good series continues

    Still enjoy this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    This is another hot book from J.R. Ward. I was excited for Payne

    This is another hot book from J.R. Ward. I was excited for Payne’s story and I was not disappointed. Payne has come to this world and in the meantime needs a doctor’s help. Jane doesn’t feel she is capable and calls on her good friend, Dr. Manello. If you remember from earlier books, in his mind she died. How does he handle this?

    Dr. Manello treats Payne’s condition and Vishous agrees for him to stay until his condition completely improves. While his time there, Dr. Manello ends up providing aid again under dire circumstances which tend to improve the relationship with not only Payne, but Vishous. Or does it?

    Again, you get to meet all the brothers and characters from previous books, with an indepth story of Payne, her mate, and her brother. You learn more about the connection the twins have and what was experienced by both. Jane and Vishous are able to renew their relationship for one another with help from Butch. The feelings portrayed of these characters are so real. I also just have to say that Butch is my favorite, even though he is human. The author was able to transport the reader into their world and situation. Also, the war between the lessers and the chosen ones have changed. Find out how. Another great book by J.R. Ward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Not bad

    This was not my favorite of the BDB series, but enjoyable. The story is not as gripping as some of the others, and a bit flat, but there are side stories as well which make it a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 386 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20