Customer Reviews for

Lover At Last: A Novel of the Black Dagger Brotherhood

Average Rating 4
( 864 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(532)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Not Ward's Fault

I would appreciate as well as jr ward if you would not give her book a low rating because of nooks screw up it isnt her fault that you didnt get ur preordered book!!!!

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

BDB FAN:

You're upset by Blay and Quhinn??? Were you upset by Z being used as a sex slave? Oh and you do know V is bisexual right??? There was another person on here who posted a homophobic slur who I'd like to address: Women, especially older women are more accepting of di...
You're upset by Blay and Quhinn??? Were you upset by Z being used as a sex slave? Oh and you do know V is bisexual right??? There was another person on here who posted a homophobic slur who I'd like to address: Women, especially older women are more accepting of different SOs: Straight couples, two girls, even two men. That the two charecters here have a good backstory and are likable, helps. If you don't get this, then bounce. True JR WARD fans would never spout such haterade, true?

posted by 15039033 on April 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    BDB FAN:

    You're upset by Blay and Quhinn??? Were you upset by Z being used as a sex slave? Oh and you do know V is bisexual right??? There was another person on here who posted a homophobic slur who I'd like to address: Women, especially older women are more accepting of different SOs: Straight couples, two girls, even two men. That the two charecters here have a good backstory and are likable, helps. If you don't get this, then bounce. True JR WARD fans would never spout such haterade, true?

    39 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Where is my book!!!!!!

    I want my book pre ordered so I got it right away and still no book not happy at all I have waited a year for this

    30 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Skip sample

    Don't bother trying to read the sample, it is 4 pages, none of which is text.

    20 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    !

    Glad i found out this was about homosexuals. Now i wont waste my money. Bn should be more upfront about book content. This type of thing is offensive to some ppl.

    14 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Bleh.  I don't understand female readers swooning about "ho

    Bleh.  I don't understand female readers swooning about "hot guys" ...  batting for the other team.

    14 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have now finished the book. (takes deep breath). I have so muc

    I have now finished the book. (takes deep breath). I have so much to say about it and dont really know where to start. I am sorely disappointed yet again, and more so than any other book. The way JR Ward promoted this book should be illegal. She made it sound like the next best thing since bread. I on the other hand feel it was overkill.
    The book 84 pages in had already at least 4 plots beginning. I know that over the years you have to put a new plot in place in order to have the hipe for the next one to start. However this book was nothing but a book of plots, and only a couple were worth much thought. I think she has gotten greedy in trying to map out her way for the next 6 or more books. I wish she would go back to her roots with a main character and their story, with a few updates on the other characters and then leading up to who might be the next lucky guy/girl. I always thought of her as very witty with some of her comments and writing skills, but this was like another lanquage at times to the point that all I could do was roll my eyes. The title Lover at Last, PAH it wasnt a Blay and Quinn story but a book on how to make 6 more books. Sorry but that is my opinion.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    I have read a number of JR Ward's books. I think the older books

    I have read a number of JR Ward's books. I think the older books are the best. When I read romance, I want male female relationships; not same sex. Everyone has their views and I'm not here to make a statement of any kind other than what I personally like to read. Disappointed that the author has taken this turn in the story line.

    12 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Really disappointing!

    It sucked! Way too much was going on and I couldnt wait for it to end. I was sooo looking forward to this book but 3/4 of the book was about characters that should get their own book. If this is the way she continues to write, this will be the last black dagger brotherhood I ever read.

    12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    I was so excited and couldn't wait for this book to come out.  B

    I was so excited and couldn't wait for this book to come out.  But was very very disappointed.  I do not care to read gay sex / romance books and thats all this was.  I also couldn't believe J.R. Ward would have one of the Brothers treat a Chosen as Quhinn did.  Also I can't believe she had all the other Brothers being okay with it and allowing a mating ceremony!! I have and love all the other books in the series but was totally discussed with this one.  

    9 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    What?

    I have all J.R. Wards books. This was one I wished I had not bought. There was to many twist and turns. It was hard to follow sometimes. And way to much sexual goings on. To grafic.

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Disappointing :(

    It was a so so read. To many different stories going on. It was like reading 4 little stories with a corny ending for B&C.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    not good and a jumbled mess. Very disjointed and all over the pl

    not good and a jumbled mess. Very disjointed and all over the place trying to combine so many new starts for new stories. This is it for me. Those of you who didn't get your book, get a refund. This wasn't worth the money.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Anonymously Depressing!

    I have been a die hard fan of J.R. Wards for years. In fact The Black Dagger Brotherhood series is my all time favorite series and it's the only series that I have read multiple times. This is the author and series that jump started my love addiction of reading all things paranormal and edgy.

    With that being said, I am devastatingly disappointed in the last installment "Lover at Last" So much so, that I am writing my very first review. This after the fact that I preordered the book and waited on baited breath, counted down the days and re-read the series until it was released. All for an extreme let down.

    It took me a pain stacking week to get through it, when normally I deprive myself of food, water and sleep until I've read every last word! And here I am several months later still stewing over it! I loath it so much that I considering not reading her next release. Which all know I will however 3 strikes and she's out! As I was semi disapointed in Lover Unleashed I had my expectations set hi for Lover at last!

    I am a sucker for love stories regardless of gender however the creativity was lacking. The rich detail and story line was weak and the ending was rushed and far fetched. Not a happy camper!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    This book centers around a gay relationship. I have read this e

    This book centers around a gay relationship.
    I have read this entire series and have enjoyed it; however, I have an expectation that when I buy a paranormal romance I expect the romance to be between a man and a woman. Also, the characters were mostly speaking ghetto-speak. This book will not appeal to the target audience of literate heterosexuals. I'm tossing this book. I want my money back. I'm officially done with this series.

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Just not very good..

    First, I am gay friendly, so that aspect of this doesn't bother me at all. The book just rambles over chapter after chapter, sort of like she wrote it as a jumble of ideas and did not edit. This series was so good, but it has done a poop spiral since V's book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Finished with jr ward

    I use to love her books, however....... not into the whole homosexual love she is putting out. Totally not worth the read anymore.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    What a sample

    Clicked on sample and got 4 pages of previously written books which by the way I had bought and read years ago. Youd think a diehard would get treated better. Makes me a bit mad.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    I HATED this book, so disappointed with the story, it was riddle

    I HATED this book, so disappointed with the story, it was riddled with typos and it's by far the WORST book of this series! I can't believe i waited a year for this, not sure if I will be reading anymore of JR's books!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Extremely disappointing. I've read the 1st 6 books in the Black

    Extremely disappointing. I've read the 1st 6 books in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, but had gotten so fed up by book 6 I couldn't read anymore. I bought this book (#11 of series) since I really wanted to read the story of Qhuinn & Blay. I should have saved my money. Qhuinn & Blay's story was pushed to the margins by the other 5 stories going on that had very little to do with the main love story & were not interesting. This book seemed more like a preview of the next 5 books in the series. Ms. Ward could have cut about 500 pages and had an enjoyable short story of around 100 pages about Qhuinn & Blay's love story. With this book, Ms. Ward has lost a fan for good.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Dawne

    Well Ms. Ward first off the nasty words were in no way necessary I personally found the language offensive. You bounced back and forth with stories instead of zoning in on one. Not only did I find it disruptive, but I have to wonder whether you wrote the book yourself. Apparently you felt the need to force your readers to have to buy the future books, so they could let us know the endings to all the plots you strangely left hanging open. I for one have enjoyed this series and happily awaited the release of each book, but after you left me hanging with 3 or 4 more story lines I have to say I will not be purchasing any more from you. I felt it was very rude and greedy of you. Apparently you weren't comfortable with your writing abilities to think you could keep up your sales so you try to force the sale of your next few books. It wasn't necessary. I feel this little stunt might cost you. Thank you

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3