Customer Reviews for

The Lover's Dictionary

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Needs To Be Read Again And Again

I'll let the description speak for itself in explaining the book, but I will say: this is a short read. I finished it in about an hour and like always, David Levithan does not disappoint.

The format of The Lover's Dictionary is unlike anything I've ever read before. ...
I'll let the description speak for itself in explaining the book, but I will say: this is a short read. I finished it in about an hour and like always, David Levithan does not disappoint.

The format of The Lover's Dictionary is unlike anything I've ever read before. Short snippets of the lives of a couple are showcased through dictionary definitions. The chosen words play out in each scenario, some funny, some tender, some angry, and some a little heartbreaking. Levithan somehow captures the narrator and made me care for him. He remains nameless, as does the woman in question, but the two of them have this up and down, rollercoaster of a relationship that will get into your heart and make you feel for them.

The Lover's Dictionary is not fun or lighthearted; it is real and full of aching and pain, but also the budding curiosity of new love and the hope for a forever. David Levithan is a force to be reckoned with and this book showcases that. Each page brought with it another line of inspiration or a few words that just jumped out and grabbed me. I don't even have a favorite line, I have about ten.

Opening line:
Aberrant, adj.
"I don't normally do this kind of thing," you said. ~ pg. 3

Favorite lines (one of many): You were asleep, and I imagined you older and older. Your hair graying, your skin folded and creased, your breath catching. And I found myself thinking: If this continues, if this goes on, then when I die, your memories of me will be my greatest accomplishment. Your memories will be my most lasting impression. ~ pg. 161

posted by Nikkayme on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

creative and cleverly written

my vocabulary certainly grew as i read this. i was very glad to be reading on a device with a built in dictionnary. the author clearly captured all of the nuances that make this book so unique. i wanted more though....

posted by 6585185 on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Needs To Be Read Again And Again

    I'll let the description speak for itself in explaining the book, but I will say: this is a short read. I finished it in about an hour and like always, David Levithan does not disappoint.

    The format of The Lover's Dictionary is unlike anything I've ever read before. Short snippets of the lives of a couple are showcased through dictionary definitions. The chosen words play out in each scenario, some funny, some tender, some angry, and some a little heartbreaking. Levithan somehow captures the narrator and made me care for him. He remains nameless, as does the woman in question, but the two of them have this up and down, rollercoaster of a relationship that will get into your heart and make you feel for them.

    The Lover's Dictionary is not fun or lighthearted; it is real and full of aching and pain, but also the budding curiosity of new love and the hope for a forever. David Levithan is a force to be reckoned with and this book showcases that. Each page brought with it another line of inspiration or a few words that just jumped out and grabbed me. I don't even have a favorite line, I have about ten.

    Opening line:
    Aberrant, adj.
    "I don't normally do this kind of thing," you said. ~ pg. 3

    Favorite lines (one of many): You were asleep, and I imagined you older and older. Your hair graying, your skin folded and creased, your breath catching. And I found myself thinking: If this continues, if this goes on, then when I die, your memories of me will be my greatest accomplishment. Your memories will be my most lasting impression. ~ pg. 161

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    creative and cleverly written

    my vocabulary certainly grew as i read this. i was very glad to be reading on a device with a built in dictionnary. the author clearly captured all of the nuances that make this book so unique. i wanted more though....

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Clever and poetic

    So relatable. Reminds us all of the range of emotions and complications in a relationship

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    A Beautiful Book

    I saw David Levithan read the book tonight at Borders in NYC--a moving evening. David's passion comes through each line read, each written. I love his books, but I didn't know he was such a wonderful performer. He feels deeply as he reads, and he's hilarious when he isn't breaking your heart--no, he's hilarious when he's breaking your heart too. His is a beautiful heart, such a generous artist. The Lover's Dictionary is one of the most creative novels I've read. Alphabetized entries headed by beautiful words most of us don't take the time to speak anymore give pieces of a relationship that on one page is in devastating freefall, and then in the next entry the lovers are riding the heights. The structure is exhilarating, pulling you inside out with anticipation with each new chapter--and the chapters are short, at times only a line or two long. You want to linger on the language, but the relationship's constant ups and downs keep you moving into the next chapter. I kept thinking, Will they make it? Will their love last? It doesn't and it does--I won't spoil it for you. But having the chance to root for these two people was uplifting. The writing is gorgeous. I always feel this way about David's books, but TLD is different. It's so very poetic. With few words, the author had me hoping, wishing, wistful at times but above all laughing. So many moments in here rang true with my direct experience. That's my very favorite thing about the book: It speaks to so many of us, man, woman, gay, straight, human. It's a wonderful gift to us, to be able to see ourselves in a romance so heartfelt--and so cinematic. David's language is evocative. His characters are our friends, and I was blessed to spend time with them. Truly a lovely work of art, and a terrifically fun read too. I think it's the kind of book I might just get up the courage to read aloud with my wife--maybe after a beer or two. Thank you to David Levithan for putting the brakes on my cynicism for a night, for giving me one of the most rewarding reads I've had in a while, and to FSG for publishing such a beautiful work of art.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Definitely recommend- it is a quick read

    I really liked it. I loved the way it told stories through the definitions of different words. This book is one I would definitely recommend reading and it is such an easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great, and different!

    It's a very cute book, told in a slightly sad way. I really enjoyed it, and it was a very quick read.
    However, It was shipped using DHL mailing and went from NJ, to KY, to TN, all the way to GA, then backtracked to KY to Pennsylvania;Where I live. It took a ridiculous amount of time! I was very upset because it never takes more then four days with UPS.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kind of like it

    Interesting is best described for this dictionary style love story. Told through well, dictionary words. The cover I like and just realized after finishing reading this, that we don't know the couple's name. Everything we know, from their personalities, likes, dislikes, etc, but not their names. I kind of like that in a way. So, having read the author's other works that were with Rachel Cohn, Dash and Lily and Nick Norah being my favorites so far, this one I been wanting to read, mostly for the title and the cute cover. Giving me a Love Actually vibe for some reason. It sounded cute in a way. I don't know. Anyway, an interesting, angst ridden love story with moments that you kind of like at the same time but aren't sure the exact word to describe. If that makes sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    I'm not one to write reviews but this book is the exception. By

    I'm not one to write reviews but this book is the exception. By Z, I felt like I knew the unnamed characters personally. Anyone in any stage of a relationship can relate to every word. Just what I needed right now. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Lover's Dictionary is a cute little story told in dictionary

    The Lover's Dictionary is a cute little story told in dictionary format. This is a collection of snippets that all together make up a modern day relationship. This couple has their ups and downs, their highs and lows. Levithan captures their story nicely and I think most couples would be able to relate to some of these entries.

    I found this one to be a quick read, I read it in bed one morning when I wanted to delve into something light. This is a quirky, charming, sometimes sad little gem of a book that I think would appeal to the hopeless romantics out there.

    ...Sometimes desire is air; sometimes desire is liquid. And every now and then, when everything else is air and liquid, desire solidifies, and the body is the magnet that draws its weight....
    p.18, The Lover's Dictionary, David Levithan

    Disclaimer:
    I borrowed my copy of The Lover's Dictionary from the library. This review is my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Lover's Dictionary by David Levithan is a love story of a co

    The Lover's Dictionary by David Levithan is a love story of a couple told through dictionary entries.  

    I know this sounds odd, but it totally works.  

    I enjoyed the story a lot, but I had two issues, which are directly related to each other:  

    Did the perspectives change from male to female?  Was one person telling the story the whole time?  I got confused with that. 

    Second, if the male was telling a chunk of the story, well, he's just too wimpy and romantic for my taste.  

    Honestly, though, the dictionary entries did not take away from the story in the least.  It was such a unique way to showcase an everyday type of relationship, with its ups and downs. 

    What do you think about reading a book in dictionary definition form? 

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A sad yet hopeful, raw and incredibly clever little book about love!

    I was fortunate enough to hear David Levithan speak about how he came up with the idea for the book at last year's National Bookfest. A love story told solely via dictionary entries?! As a Valentine's Day present for friends?! Count me in!The concept was so unique that I knew I had to get my hands on a copy. And I did. And I read the entire thing in a single sitting. On my lunch hour. At work. That's how quick, easy and engaging this book is. I'm kinda kicking myself for waiting so long to read it. So yeah, now I guess I'm a lover of love. The Lover's Dictionary is not only unique in how it tells the story but also because we never really get to know the subjects of whom it's about. I mean, we get to see some of the most personal and intimate segments of their relationship, but there are no names or descriptions of the couple to be found. At first, this was kind of distracting because I spent so much time trying to put faces to these people, but after awhile, I realized that it didn't matter. Your focus turns solely to the relationship and the internal dialogue of the narrator instead of the usual details that anchor down a story. You stop thinking about the people and start thinking about the love drives them. And that's where the genius of the book lies --- in its simplicty. Visa vie small passages, The Lover's Dictionary reveals anecdotes of love, both the good kind and the bad, narrated by one half of this couple. These snippets are not in chronological order but each entry touches on the mundane and the special moments between the two. We're shown the various stages of their relationship --- from the butterflies of a first kiss to the irksome habits that go hand in hand with living with someone --- and in a way, each and every one of these moments was relatable to me. We've all be there in some way at some point in our lives. I know I've experienced the nagging doubts as well as the euphoria that accompanies a new relationship. And that's what makes the story so compelling. It felt like Levithan was in my head, putting every feeling I've ever had in just about every relationship right down there on that page... only much more eloquently. And though we get to see the many wonderful things that go along with being in a relationship, this book isn't all sunshine and rainbows. In addition to the good, we're privy to the bad. There's nagging self doubt, betrayals of the worst kind, hardships to endure and that unfiltered emotion that plagues the narrator. It's a very real, very raw, uncensored look inside the narrator's head as we go through the various stages of the relationship. And while it might not always be pleasant, while it might conjure up some tough memories from my own past, it was unfaltering and honest. We learn that love can sometimes be fleeting but it is also complex and oh so worth it.The Lover's Dictionary is a sad yet hopeful, raw and incredibly clever book about love and relationships. It's simple and compelling and heartbreaking and swoony all at the same time. The book is compact and easy to read. In fact, it reads more like a short story than a novel, cutting out all the nonsense and shooting straight for the core. For such a fighter, this book definitely made a lover out of me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What are the right words to describe love? In this unique format

    What are the right words to describe love? In this unique format, David Levithan's character describes his relationship through dictionary entries. In one word: brilliant. In this day and age of 140-character stories and short attention spans, this book told a romance story in our time. Instead of chapters, each page begins with a different word starting with letters A-Z. Each dictionary entry is a snippet of the couple's relationship: from their first kiss to the ups and downs. The story is not necessarily told in chronological order. Heck, the narrator and the couple's names aren't even revealed. But piecing together the story is the joy of it! The format kept me reading and wanting to know more about these anonymous characters and their love life. There were also lots of entries that made me go, hmmm...

    The Lover's Dictionary is unconventional. It is not your normal lovey-dovey story. It is word play at its finest. There were so many dictionary entries that I loved. I've shared a few throughout this review. Ponder them for just a moment, then dedicate a few hours to read The Lover's Dictionary.

    Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Enjoyable.

    I enjoyed reqding this book very much. I felt like I was feeling the emotions of the relationship. After reading this, I felt a sense of yearning almost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Lovers dictionary

    This book is really good i advise two people that are in love to read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Hailey

    Is it a dicshonary becuse if it is than i want to buy it so this boy will like me

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Wow

    Ok?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Reading at 5PM and 5PM

    This is what reading and writing is about.
    The power of the words and the execution of the story and the talent in the unusal structure and the streaming ideas and the questions it builds in you and the emotions it raises.
    David Levithan has, of course, painted something literally breathtaking again. Worth every dollar and read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Good

    And people think that this is a dicnart thats why it says it a novel then you read what its about then buy it theres not poin in a love dictnary just pointing that out

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Unicorns

    I love unicorns . They are so cool. Oh ah the book it is ok. Bye for now. Love Unicorns!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Not dictionary

    Not a fictionary but good

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4