Customer Reviews for

Love's Pursuit

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Story!

When I started this book, I thought it was going to be a typical historical fiction romance. This book is anything but typical. There is a depth and beauty to the story that really is far beyond the norm. The writing is beautiful, and I really look forward to reading...
When I started this book, I thought it was going to be a typical historical fiction romance. This book is anything but typical. There is a depth and beauty to the story that really is far beyond the norm. The writing is beautiful, and I really look forward to reading more by Siri Mitchell.
I have to admit that at first I was really drawn to the cover. I am a total sucker for a good cover, and in my opinion this book has a great one! Once I started reading, I was really drawn into the story. The story is very complex and not at all a light fluffy romance. The characters are well rounded, and both the characters and the story take the reader to unexpected places. There was an incredible amount of information just about the daily lives of these early Americans.
I'd highly recommend this book. While it's labeled as Christian Fiction, any lover of historical romance will enjoy the book. As I stated before, this isn't a light, fluffy romance. This story will pull you in and keep you reading. I finished the book in one day - I couldn't put it down. Definitely a book worth reading and recommending.

posted by martakay1962 on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good theme

Love's Pursuit By Siri Mitchell
This was the first book I've read by this author, and I found it to be a hard book for me to enjoy. It took a long, long time for me to get into it, much longer than most books. It was well written but I didn't really enjoy it. I no...
Love's Pursuit By Siri Mitchell
This was the first book I've read by this author, and I found it to be a hard book for me to enjoy. It took a long, long time for me to get into it, much longer than most books. It was well written but I didn't really enjoy it. I normally like historical fiction books; this one isn't on my list of favorites though. As one review said this book has such depth. It's hard for me to know where to even start. Love's Pursuit is set in Stoneybrooke in the 1600s. Susannah Phillips is the main character. She feels everyone expects her to be good yet in her heart she doesn't feel as if she is good. This story has a little bit of romance in it but the main theme I found was the pursuit of God's love. Another character who seems to be a minor one in the beginning is Small Hope who actually is very important to the entire plot of the story.

Those who enjoy reading about this time period will appreciate this book and the lessons that can be gained from it. It isn't a good easy book for a summer reading list though.

posted by bp0602 on July 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Story!

    When I started this book, I thought it was going to be a typical historical fiction romance. This book is anything but typical. There is a depth and beauty to the story that really is far beyond the norm. The writing is beautiful, and I really look forward to reading more by Siri Mitchell.
    I have to admit that at first I was really drawn to the cover. I am a total sucker for a good cover, and in my opinion this book has a great one! Once I started reading, I was really drawn into the story. The story is very complex and not at all a light fluffy romance. The characters are well rounded, and both the characters and the story take the reader to unexpected places. There was an incredible amount of information just about the daily lives of these early Americans.
    I'd highly recommend this book. While it's labeled as Christian Fiction, any lover of historical romance will enjoy the book. As I stated before, this isn't a light, fluffy romance. This story will pull you in and keep you reading. I finished the book in one day - I couldn't put it down. Definitely a book worth reading and recommending.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    I loved it!

    This book I read in two days! It was so hard to put it down,it just made you want to know what happens at the end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Fantastic read

    This story gave me a deeper understanding of what Puritan life was like in the 1600's. The characters were beautifully developed and the story was one of transformation and love. Love not only between a woman and man, but between God and His beloved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love's Pursuit

    From the back cover:
    In Stoneybrooke, Massachusetts, Susannah Phillips obeys the rules. Dress the right way. Believe the right things. Live the right life. But when love interferes, she faces a choice: Follow the rules or follow her heart.

    I wanted to include the back cover of the book for this review because it really summarizes this story without giving anything away. I felt my summary would not have done this story justice.

    I must admit it took me a little while to warm up to this book. That is probably because of some reviews I read before I started reading. Some readers had problems with the book's ending, so I went into the book with fairly low expectations. I don't know what book some of these readers read because Love's Pursuit is fantastic, in every way.

    Susannah is living in a Puritan colony in the 1640's. The living is hard, the rules are rigid and Susannah feels she is not good enough and certainly not worthy of God's love. She could not be more wrong and the journey life takes her on helps her to understand that. There is not a single woman, even in today's society, who won't be able to relate to Susannah in some way. Love's Pursuit is inspiring and filled with hope.

    Historical fiction fans will love this book because Siri Mitchell has not left out a single detail about the Puritan lifestyle. I am very impressed with the amount of research the author has done while writing this book. I loved this book and I recommend it very highly. Just read it, you will love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book..I loved the Captain.

    This an easy read that held your interest from beginning to end. Sometimes you just need a good love story....even if it makes you cry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A New Look at the Puritans

    FINALLY! A book about the Puritans that doesn't involve the Salem Witch Trials! I was so relieved after finishing this book that the subject wasn't even brought up. I just feel like it's just become a stereotype of the Puritans to always include in in every book about that. It was so refreshing to have it not mentioned at all. There were hints of how and why it happened as from the reactions and personalities of the people. However it was just nice to have a different change of topic for these people. The book also gives a great insight into Puritan culture without focusing too heavily on the religious aspect. There's not a lot of doctrine or Biblical rules that one sees in other literature about Puritans. It was also nice to see that famous people were not included in this story, as it gives historical folks a rest from having that dreaded cameo.

    I wanted to cry when reading both Susannah and Small Hope's stories. They are both very tragic and just heartbreaking. The story made me mad that this man had so much power over an entire town and no one could do anything about it. However, this story is a wonderful allegory about a savior. I don't want to spoil anything else but that's really what it's about.

    The biggest complaint that I have seen so far about the book is that the beginning of the book is difficult to get into and the switching of first person narrators is confusing. I agree with both of these as I found it hard to get into the book at first. It's a bit dry until a few chapters in. Also it's very confusing with no indication of who is narrating at the moment. When the narration first switches from Susannah to Small Hope, I had no idea that a change had taken places until I realized that Susannah was being talked about. Other than this, this truly was an enjoyable book to read. I really like the different perspectives and thoughts given in this novel and it really helped me to understand the Puritans more. This book gives a lot to think about later. HIGHLY recommended.

    One more note: I've seen this book classified as an Amish book purely because the girl on the cover looks like she's wearing a kapp. This is NOT an Amish book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1