Customer Reviews for

Loving (Bailey Flanigan Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(195)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

"For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, pl

"For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm, plans to give you hope and a future." Jer. 29:11 Bailey Flanigan's life verse...the scripture her mother told her to hold onto, to believe and to live like it was a...
"For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm, plans to give you hope and a future." Jer. 29:11 Bailey Flanigan's life verse...the scripture her mother told her to hold onto, to believe and to live like it was absolutely true and Bailey did just that, believed.

This one very powerful verse is what you should take with you as you read LOVING, the final book in the Bailey Flanigan series, a verse that Bailey, Brandon and Cody lean on, live by, as they go through life. The answers to many of the questions in the pages of LOVING, come down to this verse. Will Brandon commit to the movie contract and risk losing Bailey? Will Bailey stay in LA or move back to the safety of Bloomington? Where is God leading Cody to continue his coaching? What are they all willing to sacrifice to hold onto that true love? And the answer to a question we all want to know, who will Bailey marry, Cody or Brandon? They all seek God for these answers, listening for His voice, never giving up and trusting Him to see them through. For they know, He will give them hope and the future He has planned for them. And they also learn that with those plans, God doesn't promise there won't be some fears, heartaches and uncertainties along the way, but to be still and listen. He will not lead them astray, because He wants only the best for them.

I encourage you to read LOVING from cover to cover, not skipping to the end to see who Bailey marries, by doing that you would be cheating yourself out of a beautiful, well-written story. Go beyond the answer to that one question, remembering Jer. 29:11, as you journey through the pages of LOVING. Clear your mind, open your heart and listen to God as He speaks to you through the words of LOVING. God IS there, waiting to give you a story which includes healing, forgiveness, hope and of course, love. The ending will make perfect sense, you will understand why Bailey marries the man she does, for the plan for their love was created by God from the beginning. A forever love meant only for them.

I loved this book and do highly recommend it. It was the perfect ending to a series that I will truly miss. Every time I finish one of Karen's books, I get a feeling of spiritual renewal and LOVING was no exception. The verse Jer. 29:11, will forever be with me, for I know now that only God knows the plans for me. Karen has said many times that, "God puts a story on her heart, but He has our heart in mind. And that only He could do that." How very true this statement is. The story may not always end the way we think it should, but we need to remember, God is the Author of our lives.

posted by AJ4ever on April 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Not really Karen at her best

************************BEWARE SPOILERS**************************

Loving by Karen Kingsbury

I have never been so disappointed or letdown by an author as I am with Karen Kingsbury. The Bailey series was by far Not my favorite, but I hung in there because I wanted t...
************************BEWARE SPOILERS**************************

Loving by Karen Kingsbury

I have never been so disappointed or letdown by an author as I am with Karen Kingsbury. The Bailey series was by far Not my favorite, but I hung in there because I wanted to see Bailey and Cody get together in the end. Isn’t that what is suppose to happen in the writing world? Karen made an extremely bad error in the writing world by taking two series and lifting up her hero, Cody, building up that relationship with Cody and Bailey and more importantly Cody and the Lord, then dumping him, kicking him to the curb.

And she changed her mind at the last minute for family reasons??? That sure tells us where all of us fans, those of us who have purchased all of Karen’s books, been faithful readers and followers where we stand. Loving is the worst book I have ever read and the worst ending to a series I’ve read, and I am a book reviewer, so I read hundreds of books a year.

I know I get too involved in characters, but Karen did this to us in the last two series about Bailey and Cody. I just can’t see how she can create a character like Cody, put him in a family that will love him and raise him, and then try her best to politely toss him from the family as an outcast. Now he will no longer feel secure with this family that he loves so much. Sorry Karen but you blew it with this.

The sad thing is, a huge percentage of teens and young adults who read this series and especially Longing will get a misled message. Wonder how many will go out there trying to find a rich kid that has all the money in the world to woo them literally any way they want. I’m afraid a lot of guys may be treated just like Karen treated Cody just because they are looking for those riches and the fake relationship that comes with it. Karen is leading a lot of young ladies on the wrong road and for that, I would want any of my family to read her books.

That said, I do not recommend this book, nor do I recommend this series for anyone to read because it is critically leading our young ladies in the wrong direction when it comes to dating and marrying. And yes I know this is ‘just’ a book. But how many people out there actually take the Baxter’s and Flannigan’s for real people. I’ve heard Karen speak in person, and I have seen how adult ladies act at those conferences about her books. How much more will teens and young ladies idolize her enough to listen to this incorrect advice?

This book was provided by the publisher, Zondervan in exchange for an honest review. I was not required or expected to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are mine only.

posted by ibjoy1953 on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 316 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    just wanted to rate

    There is nothing more to say then 5 stars good book

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    This was, by far, my favorite book in the series. The Baxter and

    This was, by far, my favorite book in the series. The Baxter and Flanigan clans have long been friends of mine. It was great to, once again, pick up a book and say hello to some familiar faces.
    At points in my life I would have read this book differently. Today, as a wife and mother, I cheered on Bailey as she searched for her Prince Charming and thanked God for the man in my own life. What a beautiful way to end the series, and a beautiful way to remind me of the wonderful blessings God has given me.
    I hope that all of you have a wonderful, personal, application as well .
    Enjoy!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    It is just a book.

    Okay i understand that a lot of people r disapointed with this book so am i but at the end of the day it is just a book. Karen is still my favorite auther and i will still read her books i am just not too thrilled about this one. She has written so many great books she is allowed to have a doozy every once in a while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Although I generally enjoy Karen Kingsbury's books, I was very


    Although I generally enjoy Karen Kingsbury's books, I was very disappointed with Loving. Readers of her earlier series will be upset that Cody and Baily don't get back together and Baily ultimately marries Brandon. I always thought Brandon tried too hard to win Baily and that he saw her as a conquest-even after his salvation, while Cody's feelings always seemed genuine (strange how things got flipped around in this last book). While Brandon truly seemed to love Baily in book four, I just felt Cody was a better match for her. I think it would have been better if it ended up being Andi with Brandon while Cody finally reunited with Baily. Prehaps I might have felt differenly if Cody and Baily hadn't struggled through their relationship only to have it finally dissintegrate. Afterall, their marriage had basically been forshadowed in one of earlier series (if you remember way back when Cody was at war, and his life was miraculously spared during a bombing, Baily just "happened" to be praying for her future husband.). Unfortunately Karen twists all that around in this final book to make Brandon the one she had been praying for. Truly disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Wow!

    Not a great ending to the series...bittersweet and I was hoping for more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Enjoyed the series

    I too enjoyed the series, but I was expecting a different ending. I guess since maybe that's what all of us were thinking, maybe thats why she went the other extreme!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Good

    Good Kingsbury story that ends the Baily Flanigan series. Predictable, but great storytelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    To many books

    This story took way to many books to tell . How in the world can it end and the guy not get the girl. Come on Kingbury!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Next series

    Karen Kingsbury,

    I absoluteky loved the Bailey Flanigan Series! I am yet so dissapionted by the ending of their love story. But wait! It doesn't have to end! Karen Kingsbury,if you are reading this, I would love for you to write another series about Bailey and Brandon's honeymoon,kids,life,etc.!!!!

    Love, Your number one fan


    Megan

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Great series finale!

    Amazing! I couldnt put it down. I preordered 4 months ago..you won't be disappointed in the events of this Bailey Flanigan finale!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    The end of a great series

    Karen leaves you guessing for much of the book. She writes so well that you won't be able to put the book down. Very well done, even if you wished Bailey would have married the other guy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    It was fantastic! Karen teaches us what true love is really al

    It was fantastic! Karen teaches us what true love is really all about. She shows us the importance of following Gods path for our lives and following our dreams. Her writing gives us such a vivid picture of what is going on there, that we feel like we are attending the intamate moments of Bailey and her forever true love.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    An enjoyable read!

    An enjoyable read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Lfhfhf

    F

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    To chase

    Stacy hey can we tlk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    The real Chase

    Sorry guys and gals my NOOK WAS DEAD DUN DUN DUUUUN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Parker

    Kk ttyl :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Eth

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    I just finished reading all of the Baxter and Flannigan series

    I just finished reading all of the Baxter and Flannigan series, finishing “Loving” today. I loved ALL of these books, and highly recommend them to others; especially for teenagers who want to remain pure for the Lord. I read some hateful reviews about “Loving,” but I disagree with them. Although I was surprised at the way “Loving” ended, I believe that it shows real life situations, and demonstrates that if we turn our lives over to the Lord, we often times discover, this to be true: Isaiah 55:8 - “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord. When the Lord closes one door, He has a better one available later --- sometimes, years later, but He is faithful if we remain faithful to Him.

    After being scripturally divorced for 18 years, and praying all of those years to meet my “Mr. Right,” the Lord answered my prayers, and I met Wayne on-line. He was also scripturally divorced and shared my belief that marriage is supposed to last until death. I had 15 years’ experience in law enforcement and a Bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice, however, after I relocated back to Florida, my home state, to marry Wayne, all of the doors closed for me to return to law enforcement. I even went through the police academy and passed the state test to become certified in Florida, being hearing-impaired, the best any agency would offer me was a civilian position. I was very frustrated! I tried substitute teaching, and hated working with rude, obnoxious teenagers. Then, I raised Wayne’s son (who was only 7 when we married), and when he became a teenager, being a full-time mother, I gradually changed my opinion about teenagers. Now, for almost 9 years, I’ve been a juvenile probation officer, and feel like I’ve made more of a positive difference than I did for 15 years as a sheriff’s deputy. We have been happily married for more than 15 years. The Lord opened the right doors at the right time. He is SO faithful.

    I wish that I could have read these series when I was a teenager. It would have prevented me from the mistakes of entering into my first marriage --- and the mistakes I made before I was first married. It teaches young folks how to resist temptations of raging hormones while going through puberty, and the importance of remaining pure for the Lord. Not everyone has the mother/daughter relationship like Bailey and her mother --- or Kelsey and Karen. I think that every school and church library should have these series available for kids to read.

    I do have a couple of criticisms: 1) It didn’t make any sense that Brandon and Bailey would even consider staring in worldly films because they both submitted their lives to the Lord. Dayne and Katy were making life-changing Christian movies which didn’t interest the paparazzi. It would have been a simple solution for them to make a positive difference in the world. This was never presented as an option in these books.

    2) I loved Cody, and would have like to have Loving expound more on his and Andi’s love story, as well as his new job in L.A. It would have been wonderful if Cody’s father had come forward to build a father/son relationship with him. Perhaps Cody’s mother never told his dad about Cody until after his mother finds redemption and contacts him. Cody was one of the main characters of these series, thus, at least a third of Loving should have been about Cody’s life in L.A. Perhaps Karen could write a series about Cody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Luna to erik

    You bstered.... christine kiled herself tonight becuse she thought you didnt love her... my cousin was like a sister to me.... she wrote a note and it said ' i will always love you erik' i...i dont even know how to put my greif into words

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 316 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16