Customer Reviews for

Loving Frank

Average Rating 4
( 352 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Disliked the characters--Loved the book!!

If I disliked Mamah (and I did), why do I feel so shocked and bothered? Nancy Horan does an amazing job, starting with her exhaustive research, in bringing these two characters back to life with all their warts. The enigma for me is that a woman depicted as being ahea...
If I disliked Mamah (and I did), why do I feel so shocked and bothered? Nancy Horan does an amazing job, starting with her exhaustive research, in bringing these two characters back to life with all their warts. The enigma for me is that a woman depicted as being ahead of her time in espousing women's rights would sacrifice everything dear to her for the "love" of a man. With her intelligence and many wonderful gifts, Mamah could have lead a rich and exciting life; but instead, she ended up living a life secluded from the things and people she loved most. Whether it was her intention or not, the author does a good job of showing how decisions we make based on our own needs and gratification can have far reaching and unexpected consequences for those close to us and even for peripheral persons in our lives. The ending was unexpected and jarring. I loved this book for many reasons which surprised me because, as I said, I could not like Mamah or Frank. A great bood for discussion!

posted by NanaBeth_PA on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

a waste of time

Someone recommended this book to me. I do like the architecture of FLW and enjoy reading historical books. This I must say is not an historical book. It is highly fictionalized. I had to make myself push through it - I don't know why I did - thinking eventually ther...
Someone recommended this book to me. I do like the architecture of FLW and enjoy reading historical books. This I must say is not an historical book. It is highly fictionalized. I had to make myself push through it - I don't know why I did - thinking eventually there would be something redeeming. The characters were unbelievably selfish and the authors attempt to make them anything but was annoying. It is indeed a tragic story but not just because of the ending but because of the selfish acts that brought them to that place and the other lives that were affected by them.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Great read for a lot of reasons!

    This novelization of the true relationship between Frank Lloyd Wright and his mistress is a revelation of the roles of women in early 20th century America. The writing is accomplished, subtle and never boring. As the old saying goes, "truth is stranger than fiction". Really you couldn't make this up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I'm Dumbfounded

    I finished Loving Frank late last night and well into this morning, I'm still pondering the book; 320 pages of an evenly paced reading U-turns at the remaining 30 pages with a plot twist I did not see coming and left me finishing the book with my chin on the floor and tears in my eyes.
    The story is based on the 7 year love affair between Frank Lloyd Wright and one of his married clients, Mamah Borthwick. Apparently there is very little historical documentation about Mamah's life, and certainly less about the love affair. To this end, Nancy Horan has done an amazing job of writing an exhaustive love story. One also gets a nice insight to the historical setting; early 20th century America/Europe in the throws of cultural transition, the women's suffrage movement, and the advent of Wright's groundbreaking "organic" architecture. At face value this makes for a well paced, historical fiction novel. Although I truthfully didn't like any of the characters in the book, least of all Wright, I could appreciate their torment in carrying on what at the time was a scandal of the highest order and I very much the story taken as a whole.
    However, the ending was just so shocking that I can honestly say I've finished this book completely dumbfounded. I cannot summarize Loving Frank in one word, but I will encourage others to read it.
    Rating: 4 our of 5 Stars
    Suggested With: Iced tea and a quiet summer afternoon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Surprisingly enjoyable, terribly heartbreaking

    I began reading this book on a friend's recommendation - very glad I did. I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but I was soon caught up in the fictional recreation of the true story of Frank Lloyd Wright's adulterous affair. I have no idea how much of the private details are true, but the basis of the story is accurate. My heart broke more with every page. It's a love story, I suppose, but one riddled with selfishness and irresponsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    The story of a self-centered man and the woman who loved him

    I guess this book just wasn't my cup of tea.....but most of my friends really liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Interesting history

    As a historical novel, this book rates high in the history and human interest department but low in the "novel as literature" dept. The writing is pretty standard and the character development is fair with 2 of the characters but the plot development is repetitious and uneven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Beginning more engaging than the last half

    A few years ago, I took a tour of Talieson West, F.L. Wright's home and school near Scottsdale, Arizona. The tour guide touched upon the story that became the plot of "Loving Frank". While Nancy Horan's tyle is easy to sink into, I found myself less engaged in the characters as the end came near. It might have been due to my prior knowledge of t he ending. Would be a good choice for a book club, would be good for discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Could've done without this one

    I liked the book fine, up until I really realized how absolutely selfish the two main characters are. They're almost too selfish to like. I know it's based on two real people obviously, but after reading this, I have a less opinion of both Mr. Wright and Ms. Borthwick. The writing was really great but I came very close to the end and almost didn't finish it. I wasn't given enough positive things about the characters to feel connected to them. All of the characters seem like victims of an affair even though they didn't choose it. Nobody in this book was lovable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3