Customer Reviews for

Loving Lady Marcia

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Source: From publisher, via Innovative Online Book Tours for rev

Source: From publisher, via Innovative Online Book Tours for review
I've heard so much about Kieran Kramer, and how amazing she is, so when
I picked up Loving Lady Marcia, which is in every way a classic regency
romance (not my favorite genre usually, but read on), I ha...
Source: From publisher, via Innovative Online Book Tours for review
I've heard so much about Kieran Kramer, and how amazing she is, so when
I picked up Loving Lady Marcia, which is in every way a classic regency
romance (not my favorite genre usually, but read on), I had pretty high
expectations. "This better be good," I thought to myself. I
even suspected I might be that one person who didn't like Kramer. But
alas, I was, as with the book, delighted with her. Loving Lady Marcia
is the first installment in the House of Brady series, which, if you
haven't figured out by now, is a historically romantic parody of The
Brady Bunch. I LOVE that show, call me old-fashioned, so when I first
connected all the names (we are introduced to Marcia's lovely sisters,
Janice and Cynthia Brady — isn't that adorable?) I was absolutely
thrilled. While the setting is 1819 England, the situation is very
relatable and seems 'contemporary'. Five years ago, beautiful, innocent,
fifteen-year-old Marcia gave everything to Finn, the boy she knew as
soon as she met eyes with, would be the love of her life. Everything.
She thought they had a love that nothing else could surpass, that is,
until one day he abruptly left for America by his aloof brother,
Duncan's, orders. Marcia was devastated, so she swore off men and
decided to become a headmistress at a girls' school — the only other
position in her life she had ever felt so passionate about. I love
love loved this book. Marcia's heartbreak is so realistic and so
distressing, but at the time of her novel, she's such a strong, dazzling
character that I so admire. Her main love interests, Finn and Duncan,
come to life within the pages as well. Finn is someone that I, like
Marcia, immediately fell for, but grew to distrust and dislike by the
book's end, as Kramer would have wanted. Duncan was harder to grow on,
but eventually I saw him as the man of substance, the man truly after a
woman's heart, so I fell in love with him too. Kramer is excellent at
breathing life into each of her characters, even the minor ones, and
getting to know them was such a ride. The chemistry is steamy, the
banter, witty and warm and wry. The dialogue is highly realistic and the
situations just perfect. I smiled at every one of Marcia and Duncan's
interactions — they are just so meant to be! Their taboo relationship
composed of nighttime rendezvous, fateful and completely lucky
bumping-intos, and very very naughty activities involving Duncan's
skilled fingers, set the pages on fire. Above all, the emotional turmoil
and suffering portrayed in Loving Lady Marcia is what makes it such a
special romance novel. Loss of innocence, and even worse, loss of trust,
is conveyed thoroughly and painfully, but in the end, its resurgence is
what fuels the heart. I look forward to the next books in the House of
Brady series... how could I resist Janice and Cynthia's stories?
Definitely definitely recommend this one to all lovers of humorous, but
still deeply resonant romance stories (even if, like me, you're not
particularly fond of historicals!). Thanks to Kramer's smooth and cheeky
style, I not once, felt like I was trudging through this book. I
guarantee you won't either.

posted by TheStephanieLoves on August 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loving Lady Marcia was a wonderful book full of tongue in cheek

Loving Lady Marcia was a wonderful book full of tongue in cheek humor
and a great story. Ms Kramer managed to take one of today's societies
favorite cultural images and transpose it into regency England. What a
great mind. I loved that Kieran did this. Throughout the b...
Loving Lady Marcia was a wonderful book full of tongue in cheek humor
and a great story. Ms Kramer managed to take one of today's societies
favorite cultural images and transpose it into regency England. What a
great mind. I loved that Kieran did this. Throughout the book there
were witty reminders of the Brady Bunch and yet we never got lost in the
comparisons. It was a wicked way to show us that the more things change,
the more they stay the same. That family is family no matter when and
that the ties that create a family are not always those of blood. As a
matter of fact with her subtle wit she proved it over and over again.
First with the Brady clan, a true family created as we all know by two
parents coming together and loving the others children. Then again, she
proved it with the dissension in the hero's family. Brothers, yet not
family. Lady Marcia has a secret, at 15 she fell in love and succumbed
to that love, to the disreputable Finn.. While she was mature for 15 she
was still just a child and had no clue as to how to deal with him. When
he left her, blaming his older brother she was convinced her future was
now forever changed and she chose to remain at her school and eventually
become the headmistress. When, spite, envy and just a little greed gets
her fired she is once again set adrift. This time she has to learn to
lean on her family and yes on the horrible brother of the
"wonderful" Finn. The one who ruined her chance at love the
first time. As the story continues we, of course, are shown just how
lacking in honor her beloved Finn is. Marcia has to let go of childish
memories and learn just what it really is that makes a man. Duncan,
Earl of Chadwick.. a man born to clean up his brother's messes. All he
wants it to have the family he dreams of. A brother he can relate to, a
friend. And yet he is saddled with a spoilt child who does what he wants
to whomever he wants and expects Duncan to clean it up. When Duncan
meets Marcia years after escorting her to a family wedding in Ireland,
he realizes that she is a bright and shining light in a dismal world and
he falls hard. Only she wants nothing to do with him and he has no idea
why. When he finally realizes what Finn had done to her, he in true hero
fashion runs to the rescue. Watching these two fall for each other,
scale their obstacles and learn that their love can create the family
they so desire is a joy. I completely enjoyed this book. Ms Kramer has a
great grasp on what makes people tick. Her villains are people that we
know.. people we still see in society.. the fickle self-centered vain
individuals who just want more. These are not hamfasted, heavy
theatrical characters rather ones each of us can understand and relate
to. The secondary characters offer up a teasing taste of what the rest
of the series is going to offer us. I for one can't wait to see how Ms
Kramer places the rest of the Brady family into her world..

posted by Shauni on August 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Loving Lady Marcia was my first book by Kieran Kramer and I'm de

    Loving Lady Marcia was my first book by Kieran Kramer and I'm definitely looking forward to reading more from her! It took me a little bit of time to get into the flow of her writing style but once I did I found myself completely engrossed in Marcia and Duncan's story. I love the whole enemies to lovers theme and when couples have a bit of a history together so I really enjoyed their tale. Add in some family drama and head strong characters and it was a fun little read. 

    She looked away, and he pulled her chin back around with a gentle finger. 

    "You should be kissed," he said. "Every day. By a man who adores you."




    Duncan was hands down my favorite thing. I absolutely adored this man. He's a hero you can't help but fall for and one you'd be a fool not to want in your life. He does what he thinks is right, proper society and their opinions be damned. Especially when it comes to raising his young son who was illegitimate. I loved every second of their time together. There's a little more to their story that just melted my heart and had me falling even more in love with Duncan. Whew. He's good. Marcia was a little harder to warm up to because of her young age but she was still a delightful heroine. Determined and focused on what she wants, caring and compassionate and every once in a while a bit wild. Yeah, I liked her just fine. 




    There's a nice chemistry between Duncan and Marcia and it was rather entertaining to watch them figuring out their lives and falling in love. Things weren't as steamy as I usually prefer but it's a nice solid enjoyable romance. 




    If you watched the Brady Bunch growing up you might notice some subtle little glimmers of the show since it inspired the House of Brady series. A blended family, similar slightly tweaked names(ex-Cynthia, Janice), a couple familiar scenes, etc. I loved looking for all the little similarities. There were some sugary sweet moments just like in the show but all in all it really worked for me and made me smile. 




    If you like sweet and heart-touching stories I'd definitely recommend hunting down a copy of Loving Lady Marcia.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Source: From publisher, via Innovative Online Book Tours for rev

    Source: From publisher, via Innovative Online Book Tours for review
    I've heard so much about Kieran Kramer, and how amazing she is, so when
    I picked up Loving Lady Marcia, which is in every way a classic regency
    romance (not my favorite genre usually, but read on), I had pretty high
    expectations. "This better be good," I thought to myself. I
    even suspected I might be that one person who didn't like Kramer. But
    alas, I was, as with the book, delighted with her. Loving Lady Marcia
    is the first installment in the House of Brady series, which, if you
    haven't figured out by now, is a historically romantic parody of The
    Brady Bunch. I LOVE that show, call me old-fashioned, so when I first
    connected all the names (we are introduced to Marcia's lovely sisters,
    Janice and Cynthia Brady — isn't that adorable?) I was absolutely
    thrilled. While the setting is 1819 England, the situation is very
    relatable and seems 'contemporary'. Five years ago, beautiful, innocent,
    fifteen-year-old Marcia gave everything to Finn, the boy she knew as
    soon as she met eyes with, would be the love of her life. Everything.
    She thought they had a love that nothing else could surpass, that is,
    until one day he abruptly left for America by his aloof brother,
    Duncan's, orders. Marcia was devastated, so she swore off men and
    decided to become a headmistress at a girls' school — the only other
    position in her life she had ever felt so passionate about. I love
    love loved this book. Marcia's heartbreak is so realistic and so
    distressing, but at the time of her novel, she's such a strong, dazzling
    character that I so admire. Her main love interests, Finn and Duncan,
    come to life within the pages as well. Finn is someone that I, like
    Marcia, immediately fell for, but grew to distrust and dislike by the
    book's end, as Kramer would have wanted. Duncan was harder to grow on,
    but eventually I saw him as the man of substance, the man truly after a
    woman's heart, so I fell in love with him too. Kramer is excellent at
    breathing life into each of her characters, even the minor ones, and
    getting to know them was such a ride. The chemistry is steamy, the
    banter, witty and warm and wry. The dialogue is highly realistic and the
    situations just perfect. I smiled at every one of Marcia and Duncan's
    interactions — they are just so meant to be! Their taboo relationship
    composed of nighttime rendezvous, fateful and completely lucky
    bumping-intos, and very very naughty activities involving Duncan's
    skilled fingers, set the pages on fire. Above all, the emotional turmoil
    and suffering portrayed in Loving Lady Marcia is what makes it such a
    special romance novel. Loss of innocence, and even worse, loss of trust,
    is conveyed thoroughly and painfully, but in the end, its resurgence is
    what fuels the heart. I look forward to the next books in the House of
    Brady series... how could I resist Janice and Cynthia's stories?
    Definitely definitely recommend this one to all lovers of humorous, but
    still deeply resonant romance stories (even if, like me, you're not
    particularly fond of historicals!). Thanks to Kramer's smooth and cheeky
    style, I not once, felt like I was trudging through this book. I
    guarantee you won't either.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ms. Kramer pens "Loving Lady Marcia" with strong chara

    Ms. Kramer pens "Loving Lady Marcia" with strong characters in this well written, amazing historical romance that basically centers around the TV show, "The Brady Bunch". I was pleasantly surprised in that it just hooked me from beginning to end....a truly fun read. Highly recommended for everyone who enjoys a good historical romance and of course "The Brady Bunch".

    This review is based on a complimentary copy which was provided for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    cross between the movie "Sabrina" and a regency romance novel

    What a charming romance novel. It's kind of a cross between the movie "Sabrina" and a regency romance novel. I absolutely loved it. The changes in the characters was so "real" and totally believable since everyone knows or knows of someone who has gone through something that resulted in a similar change. I was totally picturing people I knew while I was reading.

    I give this book 4 out of 5 clouds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    At the risk of aging myself, I grew up on the Brady bunch and I

    At the risk of aging myself, I grew up on the Brady bunch and I love that Kieran is writing this series!

    Ok, admit it, you just said “Marcia, Marcia, Marcia” LOL.

    So, onto the book...

    Duncan is a wonderful man, he has to take over as earl at such a young age and do clean up and repair after is father and brother. I felt bad for him because of that situation, it the way he works so hard to make the world a better place by be a fixer just makes him all the more wonderful. It doesn't hurt that he is hot and smexy either. Duncan is always so kind and wonderful to Marcia even when she is not reciprocating,*sigh* such a gentleman.

    Marcia is a wonderfully strong character which is always a win with me. I love a story where the woman is as strong as the male lead. Just imagine the drive and intelligence required in that era to become a head mistress. I can under stand her grudge against Duncan, due to the issue with her brother, It is only human.

    Don’t even get me started on Finn who is Duncan’s brother, the one word that comes to mind is "Rouge". Now you need to read it to find out why *grin*.

    I am looking forward the rest of the House of Brady series.

    Ok, everybody sing! “There’s a story of a lovely lady who was bringing up 3 very lovely girls….”

    In a nut shell, I LOVED this book and I'm so excited to have Kieran doing her online tour with I.O. Book tours. Be sure to check out all the stops and leave comments. This is not your typical historical romance, its better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If the fact that the heroine's name is Marcia and her father's t

    If the fact that the heroine's name is Marcia and her father's title has
    Brady in it has you thinking this is going to be a cheesy take off of
    some Brady Bunch episode, you'd be wrong. Sure, there are some
    similarities between the TV Brady's and those in the book, but there is
    no comparing the TV Marcia with the strong and independent Lady Marcia
    Sherwood. Lady Marcia Sherwood and Duncan Lattimore, the Earl of
    Chadwick, meet as he and his brother, Finn, escort Marcia to Ireland.
    Finn is fun loving, entertaining and attentive to Marcia, while Duncan
    is standoffish and pensive on their journey. While Marcia and Finn
    haven't a care in the world, Duncan contemplates his newly obtained
    title and what he is going to do to restore the Earldom. So it's no
    surprise Marcia and Finn strike up an immediate friendship which soon
    turns into something more, including devastating heartbreak. Duncan and
    Marcia lives took a decidedly different paths after that fateful trip to
    Ireland. Marcia took the only course she thought she could after what
    happened with Finn and became the Headmistress of the school she
    attended. She's sworn off romantic entanglements for the security of
    caring for "her girls". But what she really lost that summer
    was the belief that someone could want her the way her stepfather
    wants/loves her mother. When she was tossed so easily aside, she
    figured no one would ever want her. To save herself any grief, she
    decided to close herself off at the school. But Duncan opened her eyes
    and showed her that she could be loved for who she was, which included
    her ideals and aspirations. Duncan is a fixer. He tried to protect his
    mother from his father's infidelities, tried to help Finn grow up and
    become a better man, and tried to make a home full of love for his son,
    Joe, himself and his servants. He craved the love of those he felt
    close to and longed to have anyone of those he held dear tell him they
    loved him in return. Duncan had to learn he couldn't fix everyone or
    fix a situation for those he cared for. He had to let go of those that
    truly didn't deserve his affection and focus on those that did and
    realize they would love him even if he or they failed. Duncan and
    Marcia didn't have the easiest path to their HEA. Their demons were
    their own worst enemy, but in the end the discovered their relationship
    worked much better when the words were said rather than hoping someone
    understood their actions. A wonderful start to the House of Brady
    series. I can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Loving Lady Marcia was a wonderful book full of tongue in cheek

    Loving Lady Marcia was a wonderful book full of tongue in cheek humor
    and a great story. Ms Kramer managed to take one of today's societies
    favorite cultural images and transpose it into regency England. What a
    great mind. I loved that Kieran did this. Throughout the book there
    were witty reminders of the Brady Bunch and yet we never got lost in the
    comparisons. It was a wicked way to show us that the more things change,
    the more they stay the same. That family is family no matter when and
    that the ties that create a family are not always those of blood. As a
    matter of fact with her subtle wit she proved it over and over again.
    First with the Brady clan, a true family created as we all know by two
    parents coming together and loving the others children. Then again, she
    proved it with the dissension in the hero's family. Brothers, yet not
    family. Lady Marcia has a secret, at 15 she fell in love and succumbed
    to that love, to the disreputable Finn.. While she was mature for 15 she
    was still just a child and had no clue as to how to deal with him. When
    he left her, blaming his older brother she was convinced her future was
    now forever changed and she chose to remain at her school and eventually
    become the headmistress. When, spite, envy and just a little greed gets
    her fired she is once again set adrift. This time she has to learn to
    lean on her family and yes on the horrible brother of the
    "wonderful" Finn. The one who ruined her chance at love the
    first time. As the story continues we, of course, are shown just how
    lacking in honor her beloved Finn is. Marcia has to let go of childish
    memories and learn just what it really is that makes a man. Duncan,
    Earl of Chadwick.. a man born to clean up his brother's messes. All he
    wants it to have the family he dreams of. A brother he can relate to, a
    friend. And yet he is saddled with a spoilt child who does what he wants
    to whomever he wants and expects Duncan to clean it up. When Duncan
    meets Marcia years after escorting her to a family wedding in Ireland,
    he realizes that she is a bright and shining light in a dismal world and
    he falls hard. Only she wants nothing to do with him and he has no idea
    why. When he finally realizes what Finn had done to her, he in true hero
    fashion runs to the rescue. Watching these two fall for each other,
    scale their obstacles and learn that their love can create the family
    they so desire is a joy. I completely enjoyed this book. Ms Kramer has a
    great grasp on what makes people tick. Her villains are people that we
    know.. people we still see in society.. the fickle self-centered vain
    individuals who just want more. These are not hamfasted, heavy
    theatrical characters rather ones each of us can understand and relate
    to. The secondary characters offer up a teasing taste of what the rest
    of the series is going to offer us. I for one can't wait to see how Ms
    Kramer places the rest of the Brady family into her world..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Ook Ok

    Nit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Under 2.99, really,

    Thought this is supposed to be under 2.99?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    I really wanted to like this book. I'm a HUGE Brady Bunch fan a

    I really wanted to like this book. I'm a HUGE Brady Bunch fan and thought it was a clever idea. But this book is really bad. It isn't even the story - which is pretty bad - but the writing is really bad. And, I'm so sorry to say that. The characters are weak. The story is weak. I never put a book down. I always finish it. This was such a struggle. I'm so glad I read one before I bought them 'all' as I was excited to see the series. I will not make the excuse to read any more of them. It's that bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Dull

    The Brady Bunch? Really? Why? I grew up watching the tv show. The football/nose scene was very dramtic. The scene in this book was Not! The whole book was kind of flat and boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Skip This Book!!"

    I usually enjoy Ms Kiernan' s books and look forward to reading them. I bought this book with high expectations. I started to read this book and realized that the main character, Marcia, and several other characters in this book are named and modeled after the TV show the "Brady Bunch". Another character is named after the show's producer Sherwood Schwartz. I couldn't get beyond the character references to the TV show and stopped reading this story. I'm sorry, but don't waste your money on this book! Also, had the sample included more story pages, rather than reviews of other books, etc, I would have realized this and never wasted my money!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    I chose to read this book as I love historical romance. At the v

    I chose to read this book as I love historical romance. At the very beginning of the book, I was was completely taken in. The story was very intriguing and had me at the edge of the seat. It had a great introduction to the characters and the set-up was very well done. However, once the story continued, about halfway I felt as if the story just continued. There weren’t a lot of high and low points. I would definitely give 5 stars to the first third to half of the book, and 3 stars to the rest of the book.


    I did enjoy the story and Lady Marcia was a great character. I loved her spunk and admired her for how she handled her problems. In the beginning I really liked Finn, however, by the end of the book I was completely turned off. I guess if I were Marcia, I would have definitely fallen for him. I also did not love Duncan in the beginning. I completely thought he was arrogant and I was turned off. I don’t know that I was really converted to liking him by the end of the book, but thought he had integrity and things would work out for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I didn't like Lady Marcia

    This should have been a 4 star review if Lady Marcia had not been a selfish bubble head. Towards the end I wanted to reach into the pages and slap her silly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2