Customer Reviews for

Loving Liza Jane

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great romance novel! Not your typical prairie romance!

My review: I love this author's writing style and enjoyed her first book. When I first received Loving Liza Jane I thought it would be just another prairie romance novel. Typical characters... Attractive, single, schoolmarm, and hunky widower with young children who ...
My review: I love this author's writing style and enjoyed her first book. When I first received Loving Liza Jane I thought it would be just another prairie romance novel. Typical characters... Attractive, single, schoolmarm, and hunky widower with young children who is suddenly in need of a wife. However, this was not the typical story at all, and though it contained the basic sketch of characters, it strayed from the usual outline. I enjoyed the variation from typical plot scenarios and experienced more than a few surprises in this one! The author made this novel shine and I love the author's voice. She uses metaphors and similes with finesse--not to many and not too often--and they enhanced the story even more. Ben is the ultimate hero, and Liza, the ideal, strong heroine. They had flaws, but lovable ones. The romantic tension between them was divine, and thankfully it wasn't one of those one-kiss-at-the-end stories. This one sizzled! I loved all of it. While tastefully done, the first kiss was too-die-for and the subsequent ones perfectly orchestrated to enhance the plot. The child characters and bullies were very believable. I also enjoyed the spiritual arc. The hero starts out the spiritually strong one, but the heroine quickly overtakes him in the faith department as the Lord stretches her through her trials. Wonderful story! I can't wait for the sequel!

posted by MichelleSutton on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Good

This book was very good and sweet. Blush Rating: PG

posted by 11409492 on July 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great romance novel! Not your typical prairie romance!

    My review: I love this author's writing style and enjoyed her first book. When I first received Loving Liza Jane I thought it would be just another prairie romance novel. Typical characters... Attractive, single, schoolmarm, and hunky widower with young children who is suddenly in need of a wife. However, this was not the typical story at all, and though it contained the basic sketch of characters, it strayed from the usual outline. I enjoyed the variation from typical plot scenarios and experienced more than a few surprises in this one! The author made this novel shine and I love the author's voice. She uses metaphors and similes with finesse--not to many and not too often--and they enhanced the story even more. Ben is the ultimate hero, and Liza, the ideal, strong heroine. They had flaws, but lovable ones. The romantic tension between them was divine, and thankfully it wasn't one of those one-kiss-at-the-end stories. This one sizzled! I loved all of it. While tastefully done, the first kiss was too-die-for and the subsequent ones perfectly orchestrated to enhance the plot. The child characters and bullies were very believable. I also enjoyed the spiritual arc. The hero starts out the spiritually strong one, but the heroine quickly overtakes him in the faith department as the Lord stretches her through her trials. Wonderful story! I can't wait for the sequel!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    loved it

    A good book I will read again and again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Re

    Good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Unable to get through the first 100 pages. The author obviously

    Unable to get through the first 100 pages. The author obviously knows HOW to do research, as her repeated Bible verses, complete with chapter and verse, are continually placed heavy handedly. It would have made sense to do some research about the time period. Women didn't wear wrist watches in 1865, and Sears didn't open until 1886....two quick stops at Google and Wikipedia would have told her that. Those references immediately caused me to stop and question, and it took no more than 2 minutes to discover. I already can tell you exactly what will happen; the story is too formula to make me be willing to bypass a lack of research. I also wish that
    synopsis of books indicated that a book is a Christian book or an Inspirational one, because I wouldn't bother reading them. Too preachy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Very Good

    This book was very good and sweet.
    Blush Rating: PG

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Loving Liza Jane

    Entertaining & uplifting. Lovely christian love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful read. I was not able to put the book down. I loved th

    Wonderful read. I was not able to put the book down. I loved the way she intwined the scripture in the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Great story

    Can't wait for book 2

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    Loving Liza Jane

    This was the first book that I have read by Sharlene MacLaren. I really enjoyed it. I love her style of writing. I felt like I was right there in Little Hickman Creek. I am hooked and have already bought the next 2 in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Love

    I loved this book. I immediately connected with the characters and could not put it down (read it one day). There were a few instances where i felt the writing dragged on a bit, but those were few and far between. The religious element was very well integrated as well. I will definitely be reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Sweet and spiritual

    Sweet story. It is a spiritual read so expect scriptures to be quoted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Cute!

    A fune, easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Was not impressed

    I truly love a good Christian romance, however the heroine in thisbook drove me crazy. Whiney and pigheaded, and beligerent . I truly did not see her as very christian, she was too busy looking down her nose at others. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Love Sharlene MacLaren!

    This book was a fun read! I'm partial to the time period....thoroughly enjoyed how the characters were built.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    :/

    Haven't read the book yet....so I will have to come back to really give a feedback. Sorry B&N's

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Ready for book 3

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Diane

    Loved this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Anonymous

    I throughly enjoyed this book. 274 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Really good

    Strong characters with a good storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Good historical romance novel. It was a good story set in Kentuc

    Good historical romance novel. It was a good story set in Kentucky, with a good story line. Also had a Christian moral, and I loved that. Can't wait to read the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2