Customer Reviews for

Loving Mr. Darcy: Journeys Beyond Pemberley

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Don´t miss this book!

The fantastic second book by Sharon Lathan! Follow the Darcys to London, meet their families and friends and spend a wonderful time with these people. Elizabeth turns into a wonderful mistress of Pemberley, lovingly guided by her husband. If you want a book to truly enj...
The fantastic second book by Sharon Lathan! Follow the Darcys to London, meet their families and friends and spend a wonderful time with these people. Elizabeth turns into a wonderful mistress of Pemberley, lovingly guided by her husband. If you want a book to truly enjoy and read about true love then you have found it here! New characters join the family and believe me they don´t disappoint. And look out for the third part of the book, that will be availabe in January!

posted by Susanne on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Slow Read

I did manage to finish this book but it was more effort than enjoyment. This is the second book in a series of three. The first was a bit enjoyable, I guess just the thought of getting to about what happens after Pride and Prejudice is quite intriguing. Like the first b...
I did manage to finish this book but it was more effort than enjoyment. This is the second book in a series of three. The first was a bit enjoyable, I guess just the thought of getting to about what happens after Pride and Prejudice is quite intriguing. Like the first book there are a lot of sexual interludes between Darcy and Elizabeth and what I thought was romantic in the first book tends to get old in this book with some much repetition. You tend to think that these people live happily ever after and really that's quite boring. Towards the very end of the book there is a bit of a conflict but still not enough to save this book. With all the authors expanding on the Elizabeth and Darcy story I'm sure there's got to be a better read out there, so I wouldn't recommend you read this series.

posted by SimplySaid on December 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    Perfect Title - I continue my "Loving Mr. Darcy".

    This book fulfills my obsession with the love story began by Jane Austen between Darcy and Elizabeth, but augmented successfully by Sharon Lathan. Thank Heaven that Sharon Lathan does not have the extreme restraints and censorship that Jane Austen faced in writing her book. Satisfaction is achieved in keeping with Sharon Lathan's ideas that Darcy and Elizabeth are to enjoy their marital bliss as they so desire, being blessed by God in their union. The book is exceedingly romantic but keeps the respect of and for the characters created by Jane Austen intact. Other sequels have taken turns that discolor Darcy with illegitimate children or diminish Elizabeth and her wit. Well written, the love story continues.
    This book is a must for all Darcy and Elizabeth fans. Thanks Ms. Lathan for keeping me "Loving Mr. Darcy".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    b

    trash - if you care anything for Mr Darcy or Elizabeth would not recommend you reading this book. Sure Jane Austin would be
    very sad that this so called author wrote about them this way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Great book

    Sharon Lathan captures Mr. Darcy's & Elizabeth's love perfectly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Nice Story

    I like the continuation of Pride & Prejudice, however, this is a bit predictable. If you leave out the love making, the story is only half the length of the entire book. Easy read if you just want to fix a cup of tea and stay in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    This book is so true to life! One of the things I like most abou

    This book is so true to life! One of the things I like most about historicak fiction, is that you get a glimpse of the background everyday ways the people of that time behaved and hoe everything appeared . Of course, it goes without saying that it is refreshing to see a love who's passion doesn't end after the honeymoon's over. What's best of all as that because of Sharon Lathan, the story continues. Hopefully for many years to come!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Great Book

    If you like Pride and Prejudice variations--this is an author you need to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Oooh Mr. Darcy!

    Sharon Lathan has raised the bar!! Who will ever compare to Mr. Darcy?
    This book is a must read for any " Pride and Prejudice" fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    My3boys

    Loved this book! Was very happy to finally know what happened after the wedding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Horrible, boring

    I love P&P and i wish i did not waste my time reading this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Enjoyed it tremendously! Definitely a must read!

    I'm a huge Jane Austin fan, and I couldn't stop reading. The new take on pride and prejudice and what could have happened was awesome. Made me love the characters even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Reading the today's authored sequels to Jane Austin

    To be very honest the book is okay but I really am interested in the daily lives of the people of that era.....how they lived, entertained each other, not so much the hour by hour sex lives of those who lived in those times. The interpersonal relationships were interesting in Pride and Prejudice and all of the others, Sense and Sensibility, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Good Read

    A second in the series. To be honest this was not my favorite. As the third in the series is my absolute favorite. But, I liked it. It brings more story and more historical information into the plot. It also showcases Lizzies stubborn streak to its fullest. I can see clearly that the author it using the characters from the movie to write this series and I, for one, love it. Thank you Sharon for continuing the love story of Darcy and Lizzie, and Keira and Matthew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Second Book in Series

    After reading the first in Lathan's Darcy saga, I was eager to pick up the second. I wasn't disappointed. The story continues with Darcy and Elizabeth on their way to Hertfordshire and Elizabeth expecting their first child. A visit to Darcy House in London follows along with a brief separation of the lovers and another confrontation with Lady Catherine. This novel is as engaging as the first and includes the addition of a few new characters. Dr. George Darcy, William's uncle, arrives from India with his friend Dr. Raul Penaflor, a Spanish nobleman. George is a charming character full of humor and warmth while his friend is charming and quiet. His addition adds another familial dimension to the story and brings out William's craving for a father figure which in turn gives William's character more depth. As always, Lathan weaves a good story with interesting plotlines and characters. This novel is an entertaining romp of romance, fun, and love that spans the life of two characters that live in the imagination of thousands of readers. This is series of possibilities and this is one possible continuation of Jane Austen's beloved work. It is one of the most engaging well written of the Austen continuations. If you're looking for Jane Austen's style and for the characters to do exactly what Jane's would do don't read this book. If you're looking for an entertaining possibility or an imaginitive spin off of Austen's work, this is your series. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    I loved it :)))

    By far better than most sequels, this series actually has rewarding, realistic parts like fights along with making up rather than fight after fight with no relief

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Loving Mr. Darcy is the second book in the Darcy Saga Series by the very talented Sharon Lathan. Elizabeth and Darcy have just found out they are "with child" and the book takes you through the ups and downs of her beautiful pregnancy! This book is beautifully descriptive with excellent character development. So fun to imagine London at this time! Thank you Sharon for your books! They are awesome!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Escapism at its best

    Yes, escapism. I love to get lost in this series. I have read other reviews that talk about there being sex in the book. Well, if I was married to Mr. Darcy, and there was as much love there as they have, I would hope it would be that way! It's written in a modern era and it's done REALLY well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Ok not great!

    If you are a fan of Regency romances you will probably like this book. If you are a fan of Jane Austen you'll probably just shake your head. I'll be perfectly honest, half of the book is sex. Every once and awhile Austen's style shines through, like when Jane and Lizzy are speaking about their marriages. But others, like when Darcy and Lizzy are talking to Dr. Darcy about needing more lanolin for Lizzy's stretch marks in front of company or when Lizzy says the word sexy, I just shake my head. I don't care how much Darcy and Lizzy are in love, they would never do those things or say those things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Booooring!

    Pages after pages of love scenes and no plot whatsoever. It is an insult to Jane Austen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5