Customer Reviews for

Loving What Is: Four Questions That Can Change Your Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    No dust gathering here!

    I have done the therapy, read 100 or so psych books, so here comes another one to soon collect dust after the words on the pages have been dissected, meditated on and worshipped, only to find myself shelving it and once again in search of another, right? Very simply, no...not this book! I read it with cynicism the first time around (My mind did not want to accept the simple but complex truth). Picked it up again and began my dissemimating. The second time through, I became pensive as well as investigative and realized I was perhaps, on to something. There is always hope at the onset of all of these relief type books but this one leaves you with hope, and that's the key. The rest is up to you. What I found, was that unlike the slew of books on my shelves and every buddhist philosophy, religious experience etc...., this book told me in exact detail how to take my mind on the journey to get to the place of the great authors who have broken the suffering barrier, to find the place the buddha calls nirvana, find the end of the illusions the cognitive therapist's role tries for years to accomplish but somehow doesn't. All of these resources are great but they don't give you the 'how to', they simply explain the final destination. Some words of wisdom we illicit from all of these books, 'The greatest love is self', 'no one can make you happy but you', 'today is a gift, that's why they call it the present'. All these things we read and absorb but how do we feel it? How do we live it? We know this is what peace feels like, but how do we get there? READ LOVING WHAT IS. All it purports to be, is. I question why this book has not made it to the best seller list and have come to the conclusion, that the reality of it is that this book takes work. It is a magic bullet in all it says life can be, but the thing that sets it apart from other books like Tolle's 'The Power of Now' is that when you close the cover on the last page, the magic bullet is all there but it doesn't end with that last page. It is just beginning. It will show you exactly how to embrace the words of wisdom and leaves no room for your mind to run and return to its old ways. If you choose to run from this reality, you run from truth, you run from yourself. In other words, there is no place else to run and you are left with what is. The truth is that by doing 'the work', you will experience pain, you will see yourself in all your imperfections and flaws. It is very difficult. However, after doing 'the work', time and time again, you realize you are loving it all, not accepting it all, or justifying it all, but loving it all...just as it is. So clean off those shelves, dust them off and keep one book there that you will never have to dust as it will be your toolbox, your best friend, and your very own peaceful reality that makes life so beautiful, the ability to love everything just as it is.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    SAVING MY LIFE

    I just found out that my beloved wife of 14 years wants to leave me. For 3 days I have been destroyed. This book was referred by a friend. She said," To survive you must stop trying to work on your wife. You have to work on you". In one night of reading I can see a vision with or without my best friend and wife and this future is going to be an intense and joyous ride.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Where has this been all my life?

    The 4 questions can change your life today! As long as you do some of the work today. I do recommend if you have never been exposed to Byron Katie to also listen to some of her work from her website in conjunction with the book. I am amazed! I want to continue to do the work on issues that bother me and have these questions and the results burned into my brain, so I will no longer react so negatively to people. This work is just so simple and so freeing! The examples in the book are so so powerful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    In a category of it's own

    I have picked up many books on spirituality and pschology. Some I have gotten quite a ways through and some I barely got started before putting down. Much of it was wonderful and made me feel good for a while but ultimately it was someone elses explanation of their knowledge and truth. Byron Katie's 'work' gave me an unbelievably powerful practice that literaly sets me free whenever I so choose. Every time I do the work I feel like I literally unload so much baggage I am floating up off my couch. It is mostly fun, mostly easy and very freeing. I'm not done doing my work and some stories I am really attached to but that is okay, until I am able to give them up I'm not and that is reality. The difference is I am now a lover of reality.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Great Source of Tools and Info

    Loving What Is, a must for anyone to help themselves have a fuller richer life through letting go of negative thoughts and patterns that taint their experience of life. Worth a read at least. Worth a better life at the most.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    I have been recommending this book to my friends and family

    I love the simplicity and effectiveness of the work!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    Loving What Is -- Your story!

    I had heard of Byron Katie's, "The Work" and thought how hard is it to ask myself four questions? Now, I am learning that it is hard to really want to know the truth about myself -- and reality. This book and "the work" helps one to stop the blame game with all relationships, at home and at work. I am not "there" yet, but because of this book I am learning to love what is and the freedom that comes with the thoughts and emotions of being free and loving what is. This is really well written and the stories are close to home for all of us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Truth and Freedom

    Like many of the other reviewers here, this book changed my life. But only in every way. All of my relationships have improved dramatically, issues I've had since childhood have lost their hold over me, and it gave me a a career! I was already on a career path when I read it, halfway through a master's program in spiritual counseling. Now, having finished my grad school program and started a private practice, I use The Work almost exclusively with my clients, while nearly everything I studied in school has been left by the wayside. My intention is to help my clients live a life of truth, free from suffering. Why beat around the bush with namby-pamby therapeutic techniques and outmoded paradigms? The Work works like nothing else. In my experience, most other approaches, including the psychotherapeutic model in general, are just Band-Aids, doing little or nothing to catalyze true healing and transformation. How many people do you know who have been in therapy for a decade (or two or three) and are still rehashing the same issues that brought them there in the first place? Enough already! For myself, my clients, and my colleagues in The Work, doing this inquiry process for even just a few hours has proven, time and again, to be more effective than years of psychotherapy. 'Loving What Is' was my introduction to The Work, and I am grateful for it every day. It's highly readable, and, if you let it in, it will change your life in amazing ways. Are you ready for a miracle? Hold onto your hat!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Finding Peace in Who and Where You Are

    Byron Katie's book, LOVING WHAT IS, provides an easy-to-grasp key to finding peace where you are, right now -- no matter what is going on in your life. While many coaches and therapists advocate acceptance as being the key to overcoming destructive inner negative self-talk, few have so clearly delineated a method for people to achieve this healing state of being. Katie's premise is that your beliefs are what cause you the most pain and suffering, and that by carefully reviewing those beliefs, you can more easily differentiate the things you can change from those you must learn to accept as they are. LOVING WHAT IS describes a simple technique for reviewing and revising your beliefs with a four-question technique that cuts to the core of what is really troubling you. Like a wise grandmother, Katie shows how she lovingly soothes those she assists in transcripts of sessions in which she helps people take a look at whether their beliefs are true... whether they can absolutely know that those beliefs are true... how they react when they think those thoughts... and who they would be if they didn't believe those thoughts. While emotions such as fear and anger may take time to transform into peace and joy, LOVING WHAT IS provides an excellent road-map to a more peaceful and enjoyable life for anyone who is ready to chart a new course.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Could have been a booklet

    I have read many pycho/spiritual books over the years and have felt enriched by most of them. However, Loving What Is plods along with boring repetition and mediocre writing. I almost finished it, but was simply uninspired to continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    A Hard Read

    I had trouble getting into it. Dry and boring. Might try again later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    HORRIBLE

    I so wanted to like this book, but could not even finish it. The writing is just awful. If you want a book where the author discusses other people's issues to make their point then this is the book for you. The author makes it way to wordy and complicated to make a point. I got tired of reading stories about other people. I did not find the message spiritual or healing, very disjointed. There are so many great books out there for self help, this isn't one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Dont waste your money

    If you want to be a robot or a stepford wife read this book. So you look the other way everytime something or someone upsets you then 10 years from now all your anger is built up and you go postal . Bad book, bad bad bad. Wasted 13.00 on this!!!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    this book is wonderful and has changed my life

    i have bought many of these books and handed them out....it has help my ex-husband and i become better friends...i dont leave home without it...thank you byron katie

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love What Is

    This is a great way to learn to do just what the title says.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    THE (self-help, spiritual guide) book

    Amazing book, powerful and simple techniques. Katie gives us 4 questions and a turnaround which if used sincerely can help deal with any painful/stressful situation. She says, we don't let go of stressful concepts, they let go of us after we investigate them. This has been my experience. The Work of Byron Katie should be required reading for everyone on this planet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    Wonderful eye-opener!

    This is a wonderful book that helps us open our eyes to the things we are hiding from. In this book, the author claims that we hold on to our 'stories' in order to avoid pain and experience pleasure in the short term even though we are selling ourselves short in the long run. The 'stories' are like jail cells we trap ourselves into to make us feel safe and secure. But as long as we stay in it, we can never experience true freedom and happiness. Like Toru Sato explains so clearly in his exceptional book called 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit', opening our eyes to these things enables us to take one more step closer to our true selves. This book is extremely helpful if you are ready to transcend your present state and take one more step in the unfolding of your soul. Enjoy...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    This Book is a Treasure

    This book has the potential to be life-changing. This is way beyond the self-help books out there. Byron Katie's four questions reminds me of the great Zen system of koans, except that this is for everyone, not just monks in kyoto monasteries. You take any thought that causes you stress and you put it up against this form of inquiry - four questions. So simple, yet when i first did it -- i couldn't believe how powerful and direct it was. No wonder everyone is talking about "Katie." The first question alone -- IS IT TRUE? -- can change your life. For years, I had beliefs about myself and others and the world that i never questioned. Even after years of meditation, i never asked the simple question - IS IT TRUE? This approach is a treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    The Worst That Can Happen Is An Uninvestigated Thought

    If you've done it all -- therapy, meditation, affirmations, etc. -- and you still get derailed, it's because you are attaching to thoughts that are not true for you. Katie's Work is a simple way to meet those thoughts with understanding. Briefly, when we work with the projector, the projected becomes beautiful. Gurus have said as much from the beginning of time, characterizing "self-realization" as this mystical thing that comes only after years of purification and practice; daunting at best, and empty words without the experience. If you follow the directions in LOVING WHAT IS, you can be self-realized in every moment. The Work of Byron Katie can indeed change your life; it changed mine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4