Customer Reviews for

Low Red Moon

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lol lol lol

This is a great book!!!!! I loved it. And so did my freinds. This book made me like reading.( thought that would never happen)

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nothing Unique

Ivy Devlin opens up her book right into the action... Avery wakes up, surrounded by blood and her dead parents. Unfortunately, Avery can not remember what happened to her parents, no matter how hard she tries. The only thing that she can remember is a sudden streak of...
Ivy Devlin opens up her book right into the action... Avery wakes up, surrounded by blood and her dead parents. Unfortunately, Avery can not remember what happened to her parents, no matter how hard she tries. The only thing that she can remember is a sudden streak of a silver flash, that she knows is dangerous and the cause of her parents death.

With her parents dead, Avery goes to live with her Grandmother, who has been absent from her life for some time. That is not the only new thing in Avery's life either. There is Ben, the new boy at school. She feels oddly connected to Ben, and can even feel what he is feeling. But there is something off with him: sometimes Avery can see a flash of silver in his eyes, but there is something else that she doesn't know what to think of. Avery doesn't know if she should be afraid of Ben and what he is all the while trying to remember what exactly happened to her parents....

Ivy Devlin did a great job in presenting Avery's heartbreak and confusion. You really do feel that you are in the mind of Avery, thinking and feeling as she does. Ivy Devlin also did an amazing job at describing Avery's surroundings: as the reader you feel both afraid and comforted by the woods/forest that is home to Avery (you know something bad lurks out there but you also know that is where Avery feels the safest).

I was a little confused at the sudden connection that Avery and Ben had in the book - I feel that it came on too quickly without much development. Avery's reactions to Ben's sudden appearances wasn't completely believable (at least I would be a bit scared if some boy, no matter how cute he was, suddenly appeared at my side and told me to go home).

Overall, this was a good book. I am not a huge fan of werewolf fiction but Ivy Devlin did a great job. I recommend this book to anyone who likes Paranormal Fiction and those who are even looking for a break from all the Vampire Fiction.

posted by PatriciaJL on February 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Nothing Unique

    Ivy Devlin opens up her book right into the action... Avery wakes up, surrounded by blood and her dead parents. Unfortunately, Avery can not remember what happened to her parents, no matter how hard she tries. The only thing that she can remember is a sudden streak of a silver flash, that she knows is dangerous and the cause of her parents death.

    With her parents dead, Avery goes to live with her Grandmother, who has been absent from her life for some time. That is not the only new thing in Avery's life either. There is Ben, the new boy at school. She feels oddly connected to Ben, and can even feel what he is feeling. But there is something off with him: sometimes Avery can see a flash of silver in his eyes, but there is something else that she doesn't know what to think of. Avery doesn't know if she should be afraid of Ben and what he is all the while trying to remember what exactly happened to her parents....

    Ivy Devlin did a great job in presenting Avery's heartbreak and confusion. You really do feel that you are in the mind of Avery, thinking and feeling as she does. Ivy Devlin also did an amazing job at describing Avery's surroundings: as the reader you feel both afraid and comforted by the woods/forest that is home to Avery (you know something bad lurks out there but you also know that is where Avery feels the safest).

    I was a little confused at the sudden connection that Avery and Ben had in the book - I feel that it came on too quickly without much development. Avery's reactions to Ben's sudden appearances wasn't completely believable (at least I would be a bit scared if some boy, no matter how cute he was, suddenly appeared at my side and told me to go home).

    Overall, this was a good book. I am not a huge fan of werewolf fiction but Ivy Devlin did a great job. I recommend this book to anyone who likes Paranormal Fiction and those who are even looking for a break from all the Vampire Fiction.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Lol lol lol

    This is a great book!!!!! I loved it. And so did my freinds. This book made me like reading.( thought that would never happen)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    Wish I Didnt Buy

    Low Red Moon was one of the most disappointing books I had ever read. The character Avery is your vulnerable, out of place cookie-cutter character who typically becomes obsessed with "the most intriguing sexy boy" around. It's like Twilight but with no action at all except the mild climax at the end. There isn't even a werewolf appearance which almost makes this book a pointless read as well as a bastardization of what was a potential plot. The author tries to instill a sense of mystery in supporting characters, but it's not compelling enough to get you through the repetition and cliche love at first sight with that cliche inner sense of self-preservation/fear type of constant meeting between the two characters. If you're looking for a thrilling, romantic tale- avoid this book. The local news is more interesting than this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sensational Debut Novel

    When I first picked up this book all I knew about it was that it was a book about a girl who falls in love with a werewolf. Which seems to be a popular plot element in most paranormal YA books along with vampires and angels. But since I'm obsessed with love stories I picked it up anyway. I do not regret it one bit! It's a short book so it didn't take me that long to read. The book was fast paced and heart racing. Seriously, my heart was actually racing. It was beating so hard I had to stop reading to calm down-that's how suspenseful it was-especially the ending.
    The story revolves around Avery Hood, whose parents were just brutally murdered. She witnessed the murder but can't remember it. The only thing she remembers is a flash of silver and blood. Haunted by nightmares and forced to live with her grandmother, Avery buries herself in the pain of losing her parents. Strange things start happening to Avery as she tries to remember who murdered her parents- her hair starts changing color (to blood red), her love of her old home draws her into the woods, the murderer is out to remove his only witness, and a cute new student arrives at the local public high school (which Avery attends).
    Ben and Avery have a seriously intense relationship. I love it! They can sense/feel each other's emotions which makes it difficult to hide things. They both know what the other is feeling. Imagine how amazing it would be if you could feel the love and know with out a hint of doubt how much they loved you. That's how Avery and Ben's relationship is. Of course both have secrets that they keep, even ones that they don't even know they have.
    Ivy Devlin did a beautiful job with the writing. I felt the pain that Avery felt when she mourned her parents. She truly loved them. She didn't have that typical "teenager hates parents" relationship that I've seen in a lot of YA books. She was close to her parents. Also, in the book whenever the word "moon" came up, the word was printed in red-as well as the cover. The color red was seen throughout the book, not just the typography but also in the story. It fit perfectly with the story since red symbolizes both love and blood.
    Low Red Moon was a sensational debut novel that had me flipping through the pages. This modern day paranormal retelling of the popular Little Red Riding Hood will leave you wanting a sequel. I really really really hope Ivy Devlin writes a sequel. So far I haven't read anything that says she is-but I'm hoping anyway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    When I first picked up this book? I thought it would be a good b

    When I first picked up this book? I thought it would be a good book, but when I got to the end. It did ended like I thought it was. Low red moon is about a girl name Avery. Her parents were killed and she doesn't know what happened with them. She was surrounded with blood around her from her parents. There were a lot of romance in the book but it seemed like flat nothin good. Nobody new what happened to Avery's parents. It was a mystery.  Low Red Moon is a story of love, mystery, death, and relationships. It's a wonderful story that I enjoyed. This book sensational debut novel that had me flipping through the pages. If i had a choose to read it again, I would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Great

    If you want to reathis you better be the typer who reads books to the end it is a great book anb has a huge twist at te end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was really excited to read this - not just because the summary

    I was really excited to read this - not just because the summary sounds pretty kick ass, but because Ivy Devlin is rumored to be a pseudonym for somebody else. I had the name up, but they politely asked me to take it down, so I shall. (I don't understand, though - why use a pseudonym if everybody is going to know it's you? Alas.)

    Devlin has a beautiful writing style. It drags you in, and her ability to paint the setting for you in so few words is fantastic. And her characters - at least, the main characters - are very well created. I loved Ben's struggle, and Avery's ties to the forest were fantastic.

    But she made the same problem so many debut paranormal authors are making.

    She is trying to rewrite Twilight.

    No, the plot (which I shall get into in a moment) is nothing like Twilight. But the romance was the same. Down to THIS. Though, since I have an ARC, maybe they cut it out in the final version.

    "How old are you?"
    "Seventeen," he said.
    "Seventeen for how long?" My voice shook.
    "Six months. Why?"


    REALLY!? I mean, come on. You couldn't do better than that? REALLY!?

    And then we come to my biggest problem with this book - the plot. Did I finish until the end? Yes. But it was only to make sure that I was right. I found it sadly predictable - I had the entire thing figured out by page 85. The book is about 200 pages long. It took me less than half of the book to figure it out.

    However, though predictable, it was an interesting plot, and Devlin's writing and characters pull the book out of the dumpster pile it could have been thrown in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Andi

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Awsome

    Awsome amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Help

    Everyone says its a quick read so how many pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LOW RED MOON- A novel with costly appearance and unfortunately without substance!

    Avery, our main character and narrator, is as plain as the story she’s telling, revising the murder of her parents the whole time. Her thoughts are mostly marked by iteration loops of questions and thoughts. This girl has talents and because they are paranormal they need no further explanation, still they seem so weird.

    We witness an immediate attraction between Avery and Ben, the male protagonist. I am a fan of magical first sight attractions but the relationship between Avery and Ben comes out very unreasonable and annoying. The make out scenes, although without further reason behind, are good but at some points a turn-off.

    Secondary characters are also weakly constructed elements that only help to delay the already very short story a bit. During the whole read I didn't get to like one single character enough to care for his end. That might be because Devlin doesn't offer a profound background to their story or only involves them in hollow dialogues and meaningless actions.

    Devlin’s writing style is average, defined by a low vocabulary diversity and a series of the same or similar phrase structures.

    The murder case does have some potential, but Devlin only developed an obvious and boring conclusion. From the beginning I knew how LOW RED MOON was going to end. Facts and details that are hyped throughout the entire novel turn out to be rational explanations in the end, nothing paranormal. So I was confused about the involvement of paranormal creatures where it does not even fit or would be necessary to realise the plot.

    I have got no idea what the low red moon is supposed to mean and why each time the word “moon” is mentioned in the text, it's highlighted in red ink.
    What I appreciate is that Bloomsbury created a costly graphic design, working with the colors black, red and white and the picture of a forest.The story is set in a wooded landscape, so the layout definitely fits the story of LOW RED MOON.

    THE VERDICT

    An average writing cannot save Devlin's hollow characters and dialogues. In this case I would suggest less trying to incorporate paranormal elements and a higher focus on the establishment of a serious murder case. Unfortunately not a 2011 UK debut I would recommend, but in the end you should try it yourselves to find out if you like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    It's okay.

    I was hooked first thing by the description of Avery covered in blood and the death of her parents. I felt drawn to Avery's character and her feelings and the mystery kept me turning the pages. The book was interesting enough, but I think the romance fell flat. I think it's unrealistic that they felt so "connected" after only spending 2 or 3 short times together. And most of the time spent together was spent making out. They barely even knew each other. The book was very predictable in some parts too. It was a nice read, but I'm glad I got it from the library and didn't buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Uninteresting, but a Quick Read

    A teenage girl¿s family is murdered and she knows she witnessed it but can¿t remember anything about it. Avery tries and tries to make herself remember, wanting to put this mystery behind her. She meets a new boy in town, who happens to be a werewolf, confirming tales about the towns past. A murder mystery combined with newfound romance for the young adult crowd. Many descriptions I¿ve read compared this book to Twilight. I don¿t see it. While reading the book, there was nothing to keep me interested. I was also thrown off by the fact that every time the word ¿moon¿ was written, it was written in red. That made it seem like a kids book. Avery is a disconnected teen who doesn¿t care what her grandmother asks of her, she continues to put herself into situation after situation, causing problems. I didn¿t find the story to be haunting or riveting, but got through it quickly because it was an easy read. I didn¿t see the answer to the mystery coming, so the writer did a good job at weaving that plot together, but it wasn¿t enough for me to recommend this book to anyone. Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must read for YA paranormal romance murder mystery fans

    What attracted me to read this book was . . . the cover! (stares at cover and sighs). It's so pretty! Yes, I'm such a girl, but I can't help it! It's so shiny, and pretty and RED. And don't get me started on the inside. Each chapter has a pretty tree, the word moon is red throughout the book, the pretty red forest footer...see! Everything is so pretty!
    This book was a great read. A paranormal murder mystery, one of my favorite types, which didn't let me down. We are introduced to Avery Wood, your average teenager who has gone through the unthinkable...the death of her parents, and cannot remember a thing about it (except for the colour silver), and is now forced to live with her grandmother. A YA novel would NOT be complete without the mandatory sexy, tormented leading man. . . enter Ben. And of course, the fact that she now has a red streak in her which somehow due to her parents death has her targeted as being cursed. (not like Avery's life is stressful enough!)
    Throughout Low Red Moon, the reader is left to wonder constantly throughout the book whether Ben (the now new love interest of our leading lady) is somehow connected with the death of her parents because his eyes remind her of the same silver she saw at thier death.
    Devlin does a fantastic job of capturing the readers attention, and keeping them guessing throughout the entire book. I mean, seriously, the funnest part of a murder mystery is trying to figure out who did it before the book ends. Well my friends, this book will have you convincing yourself it's one characted, but then you will find yourself changing your mind again, and again, and again! (so fun!)
    Not only are we swept up in the mystery, but Devlin does a phenomenal job of sweeping the reader up with the romance between Avery and Ben. (le sigh) Young love, ahhhh so sweet. I loved reading about how their relationship develops and how they overcome the hurtles that are thrown in their way. This book will make you gasp and sigh and smile.
    I recommend this book to readers who love playing sleuth and reading about new love. Don't let this book slip through your fingers! A must read for any YA fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    great

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Quick fun read

    This book is a very quick read. I whipped through it fast. That being said, I probably whipped through it because I really enjoyed it. On goodreads this story is getting mixed reviews... people either seem to love it or hate it and well, I'm on the love it side.

    We start with Avery (beautiful name by the way!) who's parents are murdered. The only thing she can remember is being covered in blood, them broken, and seeing silver. Avery is sent to live with Renee, her grandmother and being as strong as Avery is, she continues her daily routine. When she meets the new boy Ben she starts to realize her feelings for him are deeper than she ever imagined could be. But can Ben help her figure out what happened to her parents, or worse does he know what happened?

    I really enjoyed Low Red Moon. Avery, I thought was an extremely strong character. What she endured and still continued on to help avenge her parent's murders... was such a strong trait. Then there's Ben. Handsome, "I'll always protect you", Ben. Part of me wishes Avery & Ben we're friends for a bit first, then the other part me says you know what 'if you know, you know', and believe me these two know! Their love is so compelling and so rich. There weren't too many characters in this book that played a huge role. Though, I did like Louis (Ben's uncle). I'm very curious to see where Ivy Devlin will take us with Ben, Avery, Louis, and Renee in the *I hope it comes out* sequel.

    The paranormal in this book is obviously Warewolves, and you know what it has it's own spin on it and I really liked it. You don't dig too much into it, but if a sequel is made... I would love to dive in deeper to it. Another thing about "Low Red Moon" for me is the title... I honestly am not sure why it's the title. I know 'low red moon' is mentioned in one of the chapters, and the color RED defiantly fits, but i'm not sure where low moon came from. It should have been something more like Evil Silver Flash! (Hahaha or something). I do have to say I really enjoyed this and hope that the unanswered questions will show up in a sequel.

    Low Red Moon is a story of love, mystery, death, and relationships. It's a wonderful story that I enjoyed and I would love to read a sequel to it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    This book was ok.

    I was an ok book, i mean, there were so parts that ibliked. But it feels like a 2nd grader is telling the story. The way she "senses" all these things are just stupid. But i guess it was ok...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Totally different. but...

    What I thought of this book was that, it was totally great. sometimes not what people expect, but when i read this book, i liked it. it is a great book. you should read it. but other than that, some people do not like these kinds of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Ok

    Not great but not bad. Wish there was more than bam we met and we cant live without eachother. Murder mystery story was good. Would have liked to know more about her gift. Ok read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    good

    this book was enjoyable. it was more murder mystery than romance. i wish that the relationship between Avery and Ben had more depth not just poof i see you now im in love. but the overall book was good but not great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5