Customer Reviews for

Low Red Moon

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lol lol lol

This is a great book!!!!! I loved it. And so did my freinds. This book made me like reading.( thought that would never happen)

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nothing Unique

Ivy Devlin opens up her book right into the action... Avery wakes up, surrounded by blood and her dead parents. Unfortunately, Avery can not remember what happened to her parents, no matter how hard she tries. The only thing that she can remember is a sudden streak of...
Ivy Devlin opens up her book right into the action... Avery wakes up, surrounded by blood and her dead parents. Unfortunately, Avery can not remember what happened to her parents, no matter how hard she tries. The only thing that she can remember is a sudden streak of a silver flash, that she knows is dangerous and the cause of her parents death.

With her parents dead, Avery goes to live with her Grandmother, who has been absent from her life for some time. That is not the only new thing in Avery's life either. There is Ben, the new boy at school. She feels oddly connected to Ben, and can even feel what he is feeling. But there is something off with him: sometimes Avery can see a flash of silver in his eyes, but there is something else that she doesn't know what to think of. Avery doesn't know if she should be afraid of Ben and what he is all the while trying to remember what exactly happened to her parents....

Ivy Devlin did a great job in presenting Avery's heartbreak and confusion. You really do feel that you are in the mind of Avery, thinking and feeling as she does. Ivy Devlin also did an amazing job at describing Avery's surroundings: as the reader you feel both afraid and comforted by the woods/forest that is home to Avery (you know something bad lurks out there but you also know that is where Avery feels the safest).

I was a little confused at the sudden connection that Avery and Ben had in the book - I feel that it came on too quickly without much development. Avery's reactions to Ben's sudden appearances wasn't completely believable (at least I would be a bit scared if some boy, no matter how cute he was, suddenly appeared at my side and told me to go home).

Overall, this was a good book. I am not a huge fan of werewolf fiction but Ivy Devlin did a great job. I recommend this book to anyone who likes Paranormal Fiction and those who are even looking for a break from all the Vampire Fiction.

posted by PatriciaJL on February 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Lol lol lol

    This is a great book!!!!! I loved it. And so did my freinds. This book made me like reading.( thought that would never happen)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sensational Debut Novel

    When I first picked up this book all I knew about it was that it was a book about a girl who falls in love with a werewolf. Which seems to be a popular plot element in most paranormal YA books along with vampires and angels. But since I'm obsessed with love stories I picked it up anyway. I do not regret it one bit! It's a short book so it didn't take me that long to read. The book was fast paced and heart racing. Seriously, my heart was actually racing. It was beating so hard I had to stop reading to calm down-that's how suspenseful it was-especially the ending.
    The story revolves around Avery Hood, whose parents were just brutally murdered. She witnessed the murder but can't remember it. The only thing she remembers is a flash of silver and blood. Haunted by nightmares and forced to live with her grandmother, Avery buries herself in the pain of losing her parents. Strange things start happening to Avery as she tries to remember who murdered her parents- her hair starts changing color (to blood red), her love of her old home draws her into the woods, the murderer is out to remove his only witness, and a cute new student arrives at the local public high school (which Avery attends).
    Ben and Avery have a seriously intense relationship. I love it! They can sense/feel each other's emotions which makes it difficult to hide things. They both know what the other is feeling. Imagine how amazing it would be if you could feel the love and know with out a hint of doubt how much they loved you. That's how Avery and Ben's relationship is. Of course both have secrets that they keep, even ones that they don't even know they have.
    Ivy Devlin did a beautiful job with the writing. I felt the pain that Avery felt when she mourned her parents. She truly loved them. She didn't have that typical "teenager hates parents" relationship that I've seen in a lot of YA books. She was close to her parents. Also, in the book whenever the word "moon" came up, the word was printed in red-as well as the cover. The color red was seen throughout the book, not just the typography but also in the story. It fit perfectly with the story since red symbolizes both love and blood.
    Low Red Moon was a sensational debut novel that had me flipping through the pages. This modern day paranormal retelling of the popular Little Red Riding Hood will leave you wanting a sequel. I really really really hope Ivy Devlin writes a sequel. So far I haven't read anything that says she is-but I'm hoping anyway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Great

    If you want to reathis you better be the typer who reads books to the end it is a great book anb has a huge twist at te end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Andi

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Awsome

    Awsome amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Help

    Everyone says its a quick read so how many pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    great

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT READ! Definitely going on my list on favorite books!+

    I picked up this book because I have become fond of wolf books such as "Shiver" and "Linger." I thought I would give it a try not thinking it would be this good! I read it in about a day and could not believe the twist I gasped outloud when I discovered what was going on! It is a great read for those who love a love story that is exciting and paranormal and just plain amazing!! Readers of "Twilight", "House of Night" and "Shiver" will fall in love with it!!!! I hope she continues and turns it into a series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    a phenominal book

    i loved this book it was amazing the plot was good and most of all it was paranormal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    I LOVED IT SO MUCH. I DIDNT PUT IT DOWN UNTIL I HAD TO.

    I looked at this book and thought it looked dumb. What the heck was I thinking. I was told to read it by my friend who said she couldn't put it down. So I got it and read it. After the first few pages I was hooked. I couldn't put the book down and didn't want to. The whole thing was awesome. I couldn't believe how good it was. I finished it in a few days. Well 3 days. The book wasn't big but I had school. The whole story line was good. The characters were perfect and the setting was amazing. The funniest part was that I live by the woods and the whole story takes place in a wooded area. It kind of scared me a little. ^.^. I will say that this book was awesome and it made me want to read about wolves way more. Peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    This is my favorite book!!

    This book kept my intrest the whole way through! It has also got me into reading more. In my opinion it was better than twilight, but that's probably because I like books about werewolves better than ones about vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved Low Red Moon - it's a book to share with friends!

    Low Red Moon opens with the violent murder of Avery's family. Avery has blocked out most of the details of the attack. The first responders found Avery covered in blood -- trying to piece her parents' bodies back together.

    With her home deemed officially a crime scene closed off to her, Avery moves in with her grandmother, Renee, in a house in town. Avery is slow to adjust: she misses the home her parents built and their life in the middle of the woods. The constants of her old life are gone from the solar panels to the walks in the dark and quiet woods. Avery starts out awkward with Renee but as she comes to understand the her family history, things improve. The interaction between Renee and Avery is one of the book's strengths. Devlin captures the nuances and tentativeness of their relationship.

    My favorite part of the book is the love story between Avery and the mysterious new student Ben. From the first time that Avery sees him to the excitement and elation when they discover their mutual attraction and their later heartbreak, Low Red Moon a captivating and engrossing story of young love. It's a book to share with teens and adults alike.

    ISBN-10: 1599905108 - Hardcover
    Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's Books (September 14, 2010), 256 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    If you loved Linger and Shiver this will knock your socks off!

    I went into the store and picked this book up today when I was looking for something new to read. I sat down to read it and didnt put it down till it was done! I really enjoyed the way Avery just pulls you into her new reality without her parents and all these new feelings she's now having for a boy she just met. I have to say after reading this book I really get the same feeling as when I read Shiver and Linger and you will not be disapointed if you loved them to. Ivy Devlin is a great writter and I can only hope she has more to say with Avery and Ben in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Andrea for TeensReadToo.com

    Avery Hood's parents suffered a gruesome death - and she was there. But she doesn't remember anything about that horrifying night. Living with her grandmother, she learns the world is full of secrets. When she meets Ben, she realizes he's different. And something evil is trying to get to her. Ben helps her find out just what happened that night and her memory slowly comes back. But does she remember in time?

    This book was a little weird for me. I read it all in one sitting, but several times I found myself looking up and thinking that I wasn't sure if I was enjoying the book or not. But now that I'm done with it, I really did enjoy it.

    It was hard to get into at first. The writing seemed a little choppy, like it didn't flow that well. Then I got used to it and didn't notice it at all. At the same time, it was very easy to picture in my head. I could see it being made into an action/horror movie and I think it would translate well. And the ending, well, let's just say that I didn't figure it out until only a couple of pages before Avery did (which is a good thing - I like being surprised).

    The characters themselves were good. I liked Avery and Renee. There is definitely more about Renee that I want to know about. And Ben was okay, but I have to say that I didn't really like their instant connection. It was too fast for me, even knowing that they're bonded.

    That being said, there has to be a sequel! I am left wanting to know so much more! Like I said before, I want to know more about Renee. I want to know WHY Ben and Avery are bonded. I want to know more about Avery's power. And I want to know just what is coming! Please let there be a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2