Customer Reviews for

Low Town

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprising Book

    I'd read positive reviews before purchasing this novel but was certain I'd made an error when learning the author's history. I was pleasantly surprised as the story unfolded with a darker edge of fantasy and fascinating characters, never leaving me questioning the general premise. The language was far more sophisticated than I expected and humor helped to offset the sometimes violent, gothic subject matter. I would definitely recommend Low Town and personally look forward to Polansky's future work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Different and wonderful!

    I really enjoyed this book! If you're looking for a gritty, different kind of fantasy novel, than this book is for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    CHURCH

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    great book

    Loved it. Well written and unique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Fantasy for fantasy haters. Fantasy writers have basically been

    Fantasy for fantasy haters. Fantasy writers have basically been ripping of Tolkien (and now Rowling) for years, but Polansky gives us something completely different. Instead of the same old epic quest for some silly object or to unite the kingdoms, Low Town keeps its focus on a handful of characters in one slum. This allows us to really know the warden and his domain. I also like that the Warden is not entirely likeable. I'm sick of fantasy characters that read like they were rolled up by a 14 year old and written onto a DnD character sheet. This is almost a new sub-genre. Let's call it Low Fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    N/A

    N/A

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Dark Night of the Soul Stuff

    Dark without needless gore Most of the violence is "Off stage"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantasy as a genre is being mixed with all sorts of other elemen

    Fantasy as a genre is being mixed with all sorts of other elements these days, so it was inevitable that noir would have its chance as well. Remember noir has already been mixed with steampunk, sci-fi and even comic books. Luckily, my first encounter with fantasy noir or noir fantasy (whichever way you think it’s best described) is Low Town by Daniel Polanksy. This book alone epitomizes what makes each genre great.

    Low Town, published by Doubleday, is the first book by Daniel Polansky and an excellent first outing – one that will draw you back for more. And why? Because Polansky has created an awesome world full of compelling history and elements that leaves you wanting to see more, after all it’s called Low Town and thus takes place in the aforementioned Low Town. Polansky has done so simply by combining those aspects, tropes if you will, which define noir and placing them in a secondary world.

    But he does so masterfully by including all those elements and aspects you want in both your noir and fantasy. Angry, nasty, drug addled protagonist with a violent past and an even more violent day to day life – check. Snobbish but dangerous and hedonistic high society – check. Cheap pimps, two-timing whores and crime bosses – check. Don’t forget unforgiving violence, crime and the chance at redemption, all of which just covers the noir. For fantasy you have magic, sorcerers, foreign dangerous beings, talking statues and swords.

    It makes for a heady mix of action, mystery and violence through which the protagonist, a man only known as the Warden, must navigate. And it’s one where the body count mounts as a result of both Daniel Polansky’s willingness to employ what he smartly calls “the straight razor cure” and the actions of all the characters. Everything has an consequence and as such the story of Low Town and the Warden leaves everything changed at the end of the book. Yet, never to such a degree as to imply that the order of the universe has been changed – for better or worse the world continues.

    Part of what makes the world of Low Town so compelling, aside from a surly protagonist with a drug problem who goes about the world in a practical manner, is the fact that it’s set in a time period reminiscent of the industrial revolution. Meaning there is artillery, not just magical, but explosives resulting in explosions, though no guns resulting in battles that involve swords and knives. The balance of technology, between the old and the new, the mechanical and the mundane makes for an excellent world that is both compelling and intriguing. That’s not even mentioning the other parts of the world that Polansky has so delicately placed without spoiling their possisbilities – hell there’s not even a map so everything is truly left to your imagination.

    No review would be complete without an in-depth look at the Warden. He is a man with a past, one that in the best of noir’s wisdom haunts him but also provides him with ample opportunity to go about his way. The best feature I found, of the Warden’s, is that he is more than capable. He’s a man that can do much but is always cognizant of his weaknesses and inabilities particularly in comparison to others and when it comes to fights. It’s his vast library of skills which has enabled him to survive and at times thrive in Low Town and ultimately his knowledge that is the deciding factor in any event.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Excellent book

    I can't wait to read other books by this author. Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    dark noir with a medival twist

    the hero is not a nice guy...but his line he will not cross means he is stuck playing detective (his old job) one last time. very dark - but fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Action packed

    This was a very action packed, page turning book from the very first pages until the very end and it kept me engaged in the sinister actions that were plaguing Low Town. I love a good detailed mystery and I did not know what to expect from Low Town and I was pleasantly surprised in this book. Polansky did an excellent job in the imaginery of the characters and the mixture of the elements added lots of drama. An ex-cop turned drug dealer, sorcerers, monsters, children, murders and lords all clashed in the 341 pages of Polansky's first novel and tried to make their mark in Low Town. Polansky choices for words at times was over the top for me but I felt a part of the action and could feel the drama unfolding at my feet. Polansky didn't forget anything as he describes the events but he did not overdo the details and bore me. The ending left me wondering if there could be a series in the making. What will happen in Low Town, this can't be the end. I think Polansky has a gift for writing and look forward to other books to follow. I won this book as a free giveaway on Goodreads for a honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Unique and dark mystery

    For the last couple of years Warden has made a life for himself among the criminals and whores of Low Town. Everything changes for him when he srumbles upon the body of a murdered young woman. Unable to shake the dead girl from his thoughts, Warden decides to solve her murder. A Former detective, Warden puts his old yet familiar skills to the test once more despite thinking he never would. Although clearly an anti-hero and sarcastic, you know Warden is still a god guy at heart. This is a dark and gritty mystery with a splash of humor. The twist? Add magic into the equation. The characters are not flat and the pacing is just right. Give it a shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a gritty postapocalyptic investigative noir

    Of the Thirteen Cities, Rigus is by far the grandest. However, while that magnificent city shines, a suburb Low Town is the diametrically opposite with violent crime and rampant drug addiction and prostitution on every block corner of the rundown precinct.

    Low Town is run with an iron fist by the distrusting Warden. He was once a hero during the Great War only a few years ago and was a member of the Black House police before he was disgraced and sent into exile. An addict Warden has even nastier rivals that he keeps at bay because he expects the worst in people. The Warden has one ally of sorts in Crane the magician. When kids in his precinct disappear, the Warden wants to ignore them. However, the first corpse he discovers alarms him and forces him to ally with his former law enforcement compatriots the Black House to insure a proper investigation occurs.

    Although somewhat difficult to delineate the recent past with the present, Low Town is a gritty postapocalyptic investigative noir starring a vicious antihero. The dystopian story line is at it best during the inquiry that besides providing a good murder mystery enables readers to picture the slummy precinct and understand the helplessness of the impoverished. This is an engaging first tale as Daniel Polansky paints a draconian future.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gritty fantasy

    When I first started reading Low Town, I was taken by surprise when I realized fantasy was mixed in to the story. The only way I can describe the beginning was that I felt sort of disoriented. I had trouble finding a connection to the story. This was probably because I didn't go into the book with a totally open mind. I kept reading & once I opened my mind, I fell completely into Low Town. No time or place really, your imagination is allowed to create whatever you want it to be. Every reader will have a different picture of when & where this took place. Low Town is a gritty, crime ridden town that was once hit with the plague. Mix that with sorcerer's and law enforcement that runs like an underworld military team and you have a base for an incredible story. There are few slow spots and the author does a great job of keeping you wanting more. I did, however, see the ending coming. I had the mystery part of the story guessed early on but that didn't ruin anything at all for me. I wasn't disappointed at all, great book! As a side note, I discovered from the author's Facebook page that this will be a series. Can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing book - HIGHLY recommended!

    In "Low Town," Daniel Polansky has done something few authors have done - taken a noir mystery thriller and placed it in a fantasy world. I've only seen one other author make use of this type of story-telling idea, and have no idea why, because it is really a fabulous idea that allows a much broader range of ideas to be expressed. Low Town has it all - drugs, vice, violence - and sorcery.

    Known as The Warden, the main character (a true anti-hero if I ever met one) has run Low Town's drug trade by himself for the five years since he was pushed out of Black House (the secret police), where he had worked since after the Dren wars. However, his established routine is shaken up by the disappearance and then murder of a young girl - ending up in the limelight after finding her body, he is forced to ally himself with Black House in order to try to stop further murders.

    This was an amazing book and there is a twist at the end that I never once saw coming - it was very well done and I have to congratulate the author on so successfully fooling me. The characters are all well-done with developed personalities and separate natures, even if they are minor characters - this is always a trait I much admire in a writer. Overall, this is a must-read for fantasy, mystery, thriller, suspense AND noir fans - definitely pick this one up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2