Customer Reviews for

Lowcountry Boil: A Liz Talbot Mystery

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing Mystery with Low Country Style

Susan M. Boyer has written a clever mystery with an engaging female detective in Liz Talbot, a true "Steel Magnolia." She carries a Sig 9 and faces danger head on while keeping the gracious manners of a true Southern belle (although her mother has to remind her to wear ...
Susan M. Boyer has written a clever mystery with an engaging female detective in Liz Talbot, a true "Steel Magnolia." She carries a Sig 9 and faces danger head on while keeping the gracious manners of a true Southern belle (although her mother has to remind her to wear lipstick).

I loved the Low Country setting on her fictional but realistic island of Stella Maris, South Carolina. You will hunger for the Southern and Low Country food, yearn for the beautiful beach setting, and bite your nails as you read this fast paced thriller.

LOWCOUNTRY BOIL is beautifully written, has intriguing twists, and is full of interesting Low Country details.

posted by RisWrites on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

L

Plot spoilers should be banned and fined. Why do they have to ruin books by giving away every detail, then bragging about getting the book for free? Ok. You got the book for free, why ruin it for the rest of us who may eant to buy it. Now we cant buy it because you ruin...
Plot spoilers should be banned and fined. Why do they have to ruin books by giving away every detail, then bragging about getting the book for free? Ok. You got the book for free, why ruin it for the rest of us who may eant to buy it. Now we cant buy it because you ruined it. Thanks a lot....insert heavy sarcadm here.

posted by 8888649 on June 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Intriguing Mystery with Low Country Style

    Susan M. Boyer has written a clever mystery with an engaging female detective in Liz Talbot, a true "Steel Magnolia." She carries a Sig 9 and faces danger head on while keeping the gracious manners of a true Southern belle (although her mother has to remind her to wear lipstick).

    I loved the Low Country setting on her fictional but realistic island of Stella Maris, South Carolina. You will hunger for the Southern and Low Country food, yearn for the beautiful beach setting, and bite your nails as you read this fast paced thriller.

    LOWCOUNTRY BOIL is beautifully written, has intriguing twists, and is full of interesting Low Country details.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    A reader's delight. The first line of Lowcountry Boil--The dead

    A reader's delight. The first line of Lowcountry Boil--The dead are patient.--had me hooked from the get-go. Full of unique Southern insights and gracious charm, this book nonetheless packs a wallop you don't want to miss. Protagonist Liz Talbot is part Steffi Plum and part Kinsey Millhone, as quick to say, "Bless your heart." as she is to pull her trusty Sig Sauer 9 or deliver a roundhouse kick to the sternum.

    Susan Boyer's debut novel is full of ingenious plot twists, a cavalcade of unforgettable characters, and a setting so lush you can smell the marsh grass and feel the ocean's breeze. And, oh, before I forget, the story takes place near Charleston, South Carolina, so naturally, there's a ghost.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    Fabulous, Fun Southern Mystery

    This is a very entertaining, upbeat mystery. It has everything a Southern mystery needs--a wonderful lowcountry setting on an island near Charleston, family drama, quirky characters, a ghost, and a sassy, savvy private investigator who is one part Kinsey Millhone and one part Melanie Smooter (Sweet Home Alabama). I couldn't put it down. Highly recomended.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    L

    Plot spoilers should be banned and fined. Why do they have to ruin books by giving away every detail, then bragging about getting the book for free? Ok. You got the book for free, why ruin it for the rest of us who may eant to buy it. Now we cant buy it because you ruined it. Thanks a lot....insert heavy sarcadm here.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Y'ALL. There's a reason this book won a Daphne -- several reason

    Y'ALL. There's a reason this book won a Daphne -- several reasons, actually. If you like fantastic, funny mysteries with a great cast of very real characters, then hightail it right now to order a copy of LOWCOUNTRY BOIL.

    Liz Talbot is a heroine after my own heart: a smartassed PI who doesn't know how to listen to her well-meaning and over-protective big brother and has a healthy helping of hunky guys hanging around, plus a dog named Rhett, and affinities for the beach and Kenny Chesney. Oh, and a mamma who owns a cast iron skillet, makes mean deviled eggs, and loves Estee Lauder lipstick. Let's just say I identified.

    This one is a keeper. Full of mystery, fun, food, and several twists that I never saw coming, it's the kind of book that compels you to read it in a single sitting. Witness, I am still in my PJs at 2:30 on Saturday afternoon, and that horrific grumbling is my stomach complaining that I've eaten nothing today because I was so engrossed in the goings-on in Stella Maris (which, by the by, I am so sad isn't an actual place, because I want to go there).

    I'm off to make some chicken salad. You should be off to pre-order this book. In the interest of full disclosure, I read a pre-publication advance copy, but was under no obligation to review it or say nice things about it. It is an amazing read, though, and it'll be out in just 10 days, so go reserve yours. You can thank me in 11 days.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Fun, small-town mystery. This female PI is capable and smart--no

    Fun, small-town mystery. This female PI is capable and smart--not just cute and stumbling into clues. Fast paced. Never saw the ending coming.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Good mystery,

    With a touch of paranormal, funny and witty. Could not put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    a fun read

    This is a good cozy mystery and a fun book to read. I will be looking for book # 2.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    If you like your mysteries with a side helping of Southern sass,

    If you like your mysteries with a side helping of Southern sass, Lowcountry Boil by Susan M. Boyer is a fun read!
    Set in the Charleston SC area, this story is like a tall glass of sweet tea on a hot summer day. Smooth and satisfying!
    I liked it so much, I purchased the second in the series before I even finished the first book. 
    Warning, there are a couple 'bad word' moments in this book, so if that upsets your sensibilities, you might wanna think twice,
    but those are random (and necessary to the plot IMO) so it ain't exactly Miss Marple, but it is a very fun read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Not bad for a debut. But lots of inconsistencies and credulity-s

    Not bad for a debut. But lots of inconsistencies and credulity-straining assumptions. Likeable main character and well-drawn setting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Print hard to read - no margins. Story rambles. Didn't even fin

    Print hard to read - no margins. Story rambles. Didn't even finish

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    A Fun read.

    It is a fun read but it wasn't particularly memorable. In fact I'm into another series of books and had to reread the overview to remember the characters and the plot. I enjoyed the story when reading it but it was soon forgotten.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    South Carolina cozy at it's best. Liz Talbot is a modern girl in

    South Carolina cozy at it's best. Liz Talbot is a modern girl in a truly traditional family.  Her grandmother is a southern belle who throws great themed parties.  Her brother is the protective policeman brother.  Her sister has a heart for the underdog and needy kids. Her Dad heads the family , with his sidekick dog.  And her Mom's famous last words are always---"put on a little lipstick before you go out!".  But Liz is a gutsy PI, with her trusty Sig gun at hand, running on the beach, through neighborhoods and climbing trees whenever she wants to see what she wants to see, and refusing to stay "safely at home" when she "needs" to investigate things. 




    Liz has been working away from her hometown, with her partner, Nate, until she hears that her grandmother's death was NOT an accident, but a murder. At the reading of the will, she finds herself the sole owner of her grandmother's home and acres of virgin South Carolina coastal island lands, much to the chagrin of her cousin, who has grand plans for development of those lands. 




    A long dead best friend returns in Liz's life as her 'spirit guide'.  No one else can see or hear Colleen, whose 'job' is to protect the island.  Colleen's sister is in danger too, so Liz finds herself getting into lots of danger, with bad guys, and with avoiding her policeman brother.  Lots of thrills and chills, with fun and sassy heroine!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lowcountry Boil By: Susan M. Boyer Copyrite September 18,2012

    Lowcountry Boil

    By: Susan M. Boyer

    Copyrite September 18,2012

    Publisher: Henerey Press



    Private Investigator Liz Talbot is a modern Southern belle: she blesses hearts and takes names. She carries her Sig 9 in her Kate Spade handbag, and her golden retriever, Rhett, rides shotgun in her hybrid Escape. When her grandmother is murdered, Liz high-tails it back to her South Carolina island home to find the killer. She’s fit to be tied when her police-chief brother shuts her out of the investigation, so she opens her own. Then her long-dead best friend pops in and things really get complicated. When more folks start turning up dead in this small seaside town, Liz must use more than just her wits and charm to keep her family safe, chase down clues from the hereafter, and catch a psychopath before he catches her.



    This is the first book in a new series by Susan M. Boyer… If you’re a fan of Dame Agatha Christie you will love this book. The number of players, suspects, second string players and assorted family members who take part in this performance will boggle your mind.

    Thankfully we the readers are supplied with a list of the cast and their positions. I love the location for this murder, and Liz Talbot our lead heroine is a woman who has faced some real adversity and moved on to create a career for herself that is perfect for what is about to happen.

    Liz is dragged home by the death of her beloved grandmother. Her sister Merci feeds her what turns out to be a totally fabricated scenario which forces Liz (now the owner of her grandmother’s house and land)to take a roll in the management of the town and island. As the bodies start to stack up, Liz has to puzzle it all out, and her help comes from a surprising source.. The spirit of her best friend from childhood.

    If I’ve made you half as dizzy as this book made me, then I’ve done my job. This book is going to keep you up late at night as you turn page after page to reach the surprising conclusion.



    FTC Full Disclosure: I received this book from the publisher who only asked for a fair and impartial review.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Loved This Book

    The reason I chose this book to read is because I like all things about "The Lowcountry". I had never heard of Susan Boyer so I didn't know what to expect. I loved the theme and the plot of this book. The main character Liz Talbot was well developed. It was one of those books that stayed with me well after I had finished it. Can't wait to read the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Fair

    It was a good book. I did not like the end as too many issues left unresolved. It ended to abruptly . I will read the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Quick read -

    Good read, interesting and humorous at the same time. I'm reading her second book in the series now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    A Southern treat

    I love the Low Country and felt the author portrayed it well. I thought it was a well rounded murder mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book. I liked the pairing of romance, come

    I really enjoyed this book. I liked the pairing of romance, comedy, mystery and a little bit of paranormal.  Have also read Lowcountry Bombshell and recommend the series. Looking forward to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. 

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6