Customer Reviews for

Lowcountry Boil: A Liz Talbot Mystery

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing Mystery with Low Country Style

Susan M. Boyer has written a clever mystery with an engaging female detective in Liz Talbot, a true "Steel Magnolia." She carries a Sig 9 and faces danger head on while keeping the gracious manners of a true Southern belle (although her mother has to remind her to wear ...
Susan M. Boyer has written a clever mystery with an engaging female detective in Liz Talbot, a true "Steel Magnolia." She carries a Sig 9 and faces danger head on while keeping the gracious manners of a true Southern belle (although her mother has to remind her to wear lipstick).

I loved the Low Country setting on her fictional but realistic island of Stella Maris, South Carolina. You will hunger for the Southern and Low Country food, yearn for the beautiful beach setting, and bite your nails as you read this fast paced thriller.

LOWCOUNTRY BOIL is beautifully written, has intriguing twists, and is full of interesting Low Country details.

posted by RisWrites on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

L

Plot spoilers should be banned and fined. Why do they have to ruin books by giving away every detail, then bragging about getting the book for free? Ok. You got the book for free, why ruin it for the rest of us who may eant to buy it. Now we cant buy it because you ruin...
Plot spoilers should be banned and fined. Why do they have to ruin books by giving away every detail, then bragging about getting the book for free? Ok. You got the book for free, why ruin it for the rest of us who may eant to buy it. Now we cant buy it because you ruined it. Thanks a lot....insert heavy sarcadm here.

posted by 8888649 on June 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Intriguing Mystery with Low Country Style

    Susan M. Boyer has written a clever mystery with an engaging female detective in Liz Talbot, a true "Steel Magnolia." She carries a Sig 9 and faces danger head on while keeping the gracious manners of a true Southern belle (although her mother has to remind her to wear lipstick).

    I loved the Low Country setting on her fictional but realistic island of Stella Maris, South Carolina. You will hunger for the Southern and Low Country food, yearn for the beautiful beach setting, and bite your nails as you read this fast paced thriller.

    LOWCOUNTRY BOIL is beautifully written, has intriguing twists, and is full of interesting Low Country details.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    A reader's delight. The first line of Lowcountry Boil--The dead

    A reader's delight. The first line of Lowcountry Boil--The dead are patient.--had me hooked from the get-go. Full of unique Southern insights and gracious charm, this book nonetheless packs a wallop you don't want to miss. Protagonist Liz Talbot is part Steffi Plum and part Kinsey Millhone, as quick to say, "Bless your heart." as she is to pull her trusty Sig Sauer 9 or deliver a roundhouse kick to the sternum.

    Susan Boyer's debut novel is full of ingenious plot twists, a cavalcade of unforgettable characters, and a setting so lush you can smell the marsh grass and feel the ocean's breeze. And, oh, before I forget, the story takes place near Charleston, South Carolina, so naturally, there's a ghost.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    Fabulous, Fun Southern Mystery

    This is a very entertaining, upbeat mystery. It has everything a Southern mystery needs--a wonderful lowcountry setting on an island near Charleston, family drama, quirky characters, a ghost, and a sassy, savvy private investigator who is one part Kinsey Millhone and one part Melanie Smooter (Sweet Home Alabama). I couldn't put it down. Highly recomended.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Y'ALL. There's a reason this book won a Daphne -- several reason

    Y'ALL. There's a reason this book won a Daphne -- several reasons, actually. If you like fantastic, funny mysteries with a great cast of very real characters, then hightail it right now to order a copy of LOWCOUNTRY BOIL.

    Liz Talbot is a heroine after my own heart: a smartassed PI who doesn't know how to listen to her well-meaning and over-protective big brother and has a healthy helping of hunky guys hanging around, plus a dog named Rhett, and affinities for the beach and Kenny Chesney. Oh, and a mamma who owns a cast iron skillet, makes mean deviled eggs, and loves Estee Lauder lipstick. Let's just say I identified.

    This one is a keeper. Full of mystery, fun, food, and several twists that I never saw coming, it's the kind of book that compels you to read it in a single sitting. Witness, I am still in my PJs at 2:30 on Saturday afternoon, and that horrific grumbling is my stomach complaining that I've eaten nothing today because I was so engrossed in the goings-on in Stella Maris (which, by the by, I am so sad isn't an actual place, because I want to go there).

    I'm off to make some chicken salad. You should be off to pre-order this book. In the interest of full disclosure, I read a pre-publication advance copy, but was under no obligation to review it or say nice things about it. It is an amazing read, though, and it'll be out in just 10 days, so go reserve yours. You can thank me in 11 days.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Fun, small-town mystery. This female PI is capable and smart--no

    Fun, small-town mystery. This female PI is capable and smart--not just cute and stumbling into clues. Fast paced. Never saw the ending coming.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    a fun read

    This is a good cozy mystery and a fun book to read. I will be looking for book # 2.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    If you like your mysteries with a side helping of Southern sass,

    If you like your mysteries with a side helping of Southern sass, Lowcountry Boil by Susan M. Boyer is a fun read!
    Set in the Charleston SC area, this story is like a tall glass of sweet tea on a hot summer day. Smooth and satisfying!
    I liked it so much, I purchased the second in the series before I even finished the first book. 
    Warning, there are a couple 'bad word' moments in this book, so if that upsets your sensibilities, you might wanna think twice,
    but those are random (and necessary to the plot IMO) so it ain't exactly Miss Marple, but it is a very fun read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Loved This Book

    The reason I chose this book to read is because I like all things about "The Lowcountry". I had never heard of Susan Boyer so I didn't know what to expect. I loved the theme and the plot of this book. The main character Liz Talbot was well developed. It was one of those books that stayed with me well after I had finished it. Can't wait to read the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Quick read -

    Good read, interesting and humorous at the same time. I'm reading her second book in the series now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book. I liked the pairing of romance, come

    I really enjoyed this book. I liked the pairing of romance, comedy, mystery and a little bit of paranormal.  Have also read Lowcountry Bombshell and recommend the series. Looking forward to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. 

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    FANTASTIC READ!!

    I really enjoyed this book. I have also read Lowcountry Bombshell and I am anxiously awaiting Ms. Boyer's third book in this series. You can tell that she is a true South Carolina, southern girl, by her knowledge of the state and the dynamics of a southern family. I, too, am a beach loving girl of the upstate of South Carolina. I enjoy Ms. Boyer's writing style. This book grabbed my attention from the start and held it to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Low Country Boil was a delightful read.  The characters are well

    Low Country Boil was a delightful read.  The characters are well developed and the continuity is well thought out.  It is a clever mystery an I just loved the Ghost, Colleen's entrance and assistance.  There is a segment that was so hilarious with the Dog that I am still laughing now as I think about it.  I do think I am addicted to Susan Boyer's  books from this point on, especially those with Liz Talbot, P.I.  You definitely will not be disappointed in this mystery full of adventure, twists and turnsand sprinkled with laughs.l

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Recommend

    Kept me up reading at night. Good "who did it" book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Tamya culberson

    I really really loved this book! This book is really fun to read! One of the characters i loved was liz i think you can read this book to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Tcjvkbmn.nl

    Nmvmm jhxhdhgjdh

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    A good fast summer at the beach read, loved it...

    A good fast summer at the beach read, loved it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Very enjoyable read! You will be hooked from the beginning.

    I absolutely loved this new author, Susan Boyer. The plot had me hooked from the very beginning, and it was such an enjoyable reading experience. Living in the South, the characters were so real, and the inclusion of the "spirit" was excellent. I have bouth her next book and will continue to buy everyone she writes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Great

    Loved the book. It started a little slow for me. I think the story had to fill in the reader on what was going on with Liz and her family before getting to the suspence and shady things happening in Liz's hometown. It was well worth the wait. I couldn't put the book down. I ordered the second book to read in the Liz Talbot series. The book was great !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    I loved this book! It's a clever mystery with interesting chara

    I loved this book! It's a clever mystery with interesting characters. Liz Talbot is a literary friend I want to see more of. Please make the next book in the series available as a Nook Book. I can't wait to read it and see where the story goes from here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3