Customer Reviews for

Loyalty

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

As the title would suggest, there is extreme loyalty amongst the

As the title would suggest, there is extreme loyalty amongst the members of the Ludlow family. Loyalty to themselves, each other, and most importantly to their father, Carl. But this loyalty goes far beyond the ties of family. Besides being their father, Carl is also th...
As the title would suggest, there is extreme loyalty amongst the members of the Ludlow family. Loyalty to themselves, each other, and most importantly to their father, Carl. But this loyalty goes far beyond the ties of family. Besides being their father, Carl is also their boss. He heads a high-powered law firm where each of his children work. His three sons all partners at the firm, follow a strict diet, religious exercise routine, and do everything in their power to keep their father happy. Fina, the sole surviving daughter of the family, could not be more different. She never did the law school thing, opting instead to apprentice with the firm's private investigator. Now, as the lead investigator for the firm, she brings her irreverent spontaneity to everything she does. To be clear, she still has a strong loyalty to her family, but she definitely has her own unique way of showing it.
The family is rocked when Melanie, the wife of brother Rand Ludlow goes missing. This isn't the first time this has happened. In fact, there has always been tension between Rand, Melanie, and their teenage daughter Haley, but this time things are different. Following an argument with her husband at their daughter's school the day before, she is literally nowhere to be found. Even worse for the family, all evidence points to Rand as being responsible for her disappearance. Rand is no stranger to minor run ins with the law, but he insists that he had nothing to do with this. With the police, who naturally have a frayed relationship with the family of lawyers to begin with, begin investigating Rand, Carl tasks Fina with getting to the bottom of things.
In Fina, author Ingrid Thoft has imagined a fireball of a character who isn't afraid to get her hands dirty to find the truth. As she investigates, she is forced to battle her own emotions and decide whether to place her loyalty in her own sense of moral justice, or in the family that she has devoted her life to. Reminiscent of an early Kay Scarpetta or Stephanie Plum, Fina is the kind of strong, endearing female character that you can't help but root for. In addition to the suspenseful mystery, Thoft involves Fina in an unconventional love triangle that gives us glimpses into her sympathetic if not a little bit twisted psyche. The mystery of itself does become a bit predictable towards the end, but the fun is in witnessing this entertaining character discover the secrets. With Loyalty, her debut novel, Ingrid Thoft has quickly established her place in crime fiction through her strong characters, suspenseful pacing, and charming wit.

posted by ABookAWeekES on June 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I was expecting a little more from this book, it was good but, t

I was expecting a little more from this book, it was good but, took awhile to get through because there was just not one character that I liked much… at all.
Fina is a private investigator in her family’s law firm and she gets a tough case, her sister in law Melanie is ...
I was expecting a little more from this book, it was good but, took awhile to get through because there was just not one character that I liked much… at all.
Fina is a private investigator in her family’s law firm and she gets a tough case, her sister in law Melanie is missing and it’s up to Fina to put the pieces of this puzzle together and find out what happened.
The police are looking at Fina’s brother Rand, Melanie’s husband who is a partner in the firm that their father runs with an iron fist, and he, like all husbands is the obvious suspect.
Fina needs help trying to catch the bad guy so she enlists some from her cop friend with “benefits” and a friend/lover who worry about her, try to get her to eat food as opposed to junk, try to stop her getting in fights with the bad guys and visit her in the hospital when she doesn't listen to them.
Fina must figure out if someone has a grudge against the Ludlow’s or maybe just the husband Rand, does it have something to do with porn? Medical malpractice, money laundering?
Fina’s mother is a mommie dearest, her father is a nasty piece of work as is a couple of her brothers….definitely a dysfunctional family.
for a first book it is good, I will be waiting for the next...

posted by anniemichelle on June 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    As the title would suggest, there is extreme loyalty amongst the

    As the title would suggest, there is extreme loyalty amongst the members of the Ludlow family. Loyalty to themselves, each other, and most importantly to their father, Carl. But this loyalty goes far beyond the ties of family. Besides being their father, Carl is also their boss. He heads a high-powered law firm where each of his children work. His three sons all partners at the firm, follow a strict diet, religious exercise routine, and do everything in their power to keep their father happy. Fina, the sole surviving daughter of the family, could not be more different. She never did the law school thing, opting instead to apprentice with the firm's private investigator. Now, as the lead investigator for the firm, she brings her irreverent spontaneity to everything she does. To be clear, she still has a strong loyalty to her family, but she definitely has her own unique way of showing it.
    The family is rocked when Melanie, the wife of brother Rand Ludlow goes missing. This isn't the first time this has happened. In fact, there has always been tension between Rand, Melanie, and their teenage daughter Haley, but this time things are different. Following an argument with her husband at their daughter's school the day before, she is literally nowhere to be found. Even worse for the family, all evidence points to Rand as being responsible for her disappearance. Rand is no stranger to minor run ins with the law, but he insists that he had nothing to do with this. With the police, who naturally have a frayed relationship with the family of lawyers to begin with, begin investigating Rand, Carl tasks Fina with getting to the bottom of things.
    In Fina, author Ingrid Thoft has imagined a fireball of a character who isn't afraid to get her hands dirty to find the truth. As she investigates, she is forced to battle her own emotions and decide whether to place her loyalty in her own sense of moral justice, or in the family that she has devoted her life to. Reminiscent of an early Kay Scarpetta or Stephanie Plum, Fina is the kind of strong, endearing female character that you can't help but root for. In addition to the suspenseful mystery, Thoft involves Fina in an unconventional love triangle that gives us glimpses into her sympathetic if not a little bit twisted psyche. The mystery of itself does become a bit predictable towards the end, but the fun is in witnessing this entertaining character discover the secrets. With Loyalty, her debut novel, Ingrid Thoft has quickly established her place in crime fiction through her strong characters, suspenseful pacing, and charming wit.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Amazing! It will be hard to wait for another book from this auth

    Amazing! It will be hard to wait for another book from this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Great read!

    This was a great book! The pace was good and I liked the main character. The only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars was the difficulty I had early in the book keeping track of all the characters. I hope there is a sequel as I would definitely read more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was expecting a little more from this book, it was good but, t

    I was expecting a little more from this book, it was good but, took awhile to get through because there was just not one character that I liked much… at all.
    Fina is a private investigator in her family’s law firm and she gets a tough case, her sister in law Melanie is missing and it’s up to Fina to put the pieces of this puzzle together and find out what happened.
    The police are looking at Fina’s brother Rand, Melanie’s husband who is a partner in the firm that their father runs with an iron fist, and he, like all husbands is the obvious suspect.
    Fina needs help trying to catch the bad guy so she enlists some from her cop friend with “benefits” and a friend/lover who worry about her, try to get her to eat food as opposed to junk, try to stop her getting in fights with the bad guys and visit her in the hospital when she doesn't listen to them.
    Fina must figure out if someone has a grudge against the Ludlow’s or maybe just the husband Rand, does it have something to do with porn? Medical malpractice, money laundering?
    Fina’s mother is a mommie dearest, her father is a nasty piece of work as is a couple of her brothers….definitely a dysfunctional family.
    for a first book it is good, I will be waiting for the next...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Terrific debut!

    Terrific debut!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Good first read for this author

    This turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. She really knows how to spin a story. I look forward to reading the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    Great debut of Private Investigator Fina Ludlow. First of all, I

    Great debut of Private Investigator Fina Ludlow. First of all, I loved the character: a tough nonsense PI who is willing to break the rules in order to find the truth of a missing family member. Although the black sheep of the family, she is often relied upon to investigate cases through her demanding father Carl Ludlow. The story is fast paced, had plenty of action and great character interaction. My only complaint is that the very first part of the first chapter reveals too much and it would been better if the author hadn't included it. Otherwise, if you want a strong female PI with enough action and character moments, this is a great book to read. Hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Definitely Promising

    I think this is a very good first effort from a writer with a lot of promise. I'm looking forward to Thoft's writing getting a little tighter, and the need to make Fina a veritable superhero to dial down a little, as she writes more books in this series. I love that Thoft clearly has a feminist analysis and weaves this into the writing as the kind of self-evident philosophy it is. It just always makes for a more interesting and intelligent read. I was a little less enchanted to see the usual 'thin is good; fat is bad' ethos permeate the writing in subtle and not-so-subtle ways, along with the unfortunately all-too-usual vilification of sex-trade workers as either second-class citizens or non-entities. It seemed this author should know better, which made it all the more disappointing. Anyhoo, my criticism aside, it was a decent read and I look forward to more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    I loved this book!  Great characters and story.  Couldn't put it

    I loved this book!  Great characters and story.  Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was an excellent story. I will be looking for another book

    This was an excellent story. I will be looking for another book featuring Fina. She is a great kick butt character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Really great debut novel. Am looking forward to the next one!

    Really great debut novel. Am looking forward to the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In this debut novel, Fina Ludlow is a tough, no nonsense private

    In this debut novel, Fina Ludlow is a tough, no nonsense private investigator for her fathers law firm, Ludlow and Associates. Her brothers also work at the firm and the family bonds are very strong. The story is intriguing and moves at a steady pace. I did find one central theme of the book to be a little to easy to figure out, that of Haley; Fina's niece.
    I would read the next book, if there is one, but I would like a character glossy next time. For some reason, I found it challenging to keep up with the long list of characters in the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5/5 Loyalty is Ingrid Thoft's debut novel. Fina Ludlow live

    3.5/5 Loyalty is Ingrid Thoft's debut novel.

    Fina Ludlow lives and works in Boston for the family firm. Law firm that is. Her father and three brothers are all attorneys but Fina bucked tradition and became the firm's private investigator.

    When Fina's sister-in-law Melanie goes missing, patriarch Carl Ludlow sets Fina on the case. The police department's prime suspect is her brother Rand - Melanie's husband. But there's no way Rand would have killed Melanie. Right? As Fina digs into Melanie's life, someone else is just as determined that she drop the investigation.

    But that's just like a red flag to a bull for our protagonist. Thoft has created a mentally and physical strong, tough, wise-cracking character who seems to thrive on antagonism. But, she has some soft spots underneath that tough exterior. Thoft mixes in healthy doses of family dynamics of all shades - hence the 'loyalty' title.

    Thoft starts things off with a bang, with lots of characters rapidly introduced in the first few chapters. I did find myself backtracking a bit, until I got who was who straightened out. I'm thinking this is the first in a new series, so it seems like Thoft was simply setting the stage.

    Fina is a strong personality. I immediately liked her and appreciated her personality, determination and fearlessness. But by the last third of the book I thought this had been firmly established with the reader and found it a bit tiresome to be reminded of this again and again through comments from supporting characters.

    Loyalty was well plotted, with lots of action, (how many times can Fina get attacked!?) some humour and yet some serious moments as well. The end result can be seen from several chapters away, but that didn't detract from enjoying the journey there.

    I chose to listen to Loyalty. The reader was Rebecca Soler. I must admit, I wasn't sold on her as a narrator at first. Her voice seemed very young - almost teenaged. When I looked up other books she had narrated, I found she has read several young adult titles - it was Cinder I was remembering. But once I started forming a picture of the character, the voice worked. Soler has a very expressive voice and her interpretation of Fina's snappy dialogue was excellent and suited this sassy, shoot from the hip P.I. As I mentioned, there are many players - Soler gave each a distinctive voice and/or accent so I was able to easily know who was talking. (The southern madam was particularly good) She has a clear voice that made it easy to catch every word. (Gentle listeners be warned - there is a fair amount of swearing sprinkled throughout)

    Fina is a great new personality on the female P.I. front - a cross between V.I. Warshawski and Stephanie Plum. I'm sure there will be more cases for this intrepid investigator. This was a great summer read for this listener - many a pint of raspberries was picked during the 12 hours of running time!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    To any SunClan cats

    No! We arent taking any crap from them. Com3 on!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Hawkblood and co.

    Hawk: Waits for any insurgents who want to fight<p><p><p>Ice: Sits next to Hawkblood and scans the clearing with her clear green eyes.<p><p><p>Blue: Waits with them, her neck still hurting from last night.<p><p><p>Sky: Grooms his fur while sitting next to Bluestorm.<p><p><p>Snake: Bats a fireball between his paws.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1