Customer Reviews for

The Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible, NKJV: Inspirational Applications for Living Your Faith

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A terrific addition to our family!

It's a bit difficult to review a Bible. It's just one of those things that is always a personal preference. As soon as I saw this one, though, I knew my son would love it. There are a number of reasons for that. First, We are a KJV family. This version is the NKJV it's ...
It's a bit difficult to review a Bible. It's just one of those things that is always a personal preference. As soon as I saw this one, though, I knew my son would love it. There are a number of reasons for that. First, We are a KJV family. This version is the NKJV it's much easier to understand especially for the kids. Second, the version I got is a hardback - they seem to work best in our family. Third, it's just so easy.

I think the easiest way to explain is this:
Judges 14:1-10 (page 329)
1 Now Samson went down to Timnah, and saw a woman in Timnah of the daughters of the Philistines. 2 So he went up and told his father and mother, saying, "I have seen a woman in Timnah of the daughters of the Philistines; now therefore, get her for me as a wife."
3 Then his father and mother said to him, "Is there no woman among the daughters of your brethren, or among all my people, that you must go and get a wife from the uncircumcised Philistines?"
And Samson said to his father, "Get her for me, for she pleases me well."
4 But his father and mother did not know that it was of the LORD-that He was seeking an occasion to move against the Philistines. For at that time the Philistines had dominion over Israel.
5 So Samson went down to Timnah with his father and mother, and came to the vineyards of Timnah.
Now to his surprise, a young lion came roaring against him. 6 And the Spirit of the LORD came mightily upon him, and he tore the lion apart as one would have torn apart a young goat, though he had nothing in his hand. But he did not tell his father or his mother what he had done.
7 Then he went down and talked with the woman; and she pleased Samson well. 8 After some time, when he returned to get her, he turned aside to see the carcass of the lion. And behold, a swarm of bees and honey were in the carcass of the lion. 9 He took some of it in his hands and went along, eating. When he came to his father and mother, he gave some to them, and they also ate. But he did not tell them that he had taken the honey out of the carcass of the lion.
10 So his father went down to the woman. And Samson gave a feast there, for young men used to do so. 11 And it happened, when they saw him, that they brought thirty companions to be with him.

Do you see how it's in paragraph style? It's written more like today's language. It's much easier to read and to understand.
To top it off - this is in the margin: (FYI - this is incomplete... I can only type so much!)
Life Lessons:
Judges 14:1-20
Situation: The Philistines ruled over Israel. The Israelites cried to God to save them. God provided a leader called Samson.
Observation: God always provides strength to do His will. In Samson's case, God supplied extraordinary physical power.
Inspiration: Small deeds can change the world. Sow the mustard seed. Bury the leaven lump. Make the call. Write the check. Organize the committee. Years from now someone might follow your example...
Moses had a staff.
David had a sling.
Samson had a jawbone.
Rahab had a string.
Mary had some ointment.
Aaron had a rod.
Dorcas had a needle.
All were used by God.
What do you have?
God inhabits the tiny deed. He cures the common life by giving no common life, by offering no common gifts... Don't discount the smallness of your deeds. (From Cure for the Common Life by Max Lucado)

Now, I ask - what Bible could be better for my 13 year old son? It seems geared right at him!

posted by GHott on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

can't access

I can't get this to actually open on my iPad it will crash my nook app every time. I'm disappointed because this bad review has nothing to do with the book but the app doesn't work.

posted by Parakaleo on November 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    A Great Addition to Your Study Library!

    This is not my first study Bible. I have several in my library and I refer to them periodically in the preparation of weekly teaching presentations and sermons. Being very familiar with Max Lucado, I was very interested in reviewing his newest study Bible. Much of this book is a rewrite of his earlier Devotional Bible. In this edition, the devotionals have been given their own pages as opposed to previously these were put into side notes, alongside the Biblical text.
    I was impressed with this Bible. There are copious study notes to help make sense of difficult passages, as well as many devotionals to help guide one's quiet time. The typeface is clean and while small, it is easy to read. I especially appreciated the introductions to each book. These help set the historical context and explain the key themes. This is especially useful with some of the Old Testament books which are not as frequently read by Christians today as their New Testament counterparts.
    The studies for New Believers, a two year devotional reading plan, and a devotional index make this a very nice addition to your study materials.

    I found the application notes in this Bible were presented in typical Lucado style. The life lessons present a practical application of the Biblical principle in our life, and provide the catalyst to foment action in our daily walk.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishing through their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    The Max Lucado Life Lessons NKJV Study Bible is great for this m

    The Max Lucado Life Lessons NKJV Study Bible is great for this momma who is more often serving in Sunday School than sitting through a sermon. It has a definite place in devotional reading and study. This is my first NKJV Bible, which I appreciate, as it is the version my children are memorizing from at AWANA. It is a little easier to read (less Thee/Thy tongue-twisting), while still maintaining the beloved (in my case, at any rate) vocabulary and poetry of the KJV.

    What is unique about this Bible? Clearly, the text remains the same, so the extra features are what sets it apart.

    Each section (Whether one chapter or two... it varies throughout) features "Life Lessons" in the side margins. These "lessons" follow a pattern

    They summarize the Situation in the text.
    Observations give bite-sized nuggets of truth that can be extrapolated from the situation.
    The Inspiration portions are devotional excerpts from Max Lucado writings that are appropriate to the passage. I appreciate the thought-provoking inspiration of Max Lucado.
    Application asks questions that help one to see the relevance of the passage to their life, or gives suggestions on things to DO that relate to internalizing the passage.
    Exploration gives Scripture References for further study~which allows a deeper look than devotional study if so desired.

    Other features include articles scattered throughout that focus on Christ Through the Bible, and New Life in Christ, as well as full-page topical devotionals that could be good for group discussion. A Two Year Reading Plan is included, if you are a check-the-box sort of person. :)

    From a physical/aesthetic standpoint, I prefer this hardcover version as a "Read-at-home" Bible, vs a "Carry-with-me-everywhere" Bible due to its weight and bulk. The typeface is easily readable, with distinct subject headings. The Life Lessons are in a smaller, clean type-face, and there are many "ponderables" (Twitter ready?) that could be overlooked by virtue of their lighter ink, but have the ability to catch your attention, if you are looking, with a larger font size. Here's an example

    "God's love can't be legislated, but it can be chosen. Choose it won't you? For the sake of your heart." - Max Lucado (Come Thirsty)
    This review is of the Hardcover version.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this/these item(s)/service for free as part of the Booksneeze Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Gift Idea

    The Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible, NKJV Inspirational Applications for Living Your Faith by Max Lucado is exactly what the title implies. It is a Study Bible that gives practical advice about life lessons as it relates to scripture through the use of devotionals, which are written in the sidebars. Also, this Bible uses Christ Through the Bible sidebars that go along with the scripture reading for that day.

    What I like about this Study Bible is that it not only gives us side notes about the passage, but it also shares life lessons through devotions. I really like that it gives a brief blurb about each book and who wrote it so that you can have an idea of the historical time line and setting. This Bible uses the NKJV, which is an understandable version, and the hardcover seems very durable. I believe this would make a great gift for those wanting to delve deeper into the Scriptures and learn how they relate to us today. One criticism that I have though is that the typeface seems a little small and very scrunched together. I would still recommend this Bible to others, especially for gifting purposes.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Completely Revised Devotional Bible based on Max Lucado's writings

    I remember I bought my first copy of the Inspirational Study Bible, NKJV with devotional life lessons edited by Max Lucado in the year 1998 (see picture below). It has been 10 years since and the new Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible, NKJV is a completely revised edition (with a different name as well) and for the first time, all the devotional materials in this new edition are excerpted from Max Lucado's entire career of writings -from his first book to his latest release, Outlive Your Life. Comparing the older edition that I had with this latest edition, this new edition follows the same format as the previous one - with each devotional lesson starts with a "Situation", follow by "Observation", then "Inspiration" (which is the excerpted piece of writings from one of Lucado's books), and closes with "Application" and "Exploration". The older edition has a special 48-inserts printed on good quality paper, offering encouraging words from Max on a variety of inspirational topics. This has been expanded and replaced with a series of 48-full page topical studies also scattered throughout the entire text. The dictionary/concordance section from the older version has been replaced with a section of devotional index on selected life application topics (each topic is supplied with selected relevant verses with suggestions to read the related passages in the text). The 100 of the most inspiring passages of the Bible in the older version has been replaced with two new sections "He Did This Just For You" verses and "Spiritual Growth" verses (new selections of bible verses). I still prefer the older version in terms of the quality of printing paper (better paper quality in the older version) and I like the 100 bible passages personally selected by Max Lucado in the older version. Nonetheless, the new version has a cool section of 30 Studies for New Believers. I find this section to be an excellent section even for not-so-new believers. Finally, as with the previous editions, I personally think that this NKJV bible should be more aptly called the Lucado Life Lessons Devotional Bible rather than Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible, as there is really not much of exegetical materials or hermeneutics of the scripture that warrant it to be a study bible. Neither is this bible contains any maps or related materials. Even the dictionary/concordance section has been taken out. The only consolation would probably be the additional capsule outlining the main messages of each books of the Bible in the Introduction page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1