Customer Reviews for

Lucas

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lucas<333333

This is by far my all time favorite book. It's so descriptive and it just pulls you right in. I actually started crying when I finished it. So go read it!

posted by NatKoala on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unique

Kevin Brooks did an excellent job. Some of his discriptions are so poetic. I thought the story line was a bit unusual, though it did flow well. I found myself captivated at how mature Caitlin was for her age. I was baffled at the way that the town reacted to Lucas after...
Kevin Brooks did an excellent job. Some of his discriptions are so poetic. I thought the story line was a bit unusual, though it did flow well. I found myself captivated at how mature Caitlin was for her age. I was baffled at the way that the town reacted to Lucas after the festival.The only problem with this book, is that it's hard to believe. I find it impossible to believe that one town could be so unbelievably gullible and impulsive.This truely is a remarkable tale of love and hate.

posted by Anonymous on April 1, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    Brilliant.

    From the moment I picked it up, I could not put this book down. This book has become one of my favorite books, and I plan on reading it over and over. Lucas is an awesome book by a fantastic author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    It's every girl's book

    This book is a page turner and you will fall in love with Lucas guaranteed. There's love and hate, sex and drugs, fights and problems, basically what teenagers like to read about. I recommend this book to all the young adults out there because this book should not be passed up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    love & teenage problems

    this book is about a girl cati, who hangs out with some bad kids because of her best friend bill wants to be cool, her hanging out with bill and angell got her in big trouble they tried to get her to smoke weed and drink alcohol she winded up drinking because it wasnt like she hasnt done it before, she just didnt wanna do it with them. she stoped hanging out with those bad influences and started hanging out on the beach with her dog. one day she saw a strange boy she has never seen before, (while she was on the way back home from picking up her brother, with her dad)they called this boy a gypsie. she couldnt keep her eyes off him. one day when she was on the beach thinking about this strange boy she was almost raped by an old friends boyfriend, but she got away. another time when she was on the beach she meet the boy his name was lucas....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    A mysterious boy and girl against the village.

    Cait had a normal life¿..well, almost normal. Her dad wrote stories, her brother was at a University, and her mom was dead. As she rode in the car with her dad on the island, she saw a mysterious boy who was about 16 or 17 years old on the beach. She had never seen him before. Everything around her seemed serene once she laid eyes on him. Then she blinked, and he was gone. She was somewhat shaken and baffled. The next couple of days went by in a blur. She went to the beach with her dog Deefer and saw the boy again. This time she decided to talk to him. She chased after him and started up a conversation with him. She found out that his name was Lucas he lived by himself, and drifted from place to place. There was something mystifying about his deep blue eyes. Cait decided that she wanted to see him again and asked him to the festival. Lucas showed up and watched to raft races with her. A nine- year- old girl fell off the raft and no one noticed but Lucas and Cait. As quick as lightening, Lucas dove in after the girl and saved her. The girl¿s mother approached him as he fixed her bathing suit because it fell down, and she was spitting up water. She thought he was molesting her and called him a pervert, and notified the police right away. The mother told everyone in the village what happened, and now the whole village was against him. Everyone but Cait. Then when something drastic and horrible happens to an older girl, the village thinks it is Lucas. Did he do it or did someone set him up? Will the village kill Lucas for something that he might not have done? I thought this was a very exciting and mysterious book. I liked the way the author described how Cait felt in a depth that most writers don¿t bother to do. I didn¿t like how the book started off though. It was really slow, but after Chapter 3 it really picked up and made it hard to put down. I think mostly girls would like this book because it¿s told in a girl¿s point of view. It is truly an interesting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Captivating!

    I thought this was a very well written book, goes in deep with thoughts and I just loved the story line. A must read book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    I've read better

    I thought this book was good. I found myself feeling the emotions of the main character. I plan on returning this book because I won't be re reading it over 20 times, like I have with another book(s). Maybe I didn't enjoy this book as much as I could have because I had just finished my favorite books ever. [And the best in my opinion] Either way good but not too too good. I dont particularly reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    Absolutely Loved it!

    I have already read this book 3 times and I plan on reading it plenty more times. I thought this book was outstanding! It officially is one of my favorite books! Not to mention Kevin Brooks is an amazing author! I found myself wishing I could actually know the characters. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Very Good!!!

    I loved this book, very good plot and setting, I felt like I was there!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    AMAZING!

    This is one of my favorite books I think i have ever read. It's amazing, infact, it made me cry very hard. This book got me thinking and I couldn't put it down, not even for a second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    Best ever!

    i can't even put into words what i feel about this book. It's character's were so real. I found myself angry and hating stupid Jamie! And frustrated with Dominic. And i just loved Lucas! I actually cried for days when i had finished it...no not cried sobbed. There is just something different about this story, about the book, how it's written and everything. I can't describe it. And i almost wish i hadn't read it, because now i find myself disappointed with other books i read. Like i have higher expectations now since reading Lucas and all. And it's the kind of book i could read over and over. Only i haven't done that yet because it was just so sad i'm not quite ready to face it. I know i'm a freak, but the point is awesome book, best ever! Oh yeah, and i loved Deefer the most! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    Extreme to the extreme :p

    This book is Amazing!!! i could read it over and over. It is just that good. I actually havent read it in a while, but i remember reading the back and some review said something to the effect of, 'It'll change how u think' and im pretty sure it did. Great writer, great publisher. Push rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    The BOOK

    this is an very interesting book. Some people will not get it if they don't experince these kind of feelings. Its got a lot. Its not like any other books i've read. its got something special. Brooks has captured every feeling. he did an amazing job. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2006

    Beautifully heartbreaking

    This book is outstanding! Kevin Brooks has done such an amazing job in creating a reailistic story, that you sometimes forget that this book is a work of fiction. This story pretty much deals with every emotion known to man: love, happiness, fear, anger, hate, and in reading this beautifully heartbreaking story you get to live them all. With such a captivating plotline and characters that seem to come alive, even someone who dosen't usually like teen books (such as myself) can't help but enjoy it. The detail of the narrative was also amazing. Lucas is not just another teen novel. It has a true-to-life moral that shows what lousy beings that humans can become. It is a very good book, but I don't think that anyone under 12 should read it because of the content. But still highly reccommended in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    An absorbing and interesting story

    This book actually used phrases that could suck you in to the world that they lived. I am very interested in the small house that Lucas built after reading the descriptions in the book. The emotions are there, and it's as though the image is being played in my mind. When Lucas died, I was feeling very emotional that I could not accept the fact, that as though he's really alive. This is how the story affects me, in a good way though!!!! I felt that not only I read a good book, I also watched a great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Deep Empathy

    Lucas, written by Kevin Brooks, is by far the most extraordinary and empathetic story I have ever had the privledge to read. The moment I picked it up I couldn¿t put it down, and although it is written in the first-person viewpoint- which is usually too easy to write in and simple to destroy- it is so beautiful. There are two main characters, or at least, in my eyes there are: Lucas, the beautiful traveling drifter who is a mystery to all and loved by Cait who is confused about the world, herself, and the people she used to know and love. Both Lucas and Cait share an undying love for Nature and Cait starts believing in things that she never did before she met him¿ Longing, love, lust, hate, cruelty, bravery, suspense, violence, instinct¿ it¿s all here, wound into this simple book with so many meanings hidden deep within these detailed pages. I haven¿t read any other books written by Kevin Brooks, but I¿m sure ready to now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    excellent

    'Lucas' is perhaps one of the best books I have ever read. I really wasn't looking for any particular book but I had to read it once I looked at the cover and saw how entrancing the blue eye was. This book deals with so many things that I believe anyone of any age will respect it. I read it twice in one week and I am going to buy my own copy this coming weekend. It is definitrly a tear jerker, and the end keeps your finger under the corner of the page so you can continue reading as quickly as possible. I would definitely reccomend this book for anyone who knows how to read! However, because of controversial issues, it might be best for the readers to stay above 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    Another Classic

    This is my second book by Kevin Brooks, and I am just as thrilled. This book shows such a dark side, as do his other books. It shows the side of life that is hidden in our minds afraid to be awaken. It shows heartache, heartbreak, friendship, devotion, and about all love. A love that can only be understood to a few but those few are the people it matters most to. This is not at all 'just another teen novel', this is a true classic and I'm excited to say that Kevin brooks came out with another book in February that I am on my way to purchase!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    Shocking.

    Extremely well written. That's all I have to say, it was an absolute knock out. I'm not really into teenage books and all, but after reading Candy, I knew I had to read more by Kevin Brooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Loved it!

    This book was sooo unbelievably awesome. Probably my fav book! He described the scenary soo well. I just was rooting for Lucas the whole time! I can honestly say I cried at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    Lucas..:

    I read this book as a school project. I read really fast, ( i read all the harry potter books in a week) and felt it was long enough. At first, I was a little confused with caitlyn. And, a little confused with how her dad let dominic smoke in the car, while he's a minor. But Caitlyn felt things differently then other people, and I felt it was good. I mean, even if you don't get it, a typical teen would still like it b/c of all the 'dirty things' in it. But, if you look past it, it really is a typical family. A normal, avereage, every-day family. Some people might find it sad, or disgusting, but they deal with it. Give them credit. Life is really like this, if you know where to look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6