BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lucas (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lucas<333333

This is by far my all time favorite book. It's so descriptive and it just pulls you right in. I actually started crying when I finished it. So go read it!

posted by NatKoala on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unique

Kevin Brooks did an excellent job. Some of his discriptions are so poetic. I thought the story line was a bit unusual, though it did flow well. I found myself captivated at how mature Caitlin was for her age. I was baffled at the way that the town reacted to Lucas after...
Kevin Brooks did an excellent job. Some of his discriptions are so poetic. I thought the story line was a bit unusual, though it did flow well. I found myself captivated at how mature Caitlin was for her age. I was baffled at the way that the town reacted to Lucas after the festival.The only problem with this book, is that it's hard to believe. I find it impossible to believe that one town could be so unbelievably gullible and impulsive.This truely is a remarkable tale of love and hate.

posted by Anonymous on April 1, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lucas<333333

    This is by far my all time favorite book. It's so descriptive and it just pulls you right in. I actually started crying when I finished it. So go read it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lucas

    From the moment Caitlin first sees Lucas, she knows everything is going to change. Caitlin is 15 years own and lives on a small island town in England. Her widowed father is a writer and a bit of a drunk, her older brother is turning into someone she doesn't recognize, and even her best friend is pressuring her to grow up. But Cailtin is still trying to figure out who she is, made all the more confusing with the appearance of Lucas. Lucas is homeless, a mysterious "gypsy", that has wandered into town, and people aren't too pleased about it, especially Jamie, the island's golden boy. Lucas is being accused of theft, molestation, and even murder, and Caitlin is the only one who believes in his innocence.

    This book was intensely frustrating. I got the same feeling in my stomach as I did in To Kill a Mockingbird. The feeling of unjust accusations, and the hopelessness of not being able to protect the innocent. I wanted to waltz right into the book and speak for the characters, in a vain attempt to get them to see what was right in front of them.

    Caitlin's confusion about growing up was in every paragraph. Elipses, questions, and fragmented sentences decorated her musings. And I understand Cailtin's attraction to Lucas. He was a very appealing character. Not only physically attractive, he was mysterious, suave and mature, with showing only the faintest bit of vulnerability. I also liked that what passed between them wasn't exactly a romance, but something more like an intense understanding. I even hesitate to call them friends. All the characters managed to evoke some sort of feeling from me. Even the vividly described island seemed like a character in itself.

    I don't know how I feel about the ending. It needed to end somehow, but none of the things I could think of seemed right, even the actual conclusion.

    This was a powerful book filled with strong writing and powerful themes. I read another book by Kevin Brooks, Candy, and felt similarly about it. Kevin Brooks is just a damn good author, one I wish had more recognition.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I hated it

    i absolutely hated this book. it was good in the beginning, but when lucas was being questioned about the girls and everything, i hated it. and then how he just goes and steps into the tar pits, and kills himself. he was too afraid of conflict, and so killed himself even though he was innocent.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was good.

    This was a good book. I just had a hard time getting into it and understanding the story. I did not like the ending either, didn't explain much. It kept you guessing, "What exactly happened?" Overall, I enjoyed it. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Hearbreaking, Haunting, Memorable.

    This is indeed one of the most memorable novels i have ever read. The characters are so realistic and so well developed, The novel is so well written giving the readers an overwelming emotional ride. If you are searching for an exeptional novel, look no further. Lucas is haunting, hearbreaking, memorable and overwhelming. I must say that it did bring tears to my eyes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    Unique

    Kevin Brooks did an excellent job. Some of his discriptions are so poetic. I thought the story line was a bit unusual, though it did flow well. I found myself captivated at how mature Caitlin was for her age. I was baffled at the way that the town reacted to Lucas after the festival.The only problem with this book, is that it's hard to believe. I find it impossible to believe that one town could be so unbelievably gullible and impulsive.This truely is a remarkable tale of love and hate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    I read this book in middle school (I'm 17 and a freshman at Uni

    I read this book in middle school (I'm 17 and a freshman at Uni now) and I cried. I cried, went back to read the ending over, and cried some more. I hate this book but I love it so much at the same time. I found myself wishing that Lucas was a real person, or that he didn't die in the book. Still one of my favorite books :)
    - Kettie Desvallons (xmusicloverr)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Lucas by Kevin Brooks

    i loved this book,it is a very real and emotional story that people can relate to.the storyline keeps you drawn in and entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lucas Was an AMAZING experience.

    Lucas by Kevin Brooks was a very good read. Though, I imagine, being a male writing from a teen girls perspective must have been some difficult but the book was amazing. Well thought out and organized. It was an amazing experience reading this book, you (I felt) feel every emotion Cait felt, which is a good thing! I even got terry eyed towards the end, but I won't spoil it for others. If you enjoy a unforgettable, emotional, edgy, read over and over and over, realistic, thrilling, romantic and edge of the seat sitting book, this is the PERFECT book for you.

    It's a 400-something page book and I stayed up from around 5pm until midnight reading this book! Could not put it down!


    Reading this book got me very into Kevin Brooks Brooks and he is know my favorite author. I would recommend this book (or any other book for that matter,) by him to anyone.

    All my friends love this book as well! Great for reading groups/clubs!

    '(Don't feel like checking my grammar....)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    I LOVED this book!

    I loved this book to be honest, I'm 17 and reading this book was the best time of my life. It's a COULD NOT STOP reading book. The only thing I did not like about it was it told too much of what's in cait's mind. Plus, I would also assume that it would be hard writing from a females point of view when you are a male author, but on the contrary I did enjoy this book, and I even teared up alittle at the ending. I dont want to ruin anything for other teens who are reading the review, but if you kinda like teen romance, finding yourself, and sort of not really action persay but kinda edgy. I would recomend this to pretty much anyone, I have even recomonded it to my friends :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    Intense.

    Lucas is probably one of the best book's I've ever read. <BR/>I would highlyy recommend it for almost anyone.<BR/>It's intense.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    Amazing!

    This book is amazing, I connected with it on so many levels. Very good in many ways!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    Amazing

    This is my favorite book of all time. It's the kind of book I could read 5 times and never get tired of. I loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Lucas.

    Caitlin McCann is a teenage girl that doesn¿t exactly fit in with the rest of the kids around her age on her island home. She prefers walking along the beach and the quiet to smoking and parties. Her island is small the type of place where everyone knows everything about everybody. And when Lucas, a nomad, comes to stay, the island is in an uproar. It all starts when he saves a small girl from drowning, and is accused of rape because of it. He takes refuge at the Stand, a place where people don¿t go, for fear of the mudflats ¿ or a plain of mud, with sort of ¿stepping stones¿ leading across it. But if you make a mistake and step off the path, you¿re dead. Cait takes a liking to him, and is the only one that believes ¿ and knows ¿ that he is innocent. Eventually a small rumor and accusation become dangerous, and Lucas¿s life is threatened if he doesn¿t leave the island. The most used literary device in this book is imagery. Kevin Brook¿s writing style is absolutely overflowing with imagery. He¿s one of the only writers I¿ve read that can pull off the whole one-word-sentence thing and have it pack so much of a punch. His writing style is quick and colourful, describing every little detail with just a word. I believe the best parts in this book are when Cait & Lucas are alone. Not because of anything dirty ¿ but because they¿re both such complex characters. When they¿re together, they just talk about simple things. It¿s kind of like, when they¿re together, they have their own world, their own language. Only they understand eachother. The worst part of the book was when Simon came over to Cait¿s house and he was trying to be nice to her, because he¿s obviously into her, and she¿s the ¿Girl from Hell.¿ Simon is very nice, and the meaner Cait is to him, the nicer he is. I just have a giant weakness for stuff like that, and it made me really feel bad for Simon to read it. Cait was only harsh to him because she was angry with Lucas and she was taking it out on Simon. I just feel like every time I read it, it¿s going to change, and Cait will be nice to Simon, but she never is. I¿m just too tenderhearted for things like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    lucas

    This book is by far the best book i have ever read. At first i didn't think it was going to be good, but Brooks pulled it off. I read it within 3 days. I couldn't put it down. i loved it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Lucas

    This book is one of the best books i've ever read!!!! i love it and couldnt seem to put it down. Kevin Brooks puts a lot of hard work and thought into his books. I've never read anything with so much detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is another one of my favorite books from Kevin Brooks! I loved Lucas!! and the whole story was wonderful! I couldn't put it down, I really recommend it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    amazing

    i really cant put into words how i feel about this book. it took me maybe 2 days to read. it's by far the best book i have read. i have read it now 3 times. its amazing. a must read. you totally fall in love with lucas..hopeing that one day you will meet someone as amzing has he is. everyone should read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    Unforgettable

    Wow. Just wow. I've wanted to read this book for over two months now and I finally found it in my school library last week. I just finished it and I'm still shaken. I'm sure I'll stay a bit shaken for at least a while longer, just as I did after reading Candy (also by Kevin Brooks). The characters were amazing, especially (of course) Lucas. I laughed, I cried, I cursed, I practically shook with anger. Now that I'm done with the story, I feel like Caitlin. I feel like I'm grieving. This book will stay with me for a long time. Kevin Brooks has an amazing way of making his stories unforgettable. If you like books that are gripping, deep, and, at times, lighthearted, pick this one up!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    Emotional

    This book was amazing. The whole issue with Cait trying to deal with the people around her and find who she is really touches me. Lucas's character blows me away. To a certain extent he's how everyone should be. I mean it takes someone so unique and wonderful like him to take Cait away from her thoughts and worries. I can honestly relate to Cait. Through this book, I realized I'm alot like her. I never thought a book could make a differentce in me like this one has. The ending almost brought me to tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6