Customer Reviews for

Lucas

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lucas<333333

This is by far my all time favorite book. It's so descriptive and it just pulls you right in. I actually started crying when I finished it. So go read it!

posted by NatKoala on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I hated it

i absolutely hated this book. it was good in the beginning, but when lucas was being questioned about the girls and everything, i hated it. and then how he just goes and steps into the tar pits, and kills himself. he was too afraid of conflict, and so killed himself eve...
i absolutely hated this book. it was good in the beginning, but when lucas was being questioned about the girls and everything, i hated it. and then how he just goes and steps into the tar pits, and kills himself. he was too afraid of conflict, and so killed himself even though he was innocent.

posted by book-lover-tls on August 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Very Good!!!

    I loved this book, very good plot and setting, I felt like I was there!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    AMAZING!

    This is one of my favorite books I think i have ever read. It's amazing, infact, it made me cry very hard. This book got me thinking and I couldn't put it down, not even for a second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    Best ever!

    i can't even put into words what i feel about this book. It's character's were so real. I found myself angry and hating stupid Jamie! And frustrated with Dominic. And i just loved Lucas! I actually cried for days when i had finished it...no not cried sobbed. There is just something different about this story, about the book, how it's written and everything. I can't describe it. And i almost wish i hadn't read it, because now i find myself disappointed with other books i read. Like i have higher expectations now since reading Lucas and all. And it's the kind of book i could read over and over. Only i haven't done that yet because it was just so sad i'm not quite ready to face it. I know i'm a freak, but the point is awesome book, best ever! Oh yeah, and i loved Deefer the most! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    Extreme to the extreme :p

    This book is Amazing!!! i could read it over and over. It is just that good. I actually havent read it in a while, but i remember reading the back and some review said something to the effect of, 'It'll change how u think' and im pretty sure it did. Great writer, great publisher. Push rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    The BOOK

    this is an very interesting book. Some people will not get it if they don't experince these kind of feelings. Its got a lot. Its not like any other books i've read. its got something special. Brooks has captured every feeling. he did an amazing job. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2006

    Beautifully heartbreaking

    This book is outstanding! Kevin Brooks has done such an amazing job in creating a reailistic story, that you sometimes forget that this book is a work of fiction. This story pretty much deals with every emotion known to man: love, happiness, fear, anger, hate, and in reading this beautifully heartbreaking story you get to live them all. With such a captivating plotline and characters that seem to come alive, even someone who dosen't usually like teen books (such as myself) can't help but enjoy it. The detail of the narrative was also amazing. Lucas is not just another teen novel. It has a true-to-life moral that shows what lousy beings that humans can become. It is a very good book, but I don't think that anyone under 12 should read it because of the content. But still highly reccommended in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    An absorbing and interesting story

    This book actually used phrases that could suck you in to the world that they lived. I am very interested in the small house that Lucas built after reading the descriptions in the book. The emotions are there, and it's as though the image is being played in my mind. When Lucas died, I was feeling very emotional that I could not accept the fact, that as though he's really alive. This is how the story affects me, in a good way though!!!! I felt that not only I read a good book, I also watched a great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    excellent

    'Lucas' is perhaps one of the best books I have ever read. I really wasn't looking for any particular book but I had to read it once I looked at the cover and saw how entrancing the blue eye was. This book deals with so many things that I believe anyone of any age will respect it. I read it twice in one week and I am going to buy my own copy this coming weekend. It is definitrly a tear jerker, and the end keeps your finger under the corner of the page so you can continue reading as quickly as possible. I would definitely reccomend this book for anyone who knows how to read! However, because of controversial issues, it might be best for the readers to stay above 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    Another Classic

    This is my second book by Kevin Brooks, and I am just as thrilled. This book shows such a dark side, as do his other books. It shows the side of life that is hidden in our minds afraid to be awaken. It shows heartache, heartbreak, friendship, devotion, and about all love. A love that can only be understood to a few but those few are the people it matters most to. This is not at all 'just another teen novel', this is a true classic and I'm excited to say that Kevin brooks came out with another book in February that I am on my way to purchase!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Loved it!

    This book was sooo unbelievably awesome. Probably my fav book! He described the scenary soo well. I just was rooting for Lucas the whole time! I can honestly say I cried at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    OMG!

    i loved this book!!! it has to be one of the best i've ever read. it was beautifuly written and it even got me to cry at the end. this is a MUST READ book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2005

    Must Read

    I loved every page! If you love realastic and discripting novels, this is for you! Now I am a Big Fan on PUSH and the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    profound book

    This was among the best books ive read so far this school year. its got so much feeling. it will make you think :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    Beautiful

    It was such a great read! I highly reccomend this to anyone who loves to read. Cait and Lucas' relationship is touching and heartfelt. Love and admiration for eachother is present even though there isnt a romantic involvement between the pair. This book had me in tears and shock the whole book but after i'd read it i had a renewed sense of hope for myself and society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Yeah!!!

    I loved it, thats why I'm Yeahing!!! I recomend this for older readers, or just more mature. People might get some wierd ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    THIS STORY IS DEEP

    I just finished the book and I'm on the verge of tears. This book spoke to me. It had so much suspense! And when he... he... I was about to cry a river

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    love and hate.

    The novel was incredible in the way it was written and how the characters were portrayed. I was drawn to Lucas, just as Cait was and I couldn't wait until his next part in the novel. I was shocked with the ending and i cried the whole way through. I am one to get into books and feel what the characters feel and this book really did it for me. I couldn't put it down, not even after the last sentence on the last page had come to a close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    Awesome So Far!!!

    I'm not finished reading it just yet, but so far it is amazing!!! It really captures my attention and makes me not want to put it down!!! I have read other books by Kevin Brooks and they have also been really amazing and touching!!! Lucas is a very well written book and anyone who is looking for a book that makes you happy, sad, mad, etc. you should read Lucas!!! I think it is really easy to relate to the majority of the characters in this book; it is so realistic! I can't wait until I finish it!...I'm almost there though!!! You should read it too!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    great book

    i just finished reading this book. i read it in like a week cause it was so good and i couldnt put it down i was so scared. i recomend this to any teen who loves suspence. this has got to be own of the best books ive read in a long time. i loved this book so much im going out this week to buy Candy by Kevin Brooks.^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    Soooo good.

    Kevin Brooks' books tend to be mostly the same. This book was so touching and byt the time I finished reading it, I began to question myself and admire Lucas. I cried throughout the whole last chapter. I could NOT put the book down. It was one of those books that are high on my list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5