Customer Reviews for

Lucia, Lucia

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    What a dreamy read

    This book took me back to my childhood in the 50's living in the same house with my darling aunts and grandparents. Oh for those wonderful times. This is a great summer read and I am sorry I finished it so fast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    EXCELLENT

    This has been the BEST (Italian) fiction I have read in a long time. Anyone who grows up in an italian household can definite relate to Lucia.. Great Book..I couldn't put it down...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    Great book

    Enjoyed this book so much. Now I am looking for more by this arthur

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    We've come a long way, baby! A good read as a reminder of where

    We've come a long way, baby! A good read as a reminder of where women were post WWII, with expectations of growing up to marry, have children, and to take care of the home and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    This is now one of my favorite books, ever. I loved the time per

    This is now one of my favorite books, ever. I loved the time period, and the attention to fashion, both home and clothing. I loved Lucia, and her family. The story was captivating. I could visualize all the scenes and feel the emotions. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    Wonderful story that I like to read again and again. You do not

    Wonderful story that I like to read again and again. You do not want to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I try really hard to finish a book when I start, even one I'm no

    I try really hard to finish a book when I start, even one I'm not particularly in love with. I got to page 97 and had no choice but to quit. For me, the story seems like a hodgepodge compilation of descriptive events. None of it seems to tie together in anyway; it great to write in detail, but listing an entire recipe, unless it has something to do with the plot, is just unnecessary. I lost interest in what may/or may not have happened with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    I have just started reading Adriana Trigiani's books. I am enjoying Lucia, Lucia immensely since I can relate to her descriptions of a typical Italian family being full-blooded Italian myself. Although I grew up in the 1960's, I can relate to the culture and the relationship with Lucia's family since I too am the only daughter with older brothers.
    I recommend this book and other Adriana Trigiani books to everyone, especially Italians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    The Granby Library Girl's Night Out Book Group had much discussi

    The Granby Library Girl's Night Out Book Group had much discussion about "Lucia, Lucia. We felt that  Adriana Trigiani wove a brilliant story, with well developed characters. While some members found the first few chapters slow, the book quickly picks up. 
    Lucia had a true sense of family, was a career woman and stood out in her time - the 1950s. Endearing story! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Misque's rate&review*****

    MISQUE here again.
    A "must read" that will give immense enjoyment & a feeling of contentment.
    Misque- A list celebrity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    This book is wonderful! It is very well-written. Every time I pi

    This book is wonderful! It is very well-written. Every time I picked this book up, I felt like I was transported right into 1950's Greenwich Village. Being an Italian myself, I really related to the story with all of its references to various Italian customs. This book made me smile, laugh, and cry. Definitely worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended - Must Read

    Loved it. I was hooked by page 2 and could not put it down. This author brings the characters to life in such a way that you become very interested in them and feel part of the family. It contains happy and sad moments - like true life. I have read many of this authors books and look forward to future releases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    I LOVED this story! The book starts out in the present, with an

    I LOVED this story! The book starts out in the present, with an older woman inviting a younger woman into her apartment for tea and to give her some items from the older woman's past. In showing Kit the items, Lucia tells Kit about her past, where at that point, the book begins a present text. Lucia is a seamstress in B. Altman's custom clothing department. She loves her job and has no desire to be a homemaker. A curse was put on her as a child but curses can be real only if you believe the are. The story develops over the course of a year or two and a lot of life changing events happen during this time. The book then reverts to the present with Kit and Lucia finishing up their tea and putting closure on some issues from Lucia's past. It is endearing, heartwarming and moral. This book describes a time long gone with couture, manners and formality. It was a book that was hard to put down and I recommend strongly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Absolutely wonderful.....loved it !! Being from Italian descent and growing up in New Jersey, I could relate to the author! my Aunt's also enjoyed it! hard to put down....exciting, unexpected events. many familiar places from my past....hughly recommend the book and the author.....if you like this read The Shoemaker's Wife she also wrote!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of those few books that certainly excite various emotions ou

    One of those few books that certainly excite various emotions out of you. Full of humor, sadness, and romance, it'll have you at the first chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Excellent book!

    Excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    I Love Andriana Trigiani novels! This was the one that made me f

    I Love Andriana Trigiani novels! This was the one that made me fall in love with her writing. Lucia, Lucia is beautifully set in 1950's NYC Trigiani describes every color, every fabric, the family - all the details so colorfully that you can truly "see" her world. I have read the Big Stone Gap series; and her Italian family sagas such as: Roccoco which is sooo funny (she writes for a male character!); Very Valentine, Brava Valentine. In all her books, the language - vividly real, the emotions - so believable and the drama - so engaging transports you into the story. I just LOVE her work! Do your self a favor and read Adriana Trigiani! You will be happy you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Interesting enough

    Chosen as a book club read, I found it fast and entertaining but so predictable so I would not say a must read but rather enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Gra Great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Read

    My book club read this over the summer and really enjoyed it. A good story can make you think about how you may be underestimating your own little corner of the world. When I see a little old white haired lady, I wonder about the challenges, heartaches, loves, and losses in her life. Who knows, maybe there is a Lucia standing in front of me at the grocery?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6