Customer Reviews for

Lucid (Brightest Kind of Darkness, Book 2)

Average Rating 5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    More danger... loved this sequel!

    Lucid completely upped the thrills and dangers. It was thrilling around every turn and I was hanging on to every word! I absolutely loved Brightest Kind Of Darkness, and Lucid took us even more into Nara and Ethan's world and I absolutely loved it.

    Lucid starts off where we left off in Brightest Kind Of Darkness. Ethan has gone off to smooth things over with his parents and figure out more about himself. All the while, Nara is still home and trying to sift through her own powers and her connection to Ethan. As Nara searches more about herself and Ethan, violent things start to happen to her. Thank goodness for new friend Drystan, and her old friends who are there to help her. But, when things take a dramatic turn, Nara will have to use all her strength and Ethan's to finally figure out mystery around her mysterious power.

    I have to admit, I really missed Ethan in this installment. I totally fell in love with him in Brightest Kind Of Darkness. Let me just say though, when he finally "shows up" in Lucid... he really shows up with a bang and I cannot WAIT to find out more in the third book. In his place (well sort-of) we get a new hot fella, Drystan. First off, completely smoking hot name. Second... accent! Oh yeah this boy has the looks, the accent, fighter skills, and honestly he is so protective and a sweetheart. I really started to fall for Drystan as we got to know him more. I loved how he was there for Nara when Ethan wasn't. BUT I am still an Ethan girl! Another character who is back and always there for Nara is her best friend Lainey... and oh gods I love her! She is funny and protective, and totally all you could want in a best friend.

    Also... shout out to Patch! I freaking love that bird.

    Lucid took Nara's journey through a whole new bunch of twists and turns I wasn't really anticipating. She kept so much strength through out this book. Her strength while Ethan is away, her strength with her friends, her strength with her family, her strength through the dramatic events... I was very impressed. With how Lucid ended, I am SO excited for book three. I cannot wait to see where everything goes. And, I adore how P.T. upped the thrills and intense moments. This series just keeps getting better and better and I need book three!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    It’s series like Brightest Kind of Darkness that make bein

    It’s series like Brightest Kind of Darkness that make being a book blogger all the more worth it. The blogging community is a wonderful thing to be apart of for many reasons. One of the best parts is being able to discover amazing books that chances are you wouldn’t have ever heard of or seen. I loved BKoD (book #1) with every fiber of my being. In my review I talked about the dark and immensely creative world Ms. Michelle created containing a wide spectrum of fun and relatable characters. The danger was scary and real along with the romance that builds between Ethan and Nara. Although I found Lucid a sliver less enjoyable as BKod, I still highly enjoyed it giving it 4.5 stakes.

    Let’s talk about the plot in Lucid. After book one’s ending we learned that the dark and ominous entity that targeted Nara was Fate itself. Pretty much Fate was ticked off because Nara has the ability to dream her whole day and in doing so has the ability to change the outcome. In BKoD Nara took it upon herself to stop a bomb from going off in her school by knowing ahead of time via dream that it was planted in a locker. This series is very “Final Destination-y” with Fate wreaking vengeance over the loss of pre-calculated deaths. After the showdown in BKoD you’d think Nara would be warranted a period of rest. Nope. Someone’s out to get her, again, and this time the danger is even more potent. There’s a new guy in town with a mysterious agenda. Well, except for the “kill Nara” part. At the end of BKoD Nara and Ethan realized that ravens are connected to Ethan in some inexplicable way. With Ethan away trying to “reconnect” with his parents, Nara takes it upon herself to research ravens and Ethan’s raven sword tattoo. Once new, fun homicidal guy gets a whiff of what Nara is researching, to say he’s even more eager to off her would be an understatement.

    There’s also a couple other new residents including my personal favorite: Drystan the foreign exchange student from Whales. I’m a huge sucker for accents, so the fact that he’s also visually pleasing was just an added bonus. The majority of the book Ethan is away which gives Drystan’s character a perfect excuse to find it’s way into Nara’s life. He may be cute and charming but that’s not the only wonderful thing about Drystan. I won’t give away any spoilers, but I will say that he’s more than he seems and is pretty connected to Nara just like Ethan was in BKoD. Another new character is Harper. She’s also a new student although she’s not a foreigner, just a girl who’s been home schooled most of her life. She’s kind of reserved yet very friendly towards Nara.

    There’s also quite the change in the Ethan and Nara dynamic by way of Ethan’s absence and Drystan’s arrival. I know there’s a huge legion of die-hard Ethan fans out there (myself included) so therefore my opinion might not be as well received… However, I got to admit, I actually preferred Drystan over Ethan in Lucid. *Please don’t throw rotten fruit!!* Just hear me out. Ethan is very charming, sweet and protective but throughout Lucid I sort of got fed up with his whole “can’t let Nara know what’s going on” and “she shouldn’t have to protect herself” mindset. I guess what irked me the most is that Ethan won’t let Nara defend Nara. I feel like he treats her as some type of damsel in distress, which she definitely is not. Then there’s Drystan. You can tell right away that he cares about Nara, and after witnessing previously mentioned new dangerous guy attack her, Drystan takes it upon himself to teach Nara self defense. He wants Nara to be safe, not ignorant. I feel like Nara’s character did some much needed growing in this latest book because of Drystan’s influence and Ethan’s long absence.

    So your asking yourself “why 4.5 instead of 5″. I did enjoy Lucid. A LOT. However, I found a few of the plot lines pretty predictable. What I loved most about BKoD was the fact that I had no clue what would happen. Although a lot of stuff is still a mystery in Lucid, some end-of-the-book revelations weren’t really that surprising. Overall though I LOVED Lucid. As you can see by my essay-review I have a lot of good thoughts and feelings towards this series. The cliffhanger in Lucid is cruel in that I-can’t-flippin-wait-to-read-the-next-one kind of way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    X's home

    How

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    **Please be aware that this review may contain some spoilers - r

    **Please be aware that this review may contain some spoilers - read at your own risk**

    I bought this book as well as the novella, Ethan, as soon as I finished reading Dreams. I couldn't wait to read it, and it didn't disappoint...well, with the exception of Ethan not being in almost the entire book. With that being said, yes, it was frustrating, but I still loved the book.

    I enjoyed getting to know some of the other characters this time around. We get to know Lanie, Aunt Sage, and Gran, in addition to the new character, Drystan. When Drystan was first introduced, I was very worried that we were heading for a triangle which would have really aggravated me. I'm pretty confident that the triangle was avoided and won't be an issue in Destiny (please, God!).

    Although I did find it frustrating that Ethan was gone (and didn't keep in touch the way you would expect him to, seeing as how Nara is supposed to be his ray of light), his presence was definitely felt throughout the book. I LOVED the scene where Nara is standing by her car and the bird hops on her shoulder to rub against her cheek (or neck, whatever lol). I also loved the scene with the birds at the raven sanctuary. I just really didn't buy that Ethan wouldn't text or call (preferably call) Nara as soon as he got back to a place with cell service. If he couldn't be bothered, he had no right to show up at the dance all jealous and rude about her dancing with someone else. If something were truly going on between her and someone else, would Lanie have texted him the picture of Nara in the dress?? That would be asking to get your best friend in trouble.

    I really liked that Drystan made Nara train with him in self defense. She obviously needs the training since someone is always out to get her. I like that he didn't baby her through it, tough love moves things along faster. I like that she wasn't a whiner, too. lol I think if Ethan had trained her (like he says he's going to do going forward), he'd have babied her. lol I hope Nara punches him if he does and lets him know she isn't a wuss. lol

    I have so many questions after finishing this book that I hope get answered in Destiny. I REALLY, REALLY hope that Ethan is in the entire book. It worries me that he left at the end of Lucid. lol I hope we keep Drystan, too, but ONLY AS A FRIEND! Please, please, no triangle. We all buy that Nara and Ethan are made for each other. I won't buy her falling for Drystan, too. I can't wait to find out who the blonde man and The Order are, how they fit with Ethan and Nara, and how the tattoos tie Ethan and Nara together with their purposes. OK, I have a bunch more, but I'll spare you. Suffice it to say I loved the book and couldn't put it down. I read it in one day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    I loved this book. Can't believe it ended the way it did. I borr

    I loved this book. Can't believe it ended the way it did. I borrowed this book but I will buy it. Have to own this book.

    The chemistry between Ethan and Nara is hot. There are so many questions left unanswered but it makes me look forward to the next book. Ethan is swoon worthy. I missed him in the beginning but loved when he showed up. He's so mysterious and it makes him more appealing.

    Can't wait for the next book. This is a must read. Read Brightest Kind of Darkness first then Ethan. Really good books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    What a page turner

    This series just gets better and better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    page turner

    I absolutely loved this book. I could not put it down!! The author did an amazing job to continue to build the characters. I could not wait to read the next edition in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Ah

    Just keeps getting better. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    Lucid is the second book of Brightest Kind of Darkness and leave

    Lucid is the second book of Brightest Kind of Darkness and leaves off after the first book. Fate is still after Nara and she still tries to change things. A new character is introduced Drystan. Drystan sounds amazing and could give Ethan a run for his money for Nara. If you have read the first book then you should read Lucid. reading Lucid made so many new questions I cannot wait to read Destiny the third book in the series to come out and hopefully answer the question and find out what is up with the whole raven thing and the tattoos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    *I read this book in exchange for an honest review, so here it i

    *I read this book in exchange for an honest review, so here it is: 




    Exactly what I'd expect from a sequel, this book is perfect! As the story progresses, and characters grow, you get completely sucked in, wanting to know more! 




    I absolutely love this story- I loved the first book, and this sequel certainly didn't disappoint! 




    I really enjoyed the new characters that were introduced- who doesn't love a foreign guy who's protective and knows how to fight?? :D I really love how Lainey and Nara's relationship grew, and we got to see new levels of their friendship. I did miss Ethan, since he was visiting his parents through-out the majority of this book, but when he did re-emerge, it was just beautiful!! The changes in him made him even more attractive, and made his relationship with Nara even deeper and more wonderful. I really loved Nara's devotion to Ethan while they were separated, and how she risked so much to be loyal to him- that was really special. I absolutely love Gran, she's hilarious! By far, one of the funniest parts of the book, are the scenes with Gran :)




    I love how ravens are used in this story- that's certainly not something you see often, but is very special and entertaining. I'm looking forward to seeing how they're further used in this story, and the mystery between Ethan's connection with the raven, and Fate. 




    Some of the first chapters did have redundant info, which was probably only noticeable if you'd just read the first book the day before (as I did, in order to review this book). It was very helpful though, in case the reader is reading it as a stand-alone book, or needed to catch up from the first book. 




    I really love the way this story is written- the way the author depicted each character, and the way the relationship and characters developed and grew through-out the story was just beautiful. 




    One of the best parts of the book was certainly the ending- it leaves you wanting to know what happens next, and feeling excited for the rest of the story- I can't wait for the next book!




    I'd certainly recommend this series, to just about anyone! It's deep and entertaining, and doesn't leave you disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    even hard to put donw then the frist book

    I love this sceras the brightest kind of darkness.I could not put this book down.Michelle has made me want to look up raven to find out more about them.It suck that I can not find the book to buy then.I am glad I have a Nook so I will not miss out on them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Lucid by P.T. Michelle is a great book that I would recommend fo

    Lucid by P.T. Michelle is a great book that I would recommend for anyone who loves anything paranormal! Ethan and Nara are great characters, and Lucid is another one of those books that leaves you wondering, "What's next?" I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    After devouring the first book in this series, I couldn't wait t

    After devouring the first book in this series, I couldn't wait to dive into the second installment. 'Lucid' picks up right where 'Brightest Kind of Darkness' leaves off. The story flows effortlessly with the first book, so it felt like I hadn't missed a step between books. Just like the first novel, this book centers on Nara and Ethan as they continue their journey together to figure out their abilities and to battle the forces conspiring against them.

    This novel was just as well written as the first, and was full of just as many twists and surprises - keeping me on my toes the entire time. Nara and Ethan's relationship develops further in this book, which I loved. The romance wasn't to syrupy or corny - like some young adult novels can be. I found it to be very sweet and swoon-worthy. The interesting plot concerning Fate and the battle that they are fighting in is very intricate and well detailed - which really drew me in and had me invested deeply in the story. I still find the concept of fighting Fate as an entity fascinating and the author definitely keeps the mystery and action charged throughout the novel. The reader is able to see obvious character growth in this second novel, and the storyline only gets more interesting as the series progresses. I will definitely be eagerly awaiting the next book in the series to be released. Highly recommended for fans of paranormal fiction that is outside the norm.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Anonymous

    This was incredible i cant wait for the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Wonderful

    This book is absolutly amazing. Ive fallen in love with this book. Now the next book needs to come out, soon! When i found out i was on the last page i screamed. Because the ending just left you hanging! So this is a very good book everyone should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Next book.

    The next book is hopefully coming out March 31st, 2013:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I completely fell fell in love with Ethan and Nara in Brightest

    I completely fell fell in love with Ethan and Nara in Brightest Kind of Darkness, and I was so excited to read Lucid, book 2 in the series to see where P.T. Mitchell was taking this great story from here. Since Nara Collins was 7 years old, each night she has dreamed her entire next day before it occurs, that was until she met Ethan Harris, when the dreams began to change. Ethan battles his own demons and his own gift, though he feels it is more of a curse, so he was more than a little surprised when he began having Nara's dreams. In Brightness Kind of Darkness, Ethan and Nara not only fell in love, but their relationship and connection to each other went so much deeper and included aspects, which neither fully understood. After several incidents that caused Nara to intervene in the future, she finds herself in a battle with Fate himself, and it is Ethan who has the key to saving her. In Lucid, Ethan is still coming to grips with figuring out exactly what he is and what the mysterious tattoo that appeared on his back means. He returns home for a while to try to mend things with his family, which is very hard on both he and Nara. Nara is also determined to find out the mystery behind Ethan's tattoo, the connection with the ravens, and what all this means, and she embarks on an investigation of her own. In the process she meets some new friends, which also play a role in her quest. Nara finds herself facing danger and even death on more than one occasion as she gets closer to the answers she is looking for, and not everyone will survive.

    Lucid is such an excellent second book in this outstanding series by P.T. Mitchell. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It captured my attention from the first page and I was caught up in this story until the end. We are introduced to some new characters in this book. Harper is a new girl that has started attending school with Nara, then there is Matt, who becomes her best friend Lainey's new boyfriend, and finally Drystan, the hot exchange student from Wales who has his own "special" secrets, and takes on the role protecting Nara and teaching her how to defend herself. Of course we can't forget Patch, the raven, who has also become a "protector" of sorts and plays an important role himself. Ethan was not physically present in most of this book, but he was still very much a part of the book, and I have to say that P.T. Mitchell did an excellent job with this aspect of the story. Of course the romance, chemistry, and deep soul connection Ethan and Nara share is undeniable. There were a few instances, however, where I kind of panicked and had to sit straight up, thinking "no this can't be." The promises made before Ethan left, the texts, the conversations were oh so very hot, and boy when he does show up again, he does it with a bang and an undeniable presence.

    Nara keeps the things that are happening to her from Ethan because she wants him to mend his relationship with his family and she doesn't want to put any further burden or stress on him. Ethan still doesn't open up to her fully regarding the truth of what is going on with him, and I hope to see them learn from this mistake and be able to be more open with one another in the next book in the series, as they continue to seek the answers to the mystery surrounding both of them and their connection to one another. I have a feeling we may see more of Drystan to, and I wonder if he might not have quite a few secrets of his own that are yet to be revealed.

    This book is filled with mystery, danger, the paranormal, and romance. Many questions are answered and just as many more are raised, which leaves me dying to read the next book in the series. I loved that the intimacy between Nara and Ethan was taken up a notch in this book, and it is oh so very hot and intense, even with Ethan's absence, and I hope to see that get even hotter. This is an amazing sequel in this outstanding series by P.T. Mitchell and if you haven't read it yet, this is one series you will definitely want to check out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nara is a girl on a mission. She is seeking out what ever info s

    Nara is a girl on a mission. She is seeking out what ever info she can find about the mysterious tattoos on Ethan’s back. But along the way she finds trouble…imagine that. The closer she gets to the truth the stronger the evil is that is stalking her and causing her harm. Who is after her? And what do they want with her journal?

    At the start of Lucid, not far from where Brightest Kind of Darkness ends, we realize that Ethan has went back home to mend his broken relationship with his family. So, much of Lucid we are Ethan free….and that just brings a frown to my face. I loved me some Ethan in BKofD and was looking forward to more of him in this one. We did however get a few new characters that brought with them some mystery and intrigue. Take Drystan for instance…I loved him. I had a hard time stopping myself from rooting for him while Ethan was away. And lets not forget Patch the raven. He was a quirky little guy but always seemed to be there for Nara when she needed him most. He made the perfect addition to the series, even if he is a bird.

    I read Lucid pretty much in one day; you just fly through the story drinking it in. I was hooked from the beginning and couldn’t get enough. The book grabs you and you don’t want to put it down. And thanks so the suspense I bit off what little nails I had. It was nerve racking wondering what was going to happen next…who was after Nara…and why wasn’t Ethan returning her calls or texts?

    When I closed the book I was happy with the ending and all that progressed throughout the book. Michelle did a fabulous job giving the reader a story that is beyond unique and absolutely different than anything you have read in the YA genre. It is packed full of action and I was tickled pink with all the twists and turns Lucid laid out for us. The ending also leaves the reader eager to begin the next book in the series. Unfortunately we have to wait for it.

    When I read Brightest Kind of Darkness last year I knew it was one of my top fav books of the year. Lucid is ranking right up there in fav books for this year too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    An intense, action-packed adventure of love and self-discovery,

    An intense, action-packed adventure of love and self-discovery, Lucid is a brilliant continuation in P.T. Michelle's Brightest Kind of Darkness Series.

    I feel like I don't get to say this often enough about second books in a series, but WOW, Lucid was a fantastic book. P.T. Michelle took everything I enjoyed about Lucid, the magic, the relationships, the intensity, and brought the series to a whole new level.

    After having fought off Fate in book one, Nara is still living and working with her unique abilities. She's still trying to protect those she cares about, without angering Fate any further. The ravens and crows continue to be drawn to her, proving that she and Ethan share even more of a mysterious connection. Meanwhile, Ethan is working to repair his relationship with his family, and that leaves Nara to explore her and Ethan's powers alone. Two new students, Harper and Drystan, arrive and quickly become involved in Nara and her friends' lives. Do both new characters have purely pure motives for befriending Nara? The more Nara becomes involved in her research, the more danger she is exposed to. Someone is after Nara, after her research...and will kill to get it.

    Okay, if you're a fan of the series, you may have noticed that I mentioned Ethan being with his family; BUT don't let that deter you, or make you think the Nara/Ethan relationship isn't focused on in the story. It is! Nara's memories of Ethan, their phone calls and a bit of magic manage to keep Lucid super romantic. And just let me say....THE PAYOFF IS FANTASTIC! Ethan will make the absence worth the wait. Seriously, I thought I was going to swoon myself into a stupor when the romance kicks into high gear. P.T. manages to write the romance in such a way that the chemistry is through the roof, the promises, the suggestions...everything, but it's so tasteful that the story is still a great fit for teens.

    Lucid was intense. I think I may have held my breath throughout the last portion of the book. It was a roller coaster of action, emotions, declarations, premonitions. The story went above and beyond my high expectations. P.T. Michelle has written a world with characters I don't want to let go. The ending was brilliant, everything you hope for in terms of satisfaction and promises for a great next installment. Ethan and Nara have quite a journey ahead of them in book three. I can't wait to join them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    The Perfect Sequel

    This sequel is amazing. I read it from cover to cover in one sitting, absolutely absorbed by the tale P.T. Michelle weaves as we learn more about Nara’s and Ethan’s abilities. Having won against Fate, and with Nara safe for the time being, Ethan sets out to reconcile with his family, leaving Nara to figure out her many questions on her own. Thus, Ethan is missing from the novel for more than half of it, but while I really missed him, I truly enjoyed Drystan. Upon meeting him, the reader automatically knows there’s something special about him, but as we already know through Nara and Ethan, no two abilities are alike. Though Drystan doesn’t come right out and say it, Michelle writes his ability into the story in a not so subtle way, which I loved, because here I knew something Nara didn’t know—love the dramatic irony—and it made me smile every time it came up.

    But, abilities aside, Drystan also has a really cool hobby: Parkour, the stunt-sport consisting of running, climbing, and jumping off of cliffs and tall buildings. Of course, as Nara’s life becomes jeopardized due to her intense questioning of ravens, Drystan’s hobby comes to the forefront, and I loved watching him attempt to teach Nara to protect herself. Even more alluring were the scenes in which Drystan used Parkour in pursuit of those who attempted to hurt Nara; it really made my heart race as I imagined him jumping and twisting through the air—so cool. This being the first time I’ve ever heard of the sport, I am now vastly interested in learning more about it.

    Throughout much of this novel, my heart was in my throat. Just when Nara recovers from one close call or spooky premonition, another swoops in and I really felt the adrenaline as I read, which made the novel all the more fun. Trying to figure out the mystery of the ravens alongside the mystery of who was trying to sabotage Nara was extremely enticing, and though I was able to figure out who the bad guys were fairly early on, it actually didn’t damper my fear for Nara at all, but rather caused me to fear even more. Not knowing who is after someone is scary, but sometimes I think knowing is even scarier, and that’s how I felt in this novel as I read.

    When Ethan returns to the scene, he’s seems to have a much darker, scarier side than I was expecting, and it turns out Ethan has some secrets of his own. Of course, the novel ends (nooooooooooooo) before the reader is given any real answers behind Ethan’s transformation, and as Drystan sort of disappears from the novel upon Ethan’s return, I am really dying for the next installment. Especially as Michelle gives the reader a small glimpse into what’s to come for our beloved characters, Ethan and Nara, but I can’t say anything more as it’d be a spoiler. This is definitely a series you don’t want to miss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2