Customer Reviews for

Lucifer's Hammer

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of the best ever

I've been buying and reading science fiction books for over 50 years, and I've sold and given away several thousand books. This is one of a handful I'll not let go of. The story line is compelling and the imagery is incredible. Some of the scenes will stick with me f...
I've been buying and reading science fiction books for over 50 years, and I've sold and given away several thousand books. This is one of a handful I'll not let go of. The story line is compelling and the imagery is incredible. Some of the scenes will stick with me forever. Don't miss this one.

posted by GVTolly on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

WARNING: Contrary to the listed publication date (2/13/2012), th

WARNING: Contrary to the listed publication date (2/13/2012), this book was actually published in 1977. So it was written from an older historical context. You cannot return an eBook.

posted by Anonymous on May 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Awesome

    Glad I read this book. Very well written, great story line, and a believable plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    I read and re-read this book a few times. I loved it , read way

    I read and re-read this book a few times. I loved it , read way back in the day (late70's ) . It is a keeper right up there with King, and Koontz . If you love Apocalyptic ( I do ) books you will enjoy this one. I still have my copy, but think I will buy it for my Nook too.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    Pretty good read, but as mentioned by some a bit drawn out and t

    Pretty good read, but as mentioned by some a bit drawn out and tedious in places. I like good character and plot development, which this book has, but about a half-dozen times throughout the story I found myself saying- I get it guys, now let's move on! Reminded me of Stephen King's self-proclaimed diarrhea of the keyboard.
    But overall it's a great story with vivid imagery and well-developed characters and storylines. I would recommend it if you have the patience and time to devote to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Just OK

    Not great, not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Socially insightful... very enjoyable.

    Somewhat dated in terms of human space habitation and political landscape, but still very exciting. An updated version would catapult it back to the level of relevant science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Probably the best book I ever read! if you like disaster/surviv

    Probably the best book I ever read! if you like disaster/survival/dystopian books you HAVE to read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Horrible

    Plodding pace and characters not worth caring about.
    Save your money, buy a Ringworld ebook instead.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    ASTONISHINGLY GOOD

    I don't even know why I'm writing this, as everyone else has said it first. This book is astonishing. I read it first in 1977 and again maybe ten years late. This was my third time, and I suspect it won't be the last. Everything about this book is great. It is so much more than a disaster novel that it hardly qualifies. Characterization, sense of reality, believability, gripping narrative, brilliantly developed plot. This will sweep you away and you won't want to come back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Awesome Book

    This is an awesome book. I own it in soft cover but I am delighted to have found an eVerson of it. This is one of the classics!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Lucifers Hammer

    Darn good book. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    This is a great book and am glad that it is now on Nook. My cop

    This is a great book and am glad that it is now on Nook. My copy is worn thin from rereading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Good after 200 pages

    This is a very slow starting book. However it sort of comes together in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    icbms

    and you thought the comet was your only worry. really liked what china and russia did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Really great story

    One of the betterapocalyptic stories I've read. Very detailed.great flow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    XCELLENT!!!

    Excellent reading and fantastic story. Why is it not available for the nook? Is anyone reading, we need it available on the nook.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    A Classic Book for Post Apocalyptic Fans

    This book is a classic and very interesting in that it brought back memories of when we had no cell phones. The first half of the book is basically character development and I think it went too long. I have to admit that I was bored for the first 1/3 of the book and gradually got better. Once the action started going on, it was a fun read. Read this book if you are really into post apocalyptic stuff but I would not get this book if you are just starting out. There was a little info about survival but not much and it was basically about two powerful factions trying to survive against nature and each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    It bored me

    I thought I would love Lucifer's Hammer, but I was very disappointed. I loved Footfall so I thought I would like this as well. I gave up on it after 300 pages. It was boring to me. It seemed like scenes dragged out forever, and even the comet hitting seemed boring. I found myself not caring what happened to any of the characters. They just seemed to wooden for me. I cant recommend Lucifer's Hammer. It was a big bore to me.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    End of the world survival book

    Larry Niven & Jerry Pournelle have ended the world, but they give hope for a different future. In a page burning never put down novel about how a group of people survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Death from above

    If I could rate this novel any higher I would. All EOW should use this novel as a reference.In many words I could not describe in my mind the actual horror it brought me.But all in all a great novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    Classic EOW book

    If you are a fan of EOW (end of world) books then this is a must read. A little dated, but this is one of the two books that set the tone for all EOW books since. Although I have read a few newer post-apocalyptic books that were better, this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6