Customer Reviews for

Luck of the Dragon (Entangled Covet)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

While following the comforting arc of a good romance novel, &quo

While following the comforting arc of a good romance novel, "Luck of The Dragon" is refreshingly original. The main characters, Lucy and Alec, are easy to become absorbed with - great chemistry and an enticing combination of light/dark personalities -Scott doe...
While following the comforting arc of a good romance novel, "Luck of The Dragon" is refreshingly original. The main characters, Lucy and Alec, are easy to become absorbed with - great chemistry and an enticing combination of light/dark personalities -Scott does a clever job keeping the age-old tale of falling in love fresh and her writing moves quickly and is action packed.




To be honest, though, the secondary characters were the real hook for me - particularly Alec's lieutenants, who I found myself thinking about even when I wasn't reading. What happens to this complex and dynamic group? Looking forward to more reading - hopefully this will be a series.




Finally, the dragon thing. A longstanding vampire fan myself, I was skeptical that any writer could bring "sexy" to a creature that I associate with reptiles to some extent. Hats off to Susannah Scott, the mental leap has been made. Alec is seriously one sexy beast.

posted by AKMS on June 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Character-Driven Paranormal Romance

Scott's "Luck of the Dragon" is a quick, engaging paranormal romance. I really like Alec and Lucy, and they work very well together as a couple. Scott did a very good job of developing this hidden world of dragons, although I would have liked to see a bit more developme...
Scott's "Luck of the Dragon" is a quick, engaging paranormal romance. I really like Alec and Lucy, and they work very well together as a couple. Scott did a very good job of developing this hidden world of dragons, although I would have liked to see a bit more development of some of the secondary characters.

I hope Scott writes more books set in this fictional world -- especially if it turns out that there are still dragon-slaying knights running around. I could totally see one such knight pairing up with Lilly Belle. :)

Recommended to fans of Thea Harrison, Katie Reus, and Jean Johnson. -- lyradora

posted by grisaille on January 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 55 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    I love dragons!

    I am an avid fantasy reader but have not really gotten into dragons much. I bought this because I am impatiently waiting for one of my favorite authors to release my next fix. I am glad I found this gem (pun intended) while waiting. I will be looking forward to new reads from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    This was my first paranormal romance and it was a thrilling read

    This was my first paranormal romance and it was a thrilling read. Scott fills the story with steamy romance and suspense. The heroine, Lucy, is a dynamic character- she is smart, loyal, sexy, and confident. She struggles with her loyalty to her brother and her potential lover- Alec. Alec- the shape shifting dragon- is fierce, steamy, and desirable. I loved the book and looking forward to more from Scott.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great debut from Ms Scott - Sexy, exciting and fiery! The blurb

    Great debut from Ms Scott - Sexy, exciting and fiery!

    The blurb sums up this story perfectly, so I will just launch right into my review. I loved this story! For a debut novella, this was a well written, fast-paced story.

    I liked the heroine a lot. Lucy’s sad background made her the tough cookie we get to see in the book. She’s ashamed of her past and seems to feel the need to constantly reassure herself that she is nothing like the rest of her family. She has carved out a very successful (legal) career for herself; a way of distancing herself from her past. She knows right from wrong, but when probably like most human beings, when the life of a loved one is at stake, she’s willing to bend the rules and risk big. She doesn’t have a private life to speak of, and her heart is pretty much hardened against romantic entanglements.

    “I can’t live in a fairy tale.” She watched his face and smiled, trying to soften her words. “I’m attracted to you. Can’t that be enough?”

    Alec was a delectable hero. Calm under pressure, caring, devoted to his kin and determined to ensure their comfort, safety and keep the peace. Despite the imminent threat of losing his dragon because he hasn’t been able to find his mate, he still puts everyone and everything else first. Once he realized that Lucy was forced to steal from him, he played along in the hopes of gaining her trust and finding the right moment to reveal his secrets. But Lucy was a good example of letting her own personal hangups get in the way of discovering something new and wonderful; something for herself. Every so often I wanted to grab Lucy by the shoulders and shake her until her teeth rattled. Talk about being in denial. For all her bravado, I quickly realized that her tough facade really was covering up a broken person on the inside. I got the feeling she knew that all her begging and pleading with Joey were falling on deaf ears. But as the only family she had left, I could understand how she wasn’t willing to let go. At least not until it was too late.

    The author really excelled at making me feel for the characters once Lucy threw Alec’s trust away. I love when an author isn’t afraid to make the heroine the “bad guy” for a while. There was also a great fight scene amongst the dragons. It was detailed so well, I could actually picture it. It was a little short-lived, but it underscored perfectly what was at stake for Alec. The ending was perfect. Lucy finally had a few epiphanies, grew a backbone, and spent a perfect evening with Alec in both forms ;) If you love a story with emotional drama, a caring, sexy and very protective alpha dragon and a stubborn, sassy heroine, then this is the perfect story for you. Ms Scott has a great voice and a great imagination. I can’t wait to read more from her.

    Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the publisher for the purpose of an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    This book is riveting. I am normally not a fan of paranormal ro

    This book is riveting. I am normally not a fan of paranormal romance but I loved this book. Although the hero is a dragon and king of the dragons, the author weaves together a history of the dragons that is at once believable and fascinating. The gritty heroine is funny, brave and loyal. The very hot hero is honest, passionate and true. I laughed out loud several times. Really a great read - that gives lots of enjoyment to the reader and ends too soon!

    I look forward to future books coming out of this fascinating world of dragons and humans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    When Alec Gerald and Lucy De Luca meet at his Crown Jewel Casino

    When Alec Gerald and Lucy De Luca meet at his Crown Jewel Casino, their destiny is sealed. He is the 'King of Las Vegas' who has a secret life. He is also Jer'ol, a dragon shifter and ruler of all the dragons. Luciana De Luca is a renowned gemologist, who is there to steal from him. She needs to protect her twin brother, Joey. His gambling debts put him (and her) in danger from the mob. Lucy is immediately attracted to Jer'ol and they become involved. What she doesn't know is that she is his destined mate. Lucy is torn between her lover and her brother. Tension increases with the return of Ambrogino, a dragon who wants to kill Jer'ol and become king. Will the dragon get his true love and mate? Can he recover from her betrayal? Susannah Scott has created a vivid and romantic story with a noble and sexy hero and a strong, intelligent heroine who struggles to find love and move on from her unhappy childhood. The secondary characters are interesting and I would love to know their story. Las Vegas is a perfect setting for this tale of dragons, intrigue and glamour. I couldn't get enough.

    I was gifted a copy from the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    I loved Luck of the Dragon!  It's entertaining, sexy, gripping.

    I loved Luck of the Dragon!  It's entertaining, sexy, gripping.  Alec, the hero is uber-alpha and the backdrop of Las Vegas raises the stakes to new levels.

    I will watch for other titles from Susannah Scott.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book! I loved the spark between Lucy and Alec and t

    I loved this book! I loved the spark between Lucy and Alec and the bond between Lucy and her brother. I loved the way she described things throughout the book it made it easy to picture it in my mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 55 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 3