Customer Reviews for

Luck of the Dragon

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

While following the comforting arc of a good romance novel, &quo

While following the comforting arc of a good romance novel, "Luck of The Dragon" is refreshingly original. The main characters, Lucy and Alec, are easy to become absorbed with - great chemistry and an enticing combination of light/dark personalities -Scott doe...
While following the comforting arc of a good romance novel, "Luck of The Dragon" is refreshingly original. The main characters, Lucy and Alec, are easy to become absorbed with - great chemistry and an enticing combination of light/dark personalities -Scott does a clever job keeping the age-old tale of falling in love fresh and her writing moves quickly and is action packed.




To be honest, though, the secondary characters were the real hook for me - particularly Alec's lieutenants, who I found myself thinking about even when I wasn't reading. What happens to this complex and dynamic group? Looking forward to more reading - hopefully this will be a series.




Finally, the dragon thing. A longstanding vampire fan myself, I was skeptical that any writer could bring "sexy" to a creature that I associate with reptiles to some extent. Hats off to Susannah Scott, the mental leap has been made. Alec is seriously one sexy beast.

posted by AKMS on June 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Character-Driven Paranormal Romance

Scott's "Luck of the Dragon" is a quick, engaging paranormal romance. I really like Alec and Lucy, and they work very well together as a couple. Scott did a very good job of developing this hidden world of dragons, although I would have liked to see a bit more developme...
Scott's "Luck of the Dragon" is a quick, engaging paranormal romance. I really like Alec and Lucy, and they work very well together as a couple. Scott did a very good job of developing this hidden world of dragons, although I would have liked to see a bit more development of some of the secondary characters.

I hope Scott writes more books set in this fictional world -- especially if it turns out that there are still dragon-slaying knights running around. I could totally see one such knight pairing up with Lilly Belle. :)

Recommended to fans of Thea Harrison, Katie Reus, and Jean Johnson. -- lyradora

posted by grisaille on January 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    While following the comforting arc of a good romance novel, &quo

    While following the comforting arc of a good romance novel, "Luck of The Dragon" is refreshingly original. The main characters, Lucy and Alec, are easy to become absorbed with - great chemistry and an enticing combination of light/dark personalities -Scott does a clever job keeping the age-old tale of falling in love fresh and her writing moves quickly and is action packed.




    To be honest, though, the secondary characters were the real hook for me - particularly Alec's lieutenants, who I found myself thinking about even when I wasn't reading. What happens to this complex and dynamic group? Looking forward to more reading - hopefully this will be a series.




    Finally, the dragon thing. A longstanding vampire fan myself, I was skeptical that any writer could bring "sexy" to a creature that I associate with reptiles to some extent. Hats off to Susannah Scott, the mental leap has been made. Alec is seriously one sexy beast.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    I loved this book!

    I could not put it down. So this is a warning: Do not start this book unless you have time to finish it. I can't wait till the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    Since I¿m so obsessed with the Brazen line from Entangled, I dec

    Since I’m so obsessed with the Brazen line from Entangled, I decided to give Covet a try. I’m pleased to report I really enjoyed LUCK OF THE DRAGON. I don’t read dragon books often, so this was a nice change of pace.

    Alec Gerald was a hit for me. He was definitely an alpha among his kind, but he was also able to turn it down a few notches when interacting with his newly discovered human mate, Luciana de Luca. These two have quite a few obstacles to work through going way beyond the fact that he’s a shape-shifting dragon. These two had great chemistry and rich backstories. There were also many interesting secondary characters leaving room for additional books.

    All-in-all, this is an impressive debut. I will be on board for the next book. Make sure to check out this book if you’re a fan of Adult Paranormal Romance, Mythology, Dragons, or Sexy Alphas. Solid 4.5 out of 5 Stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. The story was well written and beli

    I really enjoyed this book. The story was well written and believable. Susannah pulls you into their world and keeps you there. All characters were easy to visualize and relate to. Susannah created enough characters in this book to keep her writing their stories for a long time to come. I'm looking forward to reading the next one.

    Kudos also go to the editors. Great job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    More than a typical story about an attempted heist in Vegas, the

    More than a typical story about an attempted heist in Vegas, the author has introduced dragons into the drama, lending a second layer of complexity. Not to mention some steamy romance. The author managed to make this a sexy read and entertaining, allowing for tensions to build between characters. Intimate scenes were not gratuitous, but more tasteful than some other romance novels I've read. Also, the story is beyond simply the romance -- including dragons, the mob, and sibling relationships -- making it a captivating read. I could not put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Hfdghvcg

    Loved it !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love that the story starts off quick and strong. I was hooked


    I love that the story starts off quick and strong. I was hooked before the end of the first chapter. Susannah Scott has a gift for description that seems to grab the reader and pulls you into the story without being too wordy. I admire the strength of the main character Lucy. I actually felt strong emotions for every character even the bad guys and her brother... I really disliked them. That's how good of a job Scott has done.




    Overall, I really enjoyed this new paranormal romance. The chemistry between Lucy and Alec was fantastic and I loved that their romance wasn't smutty but more suggestive, which allowed you to use your imagination. This Series has the potential for a lot more books. Hopefully the 2nd one will be about Mei and Darius, I am looking forward to reading their story. I do wish that it would have been longer since it was such a nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Scott¿s intricate storyline makes you think while keeping you en

    Scott’s intricate storyline makes you think while keeping you entertained.  I love how she mixes a multiplicity of different genres together to create an all-encompassing wild ride for her readers.  She also invokes intense feelings in her readers via her brilliant storytelling skills.  Not only does Scott develop descriptions that make everything vividly visual, she plays with colours, contours, and metaphors to create the ultimate show-not-tell experience.  She wrapped everything up in a heart-racing package that definitely left a smile on my case at the ending.  

    Scott throws some real characters at her readers, even if most of them are shifters.  This is an absolutely brilliant cast.  She has also created some intensely sensual characters.  As a reader you can almost feel the auras surrounding these individuals.  It’s intensely, vividly real.  

    This novel definitely packed a punch.  It is the perfect mix of real, paranormal, and fantasy to create a captivating tale of love and sacrifice.  Not only do you get wrapped up in the intense love story that Scott tells, but you can feel the magic rolling from the pages.  This was a brilliant escape from reality.  

    Please note that I received this novel free of charge from the author in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    I now love Dragons too!

    I loved this book and can't wait for the next one in the series!!!!!!! I have always been hooked on Vampires and Lycan but now I'm hooked on Dragons too. Loved It!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    A Great Dragon Romance Story!

    Susannah Scott is a new author for the Entangled Publishing Company. If you love stories where the hero is a dragon, then this story is for you. Ms. Scott wrote a great story with a lot of action, adventure and
    love. Looking forward to the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Luck of the Dragon is the perfect cure for the end-of-summer bla

    Luck of the Dragon is the perfect cure for the end-of-summer blahs. Nothing better than a sexy summer tale set in the Vegas heat. Alec is a pure alpha-male hero—rightly so. He’s a shapeshifting dragon leader committed to the preservation of his kind. Lucy is a smart, capable heroine caught between her allegiance to her brother and the promise of a fulfilled life, free of a past with less than stellar choices. The chemistry between Alec and Lucy is as scorching as the high desert. The fresh turn of phrase and delightful zingers prove Ms. Scott is one to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Emeraldkit

    Yes!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Silverkit and Cloudkit

    Silverkit padded out. The torn half of Cloudkit's face burned. Padded out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    To kits

    We moved to meow all results

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    From the beginning I was immediately drawn into the story. I co

    From the beginning I was immediately drawn into the story. I couldnt stop reading it and finished it the same night. Luckily it was the weekend and I didnt have to work the next day!

    Lucy is a reformed thief who has done a complete 180 and become a well regarded appraiser of rare gems. She is unfornately drawn back into the life on the other side of the law by her brother who have never been able to get his life straight and is positive the big win is the next win.

    To save her brother she is ordered to steal from Alec who is a powerful casino owner. And who just happens to be a dragon. Never steal from a dragon...

    There is instant chemistry between them when they come face to face. And while Alec quickly realizes she is destined to be his mate. Lucy is not as sure and continues to try and help her brother.

    Watching them dance around each other while facing outside obstacles at the same time - bad mob leaders, old enemies and a brother who just doesnt get it - makes for one fun to read, roller coaster ride of story.

    If you are looking for something that is enjoyable and fun with a side of sexy dragon shifter. Pick this up and you wont regret it. I know I am looking forward to more stories from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You gotta love a dragon! Luck of the Dragon is the first book in

    You gotta love a dragon! Luck of the Dragon is the first book in a series of shape-shifting dragons who try to live among humans in the rooms of the top floors of a brand new casino, while working and entertaining on the lower floors in the middle of Las Vegas. This is the first book that I’ve read by Susannah Scott, and I really enjoyed her writing style. This story reads so smoothly that even when it came to an end I wished it was longer, so I could just keep reading. I am looking forward to more books by Ms. Scott. 

    Alec Gerald is the leader of a group a shape-shifting dragons. He has built a huge casino in Las Vegas with the hopes that they can blend-in to provide a safe sanctuary for his people. The Crown Jewel casino is not only their home, but it is where they will work as well. The shows—which will give them a chance to shift into their dragon form occasionally—along with the private rooms below ground and a huge gem exhibit are what will draw people to visit and spend money, but before they can open the exhibit he must have the jewels inspected by a professional to know their true value. Alec is also dealing with the fact that his dragon form is fading, and if he doesn’t find his mate before the mating ceremony, which is only a few days away, he will lose it forever. 

    Luciana de Luca has earned a PhD in gemology and has made a very good name for herself, so it’s no surprise that Alec has a desire to hire her to inspect the gems for his exhibit at the casino. She has grown up knowing how to steal something right off a person without them ever noticing it happened. When her brother’s gambling gets him in trouble with the mob she finds out that the only way to get him out of it is to steal for them. She hates that world and wants nothing to do with it, but she’ll do anything she can to get her brother out of the mess he’s in. She is not happy when she finds out that the person she must steal from just happens to be Alec, but she decides she’ll go in, get what they want and disappear. This will be easy, right?

    When Alec sees Luciana he realizes she’s his mate, and he will do anything he needs to do to make her realize she’s his. But there are a few problems that arise, and before he can start romancing her she shocks him by stealing something right out of his pocket. He acts like he hasn’t noticed in the hopes that she’ll come clean and let him help her, but Lucy doesn’t trust easily. Enemies are everywhere and they must learn to trust one another before it’s too late to save Alec and all of the other dragons.       

    I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love, Vegas, & Dragons I was first drawn in because the sto

    Love, Vegas, & Dragons

    I was first drawn in because the story took place in Las Vegas (where I reside) and most people only want to tell of the tragedies rather than the love and wonder that take place here. The author took what everyone believes about how a person can be trapped behind money, mobs, & gambling and allowed it to be built into much more. The story of the love, dragons, and how they live together will keep you intrigued. While the story ends up being about the love of Lucy & Alec, it starts with Lucy trying to save her brother from one of the many problems he continues to get himself into. She does it all for the love of family, but I tend to wonder where the love of Lucy got lost at! But it was a wonderful story and this author is definitely in my must read! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    I don¿t even know where to begin! This is a story that will tug

    I don’t even know where to begin! This is a story that will tug at your heart strings. It will have you rooting for love and for family at the same time. While also bringing home the fact that no matter how much we love someone sometimes the best thing we can do is let them go so that not only can we find our own true happiness but hope they discover in themselves the fact that even they deserve happiness. It brings back the hope that no matter how royally we may screw up true love really does win in the end. I know this is a story about Dragon’s but some of the best stories are those that have a bit of the fanciful but still manage to give us a glimpse of life’s lessons as well. This story happens to be one of those. I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did ¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Want to go on the adventure of a lifetime?  Then you won¿t go wr

    Want to go on the adventure of a lifetime?  Then you won’t go wrong with this book.
    Can a dragon love a human?  Can a human overcome her trust issues and accept that dragons are real?
    The Luck of the Dragon is the first in a new series with plenty of entertainment to be found with dragons, treasure and the excitement of Las Vegas.
    With an original take on the lives of dragon shifters, the author transports you into a new world that is full of suspense and romance.  The author has created the perfect setting for dragons who need to hide in plain sight.  And the combination of dragon battles, super hot romance, and very engaging characters will keep you completely absorbed to the very end.    
    The sparks start flying when the King of Dragons meets a human woman, named Lucy, and it only gets hotter as their romance progresses. You can easily relate to all the characters in the story as they enchant you with their personalities.   
    The author grabs your attention and imagination with this paranormal world and I am looking forward to more adventures with the Las Vegas Dragons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    5 Stars! Loved this book! It had dragons! Dragons in a book ar

    5 Stars!

    Loved this book!
    It had dragons! Dragons in a book are always good. Well, but dragons don’t automatically make a book a good book. So of course there were other factors why I really enjoyed this story.

    I loved Alec and Lucy. Alec was the perfect alpha male and as the king of the dragons he did what I expected of him. Take no BS from anyone trying to steal your position. But be kind to your mate ;)
    And when Lucy betrayed him he got really pissed. I like that because you could tell he didn’t lose his balls just because his women came across.

    About Lucy, she was great. She is conflicted between helping her brother and wanting Alec. I liked her differences in character. On the one side she is a caring, smart and sensitive women, on the other hand she is a tough thief because of her brother and knows all the tricks.

    Susannah Scott is a talented author. She created an amazing modern story about dragons. I hope this book will become part of a series. There is a lot of potential with all the other characters introduced in this story. I want to know more about the culture of those dragons.
    I couldn’t put the book down. It is fast paced, fun and sexy with some nice twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2