BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Luckiest Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    A Review Of the Story The Luckiest Girl,y Beverly Cleary

    A REVIEW OF THE BOOK THE LUCKIEST GIRL WRITTEN BY BEVERLY CLEARY

    The Luckiest Girl is a book of love, learing, romance and more. Find out what happens as a girl finds her way out of boy troubles and just life troubles. This book is recommended to teenage girls.


    Shelly is a shy, funny, smart girl. She moved to visit her mom's friend in California. She finds new friends and faces new problems. Shelly has straight As. She is not the prettiest girl a guy would want to go out with but she has a GREAT personality. A guy named Philip, star of the basket ball team and her biology partner asks her out. But a problem breaks. Her biology grades are falling because she doesn't pay any attention in class because of Philip. But that's not he only thing Philip's grades fall a lot to. But there is a basket ball game coming up Philip needs to play for his team but his grades are to low for him to qualify. Find out what happens when Shelly and Philip's problems get solved. It's the hard way but it's for the better of both of them.
    I recommend this book to kids over 12 because it has a lot of love and romance in it that has to do with teenage girl problems. But it can relate to many teenage girl problems.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    A cute, teenage love story

    I loved this book. I read it in seventh grade and I fell in love with it. I am a HUGE romantic so it was perfect for me. I loved it because it has a sweetness and a simpleness to it. I recomend it to anyone who likes teenage love stories.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    The Luckiest Girl

    I love romance books and this is the best that i have read so far i am definitely going to buy all of beverly clear's

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Looks good

    Shes a great author that beverly cleary. And im 11 for that person who commented on here that only 12 year olds and up should read it. Well thats a dumb rule. I dont care what you say im reading it. I bet i read more adult books then you more books with love in it and making out for instance Twilight. Beverly Cleary is the author id least expect to have love books but i just finished her other book Fifteen and that has LOVE in it. If you buy this one buy fifteen!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Asomest Book Ever???

    This book would be rated for everyone 10+. But honestly anyone could fall in love with it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    So far so good

    Love it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    THE LUCKEST GIRL

    The Luckiest Girl Is a very good book. The reason I feel it¿s a good book is because I can to relate to it in some ways. I would recommend this book to teenage girls.Teenagers would understand it and relate to it better than younger girls.This book showed me that there is other girls who also get humiliated by there parents. Also that life can offer us great opportunities and if we don¿t go with it something great might come out of it. The Luckiest Girl is about a girl named, Shelley Latham, from Oregon. Her life is so perfect, but this year, she wants to start her jr year in high school different.This year she didn¿t want a pink coat with a velvet button. She wanted a yellow slicker with a hat to match. One day, Shelley¿s mother got a letter from her old roommate form California. In the letter it asked, if she could send Shelley down for the winter. Shelley¿s mother thought Mavis, her friend was nuts, to send her a letter with just a few days notice. Shelley¿s mother ends up changing her mind, and Shelley is able to go to California. Shelley will be staying with Mavis and her family while she is there.The new guy on the basketball team smiles at her and she feel so lucky. All the other girls are so mad. Shelley ends up findings out what it¿s like to fall in love. To find out more you¿ll have to read the book yourself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Anonomous

    Its a great book i love it and i would rcommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Ananomoi

    Awesome so far

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Annaunymus

    I loved it i thought it was great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Love it

    This is probably my favorite Beverly Cleary book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Luved it

    I hihly recomend it is a freaken good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    An Awesome book!!!!

    You guys should totally read this book. It is the best book I've ever read! It is funny, exciting and sad all together. I love it!!!
    :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Lalalakalalakakalaaksjdhhhdhsjakjaka,afkdjk,ajaka

    Love it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    Great!

    The Luckiest Girl is a fantastic addition to Beverly Cleary's many masterpieces! It is a wonderful trip back in time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved it. I could not put it down. My mom kept telling me to go to bed but I could not put the fasinating book down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2005

    really good!!!

    Although Beverly Cleary is mostly known for younger books, a teenage girl can read this one. I've read this book a couple times, and I'm still not tired of it. It tells the story of a teen girl going to live to CA for the school year. While there,she falls in love. Thw whole time I was reading it, I wanted to be Shelley. Teen girls should read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2005

    i think it was great

    im a 12 year old girl and this relates so much to how life really is.....a girl named shelley goes to cali and falls deeply in love will goin threw the ups and downs of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    A new girl in a 'new world' finds love in all the right places

    This book can really grow on to you. Iloved all of Cleary's books but this one just koks me off my feet.I would love to be Shelly. She was so calm about Katie. If Icould be Shelly I would LOVE to live her life!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    WOW!

    i used to hate cleary books they are so childish, but this was such a good book. The setting so so cool and the way that the author discribes everything. I should be requered to all teenage girls . It tells you what is really impoirtant how someone is not who. i could not put this book down it was so good. this is one of my favorite books of the year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4