Customer Reviews for

Luckiest Man: The Life and Death of Lou Gehrig

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    Highly impressive and readable bio

    I'm not as avid a sports fan as many of my friends, and I haven't read many sports bios. This book, though, surpasses the usual expectations for sports books. Reading it is like reading a vivid fictional book with many fascinating characters who seem bigger than life yet with imperfections and flaws, too. I'm sure any baseball/Yankees fan who like to read would get a lot out of this book. Anyone who is curious about Lou Gehrig should obviously read it. But its appeal for me went beyond baseball because it just tells the story of a humble and great man who lived a short, brave life and struggled with a terrible illness he could not understand. These are all powerful themes in and of themselves, but Eig clearly uses the English language to make Gehrig's story even more inviting. I kept reading waiting to get to a dull sentence or a cliche, but did not...it's just page after page of lean, tight writing and colorful detail, like a really good New York Times feature story. Eig tells an old story but in so many ways it is timely. It's pretty interesting to read about Gehrig and his baseball friends who played for the love of the game in much simpler times, for money that may have been big in their time but not hugely extravagant, the way sports contracts are today. They didn't complain about fans or the media. Baseball was starting to be a business, yes, but not Big Business. The players didn't take steroids or say that anything about their behavior was justified because they were just 'entertainers.' They were honest and hard-working athletes. They signed autographs and felt flattered to do it. It's just so refreshing to learn about how baseball used to be. The final parts of the book, about his ALS, are grim and tragic but tell so much about the strength of Gehrig, and the author found a lot of material (like letters to Gehrig's doctor, talking about the disease). It's all fascinating, and makes you understand ALS and feel for its victims. To sum up, I'm glad I bought this and think you would not be sorry to read it if you are excited by baseball, enjoy solid biographies, the history of the 1920s-1930s, books about heroic fights against illness, or if you just like colorful-but-true writing that's not at all difficult to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Highly Recommended a must have

    I wanted this book because the dreaded disease took my Mother in 2011. If it wasnt for this man and the disease being named after him , alot of people wouldnt know what it is. When you mention ALS the public doesnt know, but mention Lou Gehrig and they have an idea. Very good book about his life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    A superstar in his day, Lou Gehrig lacked one thing, recognition. Reserved in manner, he played in the shadow of Babe Ruth and, after Ruth¿s retirement, continued his ¿aw shucks¿ way. Never seeking the limelight, in fact you can say he avoided it, Lou Gehrig¿s life was in many ways a mystery. A true league and team leader, today Gehrig is sadly known for the disease that killed him at the age of 37, Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, commonly known as Lou Gehrig disease. That all changes with Jonathan Eig¿s biography, ¿Luckiest Man: The Life and Death of Lou Gehrig.¿ Eig begins Gehrig¿s life story by looking at the lives of his mother and father. Not a happy couple they, their son was indelibly etched by his mother¿s domineering ways, and his father¿s laziness. Exploring Gehrig¿s athletic prowess, Eig examines they myths that began with Gehrig¿s high school days. And continues through the famous playing game streak. However, it was not until Gehrig married at the age of the 30 that Gehrig the man appears. Still, mild mannered, a gentleman, concerned about putting on a good face, Gehrig never demands the admiration and respect he richly deserved. Jonathan Eig has written a fascinating biography of one of the least understood men in professional sports. It¿s a good read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    An athlete not seen since

    I havent read too many books about sports figures but this one sticks out because of the famous quote...hence the title of the book. The author gives great weight to the desire Gehrig had to work hard every day to be the best he could be while having to bat behind everyone's favorite player, Babe Ruth. While the book doesnt go into his issues of pride involved with Ruth, it does cover the fact that the two men were very different and really had nothing in common except to win. Their work ethics were very much the opposite. Gehrig was a "workhorse" who kept to himself and Ruth was "party boy" who the attention of all the world. The outcome of Gehrig's life is the most-telling of his story. He believe until the end that although he will never play baseball again...his chances of beating the disease is 50/50. Unfortunately, it was not to be. His record for consecutive games played stood for a long time until Cal Ripken passed it. A man who was also known a workhorse who kept to himself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    We Should be that Lucky

    Growing up in Ct. in the 50's you always heard of Ruth and Gehrig and what made them great and loveable. You wanted to grow up and be them and live your dreams through them.If you don't have hero's, read this book and you will find one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    Eig is very good not quite great.

    This book tells the Lou Gehrig story in a concise way. There are many details left out, which I imagine his research found. For example, little is said about relationships with other ball players, and why he and Babe Ruth did not get along as well as one might wonder that they might have. On the flip side, as I was getting to the end, I was almost hoping that he would not die and that another ending might occur. I enjoyed it and would recomend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    Gehrig:Great Story

    The Luckiest Man is a book that any Lou Gehrig fan will not be able to put down.I have been a fan of Lou Gehrig since I was a kid.Read everything and watched everything on him.The book added so many things that I never knew before.When telling some of my friends about the book,they said they had to go out and get there own copy.A great read for any Yankees fan,baseball fan.The author even gave a great description of what it was like growing up in the 20's and 30's.He really makes you feel like you are there to witness all the things that were happening.Lou Gehrig a great athlete,great person.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Lou

    I enjoy baseball and history. This was both. I've always been a fan of Lou's so I was excited to read this. The writer made you feel as if you were at the ballpark watching the Yanks play. He described Lou's life and illness in a way that you understood the man he was. I really enjoyed this biography.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Death

    My grandma resently died from this disease and i bout this book because i wanted to remeber what it was like before he died. Lou gehrig was my grandmas favorite baseball player so i thought that i should do so reading up on this guy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    amazingggg

    i really loved this book it really gave me more insight about my favorite past time player Lou Gehrig, it tells you about his life and his career and it really broke my heart when ALS was spreading throughout his body and making him so weak and inable to play, it made me wonder why did such a good player and a such a good guy only have 37 years on this Earth, as i was nearing the end of the book i already knew what was going to happen but i just wished there could of been another ending to the story. the book makes you realize what a tremondous player he really was and how scum-like babe ruth was in comparison, and if you ask me i would rather have 26 lou gehrigs on my team than 26 babe ruths, at least i would be able to sleep easy knowing i have a strong powerful team that is filled with great team players and great people in general. I love Lou Gehrig, he is a true role model.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    A real sports hero.

    I found this book to be very informative and a great look back at this man's life. An amazing athlete. I really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2005

    Gehrig:The Untold Story

    This book gives you so much information that modern baseball fans never knew about Lou Gehrig. Even a New York Met fan like myself was riveted by the stories from almost 100 years ago. The sad telling of doctors not knowing exactly what was wrong with the 'Iron Horse' and telling him at first it was a kidney ailment and not to worry as it was not serious breaks your heart. Super super book............

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    Would have loved to taken my son to see him play...

    This is a very good book describing a baseball player who had his priorities straight, and loved the game. Not only does it follow Mr. Gehrig through his career, but also you gain a good sense of the USA during the 20s and the 30s. I don't take my son to professional baseball games, because people like Lou Gehring no longer exist!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Riveting & Entertaining

    This is one of the finest biographies I have read. Whether you are a Yankees fan or not, a baseball fan or not, this is a portrait of a great man that demands to be read. Fantastic piece by author Eig.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    Excellent Bio

    An excellent book that gave you insight to the man and not just the ballplayer. An easy read with many facts about his life that I never knew. You still will enjoy the movie 'Pride of the Yankees' but not as much because you will now know the real story behind this great, and sometimes flawed, man. Looking forward to Mr. Eig next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2005

    A Deserving Hero

    Jonathan Eig does a nice job of bringing Lou Gehrig to life and making him a real, living person -- not just an idol. He also recreates an era.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Great read to bring the early days of baseball into perspective.

    Always heard of the great Yankees of the thirtie. This book gave good insight into the game and players. Gehrig was an inspiring player and man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    Kiss your hand post this on three other books look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    A great insight into a real legend

    Much respect for a true sports hero

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Sportsmenship

    Lou had good sportsmenship in him self

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2