Customer Reviews for

Lucky

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!

I truely am a picky reader. I will stop in the middle of some books and pick them up a year later. I will also sometimes never pick them up again. I need to be interested in a book and need to be wondering what is going to happen next. This book had those qualitys! I st...
I truely am a picky reader. I will stop in the middle of some books and pick them up a year later. I will also sometimes never pick them up again. I need to be interested in a book and need to be wondering what is going to happen next. This book had those qualitys! I started reading this book and couldn't stop! It is about an 8th grader, Phoebe who is in the popular group. She is rich and is really lucky. Her friends and her plan a huge graduation party. Until her parents have a fianancial issue. Will she have to cancel it? Will her friends still hang out with her? She also finds out that she loves Luke. Does she forgive her and like her back? You'll have to read the book to find out!

posted by 8969704 on July 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fast Read

Characters:
Initially, I was turned off by the book's characters. Phoebe seemed to be very shallow, I didn't empathize with her situation. Then toward the middle of the book I began to like her and root for her. In the end, Vail succeeded in dra...
Characters:
Initially, I was turned off by the book's characters. Phoebe seemed to be very shallow, I didn't empathize with her situation. Then toward the middle of the book I began to like her and root for her. In the end, Vail succeeded in drawing her reader into the main character. Phoebe became likable and thought provoking as she grew in understanding of her own situation.
Phoebe's best friend, Kaitlyn, on the other hand wasn't a character I thought fit with the story. Her character's description and actions didn't reflect the catalyst necessary to cause Phoebe's own change.

Plot/Conflict/Theme:
The plot wasn't what kept me reading, though entertaining, it was slightly predictable. I would have liked a few more twists and/or a conflict that was less shallow and more substantial. Granted there was a underlying theme here that had the potential to take this book to the next level, but didn't quite make it.

Quality of Writing:
I loved the quality of writing that Rachel Vail produced. She has a way with words that made the novel play out like music on a piano. The character's dialogue was realistic, and the descriptions brought vivid images to the reader's imagination.


My Rating:
Book: A for Average
Cover: B for Brilliant- Book cover was simple and elegant.

Review taken from my blog: Ink Slinger's Index

posted by jhildred on April 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    Love this book!

    I truely am a picky reader. I will stop in the middle of some books and pick them up a year later. I will also sometimes never pick them up again. I need to be interested in a book and need to be wondering what is going to happen next. This book had those qualitys! I started reading this book and couldn't stop! It is about an 8th grader, Phoebe who is in the popular group. She is rich and is really lucky. Her friends and her plan a huge graduation party. Until her parents have a fianancial issue. Will she have to cancel it? Will her friends still hang out with her? She also finds out that she loves Luke. Does she forgive her and like her back? You'll have to read the book to find out!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Just great!!

    I love thiis book. It makes me want to read more and never stop.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Fast Read

    Characters:
    Initially, I was turned off by the book's characters. Phoebe seemed to be very shallow, I didn't empathize with her situation. Then toward the middle of the book I began to like her and root for her. In the end, Vail succeeded in drawing her reader into the main character. Phoebe became likable and thought provoking as she grew in understanding of her own situation.
    Phoebe's best friend, Kaitlyn, on the other hand wasn't a character I thought fit with the story. Her character's description and actions didn't reflect the catalyst necessary to cause Phoebe's own change.

    Plot/Conflict/Theme:
    The plot wasn't what kept me reading, though entertaining, it was slightly predictable. I would have liked a few more twists and/or a conflict that was less shallow and more substantial. Granted there was a underlying theme here that had the potential to take this book to the next level, but didn't quite make it.

    Quality of Writing:
    I loved the quality of writing that Rachel Vail produced. She has a way with words that made the novel play out like music on a piano. The character's dialogue was realistic, and the descriptions brought vivid images to the reader's imagination.


    My Rating:
    Book: A for Average
    Cover: B for Brilliant- Book cover was simple and elegant.

    Review taken from my blog: Ink Slinger's Index

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Cute Book!

    I bought this book on one of those mad-shopping-sprees. It was about a girl going from 800-dollar Vera Wang's to not planning parties with her friends. Very cute. Teaches a lesson about appreciating money and everything you have.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Skips

    The book kept skippimg around and I couldnt understand what was going on.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Wow

    Wow. Thats all i have to say
    Wow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Lucky

    It is a excellent book!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Okay...

    I didnt finish it... I just didnt find it entertaining.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    pretty good!

    not amazing but pretty awesome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    Lucky i wish i was as lucky as her

    Lucky is a realistic fiction book by Rachel Vail. It was a very good book and it kept me wondering what was going to happen. It had friendship, romance, and school which when put together made an excellent book. This book is set in the modern day, in a small town, at a girl named Phoebe's house and school. Phoebe's mom finds out that she was fired from her job and lost millions of dollars. Phoebe's dad tells her they don't have enough money to get a 500 dollar dress for Phoebe and spend thousands of dollars on the 8th grade moving up party she and her friends were planning. Phoebe doesn't want her best friend Kirsten to pay her share or to cancel the party. Phoebe doesn't want to tell Kirsten she doesn't have the money. She's afraid Kirsten will kick her out of the group. Phoebe thinks that she should take some money out of her bank account and then everything would be fine. She gets in a fight with Kirsten to cancel the party and avoid Kirsten and her other friends from knowing she can't pay for the party. Phoebe starts spending more time with her ex-boyfriend, Luke to pass the time and try to get away from it all. Rachel Vail has a very good language use. She uses some larger words, but at the same time she has Phoebe and her friends talking like real 8th graders. She used the word "like" where it shouldn't be used, but where an 8th grader would use it in that way. Other author's do this too, but it wasn't like Rachel's. I could hear Phoebe's tone as I was reading it. I would definitely recommend this book for girls, mainly teens. Teens who like books about friendship, romance, and cliques would enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Awesome book I have ever read!!!!!! It is a really good book! It kept me reading!!! I LOVE it!!!!!!!!! Read it everyone! I consider it!!! Great job Rachel Vail!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ~Lucky~

    I really liked this book because there were no loose ends when the book was finished. Everything was explained. It had a very good plot, too. I would recommend this book to any girl who needs a good book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by The Compulsive Reader for TeensReadToo.com

    Phoebe, the youngest of the Avery sisters, is graduating from middle school. Her life seems perfect. She and her four best friends will be having the party of the year, she has an eye on the perfect dress, and the promise of high school's new beginnings. But when Phoebe's mom starts acting weird, and her friends start alienating her, the perfect conclusion to her eighth-grade year is at stake. <BR/><BR/>Can Phoebe pull it together and do what's right, even if it means swallowing her pride and forgoing what she wants most? <BR/><BR/>LUCKY is the wholly enjoyable first novel in Rachel Vail's new trilogy. Phoebe is a nicely relatable narrator who nearly anyone can empathize with. Her problems are those that we've all faced at one time or another, reminding us once again that you don't have to have to be privileged to be able to solve them with your dignity intact. <BR/><BR/>Witty and engaging, by the time this coming-of-age story is spun, you'll feel truly lucky to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Wow

    I had the book and never got around to reading it. It was my friends bday and i forgot. The first thing i grabbed was the book and she asked if it was for her and i said yes, i didnt want her to feel bad im so mad at myself judging by her discription it was gr8

    PS book was paperback not ebook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Hwy hwy

    If you want to chat reply to -lolselfie girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Great

    I thought the book was great! At first, its a little hard to follow, but you will eventually catch on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A little bit of Luck...

    Phoebe lives a very lucky life: she has four best friends, two sisters, awesome parents, a great lifestyle - not to mention she's helping to throw the hottest party in town for her eight grade graduation. When her mom makes a mistake and loses her job, suddenly things start to change. Phoebe hides the truth from her friends, creating tension in the group. To make matters worse, the group looks like it might be breaking up. Some of the girls are more focused on high school boys and making the leap from middle school to high school with their popularity intact. Phoebe pulls out of the party without telling her friends the truth? Has she lost her friends forever on top of the all the family drama?

    This is the first in trilogy about three sisters, who sometimes get along. Lucky is a great tale of friendship amidst family drama and finding out your true friends. I'm anxious for the next book in the series starring Allison. Plus I love the covers.

    ~ yabooknerd @ http://www.yabooknerd.blogspot.com/

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Nobody's Life Is Perfect

    Imagine if your life was perfect and you were always the lucky one. Well, for Phoebe Avery that¿s how it is. Now that she is finishing eighth grade she wants to have a huge party in celebrating her friendship with her four bff¿s and the end of middle school. She has everything planned for her party. The only thing she is missing is the perfect dress. But then she finds out her family is broke, her mom can¿t buy her the dress, and her dad thinks she should cancel the party. She gets angry and she feels devastated about it. Her bffl Kirstyn becomes suspicious about her and they start to argue about the party. Phoebe learns more in the book about happiness: that it¿s not all about having everything. I loved this book. I thought it was great because it had friendship problems and the solution to them. It had some humor in it, some drama, and some sad parts. Basically it was a fulfilling book to read. I like to read a lot of fiction and some sad/sweet books. I can relate a lot to this story. For example, when I have big fights with my best friends, I talk it out with them too. I think this book is really good because it tells a story that could possibly happen to you. You never know when your life could change in a second. This story tells you that nobody¿s life is perfect. Nicole W. Grade 6 Ms. Kawatachi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    A Little Too Middle School for My Taste

    Phoebe Avery is about to graduate from middle school, and she couldn't be more thrilled. But it's mostly the graduation party that she's excited about, because it's a chance to be with her best friends having fun in a fabulous dress. But something goes wrong. It turns out that Phoebe's mother has lost her job. Now the family is in a financial crisis. Phoebe can no longer afford to pay her share for the party. She's too embarrassed to tell her friends her economic situation. Even though she's been friends with these girls since elementary school, she doesn't quite trust them completely, especially her friend Kirstyn, who seems even more self-centered than usual. Phoebe isn't very close to her two older sisters, so she can't really confide in them. Her parents are too stressed out. To top that off, she's not quite sure if she like likes Luke. Phoebe has no one to turn to. She needs to stick it out by herself. When I first read the summary for Lucky, I thought that it was going to be another book like Gossip Girl, but I was wrong. The summary says that there is a 'family scandal,' but I thought that a rich family losing money was hardly scandalous, though that is just my opinion. I was actually glad that Lucky wasn't one of those shallow teenager books, and it was a refreshing read. Lucky was a thoroughly enjoyable book for me even though it would be better for the middle school crowd. Phoebe's character is funny, and while she isn't extremely deep, she isn't shallow either. It was easy to sympathize with her. The ending was a little too cheesy for my taste, but I appreciated that Phoebe was making amends with her family, friends, and potential boyfriend. I was glad that Phoebe could find her inner strength. My overall favorite part was the references to a gorgeous green Vera Wang dress that is displayed on the cover because of its symbolism. I definitely recommend this novel to all young readers. I also look forward to more books from Rachel Vail, especially more from the Avery sisters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    I loved this book:]

    Well, this book was down right amazing. I read it in 2 days. It's totally realistic and it makes you think about your own friendships. I loved this book, and I can't wait to read the second and third!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3