Customer Reviews for

Lucky in Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful love story with fabulous characters

Lucky in Love is a character driven story that gets you into the life of Benita 'Bennie' Cochran very swiftly. Benita is an accomplished businesswoman who excells at so many things you wonder where she gets the time for everything she does. But soon you find out what ...
Lucky in Love is a character driven story that gets you into the life of Benita 'Bennie' Cochran very swiftly. Benita is an accomplished businesswoman who excells at so many things you wonder where she gets the time for everything she does. But soon you find out what propels her. It's what induces all of us women to work so hard, the love of our families. Her mother died when she was ten, and she took it upon herself from that moment on to take care of her family. That credo has made her what she is today. However, what happens when you become so selfless you lose yourself? You burnout. Bennie needs to let go and live for herself for a change. Enter Clayton Deveraux. Bennie has been widowed for five years and this is the first man who has stirred these kinds of feeling in her. Both she and Clay are instantly attracted to each other. Ah, but it isn't that easy. Benita's father,Big Benny Cochran, wanting to keep her under his thumb and running the family business, tries everything in his power to keep them apart. True love can't be thwarted, though! Author Melanie Schuster has a sharp eye for details. She made me laugh, cry and talk back to the book. She had me laughing aloud in the middle of the night, waking my slumbering hubby. I loved this book and I can't wait for her next one. I cannot recommend this book more highly! Five stars, plus!

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Yeah, right! Pa-leze!!

Betty/Bonnie, (whatever her name is) her character is not believable. Nobody's this perfect! She got on my damn nerves!!!! "Oh, yes Im an expert chef, and did I forget to mention an expert at speaking 10 different languages, 5 martial arts, a published author, own 12 b...
Betty/Bonnie, (whatever her name is) her character is not believable. Nobody's this perfect! She got on my damn nerves!!!! "Oh, yes Im an expert chef, and did I forget to mention an expert at speaking 10 different languages, 5 martial arts, a published author, own 12 businesses, a licensed hair stylist, a professional singer, a motivational speaker, a life- coach and the perfect mother to my 20 brothers! (BLAH BLAH BLAH). Hell, when she got in the accident I kept thinking she'd jump on the table and perform surgery on her damn self! Might as well. Im sure she has an M.D., and a JDD as well. The father was the only believable character!

posted by Phoenixlee on April 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Great

    I read this book when it was first release but over the years i lost track of the book. Glad to see it was release again. I'm hoping within time the rest of the books will be release

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2002

    Wonderful love story with fabulous characters

    Lucky in Love is a character driven story that gets you into the life of Benita 'Bennie' Cochran very swiftly. Benita is an accomplished businesswoman who excells at so many things you wonder where she gets the time for everything she does. But soon you find out what propels her. It's what induces all of us women to work so hard, the love of our families. Her mother died when she was ten, and she took it upon herself from that moment on to take care of her family. That credo has made her what she is today. However, what happens when you become so selfless you lose yourself? You burnout. Bennie needs to let go and live for herself for a change. Enter Clayton Deveraux. Bennie has been widowed for five years and this is the first man who has stirred these kinds of feeling in her. Both she and Clay are instantly attracted to each other. Ah, but it isn't that easy. Benita's father,Big Benny Cochran, wanting to keep her under his thumb and running the family business, tries everything in his power to keep them apart. True love can't be thwarted, though! Author Melanie Schuster has a sharp eye for details. She made me laugh, cry and talk back to the book. She had me laughing aloud in the middle of the night, waking my slumbering hubby. I loved this book and I can't wait for her next one. I cannot recommend this book more highly! Five stars, plus!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Yeah, right! Pa-leze!!

    Betty/Bonnie, (whatever her name is) her character is not believable. Nobody's this perfect! She got on my damn nerves!!!! "Oh, yes Im an expert chef, and did I forget to mention an expert at speaking 10 different languages, 5 martial arts, a published author, own 12 businesses, a licensed hair stylist, a professional singer, a motivational speaker, a life- coach and the perfect mother to my 20 brothers! (BLAH BLAH BLAH). Hell, when she got in the accident I kept thinking she'd jump on the table and perform surgery on her damn self! Might as well. Im sure she has an M.D., and a JDD as well. The father was the only believable character!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    A lot of skills for one tall chick.......

    Great book, with the exceptions of Bennie being able to do EVERYTHING under the sun. She could play ball, cook, had a massage parlor, cosmetology license, write books, did I mention cook. She could do a lot, oh I forgot run a radio station. Whew, makes me ti'ed just thoking about all she did. Loved Clay and Bennie's characters.
    N~~~~

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Good read. Enjoyed. Would read another of her books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Heartfelt

    In the early stages of reading this novel, one's sole intention was to get caught up in an illusion in other to drift from reality. However as it progressed the writer Melanie Schuster plotted skillfully in creating a realistic, attainable and heartfelt piece of art! With times changing heavily by technology and equal rights Schuster helps one to understand that compatibility still exist. Life has ups and downs. Happiness and sadness but because of this novel i believe that fate, divine intervention, good karma and love still exist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    great book. Cant wait to read more by this author.

    great book. Cant wait to read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Interesting

    Interesting throughout

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Love Romance

    I loved it. You to get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Really enjoyed the humor in this romance novel!

    I really like this author

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    LOVED THIS ONE !

    I loved this book from beginning to end. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    This book was just Okay, not good, not bad. The real problem I

    This book was just Okay, not good, not bad.

    The real problem I had with it is that the main protagonist is such a Mary Sue I couldn't stand her after awhile. (Okay, I get it Bennie - you're perfect!) It really made her un-relateable and made me stop caring whether or not she gets a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Love this story!

    This was a very sweet entertaining story....It had some unexpected twist and turns that threw me for a loop...but in the end it all prevailed...Loved it...I look forward to reading more by Melanie Schuster!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Ok book

    I enjoyed the book one thing i learn is always make sure you put yourself first .it was a good love story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Great read from beginning to end

    This book is a wonderful love story ! I could not wait to read each page next...makes you believe in love. EVERY CHARACTER SERVED A PURPOSE!!! Not just added to fill space...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Excellent book from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    A Must Read

    This is one of the best book I've read in a long time. I didn't have the opportunity to read it the first time it was release and when its was finally available in my Nook I downloaded it and still waited weeks before reading it. Now I'm wondering how soon is too soon to re-read the book. Clay and Bennie's story will remain a classic to me. Melanie gave what she thought we wanted plus what she knew we needed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2005

    Fabulous

    This book will make you laugh and think that this type of love is really possible. Bennie is a wonderfully written character. Clay is man that many of us have met before! An easy read, this book just got better and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was GREAT this is the second book ive read by melanie and i found it fantastic. The first book was about renee and adndrew and i couldnt wait to read about bennie and clay. This book kept me up all night turning the page. Dont read it if you dont have time you will be up all night. I admired the love between these two characters and wish for a wonderful husband like clay.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    Truely a page turner

    The story of little bennie and Clayton is nothing short of wonderful. It is well written and would keep your fingers turning page after page to see what's going to happen next. The thing that i'm looking forward now is the sequel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3