BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lucky Man: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    A must read for all, inspiring, more than a bio

    Michael J. Fox was born in Edmonton in 1961. Residing in Burnaby, British Columbia, while his father was in the Royal Canadian Army Signal Corps, he recounts growing up with parents, siblings, Nana, and friends. Describing himself in the toddler years, Michael says, '¿ a handful, a whirlwind¿ precociously funny in a what-spaceship-dropped-off-this-alien kind of way.' Michael's early love of music, specifically the guitar (self-taught), was fruitful as a member in the 'Halex' band. His love of drama and art was realized at age sixteen when Michael made his debut as a twelve-year old in the Canadian Broadcasting Company's production of the series 'Leo and Me'. Fox's American career was launched with Disney in 'Midnight Madness'. Career credits include the theater screen with 'Back to the Future', 'Teen Wolf', and 'Doc Hollywood'; and popular television series, 'Family Ties' (on the set, Michael met actress/wife Tracy Pollan), and 'Spin City'. With humor Michael describes success, '¿those who got, get', i.e., if famous and with fortune, free offers abound. Just the mention of his favorite beer in a conversation, brought a truckload of the beverage to his front door¿ with a promise of more anytime he wanted it! Fox's emotional journey in facing the reality of the diagnosis of Young Onset Parkinson's Disease (PD) began in 1990 with the twitching of a finger. In LUCKY MAN, Fox approaches his story with wit, positive attitude and honesty, emotions, and the trials in the continuation of his career. The diagnosis of PD was understandably kept from the public for seven years¿ shared only with his inner circle of family and trusted associates. Michael experienced the ritual commonly traversed with diagnosis of debilitating diseases including anger, denial and acceptance. Candidly, Fox tells his faults, ups and downs, the highs and lows of life and show biz, his philosophy, and the thrill of playing hockey against Bobby Orr. In admitting his problem with alcohol and the existence of PD, Michael is led to a therapist and engages a permanent neurologist for treatment of his illness. As an advocate for PD research funding, Fox has testified before the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee Hearing. His campaigning efforts, continued to this day, have had a definite effect on raising awareness of PD in the public and private sectors. Specifically, the acknowledgement that PD is prevalent in earlier ages vs. the medical textbooks statement that PD is diagnosed in later ages of 50-65 years. The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Disease Research has become a passion in his life. To this date, the exact cause of PD is unknown. LUCKY MAN is not only biographical, it is a highly-informational writing with regard to the progression and research of PD. Medications associated with treatment are described, differing in results with each person. Fox says of his release of the diagnosed illness to the public, 'Disclosure had allowed me to rearrange life so that I could get more from it.' Michael J. Fox possesses obvious penchant for writing. His exceptional narrative in LUCKY MAN is philosophical, uplifting and insightful. While reading LUCKY MAN, I laughed and I cried. I am in awe of Michael J. Fox for his honesty, humility, compassion, and courage (that includes wife/actress Tracy Pollan and his four children). [Note: The author's profits from the sale of 'Lucky Man' are donated by the author to The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research. Please visit the author's website: michaeljfox.com]

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lucky Reader

    I never thought it possible to admire someone more than I do Michael J. Fox. He writes in a way that makes you feel like you are sitting there listening to him talk. His story really makes you think about your own life and how you would handle things if you were in his situation. I found his book to be inspiring and enjoyable on so many levels. Great actor, great writer, awesome human being.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lucky

    This book, purchased in the Summer... took with me on vacation. Didn't take more than 2 days to read it. After completion, I realized just how lucky I am to have my health and my family. Great book, easy read, makes you think. Michael J. Fox is an inspiration to us all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lucky Man is life changing!

    Everyone knows that Michael J. Fox is a tremendous actor who has managed to put together and sustain a terrific career. However, I had no idea that he was such a talented writer. I was surprised at how passionate he is about all of the wonderful things in his life (especially his family). Lucky Man is a journey through the struggles and successes of a man overcoming many obstacles in his life to become an example of strength and faith at there best.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I was lucky to read "Lucky Man"

    Michael J. Fox's autobiography is one of the top I have ever read, especially for those of a celebrity nature. Buddy Ebsen's "The Other Side of Oz" would be one of the others. "Cagney by Cagney" is another.

    Having worked with many celebs, I have never met Mike but now count him as one of my heroes. He points out his luck and his hard-work, but what's more impressive to me...he points out where he basically screwed the pooch in his life, and luckily survived to tell. And he does so in a totally non-self-praising manner.

    His writing style is unique, and able to share humor in the places a person might need it the most. I think Jimmy Cagney would have adored this book.

    www.pierre-orourke.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great work

    I have always been a fan of Michael Fox and so naturally I had to read this book and can say I was pleasantly surprised. Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Well Written Memoir

    An engaging memoir of an actor many of us watched grow up on TV and in movies. Can't wait to read the follow up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have loved Michael J. Fox ever since I saw him in Back to the Futrue. I loved this book because it gave you an inside look at his life and how he had problems to deal with like a normal person. He was very open with some of the problems that he has had to face and overcome, like alchoholism and learning how to deal with everyday life and still have Parkinson's Disease. While I was reading this book, I loved how he showed us as the reader that he is just like everyone else. He goes through tough problems and questioning situations about his disease that everyone else would probably ask too. What I didn't like about the book was that it was a biography about his life and not just about dealing with Parkinson's Disease. Overall I found this book to be motivational and moving. He is a great man and I admire him for coming out about the disease and not letting the disease controll him but how he's controlling the disease and making an effort in trying to find a cure. I recommend this book to anyone that has lost someone to an uncureable disease or that is going though a tough time with alchoholism. This book will show everyone that it's ok to deal with problems but to never let the problems controll you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    Lucky Man's lucky charm

    Michael J. Fox's 'Lucky Man' is a wonderful read about the life and times of the great actor. This biography allows the reader to view Fox's life pre-fame, through movies and into his fight with Parkinson's disease, the hardest obstical he is forced to face. After coming out with his disease, Fox became a large activist in curing Parkinson's with stem cell research and continues to promote it while still keeping his position in show-biz. One of the major themes in this book is taught by Fox himself, to take whats given to you and make the best out of it. many times Fox looks back at how 'lucky' he was to get to where he is today. The high point, or crux of this book had to be his discovery of his illness and how he took action to it, his overall positive outlook. I greatly enjoyed this book, and as a fellow actor I look up to successes like Michael J. Fox and how he maanged to continue his dream through his stugles and sufferage from Parkinson's. The one dislike I have about this book would be the first few chapters, which seemed to drag on a little. I would highly recomend this book for a read if you are a young actor like myself who can only dream of attaining the goals which Fox has already surpased.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    It was worth it

    Sometimes when you give up on everything around you and feel that life has been unjust to you, One should always think about the ways to enjoy what he has instead of keeping his eyes fixed on things and goals he might not ever reach...This book was so inspiring for me, I ve always respected Michael J. Fox he's one of the remaining few...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    What a wonderful book!

    If you've not read any of Michael J. Fox's books, I recommend you do so. I started with "Lucky Man" and thoroughly enjoyed it. I found his writing to be articulate, insightful, and entertaining. His experiences are also a wonderful reminder about the power of positive thinking and tenacity. For those of us who grew up watching him in his roles as an actor and advocate, this is also an intriguing walk down memory lane with an entirely new, very personal perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Loved the entire book.  Hated when i had to put it down. As I ca

    Loved the entire book.  Hated when i had to put it down. As I came to the last pages I wanted more. Recommend this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    True Insight - not only the man, but the disease

    I was very impressed with this book. It gave not only the story behind the man and his career, but also the details of a illness that affects so many people of all ages. As someone who has a family member with PD, it gave me a better understanding of the aspects, symptoms and treatments available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    A must read

    If you enjoyed him on tv and in theaters and want to know more.....then this is your book. From starting his movie career to being diognosed with parkinson 's he tells you how he felt and how lucky a man he is. I especially loved the part where he talks about how he first fell in love with Tracy. Sorry about the spelling errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Very interesting

    Fox is a very talented actor and writer. I found him to be brave, funny, and inspirational. His writing made me feel he is genuine. I recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Extremely inspirational

    I am not a Michael J Fox fan, seen his TV shows and movies, always thought he was just a hyper comedian. This book has revealed a side of Michael that I never knew but totally inspiring! Most surprisingly, he is such a good writer! This is one of the very few good books I read this year (and I read a lot of books) that I will recommend, and buy another copy to give to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    I'm so thankful to Michael J. Fox for sharing his story. My mom

    I'm so thankful to Michael J. Fox for sharing his story. My mom was diagnosed with Parkinson's this year and she didn't get many answers from her neurologist about the disease. We found a specialist, but she had to wait two months to see him. During those two months, her symptoms were running full force and she was scared about her future. I bought my mom Lucky Man and Always Looking Up to help her realize she wasn't alone. My mom could relate instantly with so many things that happened to Michael. Though reading about the progression of his symptoms was tough at times, being more informed about the disease really helped her. I want to thank Michael J. Fox. My mom has never been much of an optimist, but he helped her become one. He not only showed her she wasn't alone, but with his fight for a cure he gave her hope for the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    An inspirational message from a beloved actor.

    A very powerful insight into Michael J Fox's life after the discovery that he has Parkinson's Disease. You can feel his denial, confusion and ultimate acceptance of the facts of this disease. But, he also makes you very aware of his positive attitude that a cure WILL be found. I found this book to be a very good read; difficult to put down. A favorite actor of my generation, through humor and honesty, he makes you understand that Parkinson's is everyman's disease. It does not pick and choose and a cure needs to be found.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Thanks Michael

    This was a quick read of Michael J. Fox's rise to fame, falling in love and the major part of the autobiography is on his coming to grips with the diagnosis of Parkinson's Disease at an early age and how he turned this into a cause. I've enjoyed watching him grow up on TV and in the movies. I was sad to hear he had Parkinson's and his career would not last much longer on screen... But there's a reason things happen and I'm glad Michael figured that out and now devotes his time to funding, advocating and teaching us all about Parkinson's Disease and how cellstem research is so important!!! Thank you, Michael for all you are doing for people with P.D.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Great read.

    Fox comes off as very genuine and his journey from films to television and parkinsons are very well written. I have read this book twice and enjoyed it both times. A must buy for any fan and certainly worth a look for anyone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8