Customer Reviews for

Lucky Man: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lucky

    This book, purchased in the Summer... took with me on vacation. Didn't take more than 2 days to read it. After completion, I realized just how lucky I am to have my health and my family. Great book, easy read, makes you think. Michael J. Fox is an inspiration to us all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Well Written Memoir

    An engaging memoir of an actor many of us watched grow up on TV and in movies. Can't wait to read the follow up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have loved Michael J. Fox ever since I saw him in Back to the Futrue. I loved this book because it gave you an inside look at his life and how he had problems to deal with like a normal person. He was very open with some of the problems that he has had to face and overcome, like alchoholism and learning how to deal with everyday life and still have Parkinson's Disease. While I was reading this book, I loved how he showed us as the reader that he is just like everyone else. He goes through tough problems and questioning situations about his disease that everyone else would probably ask too. What I didn't like about the book was that it was a biography about his life and not just about dealing with Parkinson's Disease. Overall I found this book to be motivational and moving. He is a great man and I admire him for coming out about the disease and not letting the disease controll him but how he's controlling the disease and making an effort in trying to find a cure. I recommend this book to anyone that has lost someone to an uncureable disease or that is going though a tough time with alchoholism. This book will show everyone that it's ok to deal with problems but to never let the problems controll you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    Lucky Man's lucky charm

    Michael J. Fox's 'Lucky Man' is a wonderful read about the life and times of the great actor. This biography allows the reader to view Fox's life pre-fame, through movies and into his fight with Parkinson's disease, the hardest obstical he is forced to face. After coming out with his disease, Fox became a large activist in curing Parkinson's with stem cell research and continues to promote it while still keeping his position in show-biz. One of the major themes in this book is taught by Fox himself, to take whats given to you and make the best out of it. many times Fox looks back at how 'lucky' he was to get to where he is today. The high point, or crux of this book had to be his discovery of his illness and how he took action to it, his overall positive outlook. I greatly enjoyed this book, and as a fellow actor I look up to successes like Michael J. Fox and how he maanged to continue his dream through his stugles and sufferage from Parkinson's. The one dislike I have about this book would be the first few chapters, which seemed to drag on a little. I would highly recomend this book for a read if you are a young actor like myself who can only dream of attaining the goals which Fox has already surpased.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    What a wonderful book!

    If you've not read any of Michael J. Fox's books, I recommend you do so. I started with "Lucky Man" and thoroughly enjoyed it. I found his writing to be articulate, insightful, and entertaining. His experiences are also a wonderful reminder about the power of positive thinking and tenacity. For those of us who grew up watching him in his roles as an actor and advocate, this is also an intriguing walk down memory lane with an entirely new, very personal perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    True Insight - not only the man, but the disease

    I was very impressed with this book. It gave not only the story behind the man and his career, but also the details of a illness that affects so many people of all ages. As someone who has a family member with PD, it gave me a better understanding of the aspects, symptoms and treatments available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Thanks Michael

    This was a quick read of Michael J. Fox's rise to fame, falling in love and the major part of the autobiography is on his coming to grips with the diagnosis of Parkinson's Disease at an early age and how he turned this into a cause. I've enjoyed watching him grow up on TV and in the movies. I was sad to hear he had Parkinson's and his career would not last much longer on screen... But there's a reason things happen and I'm glad Michael figured that out and now devotes his time to funding, advocating and teaching us all about Parkinson's Disease and how cellstem research is so important!!! Thank you, Michael for all you are doing for people with P.D.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Great read.

    Fox comes off as very genuine and his journey from films to television and parkinsons are very well written. I have read this book twice and enjoyed it both times. A must buy for any fan and certainly worth a look for anyone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Very sincerely, well written. Enjoyed it very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Highly recommend this read; it's good.

    Found the book interesting reading and informative. Good story, good man, Lucky Man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    A really good book

    I would highly recommend it to those interested in Michael J. Fox's career or illness. Inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Intimate and revealing

    Michael J Fox has written an intimate portrait of his life and his struggle with Parkinson's. I especially appreciated his honesty. If you're looking for a juicy tell-all about life as a child star moving into adulthood, this is not the book. But if you want to learn about the man behind Alex P Keaton and Marty McFly, you'll not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed reading Lucky Man. Easy reading, serious, funny, and a insightful look at the progression of dealing with a very serious disease. I would hightly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lucky Man Lucky Man by Michael J. Fox

    I was pleased to find that Michael J. Fox writes with intelligence and thoughtfulness. The book told of his young life, moving through the early years of celebrity and into the time of his diagnosis and illness. He demonstrated with words how important his family is to him, and the importance of continuing to do productive work. I enjoyed this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2003

    A touching memoir from a great person and actor.

    As is the case for most of us who grew up during the 80's, Alex P. Keaton and Marty McFly are childhood friends that we grew to love and enjoy being around. To meet the man behind the curtain in this wonderful book was no disappointment. Fox does a great job of sharing his life story and his frank views on celebrity as well as his life with P.D. are engaging. THE ONLY REASON I DID NOT GIVE THIS BOOK 5 STARS: What is the 'long story' on why Fox chose to do 'The Frighteners' down in New Zealand? I consider it to be one of his finest works and was intrigued as to his views of Peter Jackson as a director and the making of the film. Write another book Mike, PLEASE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    A whole different side of Alex P. Keaton

    I grew up watching Michael J. Fox and I have watched possibly all his films. I have, always associated him with Alex P. Keaton and with Alex's character flaws. In almost every role, Fox is depicted as two-dimensional -- the underdog, the cute boy-next-door (who is never quite popular) with the golden heart. This book definitely shows us a side of Fox that we never really knew. A side that we were never really allowed to see. His personal triumphs, his failures, his attempts to come to turns with his illness. I was personally saddened when the news about Fox's Parkinson's disease broke out but now I am glad to know that my childhood hero has triumphed over this disease. More power to him and his family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    Well written, easy to read

    I just finished reading this book today. It was very well written and well worth reading. Fox keeps your interest and therefore, the story moves quickly. His story is very touching and his account of his acting success and his chronic illness is sincere and genuine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2002

    Language counterproductive

    I enjoyed and benefitted from reading the book but would recommend it with reservations because of the 'foul' language interspersed in it. While this language was part of Michael's vocabulary, it is not necessary to the book and does limit who I would recommend it to. As a teacher and marriage & family therapist, I would find the book more useful if this language were deleted. The achievement of the book's purpose is diminished because of this. Before I got to the first '4-letter word' I was thinking of all the people I would circulate my book to, ie. a nephew with Muscular dystrophy and others dealing with chronic diseases. Now I hesitate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2