Customer Reviews for

Lucky Me: My Life With--and Without--My Mom, Shirley MacLaine

Average Rating 3.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

As a huge Shirley fan, I was totally prepared to hate this book

As a huge Shirley fan, I was totally prepared to hate this book, but I was totally wrong. Sachi Parker's portrayal of her mother is really loving; she has so many sweet memories of her mother, and, keeping in mind the times were much more enient and yes, my beloved Sh...
As a huge Shirley fan, I was totally prepared to hate this book, but I was totally wrong. Sachi Parker's portrayal of her mother is really loving; she has so many sweet memories of her mother, and, keeping in mind the times were much more enient and yes, my beloved Shirley made her mistakes, but they come across as not so terrible. I think everyone needs to go into this book with an open mind and an open heart, because everyone, Sachi, Shirley and the reader come out so much richer for the read!!!!

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

No stars at all  -- "It's a painful moment for me as a moth

No stars at all  -- "It's a painful moment for me as a mother and as someone who values the truth. I'm shocked and heartbroken that my daughter would make statements about me that are virtually all fiction. I've praised her lovingly and truthfully in my own autobio...
No stars at all  -- "It's a painful moment for me as a mother and as someone who values the truth. I'm shocked and heartbroken that my daughter would make statements about me that are virtually all fiction. I've praised her lovingly and truthfully in my own autobiographies. I'm sorry to see such a dishonest, opportunistic effort from my daughter for whom I've only ever wanted the best." - Shirley MacLaine

posted by RobbieKendall on February 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    As a huge Shirley fan, I was totally prepared to hate this book

    As a huge Shirley fan, I was totally prepared to hate this book, but I was totally wrong. Sachi Parker's portrayal of her mother is really loving; she has so many sweet memories of her mother, and, keeping in mind the times were much more enient and yes, my beloved Shirley made her mistakes, but they come across as not so terrible. I think everyone needs to go into this book with an open mind and an open heart, because everyone, Sachi, Shirley and the reader come out so much richer for the read!!!!

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    Finished the book in one sitting. It is a very well-written and

    Finished the book in one sitting. It is a very well-written and compelling story. I admit that I expected a lurid tell all, but I was pleasantly surprised to see that it is much more than that. While still juicy, it is an honest  (and even loving) account of growing up seemingly privileged, but very lonely. Ms Parker did a beautiful job!

    P.S. the above reviewer could not have possibly READ this book.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    WOW could not put it down!! Jaw dropping! But although mom was a

    WOW could not put it down!! Jaw dropping! But although mom was a "character" dad was a monster. My heart breaks for little Sachi. Sadly the reader sees things more clearly than the author..Sachi we need to talk! Yuki is your sister!! But seriously a remarkable read!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    I feel that Lucky Me deserves a top rating as it is a well writt

    I feel that Lucky Me deserves a top rating as it is a well written and fascinating book that brings the reader into the story.  I was curious about Sachi Parker as I have read all of Shirley MacLaine's books and find her to be admirable about her search into areas that fascinate her; I have enjoyed her acting career and can readily believe that an actress with such longevity is both competitive and protective of her career.  I am not surprised that such an independent person was not an ideal mother.  Sachi's father comes off as the truly less likeable parent.  This book was not a nasty tell-all, but rather the attempt by a grown woman who is still rather naive to find out more about the truth of her childhood and the motivations of her parents.  In her own way, she is a searcher like her mother, in her case trying to understand why she looked for love in all the wrong places, and what she learned along the way.  While I sometimes was frustrated by her inability to see past what she wanted to see,  and her continuing unrealistic expectations of parental warmth and closeness, I found the book a fascinating look at a child raised in a Japanese culture who then had to adapt to being the American adult daughter of a movie star celebrity.  The book conveyed this journey very well.   

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Can not put this book down. Exceptional. Started reading this b

    Can not put this book down.
    Exceptional. Started reading this book on Fri 2/15 7pm, it is now Sun 2/17 4am. I have about 15 more pages to go. but have to get some sleep soon, so I'll finish this book when I wake up later today.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    Beautiful story of love and loss.

    Beautiful story of love and loss.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Karma's a byotch. Imagine putting your daughter in a propeller

    Karma's a byotch. Imagine putting your daughter in a propeller plane at the age of 2 and flying her across the world in the care of stewardesses who were strangers? Sachi didn't make this up fact up! Over my dead, lifeless body would I allow my 2 yo to endure that. Shirley might be a talented actress but so what! She was a failure in many, many areas. Obviously, she suffers from some sever personality disorder. At the very least she is a flaming narcissist.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Great book!! I have read a few of Shirley MacLaine's books (Out

    Great book!! I have read a few of Shirley MacLaine's books (Out on a Limb, Going Within) & was struck by how self centered she was, hardly mentioning Sachi at all (I read them years ago & cannot honestly remember Sachi being mentioned). None of her motherly instincts came out in those books. I find Sashi's book very believable & Shirley, you should be ashamed for calling your daughter a liar!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    Sachi Parker has written a must read book. Giving insight into t

    Sachi Parker has written a must read book. Giving insight into the EGO driven world of celebrity. Shirley Maclaine while a brilliant actress, with her spirituality clearly doesn't understand how KARMA works.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    I read this in one sitting. Sachi Parker should have written thi

    I read this in one sitting. Sachi Parker should have written this book a LONG time ago. I believe her completely. What sorry excuses for parents she had! Shirley MacLaine should be ashamed to show her face anywhere, except among the extraterrestrials she apparently believes in financing instead of helping her only daughter and grandchildren.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Sachi did a great job on this book. She reminds me of my o


    Sachi did a great job on this book. She reminds me of my older sister who was always fragile and almost frail and really felt deeply. My mom was an artist type and was hard on her. I see that on some level here. Sachi needed the the love and strength, instead of all that other stuff.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Fun read really enjoyed

    I have read mist of the Shirley mcclaine books. But giing forward i dont think i will as much knowung the kind of mother she was. 22 is early to have children but my mom did ut and had a fabulous career and wrote books shirley could have too. Also i believe everything that Sashi wrote. It seems very true. It us sad shirley cant say hey some of it isnt how i see saw it instead of saying it is a complete lie. I dont think so.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Shirley Mclaine

    Love Shirley Mclaine

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Life as a celebrity's child can be a .....!

    I found this an easy read as I became privvy to an inside look at Shirley McClaine's daughter's life. Wow, being a daughter to such influential parents. Being sent off to private schools in other countries may have seemed like such a privledge and adventure, when in reality, it was a ride trough Hell, at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1