Customer Reviews for

The Lucky One

Average Rating 4.5
( 2690 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1626)

4 Star

(615)

3 Star

(247)

2 Star

(96)

1 Star

(106)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

221 out of 233 people found this review helpful.

Sweet story with loveable characters

This was the 1st Nicholas Sparks book I read (love stories are usually NOT my thing) but since movies have been made from his stories, I thought I'd give this book a try. Very nicely done! First, his style is easy to read and his story didn't drag on forever with usel...
This was the 1st Nicholas Sparks book I read (love stories are usually NOT my thing) but since movies have been made from his stories, I thought I'd give this book a try. Very nicely done! First, his style is easy to read and his story didn't drag on forever with useless details. Next, I was very impressed that his story included a veteran dealing with the horrors of war and another character who is a dirtbag that uses women - yet this book didn't have one single cuss word in it. There were loveable characters who made me laugh and I even cried reading this book too. It had just the right amount of drama, light, funny moments and wasn't overly mushy in the love part of the story. I'll be reading Mr. Sparks' work again soon!

posted by JenniferL on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

Not his best...

I'm an avid Nicholas Sparks fan- I've read all of his novels. While I've found some of his other novels predictable, they were still interesting. The characters in this book are under-developed. I couldn't get into them enough to care what happened. The language was imm...
I'm an avid Nicholas Sparks fan- I've read all of his novels. While I've found some of his other novels predictable, they were still interesting. The characters in this book are under-developed. I couldn't get into them enough to care what happened. The language was immature at times, and the Clayton character was cheesy. Normally, I will sit and read through an entire novel in an evening...this one took me a while because of my disinterest. I was really looking forward to a good read, and was dissapointed. Too bad. If this was your first Sparks novel, read At First Sight and True Believer. Some of his best work.

posted by alexandria14 on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2702 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 136
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet story with loveable characters

    This was the 1st Nicholas Sparks book I read (love stories are usually NOT my thing) but since movies have been made from his stories, I thought I'd give this book a try. Very nicely done! First, his style is easy to read and his story didn't drag on forever with useless details. Next, I was very impressed that his story included a veteran dealing with the horrors of war and another character who is a dirtbag that uses women - yet this book didn't have one single cuss word in it. There were loveable characters who made me laugh and I even cried reading this book too. It had just the right amount of drama, light, funny moments and wasn't overly mushy in the love part of the story. I'll be reading Mr. Sparks' work again soon!

    221 out of 233 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    Wonderful Sparks Novel

    I enjoyed reading "The Lucky One". Once I started reading it, I didn't want to put it down. It took me no time to read it because it was so good. I would definately recommend it to any reader looking for a good novel.

    107 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Enjoyed it- a lot and will read more from this talented writer.

    80 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    Not his best...

    I'm an avid Nicholas Sparks fan- I've read all of his novels. While I've found some of his other novels predictable, they were still interesting. The characters in this book are under-developed. I couldn't get into them enough to care what happened. The language was immature at times, and the Clayton character was cheesy. Normally, I will sit and read through an entire novel in an evening...this one took me a while because of my disinterest. I was really looking forward to a good read, and was dissapointed. Too bad. If this was your first Sparks novel, read At First Sight and True Believer. Some of his best work.

    33 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very predictable and following his formula

    Sparks has a formula and he sticks with it. I go into reading his books knowing that. But this book was so over dramatic and predictable! It was a big drama fest and so poorly written. He gave such obvious clues as to where the story was headed that I knew exactly how it would end. I literally rolled my eyes in the final chapter. And the characters were weak. The only ones I remotely even cared about were Ben and Zeus the dog. The plot made little sense. Things that Logan didn't reveal just didn't make sense at all as to why he would keep quiet on them except for the obvious reason of moving the plot along. If you are thinking about spending your money buying this book and that you just have to have it now, you should really reconsider and get it from the library.

    27 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Romantic, tragic and suspenseful, The Luck One is an unforgettable story.

    The Lucky One is a story that contains romance, tragedy and suspense, but in the end will capture the heart of every reader. A tale that will leave its readers breathless and test one's beliefs on the power of fate, or destiny and how they are linked to the decisions made in life. While serving in Iraq Logan Thibault, a U.S. marine unearths a picture of a young woman almost completely buried in the dirt. After finding the photograph he suddenly encounters a streak of good fortune, winning poker games and surviving lethal warfare. The only justification to his newly found luck; is his friend, Victor's explanation that the picture is Thibault's lucky charm. When he returns home to Colorado, after his tour of duty in Iraq was completed, he cannot seem to succeed in forgetting the woman in the picture, thus decides to go on a journey across the nation to locate her. However, Thibault's travels are soon put on hold, when his search leads him to Elizabeth, a divorced mother in North Carolina and they soon undergo a passionate love affair. Thibault decides to keep his tale of the picture and his luck a secret from Elizabeth. But it is this secret that will soon jeopardize their love, and their lives. Nicholas Sparks' The Lucky One is a tale that tackles the theme of the power of fate and destiny. Throughout the novel each of the character's fate is foreshadowed and later seen through. For example, Thibault's destiny is laid in front of him when he first obtains the picture, for it is this lucky charm that allows him survive Iraq, thus later allowing him to embark on a journey to find the woman in the picture. However, in the end it is not only in his destiny to fall in love and spend the rest of his life with the photographed woman, but to save and almost protect her from her over powering ex-husband. One of the many aspects that I personally enjoyed about the novel was how Nicholas Sparks created standard characters such as beautiful divorced mother, the hero who comes home from war and the over protective ex-husband, places them in remarkable and unpredictable situations and produced unanticipated outcomes. Therefore by using ordinary people in this novel, it became relatable thus allowing the tale to touch the hearts of many. However the ending did prove to be the weakest point of the book. It appears as if the ending was written from more of a Hollywood screenwriter's point of view, rather than written by a novelist. The ending is as if it was cut short due to time constraints, or a deadline. However, The Lucky One is a novel that shines from the inside out, therefore one should read it because it celebrates the unpredictable and rough paths life often leads and the strength of fate to direct one to their purpose. For those who enjoyed this novel I would recommend A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks, and The Time Traveler's wife by Audrey Niffenegger.

    18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    NOT THE TYPICAL SPARKS, BUT....

    Not the typical Sparks but the emotion, realism and pure passion are still right there in the middle of LIFE. An ex-marine, after hanging onto a picture of a young girl he'd found in the dirt while serving his third tour in Iraq, decided to walk across from Colorado to North Carolina with nothing but the clothes on his back in search of this girl. Wow! What more do you need to waNT TO BUY THIS BOOK? You won't have regrets! Others I'd like to share...THE FORGOTTEN GARDEN, EXPLOSION IN PARIS AND THE GLASS CASTLE..

    18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite Sparks novels

    So far this book and The Choice are my favorite Nicholas Sparks novels. I couldn't put this down. This is much more light hearted than some of his novels which could pull more people in. I would recommend this to anyone who believes in the powers of love.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Lucky One

    This is an original idea with a love story tied in to it and a quick ending. I regret to say that the best work of Nicholas Sparks was "The Notebook" and nothing he has written since has been much more than movie scripts. This was a great idea for characters and exciting to think of fate tied to a photograph. The ending left alot to be desired, it was almost like he was too close to a deadline and just decided to end the story.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    Captivating

    The character development holds your attention from the very start. The style stirs your interest as it develops the characters and keeps the plot moving.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    great

    Loved reading this novel. Highly recommend reading it if you are looking for an entertaining romantic novel tha isn't too sappy.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Sooooooo great!!!!

    Im only 12 and was so sad when it was over:( so gonna see the movie:D

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    This book was torturous to read. First off, he is going to talk

    This book was torturous to read. First off, he is going to talk about OIF but doesn't know enough to capitalize the "M" in "Marine???" A Marine is a proper noun... a marine anything else is a battery or a mammal. Its hard to take his account of the war seriously when he is obviously clueless. I'm a civilian, so I'm not sure whether its incorrect or not, but I wouldn't enjoy reading a twisted version of a very recent war. Everytime the story annoyingly flashes back to his deployment, I just graze over it.. yeah, yeah.

    His characters are so bland, so predictable. Ms. Perfect "Beth" is something else! She's flawless, perfect, she even calls herself something like "pure as the wind-driven snow." This is the girl who got pregnant at 18 by a guy who was well-off and whose family owns most of the town (now she gets her child support from a trust.. ya! she's angelic!) She got married because she was pregnant, and the guy didn't want any part of it (it is eluded to that his family pressured him). She's just looking for a baby daddy now. Her attitude and tactics are so sweet yet fake.. self-serving.. they're sickening. Logan. Wow, he is also just so perfect and devoted. Dedicated. One of those types who can never do any wrong, never says one thing out of place; never makes a mistake. There is no way any guy would ever go to those lengths for some girl who plays so hard to get; like she's such a prize. Its very strange, the characters aren't realistic or interesting. The little dance they dance around each other makes me wanna throw up. They're super boring and not something a normal person could or should relate to.

    I've never read one of his novels.. I guess I was expecting more out of a New York Times best seller. I can tell you one thing, I will definitely be writing a book or two if this crap is all it takes to get published! Wow! The stories are catchy though and they make great movies (once adapted quite a bit). His writing is just not impressive.. I wish I hadn't bought this book. I'm not even finished with it but its legit TORTURE. Oh yeah, and the little pizzeria in town? Of course the two Italian owners are Luigi and Maria. He couldn't come up with anything better than that?? A little less sterotypical?? A litle creativity?!?!!? I mean I feel like I'm back in 4th grade in the 90's reading some cheesy tween book.

    7 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Long reading

    In defense of this book it was the third book of Sparks i read in a row....so it became predictable and took me forever to read because i just could not get into it.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    While in his third tour of duty in Iraq, U.S. Marine Logan Logan

    While in his third tour of duty in Iraq, U.S. Marine Logan Logan Thibault finds a half-buried photograph of a beautiful young woman. Carrying it with him ever after he completes his tour and walks across country in search of this woman. There are many flashback that fill in details of his life. He determines from the background of the photo where she could be so he starts walking from Colorado with his German Shepherd, Zeus, and manages to get to Hampton, NC. This story is beautifully and realistically written. No wonder this book was made into a movie.


    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Great romance novel...

    The book was slow at some points but the characters were well developed. The ending was abrubt and had a twist to it :) It is a good book to read for fun in your spare time.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    not good

    I usually like Spark's books, however I really did not like this book and the 2 main characters. Logan obsessively stalks a woman in a photograph and forces his way into her life. She forgives him, and starts dating him. This is really disturbing. I think Sparks takes this very serious issue way too lightly. This will probably be my last Sparks book.

    6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Touching Love Story!

    I loved this book. First and foremost you cant go wrong with a Nicholas Sparks novel for a love story. Its captivating from the beginning. The characters are described in such a way that you can relate to them. It develops a great plot and has you hungry for more. It's a touching tale of destined love and I think it would be an excellent rainy day read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sparks has done it again!

    I'm a HUGE fan of Nicholas Sparks. This was a great book. It made me cry 25 pages in. It was easy to relate to the characters. I couldn't put the book down!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Published 2008!

    Old books new to nook should state that in overview. I just wasted money on a book i already own.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2702 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 136