Customer Reviews for

The Lucky One

Average Rating 4.5
( 2683 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1622)

4 Star

(614)

3 Star

(245)

2 Star

(96)

1 Star

(106)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

220 out of 232 people found this review helpful.

Sweet story with loveable characters

This was the 1st Nicholas Sparks book I read (love stories are usually NOT my thing) but since movies have been made from his stories, I thought I'd give this book a try. Very nicely done! First, his style is easy to read and his story didn't drag on forever with usel...
This was the 1st Nicholas Sparks book I read (love stories are usually NOT my thing) but since movies have been made from his stories, I thought I'd give this book a try. Very nicely done! First, his style is easy to read and his story didn't drag on forever with useless details. Next, I was very impressed that his story included a veteran dealing with the horrors of war and another character who is a dirtbag that uses women - yet this book didn't have one single cuss word in it. There were loveable characters who made me laugh and I even cried reading this book too. It had just the right amount of drama, light, funny moments and wasn't overly mushy in the love part of the story. I'll be reading Mr. Sparks' work again soon!

posted by JenniferL on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

Not his best...

I'm an avid Nicholas Sparks fan- I've read all of his novels. While I've found some of his other novels predictable, they were still interesting. The characters in this book are under-developed. I couldn't get into them enough to care what happened. The language was imm...
I'm an avid Nicholas Sparks fan- I've read all of his novels. While I've found some of his other novels predictable, they were still interesting. The characters in this book are under-developed. I couldn't get into them enough to care what happened. The language was immature at times, and the Clayton character was cheesy. Normally, I will sit and read through an entire novel in an evening...this one took me a while because of my disinterest. I was really looking forward to a good read, and was dissapointed. Too bad. If this was your first Sparks novel, read At First Sight and True Believer. Some of his best work.

posted by alexandria14 on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    This book was torturous to read. First off, he is going to talk

    This book was torturous to read. First off, he is going to talk about OIF but doesn't know enough to capitalize the "M" in "Marine???" A Marine is a proper noun... a marine anything else is a battery or a mammal. Its hard to take his account of the war seriously when he is obviously clueless. I'm a civilian, so I'm not sure whether its incorrect or not, but I wouldn't enjoy reading a twisted version of a very recent war. Everytime the story annoyingly flashes back to his deployment, I just graze over it.. yeah, yeah.

    His characters are so bland, so predictable. Ms. Perfect "Beth" is something else! She's flawless, perfect, she even calls herself something like "pure as the wind-driven snow." This is the girl who got pregnant at 18 by a guy who was well-off and whose family owns most of the town (now she gets her child support from a trust.. ya! she's angelic!) She got married because she was pregnant, and the guy didn't want any part of it (it is eluded to that his family pressured him). She's just looking for a baby daddy now. Her attitude and tactics are so sweet yet fake.. self-serving.. they're sickening. Logan. Wow, he is also just so perfect and devoted. Dedicated. One of those types who can never do any wrong, never says one thing out of place; never makes a mistake. There is no way any guy would ever go to those lengths for some girl who plays so hard to get; like she's such a prize. Its very strange, the characters aren't realistic or interesting. The little dance they dance around each other makes me wanna throw up. They're super boring and not something a normal person could or should relate to.

    I've never read one of his novels.. I guess I was expecting more out of a New York Times best seller. I can tell you one thing, I will definitely be writing a book or two if this crap is all it takes to get published! Wow! The stories are catchy though and they make great movies (once adapted quite a bit). His writing is just not impressive.. I wish I hadn't bought this book. I'm not even finished with it but its legit TORTURE. Oh yeah, and the little pizzeria in town? Of course the two Italian owners are Luigi and Maria. He couldn't come up with anything better than that?? A little less sterotypical?? A litle creativity?!?!!? I mean I feel like I'm back in 4th grade in the 90's reading some cheesy tween book.

    7 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    not good

    I usually like Spark's books, however I really did not like this book and the 2 main characters. Logan obsessively stalks a woman in a photograph and forces his way into her life. She forgives him, and starts dating him. This is really disturbing. I think Sparks takes this very serious issue way too lightly. This will probably be my last Sparks book.

    6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    HELP!!!!

    Should a 11.5 year old read this?

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Help!!!!!!

    Should an almost 13 year old read this?

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    Not the best

    I love Nicholas Sparks but this one wasn't his best. I thought it was way too predictable and took way too long to get there. I wouldn't have even finished it but I wanted to since it was by my favorite author.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I can not believe it

    I could not believe this was the latest book by THE Nicholas Sparks. I had never read one of his books before and thought why not, they seem popular. I could not believe how...trite it was. It was predictable, and I just didn't care what happened to the characters.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Is this worth it?

    Is it worth $6?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Annonymous

    Oh my gosh!!!!!! I have not read the book, but this was the worst movie I have possibly ever seen. I found it more of a comedy than a love story. This movie can be expressed in 3 sentences. Here are the sentences: I found a picture of a girl when I was in the war, so I went to go find her. I fell in love with her and lived a happy life with her. Then, I drove a boat. THE END. It was a comedy because the girl was crying, hysterically. Literally hysterically. It was hysterical. All my friends were crying a river when I was trying to gulp in a laugh. After the movie, everyone was like, "OMG it was the best movie ever!" And I was like,"OMG it was the worst movie ever!" Open your eyes to the world "lucky one lovers" this is reality and not just some dudes kissing 24/7.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    movie

    the book is just like the movie

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Wtf

    I am reading chapter twenty one and the book is either missing pages or skipping over them i was really enjoying this book but now im just extremely pissed because im missing parts of the story this needs to be fixed !

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    How old do you have to be ?

    I am 13do you think i could read this book

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Question

    Why wont it work on my nook color

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Eh...

    I found the characters likable, but this story was unoriginal and I had a hard time falling in love with it. I read it quickly to get it over with, and I'm not left feeling disappointed that it's over. I also find that when Sparks tries to write a "bad guy," it sounds a little cheesy and a bit monotonous. The first chapter where we're introduced to Clayton reminded me of some preteen novel, complete with naked coeds. <BR/>His plots and characters from various books are one big blur and there are only a few which stand out. Seems like with the majority of his books, if you've read one, you've read them all. <BR/>I have enjoyed the sweet story lines from some of his novels but I find myself gravitating towards Richard Paul Evans more. His newer/latest novels are somewhat similar in style...just more original and heartwarming.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Anonymous

    I am not rating this, but would someone please tell me how sexual this book is? I love Sparks' novels, but sometimes they can get a little innappropriate for a 13 year old. Thank you so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Uuuugggghhhhg

    STUPID I READ THE SAMPLE AND THOYGHT UT WAS GREAT AND THEN I WAISTED MY MINET ON THE REST IF THE BOOK STUPID STUPID SYUPIDBALSO IN A RUSSIAN ACCENT, EAT YOUR SOUP

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    Lost the book

    I would love to say I enjoyed the new way of buying and reading book from o e of my favorite authors ..
    But I did not.. I purchased the book the lucky one. I had to have assistance to fins where to retrieve it, then after reading a few pages.. Closed and turned off my i pad and have yet to find the book again..
    No icon on my iPad screen.. Nothing that best buy could help me find.. Nd the only proof I have of even buying the book is a transaction from my bank account.. And the email I have just received,,.
    I m not blaming anyone from this company..just disheartened that it seems impossible to do something so simple.. Read
    Thank you for your time
    Teri. M.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    U

    bnb

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Dislike

    This was the last book of Sparks i bought and hated it. Loved everyother one. It bounced all over the place and hard to follow. Gave up after 4 chapters. Maybe i will try again another time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    What age is this book for?

    M

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Quick Question...

    Are there any dirty parts in this book?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6