Customer Reviews for

Lucky T

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A book for the teen girls

this book is about a girl who is on a journey and has lost her "lucky T" and while watching T.V. she saw her T in India. she got on a plane to india and while she was there she met the most perfect guy. as she was in India, she wasnt even looking for her T. she was bus...
this book is about a girl who is on a journey and has lost her "lucky T" and while watching T.V. she saw her T in India. she got on a plane to india and while she was there she met the most perfect guy. as she was in India, she wasnt even looking for her T. she was busy making friends. when she left India, her lucky T was not in her luggage.

P.S.
i am 13 years old and sorry if it doesnt sound like a good book but it really is.

posted by lovepink15 on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sadly disappointed

After reading Kate Brian's 'Private' series, I decided to read all of her other books. Her books always start out a little slow for me. They start to pick up at about page 50 or so. I waited and waited for it to get good, but it never did. PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME W...
After reading Kate Brian's 'Private' series, I decided to read all of her other books. Her books always start out a little slow for me. They start to pick up at about page 50 or so. I waited and waited for it to get good, but it never did. PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS!!!

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Sadly disappointed

    After reading Kate Brian's 'Private' series, I decided to read all of her other books. Her books always start out a little slow for me. They start to pick up at about page 50 or so. I waited and waited for it to get good, but it never did. PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Lucky T

    I read what this book was about and thought I might want to give it a try. So I bought it. However, I couldn't get through the whole book. It just wasn't all that interesting. This book took a while to get into, but by that time I was just bored with it. If you think it is interesting when a girl goes to india to find her lucky t-shirt, I would recommend being at least in 8th grade before you start it. That's the other problem that I had. I am in 6th grade, and the book wasn't appropriate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    ...?

    This doesn't seem very relatable. Who would really travel around the world just to get a tee shirt??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    A book for the teen girls

    this book is about a girl who is on a journey and has lost her "lucky T" and while watching T.V. she saw her T in India. she got on a plane to india and while she was there she met the most perfect guy. as she was in India, she wasnt even looking for her T. she was busy making friends. when she left India, her lucky T was not in her luggage.

    P.S.
    i am 13 years old and sorry if it doesnt sound like a good book but it really is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    BETTER THAN THE HUNGER GAMES SERIES!!!!!!!! ( in my opinion)

    I just finished this book and i apsolutey loved it! A definite must read for teens. Very romantic and just fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    its readable

    the book was alright...its the kind of book that you will know whats going to happen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Great

    I really could put doqn this book even if i tryed. My nana told me i had to go to bed one night, and it was a school night. So when i told her that i would read one more pagw, i ended up reading all of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Must read

    You must read this book bo kidding!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Loved It!

    This is one of the best stories I have ever read.It is a wonderful story about a girl who loses her lucky shirt and goes across the world to find it.In the end she learns that the luck is in her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    romantic and heartfilled

    is the best book u will ever read i couldt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    Great Book , Give it a try :)

    This book is about a girl who looses what means a whole lot to her its the only thing that keeps her close to her dad even though he so far away, some people may think this book is about a selfish girl that only has one priority , getting back her lucky T but this book is much more then that.
    It helps u find yourself and shows us what really matters in life. The main character goes from a selfish, superstishes girl and becomes this totally different person from the encounters she has in India. This is a great book :) if ur looking for a heartwarming book this is it . Give it a try :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    interesting premise, dull writing/characters

    The idea is interesting enough. A t-shirt that brings unbelievable luck to the wearer and gets mistakenly shipped to India. After that, though, things just go downhill.
    First, the idea that anybody could be so insanely attached to a t-shirt is ludicrous. Would anybody really endure weeks of work in an impoverished country with an archenemy of sorts just to get back a t-shirt? A family member, maybe, or a nuclear bomb, depending on the genre, but not a t-shirt.
    And besides her affection for her t-shirt, the main character is not a character at all. She is flat and dull with her only thoughts being "T-shirt!" and "hot boy!"
    I will say, though, that despite its flaws the book makes a good beach read or lazy day book. I got through it rather quickly, but I don't think it's the type of book that most of us would re-read.
    Maybe check this one out of the library...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Have you ever cleaned your room/closet and decided to donate your excess clothes to charity? Maybe it was a mother-ordered mandate to get rid of the clutter? Whatever the reason or inspiration, did you ever give away something you didn't really mean to give? What would you do to get it back? <BR/><BR/>Carrie's mother does just that. She gives Carrie's favorite T-shirt to the Help India foundation. Unfortunately, the T-shirt is not just a T-shirt. It was given to Carrie by her father, and she superstitiously believes it is the reason for every success in her young life. She must get it back. <BR/><BR/>Since the T-shirt is traveling to India, Carrie makes arrangements to travel there, too. Carrie arrives at the Help India headquarters to find herself bunking with several roommates in a hostel. The roommates are horrible, and India is nothing like she expected. She is assigned to the group building homes in Calcutta. Needless to say, Carrie seriously lacks building trade skills. From dropping a hammer on her flip-flop-exposed big toe to dropping a boxful of nails in wet concrete, Carrie is not very popular at the building site. <BR/><BR/>Much to her relief, Carrie meets Dee, who tells her about his work at the Calcutta Children's Shelter. When she's offered a chance to start volunteering there, she decides anything is better than her current situation. Her work with children is the beginning of a new understanding for Carrie. Maybe the T-shirt isn't that important after all. <BR/><BR/>When I started LUCKY T, I was frustrated with the whining of main character Carrie. As the storyline began to unfold, though, it gained depth and purpose, and everything fell into place. Kate Brian gives readers a chance to watch the growth of Carrie and what her experience teaches her about exactly what things/people are important in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Pretty good summer read.

    I did this book for summer reading it was a pretty good book. Very interesting aspect of the Indian life. It was a little bit too exaggerated for me, but it's true that people are superstitious and i respect that. It's just how you look at life. Hope you try it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Superstitious girl Loses her Lucky T---Uh Oh!

    Dodging cracks on the side-walk, never opening an umbrella inside a building, and never walking under a ladder has become natural to Carrie because she is very superstitious. She does all that to avoid bad luck. Maybe that is why she treasures her red t-shirt. Carrie received the lucky T in the 3rd grade and has kept it ever since because once she put it one a series of fortunate events happened to her. Her good luck quickly changed to bad luck when her mother accidentally gave her T-shirt to charity. Not that big of a deal, right? Wrong because the donations are going to India! When Carrie learns this bit of info, she freaks because her good luck is gone and everything¿s going wrong. Instantly she is buying a plane ticket to India and planning her trip. Carrie suspects that she will began searching right away and continue looking until she finds it. Wrong again, because the good looks and kind notions of Dee, a boy that grew up in India, distract her. Will she ever find her Lucky T? Will it matter? I absolutely loved this book. Not only was it funny, but I could not put it down. It started out slowly and took awhile to get started. However, once it started going it was incredible! I liked be able to see some of India¿s culture. If you are looking for an interesting, entertaining, and funny book, the Lucky T is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    this book made me want to live in India

    i love this book. The love story between Carrie and Dee is sooooooooo romantic and Dee is officially my new book-character crush. The book makes you feel as if your with carrie travelin to exotic places and falling in love. I definitely, totally, and absolutely recommend this book for anyone who dreams of adventure and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    It was an excelent book!

    I read this book last year (7th grade) when it first came out. I have a really hard time finding books that interest me, often times i will start reading one, then at the end it wont seem to keep me interested, then i will have to put it down. But this book seemed to really keep me entertained, there was never a dull moment. It was a great book, i highly recremend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    freak my life!!!

    i love this book!!!!!! i just could NOT stop reading it!! i highly recommend it for people who like stories about adventure, love, and LUCK. :))))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    Have you ever cleaned your room/closet and decided to donate your excess clothes to charity? Maybe it was a mother- ordered mandate to get rid of the clutter? Whatever the reason or inspiration, did you ever give away something you didn¿t really mean to give? What would you do to get it back? Carrie¿s mother does just that. She gives Carrie¿s favorite T-shirt to the Help India foundation. Unfortunately, the T-shirt is not just a T-shirt. It was given to Carrie by her father, and she superstitiously believes it is the reason for every success in her young life. She must get it back. Since the T-shirt is traveling to India, Carrie makes arrangements to travel there, too. Carrie arrives at the Help India headquarters to find herself bunking with several roommates in a hostel. The roommates are horrible, and India is nothing like she expected. She is assigned to the group building homes in Calcutta. Needless to say, Carrie seriously lacks building trade skills. From dropping a hammer on her flip-flop-exposed big toe to dropping a boxful of nails in wet concrete, Carrie is not very popular at the building site. Much to her relief, Carrie meets Dee, who tells her about his work at the Calcutta Children¿s Shelter. When she¿s offered a chance to start volunteering there, she decides anything is better than her current situation. Her work with children is the beginning of a new understanding for Carrie. Maybe the T-shirt isn¿t that important after all. When I started LUCKY T, I was frustrated with the whining of main character Carrie. As the storyline began to unfold, though, it gained depth and purpose, and everything fell into place. Kate Brian gives readers a chance to watch the growth of Carrie and what her experience teaches her about exactly what things/people are important in life. **Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka 'Readingjunky'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    Carrie Fitzgerald¿s life has been going good, considering she is the luckiest girl in San Francisco. She has the best and cutest boyfriend you could possibly have, she has always had the lead part in every school play, and she made the varsity girl¿s basketball team as a sophomore. She believes that all her luck is coming from her Lucky T, a t-shirt that her dad gave her. But when Carrie finds out that her Lucky T has been accidentally donated to HelpIndia by her mom, she knows that all her luck is going to change. Her only solution for finding her Lucky T is to travel half way around the world and get it back. Will she find her Lucky T, or will she get caught up in other unexpected things? I enjoyed reading the book, Lucky T, by Kate Brian. I thought that throughout the whole book, the transition and pace was good, until towards the end of the book. That is because it skipped out part of a day that I thought was important. It also just kind of left you hanging at the end, as if there was a sequel to it. I also would of preferred the main character, Carrie, to tell the story instead of a narrator because a narrator just tells you what happens, while a character says it in a different way that allows you to interpret the meaning. Overall, I liked the book and thought it was a well-written story that had a good plot. Lucky T is not part of a series. I would prefer that girls from the age of twelve and up read the book because I think that they would enjoy the book the most. A boy could read it if they wanted to, but they probably wouldn¿t like it very well. The author of Lucky T, Kate Brian, has also written The Princess and the Pauper and The V Club. I have read The Princess and the Pauper and I thought it was a good book too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3